Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 12-17, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Burns et al., US Patent Application (20180019889), hereinafter “Burns”
Regarding claim 1 Burns teaches a first electronic device, FIGS. 8A-8B are block diagrams illustrating a representative client device 504 associated with a user [Burns para 0180] comprising: one or more processors; a memory The client device 504, typically, includes one or more processing units (CPUs) 802, one or more network interfaces 804, memory 806 [Burns para 0180]; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of memory 806, stores the following programs, modules, and data structures, or a subset or superset thereof: [Burs para 0181] the one or more programs including instructions for: obtaining, The client device identifies (1610) one or more camera feeds to be displayed in the user interface. [Burns para 0363] based on sensor data from a plurality of devices including the first electronic device, a representation of a physical environment associated with a video server system 552 serves as a dedicated video processing server and provides data processing for monitoring and facilitating review of alert events (e.g., motion events) in video streams captured by video cameras 118. As shown in FIG. 5B, the video server system 552 receives video data from video sources 522 (including cameras 118) located at various physical locations (e.g., inside homes, restaurants, stores, streets, parking lots, and/or the smart home environments 100 of FIG. 1). [Burns para 0097 and see Fig. 1] User interface module 622 for providing and displaying a user interface in which settings, captured data, and/or other data for one or more devices (e.g., smart devices 204 in smart home environment 100) can be configured and/or viewed [Burns para 0122] The smart home environment 100 may include one or more intelligent, multi-sensing, network-connected thermostats 102 (hereinafter referred to as “smart thermostats 102”), one or more intelligent, network-connected, multi-sensing hazard detection units 104 (hereinafter referred to as “smart hazard detectors 104”), one or more intelligent, multi-sensing, network-connected entryway interface devices 106 [Burns para 0388] identifying the user interface comprises identifying the user interface based on the status of one or more smart devices in a corresponding smart home environment. [Burns para 0388] the plurality of devices The client device identifies (1610) one or more camera feeds (i.e. the cameras and the feeds are the plurality of devices) to be displayed in the user interface. [Burns para 0363]; in accordance with a determination that a predetermined criteria is satisfied, the client device, after identifying the user interface for display, determines whether a preliminary connection has been established for the particular camera (i.e. predetermined criteria) [Burns para 0372] identifying a respective device of the plurality of devices, wherein the respective device the client device sends the one or more preliminary connection requests via network interface(s) 804 (FIG. 8A). [Burns para 0361] The client device identifies (1608) a user interface to display. … the client device utilizes the user interface module 826 and/or the smart home application 824 to identify the user interface to display. [Burns para 0362]; is identified as a target device associated with the first electronic device the client device identifies a user interface for display to a user via the display, the user interface including a video feed from a particular camera (i.e. target device) of the plurality of cameras [Burns para 0371]; in accordance with a determination that the predetermined criteria is not satisfied: In accordance with a determination that the connection does not exist for the camera in the connection pool (1616), the client device establishes the connection (1617). The client device sends (1615) a preliminary connection request to a video server. [Burns para 0365] identifying a plurality of candidate devices of the plurality of devices In response to the request, the video server confirms the preliminary connection request. … establishing the preliminary connection for each of at least the subset of the plurality of cameras comprises establishing the preliminary connection for each of at least the subset of the plurality of cameras based on the ranking. [Burns para 0365] and identifying, from the plurality of candidate devices and based on the representation of the physical environment, The client device establishes (1606) a connection pool by establishing (1609) one or more preliminary connections. The client device sends (1607) one or more preliminary connection requests to one or more video servers. The one or more video servers confirm (e.g., acknowledge) the one or more preliminary connection requests. In some implementations, each preliminary connection corresponds to a particular camera in a smart home environment. [Burns para 0361] a respective device, wherein the respective device is selected as a target device associated with the first electronic device the client device sends the one or more preliminary connection requests via network interface(s) 804 (FIG. 8A). [Burns para 0361] The client device identifies (1608) a user interface to display. … the client device utilizes the user interface module 826 and/or the smart home application 824 to identify the user interface to display. [Burns para 0362]; and in response to identifying the target device, providing an output. displaying the user interface with the video feed comprises displaying a first view of the user interface including video feeds from each camera of the first subset of cameras. [Burns para 0382]
Regarding claim 2 Burns teaches claim 1 in addition Burns teaches wherein the plurality of devices include one or more of a mobile phone, a tablet computer, a desktop computer, a laptop computer, a home speaker, a television set-top box, and a smart watch. a user may communicate with a device using a computer (e.g., a desktop computer, laptop computer, or tablet) or other portable electronic device 166 (e.g., a mobile phone, such as a smart phone). [Burns para 0053]
Regarding claim 3 Burns teaches claim 1 in addition Burns teaches the one or more programs including instructions for: Identifying a number of devices of the plurality of devices, the client device identifies the one or more camera feeds based on the predicted display order for the cameras. [Burns para 0363] wherein the number corresponds to a number of devices having a specific connection to the first electronic device the video feed is received by the client device via the preliminary connection. … the client device requests the video feed for the camera from the video server in accordance with a determination that the camera is active. [Burns para 0366]; and determining that the predetermined criteria is satisfied when the number corresponds to one. the client device identifies a user interface for display to a user via the display, the user interface including a video feed from a particular camera (i.e. target device) of the plurality of cameras [Burns para 0371] the client device, after identifying the user interface for display, determines whether a preliminary connection has been established for the particular camera (i.e. predetermined criteria) [Burns para 0372]
Regarding claim 4 Burns teaches claim 3 in addition Burns teaches the one or more programs including instructions for: determining that the predetermined criteria is not satisfied when the number does not correspond to one. the client device, for each camera in the first subset of cameras: (1) determines whether a preliminary connection has been established for the camera; and (2) in accordance with a determination that a preliminary connection has not been established for the camera, establishing a preliminary connection for the camera. [Burns para 0383] establishing the preliminary connection for the camera comprises: (1) prior to establishing the preliminary connection for the camera, determining whether a maximum number of preliminary connections has been reached; [Burns para 0384]
Regarding claim 5 Burns teaches claim 1 in addition Burns teaches the one or more programs including instructions for: identifying a number of devices of the plurality of devices, displaying a first view of the user interface including video feeds from each camera of the first subset of cameras. [Burns para 0382] wherein the number corresponds to a number of devices having a plurality of specific connections to the first electronic device; and determining that the predetermined criteria is satisfied when the number corresponds to one. establishing the preliminary connection for the camera comprises: (1) prior to establishing the preliminary connection for the camera, determining whether a maximum number of preliminary connections has been reached; and (2) in accordance with a determination that the maximum number of preliminary connections has been reached: (a) based on a ranking of the preliminary connections, terminating a second preliminary connection; and (b) after terminating the second preliminary connection, establishing the preliminary connection for the camera. [Burns para 0384]
Regarding claim 6 Burns teaches claim 5 in addition Burns teaches the one or more programs including instructions for: determining that the predetermined criteria is not satisfied when the number does not correspond to one. in accordance with a determination that the preliminary connection for each of the plurality of non-camera smart devices has been established or cannot be established, the client device ceases to display the loading screen. In some implementations, a preliminary connection attempt times out after a predetermined amount of time (e.g., 10 seconds), and the client device determines that the connection cannot be established. [Burns para 0384]
Regarding claim 7 Burns teaches claim 5 in addition Burns teaches wherein the plurality of specific connections include a wireless communication connection the smart home may be facilitated by either a wired or wireless communication protocol. [Burns para 0059] and ultrasonic signal reception. an ultrasonic or passive IR sensor, [Burns para 0064]
Regarding claim 12 Burns teaches claim 1 in addition Burns teaches wherein providing an output comprises: identifying a message created by another user; and causing the identified message to be output at the target device. individual low-power nodes in the smart home environment regularly send out messages regarding what they are sensing, and the other low-powered nodes in the smart home environment—in addition to sending out their own messages—forward the messages, thereby causing the messages to travel from node to node (i.e., device to device) throughout the smart home network 202. … the low-powered nodes using low-power communication protocols are able to send and/or receive messages across the entire smart home network 202, as well as over the Internet 162 to the smart home provider server system 164. In some implementations, the mesh network enables the smart home provider server system 164 to regularly receive data from most or all of the smart devices in the home, make inferences based on the data, facilitate state synchronization across devices within and outside of the smart home network 202, and send commands to one or more of the smart devices to perform tasks in the smart home environment. [Burns para 0062]
Regarding claim 13 Burns teaches claim 12 in addition Burns teaches wherein the message created by another user is created at the target device. individual low-power nodes in the smart home environment regularly send out messages regarding what they are sensing, and the other low-powered nodes in the smart home environment—in addition to sending out their own messages—forward the messages, thereby causing the messages to travel from node to node (i.e., device to device) throughout the smart home network 202. … the low-powered nodes using low-power communication protocols are able to send and/or receive messages across the entire smart home network 202, as well as over the Internet 162 to the smart home provider server system 164. In some implementations, the mesh network enables the smart home provider server system 164 to regularly receive data from most or all of the smart devices in the home, make inferences based on the data, facilitate state synchronization across devices within and outside of the smart home network 202, and send commands to one or more of the smart devices to perform tasks in the smart home environment. [Burns para 0062]
Regarding claim 14 Burns teaches claim 12 in addition Burns teaches wherein causing the identified message to be output at the target device comprises: converting a textual representation into an audible representation, wherein the output at the target device includes the audible representation. Presentation module 821 for enabling presentation of information (e.g., user interfaces for application(s) 824 and web browser module 823 or the client-side module 502, widgets, websites and web pages thereof, and/or games, audio and/or video content, text, etc.) at the client device 504 via the one or more output devices 812 (e.g., displays, speakers, etc.) (the text can be outputted as sound over the speakers) [Burns para 0184]
Regarding claim 15 Burns teaches claim 12 in addition Burns teaches wherein the message created by another user includes speech from the another user, a voice-command input unit or microphone, a touch screen display, a touch-sensitive input pad, a gesture capturing camera, or other input buttons or controls. Furthermore, some smart devices 204 use a microphone and voice recognition or a camera and gesture recognition to supplement or replace the keyboard. [Burns para 0215] and the output at the target device includes the speech from the another user. cameras 118 may additionally include one or more sensors (e.g., IR sensors, motion detectors), input devices (e.g., microphone for capturing audio), and output devices (e.g., speaker for outputting audio). [Burns para 0048]
Regarding claim 16 Burns teaches claim 1 in addition Burns teaches wherein providing an output comprises: providing an output at the first electronic device, wherein the output includes at least one of a displayed output, an audible output, and a haptic output. … video captured by the cameras 118 may be processed to identify the presence of an occupant in the structure 150 (e.g., in a particular room 152). Specific individuals may be identified based, for example, on their appearance (e.g., height, face) and/or movement (e.g., their walk/gait). For example, cameras 118 may additionally include one or more sensors (e.g., IR sensors, motion detectors), input devices (e.g., microphone for capturing audio), and output devices (e.g., speaker for outputting audio). [Burns para 0048]
Regarding claim 17 Burns teaches claim 1 in addition Burns teaches wherein providing an output comprises: identifying information corresponding to a particular device of the plurality of devices the client device utilizes the user interface module 826 and/or the smart home application 824 to identify the user interface to display. [Burns para 0362]; and causing the identified information to be output at the target device. the one or more camera feeds include feeds that will be at least partially displayed in the initial view of the user interface. In some implementations, the one or more camera feeds include feeds that to be displayed in response to a scroll input (e.g., a user scroll gesture). [Burns para 0363]
Regarding claim 19 Burns teaches a computer-implemented method, comprising: at a first electronic device FIGS. 8A-8B are block diagrams illustrating a representative client device 504 associated with a user [Burns para 0180] with one or more processors; a memory The client device 504, typically, includes one or more processing units (CPUs) 802, one or more network interfaces 804, memory 806 [Burns para 0180]: obtaining, The client device identifies (1610) one or more camera feeds to be displayed in the user interface. [Burns para 0363] based on sensor data from a plurality of devices including the first electronic device, The client device identifies (1610) one or more camera feeds (i.e. the cameras and the feeds are the plurality of devices) to be displayed in the user interface. [Burns para 0363] a representation of a physical environment associated with the plurality of devices a video server system 552 serves as a dedicated video processing server and provides data processing for monitoring and facilitating review of alert events (e.g., motion events) in video streams captured by video cameras 118. As shown in FIG. 5B, the video server system 552 receives video data from video sources 522 (including cameras 118) located at various physical locations (e.g., inside homes, restaurants, stores, streets, parking lots, and/or the smart home environments 100 of FIG. 1). [Burns para 0097 and see Fig. 1] User interface module 622 for providing and displaying a user interface in which settings, captured data, and/or other data for one or more devices (e.g., smart devices 204 in smart home environment 100) can be configured and/or viewed [Burns para 0122] The smart home environment 100 may include one or more intelligent, multi-sensing, network-connected thermostats 102 (hereinafter referred to as “smart thermostats 102”), one or more intelligent, network-connected, multi-sensing hazard detection units 104 (hereinafter referred to as “smart hazard detectors 104”), one or more intelligent, multi-sensing, network-connected entryway interface devices 106 [Burns para 0388] identifying the user interface comprises identifying the user interface based on the status of one or more smart devices in a corresponding smart home environment. [Burns para 0388]; in accordance with a determination that a predetermined criteria is satisfied, the client device, after identifying the user interface for display, determines whether a preliminary connection has been established for the particular camera (i.e. predetermined criteria) [Burns para 0372]; identifying a respective device of the plurality of devices, wherein the respective device the client device sends the one or more preliminary connection requests via network interface(s) 804 (FIG. 8A). [Burns para 0361] The client device identifies (1608) a user interface to display. … the client device utilizes the user interface module 826 and/or the smart home application 824 to identify the user interface to display. [Burns para 0362] is identified as a target device associated with the first electronic device the client device identifies a user interface for display to a user via the display, the user interface including a video feed from a particular camera (i.e. target device) of the plurality of cameras [Burns para 0371]; in accordance with a determination that the predetermined criteria is not satisfied: In accordance with a determination that the connection does not exist for the camera in the connection pool (1616), the client device establishes the connection (1617). The client device sends (1615) a preliminary connection request to a video server. [Burns para 0365 ]identifying a plurality of candidate devices of the plurality of devices In response to the request, the video server confirms the preliminary connection request. … establishing the preliminary connection for each of at least the subset of the plurality of cameras comprises establishing the preliminary connection for each of at least the subset of the plurality of cameras based on the ranking. [Burns para 0365]; and identifying, from the plurality of candidate devices and based on the representation of the physical environment, The client device establishes (1606) a connection pool by establishing (1609) one or more preliminary connections. The client device sends (1607) one or more preliminary connection requests to one or more video servers. The one or more video servers confirm (e.g., acknowledge) the one or more preliminary connection requests. In some implementations, each preliminary connection corresponds to a particular camera in a smart home environment. [Burns para 0361] a respective device, wherein the respective device is selected as a target device associated with the first electronic device the client device sends the one or more preliminary connection requests via network interface(s) 804 (FIG. 8A). [Burns para 0361] The client device identifies (1608) a user interface to display. … the client device utilizes the user interface module 826 and/or the smart home application 824 to identify the user interface to display. [Burns para 0362]; and in response to identifying the target device, providing an output to. displaying the user interface with the video feed comprises displaying a first view of the user interface including video feeds from each camera of the first subset of cameras. [Burns para 0382]
Regarding claim 20 Burns teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions, the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of memory 806, stores the following programs, modules, and data structures, or a subset or superset thereof: [Burs para 0181] which when executed by one or more processors of a first electronic device, the client device 504, typically, includes one or more processing units (CPUs) 802, one or more network interfaces 804, memory 806 [Burns para 0180] the first electronic device to: obtain, The client device identifies (1610) one or more camera feeds to be displayed in the user interface. [Burns para 0363] based on sensor data from a plurality of devices including the first electronic device, a representation of a physical environment a video server system 552 serves as a dedicated video processing server and provides data processing for monitoring and facilitating review of alert events (e.g., motion events) in video streams captured by video cameras 118. As shown in FIG. 5B, the video server system 552 receives video data from video sources 522 (including cameras 118) located at various physical locations (e.g., inside homes, restaurants, stores, streets, parking lots, and/or the smart home environments 100 of FIG. 1). [Burns para 0097 and see Fig. 1] User interface module 622 for providing and displaying a user interface in which settings, captured data, and/or other data for one or more devices (e.g., smart devices 204 in smart home environment 100) can be configured and/or viewed [Burns para 0122] The smart home environment 100 may include one or more intelligent, multi-sensing, network-connected thermostats 102 (hereinafter referred to as “smart thermostats 102”), one or more intelligent, network-connected, multi-sensing hazard detection units 104 (hereinafter referred to as “smart hazard detectors 104”), one or more intelligent, multi-sensing, network-connected entryway interface devices 106 [Burns para 0388] identifying the user interface comprises identifying the user interface based on the status of one or more smart devices in a corresponding smart home environment. [Burns para 0388] associated with the plurality of devices The client device identifies (1610) one or more camera feeds (i.e. the cameras and their feeds are the plurality of devices and sensors data) to be displayed in the user interface. [Burns para 0363]; in accordance with a determination that a predetermined criteria is satisfied, the client device, after identifying the user interface for display, determines whether a preliminary connection has been established for the particular camera (i.e. predetermined criteria) [Burns para 0372] iidentify a respective device of the plurality of devices, wherein the respective device the client device sends the one or more preliminary connection requests via network interface(s) 804 (FIG. 8A). [Burns para 0361] The client device identifies (1608) a user interface to display. … the client device utilizes the user interface module 826 and/or the smart home application 824 to identify the user interface to display. [Burns para 0362]; is identified as a target device associated with the first electronic device the client device identifies a user interface for display to a user via the display, the user interface including a video feed from a particular camera (i.e. target device) of the plurality of cameras [Burns para 0371];; In accordance with a determination that the predetermined criteria is not satisfied: In accordance with a determination that the connection does not exist for the camera in the connection pool (1616), the client device establishes the connection (1617). The client device sends (1615) a preliminary connection request to a video server. [Burns para 0365] identify a plurality of candidate devices of the plurality of devicesIn response to the request, the video server confirms the preliminary connection request. … establishing the preliminary connection for each of at least the subset of the plurality of cameras comprises establishing the preliminary connection for each of at least the subset of the plurality of cameras based on the ranking. [Burns para 0365]; and identify, from the plurality of candidate devices and based on the representation of the physical environment, The client device establishes (1606) a connection pool by establishing (1609) one or more preliminary connections. The client device sends (1607) one or more preliminary connection requests to one or more video servers. The one or more video servers confirm (e.g., acknowledge) the one or more preliminary connection requests. In some implementations, each preliminary connection corresponds to a particular camera in a smart home environment. [Burns para 0361] a respective device, wherein the respective device is selected as a target device associated with the first electronic device the client device sends the one or more preliminary connection requests via network interface(s) 804 (FIG. 8A). [Burns para 0361] The client device identifies (1608) a user interface to display. … the client device utilizes the user interface module 826 and/or the smart home application 824 to identify the user interface to display. [Burns para 0362];; and in response to identifying the target device, provide an output. displaying the user interface with the video feed comprises displaying a first view of the user interface including video feeds from each camera of the first subset of cameras. [Burns para 0382]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over burns and further in view of Wilson et al., US Patent Application (20180199304), hereinafter “Wilson”.
Regarding claim 8 Burns teaches claim 1 in addition Burns does not teach but Wilson teaches wherein identifying a plurality of candidate devices of the plurality of devices comprises: identifying particular devices having a specific connection to the first electronic device; and for each particular device, determining a distance between the particular device and the first electronic device. Communication system 200 may also include a location assistance server 260 configured to interact with devices in communication system 200 via a network, so as to assist mobile devices in estimating their positions. … the location assistance server 260 may be configured to calculate and return a position for a mobile device that provides signal observations to the location assistance server 260. … The position assistance data may include, for example, position information of macro cell base stations and small cell base stations, (i.e. any base station is the first electronic device) which may be used by the mobile device to determine its position based on the locations of multiple base stations and the distances between the mobile device (i.e. the particular device) and the multiple base stations, using, for example, trilateration or triangulation techniques. [Wilson para 0063]
Burns discloses methods, devices, and systems for presenting video feeds in a user interface. In one aspect, a method includes: (1) receiving a request to execute an application for communicating with a plurality of smart devices, including a plurality of cameras; (2) in response to receiving the request, establishing a connection for each of at least a subset of the cameras; (3) identifying a user interface for display to a user via the display, the user interface including a video feed from a particular camera; (4) after identifying the user interface, determining whether a connection has been established for the particular camera; (5) in accordance with a determination that the connection has been established for the particular camera, requesting, via the connection, the video feed for the particular camera; and (6) displaying the user interface with the video feed for the particular camera.
Wilson discloses methods, systems, and apparatuses for identifying a small cell in a wireless communication network. In one embodiment, a method includes receiving information associated with one or more base stations, where the information includes one or more codes associated with the one or more base stations. The method further includes determining whether a code from the one or more codes is associated with a small cell based on, for example, a number of base stations associated with the code; an aggregated area of coverage of the base stations associated with the code; signal strength information of a signal received by a mobile device from a base station of the one or more base stations; information indicating a distance or a data throughput between the mobile device and the base station; or an area of coverage of a base station associated with the code.
Prior to the effective date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Burns and Wilson in the art of presenting video feeds in a user interface and operating the same, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable as the combined teachings and technologies were well known in the art. Wilson improves Burns’ systems, methods and/or apparatus by using location estimation applications and signal strength comparisons to determine which device is closest the control device to communicate with and or output a message..
Regarding claim 9 Burns teaches claim 1 in addition Burns does not teach but Wilson teaches wherein identifying a respective device comprises: determining, from the plurality of candidate devices, a candidate device having a closest distance to the first electronic device a mobile device may use the locations of a small cell base station, a WiFi access point, and a macro cell base station and the distances between the mobile device and each of the small cell base station {Wilson para 0113]; and identifying the determined candidate device as the respective device. the location of a small cell may be included in the assistance data for proximity positioning. Because the coverage area of a small cell is small, the location of the small cell may be used as the location of a mobile device communicating with (i.e., camping on) the small cell. [Wilson para 0112]
Regarding claim 10 Burns and Wilson teaches claim 9 in addition Wilson teaches the one or more programs including instructions for: for each respective candidate device of the plurality of candidate devices: determining a connection parameter corresponding to a connection between the first electronic device and the respective candidate device, wherein the distance between the respective candidate device and the first electronic device is based on the connection parameter. Small cells are low-power radio access nodes that operate in licensed or unlicensed spectrum and have a radius of coverage (which may be referred to as “footprint,” defined as distance from radio access node where a mobile station may still detect a transmitted signal) of less than about 1 or 2 kilometers, and, in some cases, even less than 1 kilometer. However, it is understood that radio access nodes of different ranges of coverage may be considered a small cell. In various examples, the range of a small cell may be less than two (2) kilometers or less, two hundred (200) meters or less, or on order of ten (10) meters. [Wilson poara 0057] (i.e. connection parameter(s) can be set by ranges in a small cell network allowing connecting only with certain distances)
Regarding claim 11 Burns and Wilson teaches claim 9 in addition Wilson teaches the one or more programs including instructions for: for each respective candidate device of the plurality of candidate devices: identifying, based on the representation of the physical environment, a first position of the respective candidate device and a second position the first electronic device, wherein the distance between the respective candidate device and the first electronic device is based on the first position and the second position. location assistance server 260 and/or crowdsourcing server 230 may provide position assistance data to mobile devices for the mobile device to determine its own position. The position assistance data may include, for example, position information of macro cell base stations and small cell base stations, which may be used by the mobile device to determine its position based on the locations of multiple base stations and the distances between the mobile device and the multiple base stations, using, for example, trilateration or triangulation techniques. [Wilson para 00063]
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over burns and further in view of Sherwood et al., US Patent Application (20160048485), hereinafter “Sherwood”.
Regarding claim 18 Burns teaches claim 1 in addition Burns does not teach but Sherwood teaches wherein providing an output comprises: Identifying media parameters corresponding to the first electronic device; determining media content based on the media parameters; and causing the media content to be output at the target device. The application 15 may identify the internet multimedia content which the user 40 may be accessing and/or may be consuming using the user interface of the application 15. The application 15 may present enhanced multimedia options for the internet multimedia content. The enhanced multimedia options may enable the user to distribute the internet multimedia content to one or more of the rendering devices 21, 22, 23 in the network 20. The enhanced multimedia options may enable the user 40 to view which of the rendering devices 21, 22, 23 may be available and/or to select an available rendering device from the rendering devices 21, 22, 23 to transfer the internet multimedia content to the selected rendering device. [Sherwood para 0115]
Burns discloses methods, devices, and systems for presenting video feeds in a user interface. In one aspect, a method includes: (1) receiving a request to execute an application for communicating with a plurality of smart devices, including a plurality of cameras; (2) in response to receiving the request, establishing a connection for each of at least a subset of the cameras; (3) identifying a user interface for display to a user via the display, the user interface including a video feed from a particular camera; (4) after identifying the user interface, determining whether a connection has been established for the particular camera; (5) in accordance with a determination that the connection has been established for the particular camera, requesting, via the connection, the video feed for the particular camera; and (6) displaying the user interface with the video feed for the particular camera,
Sherwood discloses a system and a method use an application on a mobile device to transfer internet media content to a rendering device in a home network. The application may use an HTML rendering engine to display a web page to a user of the mobile device, and the web page may have controls for accessing the internet media content. The application may receive a user interaction signal which may indicate that a user invoked one of the controls for accessing the internet media content. In response, the application may initiate transfer of the internet media content to the rendering device in the home network and/or may queue the internet media content for later playback using the rendering device.
Prior to the effective date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Burns and Sherwood in the art of presenting video feeds in a user interface and operating the same, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable as the combined teachings and technologies were well known in the art. Sherwood improves Burns’ systems, methods and/or apparatus by allowing a system to identify media content about to be transferred and to allow said transfer on command.
Conclusion
/ROBERT J MICHAUD/Examiner, Art Unit 2622