DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This action is responsive to the claims filed 13 June 2025.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and being examined.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the power generation part, driving pulley unit, and wire unit must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Applicant should further check the claims, to ensure all parts are labeled in the drawing with corresponding numbers in the specification. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 13, 17, and their dependents are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “a portion of the first wire fixed to the first driving pulley is constant, and a portion of the second wire fixed to the first driving pulley is variable”, which is unclear because what is constant or variable. Is the size or the shape of the wire constant or variable, or is it something else? The specification does not elaborate what is constant or variable for the wires.
Claim 13 line 3 recites “all axially coupled about a same rotation shaft”, which is unclear because what parts are included in all”. Examiner will interpret as “which are axially coupled about a same rotation shaft”, this will make the claim definite.
Claim 17 line 2 recites “auxiliary pulley unit”, which was previously recited in claim 8, therefore it is unclear if this is the same unit or another. Examiner will interpret as “the auxiliary pulley unit”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams (US 2019/0125466) in view of Crews (US 2019/0069967).
Adams teaches:
Claim 1: A reload assembly (at least 608,600,602-fig.6) of a surgical instrument (600-fig.6), the reload assembly comprising:
an end tool (604-fig.6) comprising one or more rotatable jaws (610,612-fig.8) and configured to be rotated in at least one direction (¶[0040]);
a shaft (602-fig.6) having an end to which the end tool (604-fig.6) is connected (¶[0035]); and
a power transmission part (608-fig.6) connected to the shaft (602-fig.6; ¶[0035]) and configured to transmit power generated by a power generation part to the end tool (¶[0037]),
wherein the power transmission part (608-fig.6) comprises:
a pulley frame (annotated fig.10) connected to the power generation part (see fig.9 showing frame attached to the top half of the power part);
a driving pulley unit (at least 1010a,1010b,1010c,1010d-fig.10) accommodated in the pulley frame (¶[0059]) and configured to receive the power generated by the power generation part and perform an axial rotation (“roll”-fig.7; ¶[0041]); and
a wire unit (808a, 808b, 808c, 808d-fig.10) having one end portion connected to the driving pulley unit and another end portion connected to the end tool and configured to transmit the power generated by the power generation part to the end tool (¶[0046]-[0047]), and
a rotation shaft of the driving pulley unit (annotated fig.12B).
Adams does not expressly teach a rotation shaft of the driving pulley unit is arranged in a direction extending toward the end tool.
However, Crews teaches a rotation shaft (annotated fig.5) of a driving pulley unit (430-fig.5) is arranged in a direction extending toward the end tool (see fig.5 showing the rotation shaft extends in a direction toward the end tool, which is parallel to shaft 584. Examiner notes this is the same as Applicant’s invention where the rotation shafts are parallel to the tool shaft.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the device of Adams, by using the driving pulley system, as taught by Crews, as an alternative configuration of a drive pulley system used to manipulate an end tool of a surgical instrument.
Adams as modified by Crews further teaches:
Claim 2: The reload assembly of claim 1, wherein
the driving pulley unit (Adams: at least 1010a,1010b,1010c,1010d-fig.10; Crews: 430-fig.5) comprises a first driving pulley (Adams: 1010a-fig.10),
the wire unit (Adams: 808a-fig.10; Crews: 440,442-fig.5) comprises a first wire wound (Crews: 440-fig.5) around the first driving pulley (Crews: 430-fig.5) in a first direction (Crews: ¶[0035]-[0037]) and a second wire wound (Crews: 442-fig.5) around the first driving pulley in a second direction opposite to the first direction (Crews: ¶[0035]-[0037]), and
by unidirectional rotation of the first driving pulley, one of the first wire and the second wire is wound around the first driving pulley and another of the first wire and the second wire is unwound from the first driving pulley (Crews: ¶[0031],[0035]-[0040]).
Claim 3: The reload assembly of claim 2, wherein
a groove (Crews: annotated fig.5) having a shape of a thread root is formed on an outer circumferential surface of the first driving pulley (Crews: see annotated fig.5 showing a thread root shape around the pulley 430), and
the first wire and the second wire (Crews: 440,442-fig.5) are wound around the groove (Crews: ¶[0035]-[0040]).
Claim 4: The reload assembly of claim 3, wherein
a portion of the first wire (Crews: 440-fig.5) fixed to the first driving pulley is constant (Crews: ¶[0039]), and
a portion of the second wire (Crews: 442-fig.5) fixed to the first driving pulley is variable (Crews: ¶[0039]; 442 is capable of being variable depending on the affixing method of the wire to the driving pulley).
Claim 5: The reload assembly of claim 3, wherein
the groove (Crews: annotated fig.5) is formed continuously to allow the first wire and the second wire to be wound around the groove (Crews: see annotated fig.5 showing the groove is continuously formed; ¶[0038]), and
when one of the first wire and the second wire (Crews: 440,442-fig.5) is unwound from a wound position as the first driving pulley is rotated, another of the first wire and the second wire is wound at the wound position (Crews: ¶[0035]-[0040]).
Claim 6: The reload assembly of claim 1, wherein the driving pulley unit (Adams: at least 1010a,1010b,1010c,1010d-fig.10) comprises a pair of driving pulleys (Adams: 1010a and 1010c-fig.10) arranged symmetrically with respect to a central axis of the shaft (Adams: see fig.10 showing 1010a and 1010c is symmetrical about axis A1).
Claim 7: The reload assembly of claim 1, wherein the driving pulley unit comprises:
at least one firing driving pulley (Adams: at least 1010a,1010b,1010c,1010d-fig.10; Crews: 430-fig.5) around which a forward wire (Crews: 440-fig.5) and a backward wire (Crews: 442-fig.5) are wound (Crews: ¶[0035]-[0040]);
a yaw driving pulley around which a yaw wire is wound (Adams: “yaw”-fig.7, ¶[0030],[0041],[0052]); and
a pitch driving pulley around which a pitch wire is wound (Adams: “pitch”-fig.7, ¶[0041],[0045],[0052]).
Claim 8: The reload assembly of claim 1, wherein the power transmission part further comprises an auxiliary pulley unit (Adams: 1016a,1016b,1016c,1016d-fig.10; Crews: 560-fig.5) contacting at least a portion of the wire unit and configured to change a progressing path of the wire unit extending from the driving pulley unit and guide the wire unit into the shaft (Adams: ¶[0064], [0067]-[0071]; Crews: ¶[0037]).
Claim 15: The reload assembly of claim 8, wherein
the driving pulley unit (Adams: at least 1010a,1010b,1010c,1010d-fig.10) comprises a first driving pulley (Adams: 1010a-fig.10),
the auxiliary pulley unit (Adams: 1016a,1016b,1016c,1016d-fig.10) comprises at least one pair of auxiliary pulleys (Adams: 1010a,1010c-fig.10), and
each of the at least one pair of auxiliary pulleys are spaced apart from each other corresponding to a diameter of the first driving pulley around which a pair of wires are wound (Adams: see fig. 10 showing 1010a and 1010c are spaced apart; ¶[0064], [0067]-[0071]).
Claim 16: The reload assembly of claim 8, wherein the pulley frame is configured to accommodate the driving pulley unit to allow the driving pulley unit to be axially rotatable (Adams: “surge”-fig.7; ¶[0041]).
Claim 17: The reload assembly of claim 16, wherein the pulley frame comprises:
a first pulley frame comprising an auxiliary pulley fixing part configured to accommodate at least a portion of auxiliary pulley unit (Adams: see fig.9 showing 608 has a two part housing wherein 1016a is located between, thus one half of the housing is a first pulley frame and the other half is the second pulley frame); and
a second pulley frame configured to connect the shaft to the first pulley frame (Adams: see fig.9 showing 608 has a two part housing wherein 1016a is located between, thus one half of the housing is a first pulley frame and the other half is the second pulley frame).
Adams teaches:
Claim 18: A surgical instrument (600-fig.6) comprising:
an end tool (604-fig.6) comprising one or more rotatable jaws (610,612-fig.8) and configured to be rotated in at least one direction (¶[0040]);
a shaft (602-fig.6) having an end to which the end tool (604-fig.6) is connected (¶[0035]);
a power generation part (608-fig.6) configured to generate power for driving the end tool (¶[0037]); and
a power transmission part (at least 906a-f, at least 1010a,1010b,1010c,1010d-fig.10; ¶[0054]) arranged between the shaft and a power generation part and configured to transmit the power generated by the power generation part to the end tool (¶[0054], [0059]),
wherein the power transmission part (at least 906a-f, at least 1010a,1010b,1010c,1010d-fig.10; ¶[0054]) comprises:
a pulley frame (annotated fig.10) connected to the power generation part (see fig.9 showing frame attached to the top half of the power part);
a driving pulley unit (at least 1010a,1010b,1010c,1010d-fig.10) accommodated in the pulley frame (¶[0059]) and configured to receive the power generated by the power generation part and perform an axial rotation (“roll”-fig.7; ¶[0041]); and
a wire unit (808a, 808b, 808c, 808d-fig.10) having one end portion connected to the driving pulley unit and another end portion connected to the end tool and configured to transmit the power generated by the power generation part to the end tool (¶[0046]-[0047]).
Adams does not expressly teach a rotation shaft of the driving pulley unit is arranged in a direction extending toward the end tool.
However, Crews teaches a rotation shaft (annotated fig.5) of a driving pulley unit (430-fig.5) is arranged in a direction extending toward the end tool (see fig.5 showing the rotation shaft extends in a direction toward the end tool, which is parallel to shaft 584. Examiner notes this is the same as Applicant’s invention where the rotation shafts are parallel to the tool shaft.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the device of Adams, by using the driving pulley system, as taught by Crews, as an alternative configuration of a drive pulley system used to manipulate an end tool of a surgical instrument.
Adams as modified by Crews further teaches:
Claim 19: The surgical instrument of claim 18, further comprising a manipulation part configured to receive, from a user, a signal for controlling an operation of the end tool (Adams: ¶[0055]),
wherein the power generation part comprises:
a motor pack (Adams: ¶[0054]-[0056]) including at least one motor arranged to be at least partially accommodated in a housing of the manipulation part and configured to generate power for driving the end tool based on a signal input to the manipulation part (Adams: ¶[0053]-[0056]); and
a roll driving motor configured to generate power for a roll rotation of the motor pack (Adams: “roll”-fig.7; ¶[0041]).
Claim 20: The surgical instrument of claim 19, wherein the power transmission part is connected to the motor pack and configured to be roll-rotated together with the motor pack (Adams: “roll”-fig.7; ¶[0041]; fig.4, ¶[0029]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams (US 2019/0125466) in view of Crews (US 2019/0069967), further in view of Scott (US 2006/0079889).
Adams as modified by Crews teaches:
Claim 9: The reload assembly of claim 8,
wherein the driving pulley unit comprises a first driving pulley (Adams: 1010a-fig.10) and a second driving pulley (Adams: 1010c-fig.10) arranged symmetrically with respect to a central axis of the shaft (Adams: see fig.10 showing 1010a and 1010c is symmetrical about axis A1).
Adams as modified by Crews does not expressly teach an auxiliary pulley unit comprises a center auxiliary pulley arranged between the first driving pulley and the second driving pulley.
However, Scott teaches an auxiliary pulley unit (435B-fig.4C) comprises a center auxiliary pulley (435B-fig.4C) arranged between the first driving pulley (434C-fig.4C) and the second driving pulley (434B-fig.4C; see fig. 4C showing 435B located between 434C and 434B; ¶[0044]-[0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the device of Adams and Crews, by having the idler pulleys be on a single central shaft, as taught by Scott, thus decreasing the amount of space the driving pulley units take up, therefore decreasing the size of the overall driving unit.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 13-14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 10: The prior art does not teach a “center auxiliary pulley is axially coupled to a center auxiliary pulley rotation shaft, and the center auxiliary pulley rotation shaft is arranged to cross an imaginary plane passing through the first driving pulley and the second driving pulley.”
Claim 13: The prior art does not teach a “center auxiliary pulley comprises a first auxiliary pulley, a second auxiliary pulley, a third auxiliary pulley, and a fourth auxiliary pulley, which are axially coupled about a same rotation shaft, the first auxiliary pulley and the second auxiliary pulley are arranged on one side with respect to the central axis of the shaft, and wherein the third auxiliary pulley and the fourth auxiliary pulley are arranged on another side with respect to the central axis of the shaft.
Conclusion
/KATIE L GERTH/Examiner, Art Unit 3731