DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2,11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 8,386,073) in view of Hieb (US 7,032,776).
Claim 1, Kim discloses a drug supply device, comprising: a conveyor (hopper 10) that guides travel of a drug (30); a drug accelerator (12) that oscillates by a solenoid valve (15), blocks the drug on the conveyor (hopper 10) in a first attitude (fig.2), and pivots toward a second attitude (fig.4) to accelerate and deliver the drug; and a stopper portion (13) that makes contact with the drug accelerator (12) in the first attitude (fig.2) of the drug accelerator (12) to position the drug accelerator, wherein the drug accelerator (12) receives a biasing force (14; fig.4) in a direction toward the stopper portion (13) together with a driving force of the solenoid valve (15) during a final phase of a stroke when the drug accelerator (12) pivots from the second attitude (fig.4) to the first attitude (fig.2).
Kim does not disclose a drug accelerator that oscillates by a motor; with a driving force of the motor.
Hieb discloses a dispensing bucket (236) that oscillates by a motor (see abstract); with a driving force of the motor (see abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the device of Kim with a drug accelerator (12) that oscillates by a motor; with a driving force of the motor because the use of a motor to rotate a mechanical component is widely employed in the art and serves the same purpose as the solenoid valve disclosed by Kim and merely provides another rotational means. Thus, such configuration does not impart any novelty on the claim limitation.
Claim 2, Kim discloses wherein: the drug accelerator (12) includes a stopped portion (fig.4; lowermost flat portion of 12 that contacts 13; fig.2) that makes contact with the stopper portion (13) in the first attitude (fig.2), and the stopped portion is pressed against the stopper portion by the biasing force (14) in the first attitude (fig.2).
Claim 11, Kim discloses wherein a direction and magnitude of the biasing force (14) vary according to an attitude of the drug accelerator (12) in the stroke (as the drug accelerator 12 pivots back and forth, the direction and magnitude of the biasing force from spring 14 changes dynamically and isn’t static).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AYODEJI H OJOFEITIMI/Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651