Response to Amendment
2. Claims 1, 8, 15 and 22 are amended. Claims 1-30 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 8/14/2025, 10/29/2025 and 1/22/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
With regards to applicant’s arguments, filed on 1/29/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant asserts, with respect to claims 1, 8, 15 and 22 that Waris does not teach or suggest: “associating, by the server, only a first node of the plurality of wireless nodes with a first item, wherein the first node is operative to communicate directly with the server to exchange information related to the first item in transit”. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Waris teaches a goods transport system and method 100, wherein a package control device controls handover of a package between individuals without a need for communication with a server during a transport session. The system and method can include, a server 180, a database 185, personal devices 110 shown in FIG. 1B of the users of the system and method (e.g., personal device 117 of a sender, personal device 118 of a transporter, personal device 119 of a recipient, etc.) communicating with the server 180 over communications network 175 (e.g., a wired and/or wireless communications network), and a package control device (PCD) 150 attached to a package 140. [PCD 150 is associated with package 140] The personal devices 110 can be configured to provide access to the system and method by individual users and allow the users to conveniently and securely perform operations with the packages 140. As illustrated in Fig. 2 & 3, the sender's device 117 sends to the PCD 150 the new transport instructions. The PCD 150 attached to the package 140 authenticates and authorizes the transporter to pick up the package 140 by communicating security information with the transporter's device 118, and stores pick-up event data for uploading to the server 180. After the sender 111 has attached the PCD 150 to the package 140, the sender's personal device 117 communicates transport instructions to the PCD 150, which then locks itself. The PCD 150 then communicates its previously stored package operations and status data to the sender's personal device 117, which communicates the operations and status data to the TMS 170. The PCD 150 attached to the package 140 authenticates and authorizes the transporter to pick up the package 140 by communicating security information with the transporter's device 118, and stores pick-up event data for uploading to the server 180. The PCD 150 attached to the package 140 authenticates and authorizes the recipient to pick up the package 140 by communicating security information with the recipient's device 118, and stores pick-up event data for uploading to the server 180. The locking of the attachment of the PCD 150 to the package 140 can include a feature that mechanically hinders the opening of the package 150. [Therefore, the control device 150 is associated with only package 140 for monitoring the status and operations of a package and package 140 is associated to the sender's personal device 117 ] (See Waris; Par. [34]-[38, [48]-[50]. [59] and Fig. 1A & 1B)
Therefore, and for the reasons set above, Waris teaches the claimed invention. The rejection of claims 1-30 is sustained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-16, 19, 22-23, 26 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Waris et al. (US. Pub. No. 2014/0279596 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Waris discloses a method for creating a network for enhanced monitoring of items in transit, the network comprising a plurality of wireless nodes and a server (See Abstract and Fig. 1A of Waris for a reference to a system for managing transportation and storage of goods including a server and personal computer device. Device associated with a package and a package control), the method comprising:
associating, by the server, only a first node of the plurality of wireless nodes with a first item (See Par. [34]-[38], [48]-[50], [59] and Fig 1A-1B of Waris for a reference to a sender's personal device 117 [First Node] associated with a package 140 communicates with server 180), wherein the first node is operative to communicate directly with the server to exchange information related to the first item in transit (See Par. [34]-[38], [48]-[50] and Fig 1A-1B of Waris for a reference to the sender's personal device 117 is in direct communication with the server 180 over communication network 175);
associating, by the server, a second node of the plurality of wireless nodes with a second item (See Par. [34]-[38], [108]-[112] and Fig 1A-1B of Waris for a reference to the package control device 150 [Second Node] associated with package for monitoring the status and operations of a package), wherein the second node is operative to communicate directly with a third node of the plurality of wireless nodes to exchange information about the second item in transit (See Par. [37], [42], [46] and Fig 1B of Waris for a reference to the package control device 150 communicates directly with the sender’s personal device 117 to exchange information related to package 140 over communication network 155) but unable to communicate directly with the server due to a lack of communication interface capable of communicating directly with the server (See Par. [34]-[38], [42] and Fig 1A-1B of Waris for a reference to the package control device 150 does not include a comm interface to comm with the server; therefore unable to communicate directly with the server), the third node of the plurality being operative to communicate directly with the server to exchange information about the second package in transit (See Par. [34]-[38], [48]-[49] and Fig 1A of Waris for a reference to the sender’s personal device 117 [Third Node] is in direct communication with the server 180,over communication network 175,to exchange information related to a package); and
associating, by the server, the second node with the third node (See Par. [34]-[38], [48]-[49] and Fig 1A-1B of Waris for a reference to the package control device 150 is associated by the server 180 with all personal devices, including the transporter’s personal device 118).
Regarding claim 2, Waris discloses wherein the first node comprises a long range communication interface (See Par. [46], [140] and Fig 1A-1B & 6 of Waris for a reference to the personal devices including the sender's personal device 117 is in communication with the server /TMS over communication network, which may be cellular comm-network, 3G or 4G communication networks, [Long -range path interface]) and the second node comprises a short range communication interface (See Par. [44], [46], [83], [92] and Fig 1A-1B of Waris for a reference to the personal devices including the sender’s personal device 117 is in communication with the server /TMS over communication network, which may include Bluetooth or ZigBee Networks, proximity connections, such as NFC or RFID.[Short- range path interface]).
Regarding claim 3, Waris discloses wherein the first node further comprises a short range communication interface (See Par. [44], [46], [83], [92] and Fig 1A-1B & 6 of Waris for a reference to transporter’s personal device 118 is in communication with the server /TMS over communication network, which may include Bluetooth or ZigBee Networks, proximity connections, such as NFC or RFID.[Short- range path interface]).
Regarding claim 4, Waris discloses wherein the first node further comprises a medium range communication interface (See Par. [46], [165] and Fig 1A-1B of Waris for a reference to sender's personal device 117 is in communication with the server/TMS over communication network, which may include the internet, intranet, Local Area Network (LAN) card interface [medium range path interface]).
Regarding claim 5, Waris discloses wherein the second node comprises a short range communication interface (See Par. [44], [46], [83], [92] and Fig 1A-1B & 6 of Waris for a reference to the package device 118 is in communication with the server /TMS over communication network, which may include Bluetooth or ZigBee Networks, proximity connections, such as NFC or RFID.[Short- range path interface]), and the third node comprises a long range interface (See Par. [46], [140] and Fig 1A-1B & 6 of Waris for a reference to the personal devices including the transporter’s personal device 118 is in communication with the server /TMS over communication network, which may be cellular comm-network, 3G or 4G communication networks, [Long -range path interface]).
Regarding claim 6, Waris discloses wherein the third node further comprises a short range communication interface (See Par. [44], [46], [83], [92] and Fig 1A-1B & 6 of Waris for a reference to the transporter’s personal device 118 is in communication with the server /TMS over communication network, which may include Bluetooth or ZigBee Networks, proximity connections, such as NFC or RFID.[Short- range path interface]).
Regarding claim 7, Waris discloses wherein the third node further comprises a medium range communication interface (See Par. [46], [165] and Fig 1A-1B of Waris for a reference to the transporter’s personal device 118 is in communication with the server/TMS over communication network, which may include the internet, intranet, Local Area Network (LAN) card interface [medium range path interface]).
Regarding claim 8, Waris discloses a system for creating a network for enhanced monitoring of items in transit (See Abstract and Fig. 1A of Waris for a reference to a system for managing transportation and storage of goods including a server and personal computer device. Device associated with a package and a package control), comprising:
a server (See Fig. 1A; Server 180);
a plurality of wireless nodes comprising a first node, a second node, and a third node (See Par. of Waris for a reference to a system for managing transportation and storage of goods including a server and personal computer device. Device associated with a package and a package control), comprising:
a server (See Fig. 1A; Server 180), wherein the first node is operative to communicate directly with the server (See Par. [34]-[38], [48]-[49] and Fig 1A-1B of Waris for a reference to the transporter’s personal device 118 is in direct communication with the server 180 over communication network 175), wherein the second node is operative to communicate directly with the third node of the plurality of wireless nodes (See Par. [37], [42], [46] and Fig 1B of Waris for a reference to the package control device 150 communicates directly with the sender’s personal device 117 to exchange information related to package 140 over communication network 155) but unable to communicate directly with the server due to a lack of communication interface capable of communicating directly with the server (See Par. [34]-[38], [42] and Fig 1A-1B of Waris for a reference to the package control device 150 does not include a comm interface to comm with the server; therefore unable to communicate directly with the server), and wherein the third node of the plurality is operative to communicate directly with the server (See Par. [34]-[38], [48]-[49] and Fig 1A of Waris for a reference to the sender’s personal device 117 [Third Node] is in direct communication with the server 180,over communication network 175,to exchange information related to a package);
wherein the server is operative to:
associate only the first node of the plurality of wireless nodes with a first item, wherein the first node communicates directly with the server to exchange information about the first item in transit (See Par. [34]-[38], [48]-[50], [59] and Fig 1A-1B of Waris for a reference to a sender's personal device 117 [First Node] associated with a package 140 communicates with server 180);
associate the second node of the plurality of wireless nodes with a second item (See Par. [34]-[38], [108]-[112] and Fig 1A-1B of Waris for a reference to the package control device 150 [Second Node] associated with package for monitoring the status and operations of a package); and
associate the second node with the third node, wherein the second node communicates with the third node to exchange information about the second item in transit (See Par. [34]-[38], [48]-[49] and Fig 1A-1B of Waris for a reference to the package control device 150 is associated by the server 180 with all personal devices, including the transporter’s personal device 118) and the third node communicates with the server to exchange the information about the second item in transit (See Par. [34]-[38], [48]-[49] and Fig 1A of Waris for a reference to the transporter’s personal device 118 [Third Node] is in direct communication with the server 180,over communication network 175,to exchange information related to a package).
Regarding claim 9, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 10, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 11, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 7.
Regarding claim 15, Waris discloses a method for creating a network for enhanced monitoring of items in transit , the network comprising a plurality of wireless nodes and a server (See Abstract and Fig. 1A of Waris for a reference to a system for managing transportation and storage of goods including a server and personal computer device. Device associated with a package and a package control), comprising:
associating, by the server, only a first node of the plurality of wireless nodes with a first item (See Par. [34]-[38], [48]-[50], [59] and Fig 1A-1B of Waris for a reference to a sender's personal device 117 [First Node] associated with a package 140 communicates with server 180), wherein the first node includes a medium range (See Par. [46], [165] and Fig 1A-1B of Waris for a reference to sender's personal device 117 is in communication with the server/TMS over communication network, which may include the internet, intranet, Local Area Network (LAN) card interface [medium range path interface]) and a long range communication interface (See Par. [46], [140] and Fig 1A-1B & 6 of Waris for a reference to the personal devices including the transporter’s personal device 118 is in communication with the server /TMS over communication network, which may be cellular comm-network, 3G or 4G communication networks, [Long -range path interface]) and wherein the first node is operative to communicate directly with the server to exchange information related to the first item in transit using at least the long range communication interface of the first node (See Par. [34]-[38], [48]-[49] and Fig 1A-1B of Waris for a reference to the transporter’s personal device 118 is in direct communication with the server 180 over communication network 175, which may be cellular comm-network, 3G or 4G communication networks, [Long -range path interface]); and associating, by the server, a second node of the plurality of wireless nodes with a second item (See Par. [34]-[38], [108]-[112] and Fig 1A-1B of Waris for a reference to the sender’s personal device 117 [Second Node] associated with package for monitoring the status and operations of a package), wherein the second node includes at least a long range interface and wherein the second node is operative to communicate directly with the server to exchange information related to the second item in transit using at least the long range communication interface of the second node (See Par. [37], [42], [46] and Fig 1B of Waris for a reference to the package control device 150 communicates directly with the sender’s personal device 117 to exchange information related to package 140 over communication network 175, which may be cellular comm-network, 3G or 4G communication networks, [Long -range path interface]).
Regarding claim 16, Waris discloses the method of claim 15, further comprising associating, by the server, a third node of the wireless plurality of wireless nodes with a third item(See Par. [34]-[38], [48]-[49] and Fig 1A-1B of Waris for a reference to a personal device of a recipient 119 [Third Node] associated with a package communicates with server 180), wherein the third node includes a short range (See Par. [44], [46], [83], [92] and Fig 1A-1B & 6 of Waris for a reference to recipient’s personal device 119 is in communication with the server /TMS over communication network, which may include Bluetooth or ZigBee Networks, proximity connections, such as NFC or RFID.[Short- range path interface]) and a long range communication interface (See Par. [46], [140] and Fig 1A-1B & 6 of Waris for a reference to the personal devices including the recipient’s personal device 119 is in communication with the server /TMS over communication network, which may be cellular comm-network, 3G or 4G communication networks, [Long -range path interface]) and wherein the third node is operative to communicate directly with the server to exchange information related to the third item in transit using at least the long range communication interface of the third node (See Par. [34]-[38], [48]-[49] and Fig 1A-1B of Waris for a reference to the recipient’s personal device 119 is in direct communication with the server 180 over communication network 175).
Regarding claim 19, Waris discloses wherein the second node further comprises a medium range communication interface (See Par. [46], [165] and Fig 1A-1B of Waris for a reference to sender’s personal device 117 is in communication with the server/TMS over communication network, which may include the internet, intranet, Local Area Network (LAN) card interface [medium range path interface]).
Regarding claim 22, Waris discloses a system for creating a network for enhanced monitoring of items in transit (See Abstract and Fig. 1A of Waris for a reference to a system for managing transportation and storage of goods including a server and personal computer device. Device associated with a package and a package control), comprising:
a server (See Fig. 1A; Server 180); a plurality of wireless nodes comprising a first node and a second node (See Par. of Waris for a reference to a system for managing transportation and storage of goods including a server and personal computer devices, including transporter’s personal device 118 [First] and sender’s personal device 117 [Second] associated with a package), wherein the first node comprises a medium range (See Par. [46], [165] and Fig 1A-1B of Waris for a reference to transporter’s personal device 118 is in communication with the server/TMS over communication network, which may include the internet, intranet, Local Area Network (LAN) card interface [medium range path interface]) and a long range communication interface (See Par. [46], [140] and Fig 1A-1B & 6 of Waris for a reference to the personal devices including the transporter’s personal device 118 is in communication with the server /TMS over communication network, which may be cellular comm-network, 3G or 4G communication networks, [Long -range path interface]), wherein the first node is operative to communicate directly with the server using at least the long range communication interface of the first node (See Par. [34]-[38], [48]-[49] and Fig 1A-1B of Waris for a reference to the transporter’s personal device 118 is in direct communication with the server 180 over communication network 175, which may be cellular comm-network, 3G or 4G communication networks, [Long -range path interface]), wherein the second node comprises at least a long range communication interface (See Par. [46], [140] and Fig 1A-1B & 6 of Waris for a reference to the personal devices including the sender’s personal device 117 is in communication with the server /TMS over communication network, which may be cellular comm-network, 3G or 4G communication networks, [Long -range path interface]), and wherein the second node is operative to communicate directly with the server using at least the long range communication interface of the second node (See Par. [37], [42], [46] and Fig 1B of Waris for a reference to the sender’s personal device 117 communicates directly with the server to exchange information related to package 140 over communication network 175, which may be cellular comm-network, 3G or 4G communication networks, [Long -range path interface]); wherein the server is operative to: associate only the first node of the plurality of wireless nodes with a first item ((See Par. [34]-[38], [48]-[50], [59] and Fig 1A-1B of Waris for a reference to a sender's personal device 117 [First Node] associated with a package 140 communicates with server 180);
associate the second node of the plurality of wireless nodes with a second item (See Par. [34]-[38], [108]-[112] and Fig 1A-1B of Waris for a reference to the sender’s personal device 117 [Second Node] associated with package for monitoring the status and operations of a package);
communicate with the first node to exchange information related to the first item in transit; and communicate with the second node to exchange information related to the second item in transit (See Par. [34]-[38], [48]-[49] and Fig 1A-1B of Waris for a reference to the server exchange package-related information with both the transporter’s personal device 118 {First node] and the sender’s personal device 117 [Second node] over communication network 175).
Regarding claim 23, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 16.
Regarding claim 26, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 19.
Regarding claim 29, Waris discloses wherein the first node comprises a first node sensor and the information related to the first item in transit comprises first node sensor data from the first node sensor (See Par. [44]-[45], [74] and Fig 3A of Waris for a reference to the plurality of personal devices, including the transporter’s personal device 118 [first node] can be implemented as a sensor device. The transporter’s personal device sends sensory signals of goods transport capacity to the server).
Regarding claim 30, Waris discloses wherein the second node comprises a second node sensor and the information related to the second item in transit comprises second node sensor data from the second node sensor (See Par. [42], [52], [82] and Fig 3A of Waris for a reference to the package control device [second node] can be implemented as a sensor device, deleting an attempt to move a package while in storage. Sensory signal is exchanged with the personal device 110).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 17-18, 20-21, 24-25 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waris et al. in view of Davis et al. (US. Pub. No. 2013/0023339 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Waris discloses wherein the short range communication interface of the third node comprises a Bluetooth ® interface (See Par. [44], [46], [83], [92] and Fig 1A-1B & 6 of Waris for a reference to recipient’s personal device 119 is in communication with the server /TMS over communication network, which may include Bluetooth or ZigBee Networks, proximity connections, such as NFC or RFID.[Short- range path interface]), and the long range communication interface of the first and second nodes comprises a cellular interface (See Par. [46], [140] and Fig 1A-1B & 6 of Waris for a reference to the personal devices including the recipient’s personal device 119 is in communication with the server /TMS over communication network, which may be cellular comm-network, 3G or 4G communication networks, [Long -range path interface]).
Waris does not explicitly disclose the medium range communication interface of the first node comprises a Wi-Fi interface.
However, Davis discloses the medium range communication interface of the first node comprises a Wi-Fi interface (See Par. [25]-[27], [80] and Fig 1 of Davis for a reference to the mobile computing device may communicate directly with the server using medium range interface, which is a wifi interface).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Davis to Waris. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by facilitating the secure transmission of authentication information between the mobile computing device and the server. (Davis; Par. [26])
Regarding claim 18, Waris discloses the long range communication interface of the first node comprises a cellular interface (See Par. [46], [140] and Fig 1A-1B of Waris for a reference to the personal devices including the recipient’s personal device 119 is in communication with the server /TMS over communication network, which may be cellular comm-network, 3G or 4G communication networks, [Long -range path interface]).
Waris does not explicitly disclose wherein the medium range communication interface of the first node comprises a Wi-Fi interface
However, Davis discloses wherein the medium range communication interface of the first node comprises a Wi-Fi interface (See Par. [25]-[27], [80] and Fig 1 of Davis for a reference to the gaming machine may communicate directly with the server using medium range interface, which is a wifi interface).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Davis to Waris. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by facilitating the secure transmission of authentication information between the gaming machine and the server. (Davis; Par. [64])
Regarding claim 20, Waris discloses the long range communication interface of the second node comprises a cellular interface (See Par. [46], [140] and Fig 1A-1B of Waris for a reference to the personal devices including the sender’s personal device 117 [Second Node]is in communication with the server /TMS over communication network, which may be cellular comm-network, 3G or 4G communication networks, [Long -range path interface]).
Waris does not explicitly disclose wherein the medium range communication interface of the second node comprises a Wi-Fi interface
However, Davis discloses wherein the medium range communication interface of the second node comprises a Wi-Fi interface (See Par. [25]-[27], [80] and Fig 1 of Davis for a reference to the mobile computing device may communicate directly with the server using medium range interface, which is a wifi interface).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Davis to Waris. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by facilitating the secure transmission of authentication information between the mobile computing device and the server. (Davis; Par. [26])
Regarding claim 21, Waris discloses the long range communication interface of the first node comprises a cellular interface (See Par. [46], [140] and Fig 1A-1B of Waris for a reference to the personal devices including the recipient’s personal device 119 is in communication with the server /TMS over communication network, which may be cellular comm-network, 3G or 4G communication networks, [Long -range path interface]).
Waris does not explicitly disclose wherein the medium range communication interface of the first node comprises a Wi-Fi interface
However, Davis discloses wherein the medium range communication interface of the first node comprises a Wi-Fi interface (See Par. [25]-[27], [80] and Fig 1 of Davis for a reference to the gaming machine may communicate directly with the server using medium range interface, which is a wifi interface).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Davis to Waris. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by facilitating the secure transmission of authentication information between the gaming machine and the server. (Davis; Par. [64])
Regarding claim 24, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 17.
Regarding claim 25, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 18.
Regarding claim 27, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 20.
Regarding claim 28, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 21.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Deluca (US. Pub. No. 2017/0054521 A1) discloses system and method for automated activation of a radio, or content receiver, used to receive subscription radio services such as XM or Sirius radio.
Wu et al. (US. Pub. No. 2016/0234302 A1) discloses a method and related device and system for distributing virtual items.
Albert, JR et al. (US. Pub. No. 2014/0136318 A1) discloses methods for targeting advertisements to a group of proximate electronic devices.
9. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.K.F/Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413