Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-9, 12-17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (Kominato et al. JP 2018-074593, English equivalent used for the rejection of U.S. PG Pub. 2019/0308586) in view of McCoy (US 2009/0121859).
Claim 1, Kominato teaches a seat sensing system for a vehicle having a plurality of seats (abstract), the system comprising:
a respective passenger sensor coupled to each of the plurality of seats (par. 31: first detector 20A called a seat sensor);
a respective buckle sensor coupled to a seat belt buckle of each of the plurality of seats (par. 34: second detector 20B called a buckle sensor); and
a reporting module comprising:
a display configured to be disposed proximate an operator of the vehicle (par. 29: The notifying unit 14 warns a passenger based on warning signals output from the controller 13. The warning signals include the waring lamp turning-on signals);
a receiver configured to receive transmissions respective of the passenger sensors and the buckle sensors (par 27: The transmitting and receiving unit 12 receives the response signals transmitted from the detectors 20); and
a computing device (Fig. 1, controller 13) configured to:
determine a passenger status and restraint status of each of the plurality of seats in the vehicle based on the received transmissions (par. 54: the controller 13 determines whether a passenger sits on the seat 2a… par. 55: determines whether the seat belt is worn); and
execute an initialization procedure in response to the vehicle being started (par. 49: the controller 13 in the reader 10 determines whether the ACC power source or the IG power source is turned ON), wherein the initialization procedure comprises outputting an error when a passenger sensor or a buckle sensor is unresponsive (par. 52: controller 13 determines whether the first response signals and the second response signals are received from the first detector 20A and the second detector 20B, respectively, in response to the transmission signals. If neither the first response signals nor the second response signals are received (No at Step S4), the reader 10 performs the processing at Step S9 which blinking warning lamp).
Kominato does not specifically teach display the passenger status and restraint status of each of the plurality of seats on the display.
In the field of endeavor, McCoy teaches vehicle seat belt monitoring system. He goes on to teach a display the status information regarding seat occupancy (occupied or unoccupied) and status of seat belt information (buckled or unbuckled) for each seat and display that information at the driver console (par. 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Kominato display to output the passenger status and restraint status of each of the plurality of seats on the display as taught by McCoy in order to let the operator aware of the state and condition of each seat.
Claim 5, the combination teaches wherein determining that the passenger sensor or the buckle sensor is unresponsive comprises: transmitting an initial status query for the passenger sensor or the buckle sensor; and receiving no response respective of the passenger sensor or the buckle sensor (Kominato par. 52: controller 13 determines whether the first response signals and the second response signals are received from the first detector 20A and the second detector 20B, respectively, in response to the transmission signals. If neither the first response signals nor the second response signals are received (No at Step S4), the reader 10 performs the processing at Step S9 which blinking warning lamp).
Claim 6, the combination teaches further comprising one or more passenger cabin modules, each associated with a respective one or more passenger sensors and a respective one or more buckle sensors, wherein the passenger cabin modules are configured to transmit a respective state of the passenger sensor and the buckle sensor associated with a given one of the plurality of seats (Kominato par. 33: The detecting unit 23A is a circuit that outputs the first response signals. The detecting unit 23A is provided as an integrated circuit (IC), for example. The detecting unit 23A is driven by the radio signals for supplying electric power received by the second antenna 21A and outputs the first response signals to the second antenna 21A. The detecting unit 23A includes a radio frequency (RF) circuit 23a, a CPU 23b, and a memory 23c. The RF circuit 23a demodulates the radio signals received by the second antenna 21A and modulates the first response signals to be transmitted by the second antenna 21A).
Claim 7, Kominato teaches a seat sensing system for a vehicle having a plurality of seats (abstract), the system comprising:
a respective passenger sensor coupled to each of the plurality of seats (par. 31: detector 20A is what is called a sitting sensor provided in the seat surface 2aa and the backrest 2ab of the seat 2a and detects sitting of a passenger on the seat 2a);
a respective buckle sensor coupled to a seat belt buckle of each of the plurality of seats (par. 34: The second detector 20B is what is called a buckle sensor provided to the buckle 25 of the seat 2a and detects a seat belt wearing state); and
a reporting module comprising:
a display configured to be disposed proximate an operator of the vehicle (par. 28: controller 13 starts based on the ON information on the ACC power source or the IG power source and outputs waring lamp turning-on signals to the notifying unit 14);
a receiver configured to receive transmissions respective of the passenger sensors and the buckle sensors (par 27: The transmitting and receiving unit 12 receives the response signals transmitted from the detectors 20); and
a computing device configured to:
determine a passenger status and restraint status of each of the plurality of seats in the vehicle based on the received transmissions (par. 54: the controller 13 determines whether a passenger sits on the seat 2a… par. 55: determines whether the seat belt is worn).
Kominato does not teach:
a speaker;
display the passenger status and restraint status of each of the plurality of seats on the display; and
output a visible alert on the display and an audible alert via the speaker when the computing device determines, based on the restraint status of a seat and based on movement data respective of the vehicle, that the passenger associated with the seat is unbuckled while the vehicle is in motion.
In the field of endeavor, McCoy teaches:
a speaker (par. 19: sounds that played);
display the passenger status and restraint status of each of the plurality of seats on the display (par. 15: a display the status information regarding seat occupancy (occupied or unoccupied) and status of seat belt information (buckled or unbuckled) for each seat and display that information at the driver console); and
output a visible alert on the display and an audible alert via the speaker when the computing device determines (16: step 80 is to enable control of the media device, permit playing of media files, enable control of media device and update the driver display console), based on the restraint status of a seat and based on movement data respective of the vehicle (par. 15: Step 66 is determining whether the vehicle speed is greater than a predetermined threshold value), that the passenger associated with the seat is unbuckled while the vehicle is in motion (par. 16: at step 78, if the seat is unoccupied and the seat belt is unbuckled, step 80 is to enable control of the media device, permit playing of media files, enable control of media device and update the driver display console).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Kominato’s system to output visible alert and sound when determined that the seat belt is unbuckled while the vehicle is in motion as taught by McCoy in order to let the operator aware of the state and condition of each seat, and further encouraging passenger the use of seat belt to enhance safety (McCoy par. 5).
Claim 8, the combination teaches wherein the computing device is configured to receive, from a data bus of the vehicle, vehicle movement data comprising one or more of a vehicle speed, a vehicle acceleration, a transmission gear, a wheel rotation speed, a vehicle brake status, or a yaw rate (McCoy par. 7: The system comprises an integrated seat, seat belt and media controller with a memory at least one sensor electronically connected to the integrated seat, seat belt and media controller to communicate data signals indicative of vehicle activation, vehicle speed, vehicle seat occupancy and associated seat belt status).
Claim 9, the combination teaches wherein the data bus is a CAN bus (Vehicles sold in the United States starting 2008 are required to use Controller Area Network (CAN) bus).
Claim 12, the combination teaches wherein the reporting module updates the passenger status and restraint status of each of the plurality of seats on the display every 0.2 seconds to every 2 seconds (Kominato par. 51: Subsequently, at Step S3, the reader 10 transmits the radio signals. Specifically, the controller 13 controls the transmitting and receiving unit 12 to transmit the transmission signals including the radio signals for supplying electric power to the detectors 20 at one-second intervals).
Claim 13, the combination teaches wherein the computing device is further configured to execute an initialization procedure in response to the vehicle being started, wherein the initialization procedure comprises outputting an error when a passenger sensor or a buckle sensor is unresponsive (Kominato par. 52: controller 13 determines whether the first response signals and the second response signals are received from the first detector 20A and the second detector 20B, respectively, in response to the transmission signals. If neither the first response signals nor the second response signals are received (No at Step S4), the reader 10 performs the processing at Step S9 which blinking warning lamp)).
Claim 14, the combination teaches further comprising: one or more passenger cabin modules, each associated with a respective one or more passenger sensors and a respective one or more buckle sensors, wherein the passenger cabin modules are configured to transmit a respective state of the passenger sensor and the buckle sensor associated with a given one of the plurality of seats; wherein each of the passenger cabin modules is configured to transmit a state of a passenger sensor upon a change in state of the passenger sensor, and to transmit a state of a buckle sensor upon a change in state of the buckle sensor (Kominato par. 33: The detecting unit 23A is a circuit that outputs the first response signals. The detecting unit 23A is provided as an integrated circuit (IC), for example. The detecting unit 23A is driven by the radio signals for supplying electric power received by the second antenna 21A and outputs the first response signals to the second antenna 21A. The detecting unit 23A includes a radio frequency (RF) circuit 23a, a CPU 23b, and a memory 23c. The RF circuit 23a demodulates the radio signals received by the second antenna 21A and modulates the first response signals to be transmitted by the second antenna 21A).
Claim 15, Kominato teaches a seat sensing system for a vehicle having a plurality of seats (abstract), the system comprising:
a respective passenger sensor coupled to each of the plurality of seats (par. 31: detector 20A is what is called a sitting sensor provided in the seat surface 2aa and the backrest 2ab of the seat 2a and detects sitting of a passenger on the seat 2a);
a respective buckle sensor of each of the plurality of seats (par. 34: The second detector 20B is what is called a buckle sensor provided to the buckle 25 of the seat 2a and detects a seat belt wearing state);
one or more passenger cabin modules, each associated with a respective one or more passenger sensors and a respective one or more buckle sensors, wherein the passenger cabin modules are configured to transmit a respective state of the passenger sensor and the buckle sensor associated with a given one of the plurality of seats (Kominato par. 33: The detecting unit 23A is a circuit that outputs the first response signals. The detecting unit 23A is provided as an integrated circuit (IC), for example. The detecting unit 23A is driven by the radio signals for supplying electric power received by the second antenna 21A and outputs the first response signals to the second antenna 21A. The detecting unit 23A includes a radio frequency (RF) circuit 23a, a CPU 23b, and a memory 23c. The RF circuit 23a demodulates the radio signals received by the second antenna 21A and modulates the first response signals to be transmitted by the second antenna 21A); and
a reporting module, the reporting module comprising:
a display configured to be disposed proximate an operator of the vehicle (par. 28: controller 13 starts based on the ON information on the ACC power source or the IG power source and outputs waring lamp turning-on signals to the notifying unit 14);
a receiver configured to receive transmissions from the passenger cabin modules (par 27: The transmitting and receiving unit 12 receives the response signals transmitted from the detectors 20); and
a computing device configured to:
determine a passenger status and restraint status of each of the plurality of seats in the vehicle based on the received transmissions (par. 54: the controller 13 determines whether a passenger sits on the seat 2a… par. 55: determines whether the seat belt is worn); and
execute an initialization procedure in response to the vehicle being started (par. 49: the controller 13 in the reader 10 determines whether the ACC power source or the IG power source is turned ON), wherein the initialization procedure comprises transmitting an initial status inquiry to the one or more passenger cabin modules, receiving an initial status from each of the passenger cabin modules (par. 51: at Step S3, the reader 10 transmits the radio signals. Specifically, the controller 13 controls the transmitting and receiving unit 12 to transmit the transmission signals including the radio signals for supplying electric power to the detectors 20 at one-second intervals, for example. If the first detector 20A receives the transmission signals from the reader 10, the first detector 20A transmits the first response signals output in response to the transmission signals to the reader 10), and
outputting an alert when a passenger is seated and unbuckled based on the received initial statuses (par. 54: Step S6, the reader 10 determines whether a passenger is in the sitting state … par. 55: If the reader 10 determines that the seat belt is not worn (No at Step S7), the reader 10 performs the processing at Step S9).
Kominato does not specifically teach display the passenger status and restraint status of each of the plurality of seats on the display.
In the field of endeavor, McCoy teaches vehicle seat belt monitoring system. He goes on to teach a display the status information regarding seat occupancy (occupied or unoccupied) and status of seat belt information (buckled or unbuckled) for each seat and display that information at the driver console (par. 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Kominato display to output the passenger status and restraint status of each of the plurality of seats on the display as taught by McCoy in order to let the operator aware of the state and condition of each seat.
Claim 16, the combination does not teach wherein: the reporting module further comprises a speaker; and the computing device is further configured to output a visible alert on the display and an audible alert via the speaker when the computing device determines, based on the restraint status of a seat and based on movement data respective of the vehicle, that the associated passenger is unbuckled while the vehicle is in motion.
Kominato does not teach:
a speaker;
display the passenger status and restraint status of each of the plurality of seats on the display; and
output a visible alert on the display and an audible alert via the speaker when the computing device determines, based on the restraint status of a seat and based on movement data respective of the vehicle, that the passenger associated with the seat is unbuckled while the vehicle is in motion.
In the field of endeavor, McCoy teaches:
a speaker (par. 19: sounds that played);
display the passenger status and restraint status of each of the plurality of seats on the display (par. 15: a display the status information regarding seat occupancy (occupied or unoccupied) and status of seat belt information (buckled or unbuckled) for each seat and display that information at the driver console); and
output a visible alert on the display and an audible alert via the speaker when the computing device determines (16: step 80 is to enable control of the media device, permit playing of media files, enable control of media device and update the driver display console), based on the restraint status of a seat and based on movement data respective of the vehicle (par. 15: Step 66 is determining whether the vehicle speed is greater than a predetermined threshold value), that the passenger associated with the seat is unbuckled while the vehicle is in motion (par. 16: at step 78, if the seat is unoccupied and the seat belt is unbuckled, step 80 is to enable control of the media device, permit playing of media files, enable control of media device and update the driver display console).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Kominato’s system to output visible alert and sound when determined that the seat belt is unbuckled while the vehicle is in motion as taught by McCoy in order to let the operator aware of the state and condition of each seat, and further encouraging passenger the use of seat belt to enhance safety (McCoy par. 5).
Claim 17, the combination teaches wherein the initialization procedure further comprises outputting an error when a passenger sensor or a buckle sensor is unresponsive (Kominato par. 52: controller 13 determines whether the first response signals and the second response signals are received from the first detector 20A and the second detector 20B, respectively, in response to the transmission signals. If neither the first response signals nor the second response signals are received (No at Step S4), the reader 10 performs the processing at Step S9 which blinking warning lamp).
Claim 19, the combination teaches wherein the passenger cabin modules are powered by a main electrical system of the vehicle (Kominato par. 30: The detectors 20 each include no battery and are driven by the radio signals for supplying electric power included in the transmission signals transmitted from the reader 10 which get it power from the vehicle electrical system).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kominato in view of McCoy, and further in view of Aina et al. (US 2019/0003877).
Claim 10, the combination does not teach wherein the reporting module comprises a geolocation module for determining and outputting a location of the vehicle.
In the field of endeavor, Aina teaches a vehicle includes a user interface 120 may be adapted to display a time series of positions, headings, and/or orientations of vehicle 110 and/or other elements of system 100 overlaid on a geographical map (par. 31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combination’s reporting module to display location of a vehicle as taught by Aina in order for the driver to know the location of the vehicle.
Claim(s) 11 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kominato in view of McCoy, and further in view of LEE (US 2017/0050613).
Claim 11, the combination does not teach wherein the visible alert comprises a different color or a different pattern respective of the seat relative to a seated, buckled passenger status.
In the field of endeavor, LEE teaches a first seat is displayed with a first color 310, and a second seat is displayed with a second color 320 on which the passenger is seated and fastens the seat belt 400 through the display unit (par. 57-58).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combination’s display to output different color respective of the seat bucked passenger status as taught by LEE to allow the driver easily recognize whether the passenger fastens the seat belt (LEE par. 58).
Claim 18, the combination does not teach wherein the alert is a visible alert that comprises a different color or a different pattern respective of the seat relative to a seated, buckled passenger status.
In the field of endeavor, LEE teaches a first seat is displayed with a first color 310, and a second seat is displayed with a second color 320 on which the passenger is seated and fastens the seat belt 400 through the display unit (par. 57-58).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combination’s display to output different color respective of the seat bucked passenger status as taught by LEE to allow the driver easily recognize whether the passenger fastens the seat belt (LEE par. 58).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kominato in view of McCoy, and further in view Redmond (Patent No. 3,729,059).
Claim 20, the combination does not teach wherein the computing device is configured to cause a gear shifter of the vehicle to be locked in response to determining that at least one passenger is seated and not buckled.
In the field of endeavor, Redmond teaches a seat belt safety system for motor vehicles. He goes on to teach a vehicle is prevented from placing into motion until the seat belt in each and every occupied seat of the vehicle, is buckled (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combination’s vehicle system by controlling gear shifter in response to passenger is seated and buckled as taught by Redmond for the purpose of ensuring all vehicle passenger are buckled for enhancing safety.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AN T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686