DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 6/13/25 is considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation of “wherein an interval between the first panel and the second panel in a direction perpendicular to a panel surface is an interval of 0.0 mm or longer and less than 100.0 mm” is indefinite in that it is not made clear, concise, and exact: which of the first panel and second panel the “a panel surface” is intended to be a surface of, if either, or whether the “a panel surface” is intended to be a panel surface of a separate panel, in which case the scope of the claim is arbitrarily defined; if the panel surface is a panel surface of the first panel or second panel, which panel surface of the first panel or second panel it is intended to be, presuming the first panel and second panel to be physical structures possessing a plurality of surfaces oriented in differing directions; in what manner an interval of “0.0 mm” is intended to be an interval as opposed to the first panel and second panel being connected to one another, and what difference, if any, is intended by the specification of “0.0 mm or longer and less than 100.0 mm” as opposed to “less than 100.0 mm”, which is understood by the examiner as encompassing the same scope. To expedite prosecution, the claim will be examined as best understood by the examiner.
Claims 2-6 are included for their dependency upon claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, the limitation of “wherein an interval between the first panel and the second panel in a direction perpendicular to a panel surface is an interval of 0.0 mm or longer and less than 100.0 mm” is indefinite in that it is not made clear, concise, and exact: which of the first panel and second panel the “a panel surface” is intended to be a surface of, if either, or whether the “a panel surface” is intended to be a panel surface of a separate panel, in which case the scope of the claim is arbitrarily defined; if the panel surface is a panel surface of the first panel or second panel, which panel surface of the first panel or second panel it is intended to be, presuming the first panel and second panel to be physical structures possessing a plurality of surfaces oriented in differing directions; in what manner an interval of “0.0 mm” is intended to be an interval as opposed to the first panel and second panel being connected to one another, and what difference, if any, is intended by the specification of “0.0 mm or longer and less than 100.0 mm” as opposed to “less than 100.0 mm”, which is understood by the examiner as encompassing the same scope. To expedite prosecution, the claim will be examined as best understood by the examiner.
Claims 8-12 are included for their dependency upon claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nomoto et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2025/0125532).
Regarding claim 1, Nomoto et al. teaches (Figs. 6-8) a reflection panel comprising: a first panel (12B with 15) configured to specularly reflect an electromagnetic wave (¶48 lines 1-8; ¶91 lines 1-19) in a desired band selected from a frequency band of 1 GHz or higher and 300 GHz or lower (¶48 lines 1-8; ¶71 lines 14-17); and a second panel (12A comprising 16) including a meta-surface having a controlled reflection characteristic (¶79 lines 1-8), wherein an interval between the first panel and the second panel in a direction perpendicular to a panel surface is an interval of 0.0 mm or longer and less than 100.0 mm (¶63).
Regarding claim 2, Nomoto teaches the reflection panel according to claim 1, wherein the second panel is disposed on a side of the first panel on which the electromagnetic wave is incident (see Fig. 7, ¶91 lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 3, Nomoto teaches the reflection panel according to claim 1, wherein a plane size of the second panel is smaller than a plane size of the first panel (see Fig. 6, 12 compared to 15).
Regarding claim 7, Nomoto et al. teaches (Figs. 6-8) an electromagnetic-wave reflecting apparatus comprising: a reflection panel (10) configured to reflect an electromagnetic wave in a desired band selected from a frequency band of 1 GHz or higher and 300 GHz or lower (¶48 lines 1-8; ¶71 lines 14-17); and a frame configured to hold the reflection panel (15), wherein the reflection panel comprises: a first panel (12B together with 14B and portion of 15) configured to specularly reflect an electromagnetic wave (¶48 lines 1-8; ¶91 lines 1-19), and a second panel (12A comprising 16) including a meta-surface having a controlled reflection characteristic (¶79 lines 1-8), and an interval between the first panel and the second panel in a direction perpendicular to a panel surface is an interval of 0.0 mm or longer and less than 100.0 mm (¶63).
Regarding claim 8, Nomoto teaches the electromagnetic-wave reflecting apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the second panel is disposed on a side of the first panel on which the electromagnetic wave is incident (see Fig. 7, ¶91 lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 9, Nomoto teaches the electromagnetic-wave reflecting apparatus according to claim 7, wherein a plane size of the second panel is smaller than a plane size of the first panel (see Fig. 6, 12 compared to 15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nomoto et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2025/0125532) as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Legay et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2010/0097290).
Regarding claim 4, Nomoto teaches the reflection panel according to claim 1.
Nomoto does not teach wherein the second panel is held so as to be movable relative to the first panel or detachable from the first panel.
Legay et al. teaches (Figs. 1a, 1b) a reflection panel comprising: a first panel (PM); and a second panel having a controlled reflection characteristic (F1), wherein the second panel is held so as to be movable relative to the first panel or detachable from the first panel (¶3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reflection panel of Nomoto such that the second panel is held so as to be movable relative to the first panel or detachable from the first panel, employing the teachings of Legay.
Doing so would provide the predictable benefit of adjusting reflection coverage area and thereby controlling phase of the reflected electromagnetic wave (Legay, ¶3).
Regarding claim 5, Nomoto teaches the reflection panel according to claim 1.
Nomoto does not teach a holding part configured to hold the second panel, the holding part being attached to a part of an edge of the first panel so as to be movable or detachable.
Legay et al. teaches (Figs. 1a, 1b) a reflection panel comprising: a first panel (PM); and a second panel having a controlled reflection characteristic (F1), and comprising a holding part (re1 and re2) configured to hold the second panel (see Fig. 1b), the holding part being attached to an edge of the first panel so as to be movable or detachable (see Fig. 1a, ¶3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reflection panel of Nomoto to also comprise a holding part configured to hold the second panel, the holding part being attached to a part of an edge of the first panel so as to be movable or detachable, employing the teachings of Legay.
Doing so would provide the predictable benefit of adjusting reflection coverage area and thereby controlling phase of the reflected electromagnetic wave (Legay, ¶3).
Regarding claim 10, Nomoto teaches the electromagnetic-wave reflecting apparatus according to claim 7.
Nomoto does not teach wherein the second panel is held so as to be movable relative to the first panel or detachable from the first panel.
Legay et al. teaches (Figs. 1a, 1b) an electromagnetic-wave reflecting apparatus comprising: a first panel (PM); and a second panel having a controlled reflection characteristic (F1), wherein the second panel is held so as to be movable relative to the first panel or detachable from the first panel (¶3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electromagnetic-wave reflecting apparatus of Nomoto such that the second panel is held so as to be movable relative to the first panel or detachable from the first panel, employing the teachings of Legay.
Doing so would provide the predictable benefit of adjusting reflection coverage area and thereby controlling phase of the reflected electromagnetic wave (Legay, ¶3).
Regarding claim 11, Nomoto teaches the electromagnetic-wave reflecting apparatus according to claim 7.
Nomoto does not teach wherein the frame includes a top frame for holding an upper end of the first panel, side frames for holding side ends of the first panel, or a bottom frame forholding a lower end of the first panel, and the second panel is held so as to be movable relative to the first panel or detachable from the first panel by using a part of the top frame, the side frames, or the bottom frame.
Legay et al. teaches (Figs. 1a, 1b) an electromagnetic-wave reflecting apparatus comprising: a reflection panel comprising: a first panel (PM); and a second panel having a controlled reflection characteristic (F1); and a frame configured to hold the reflection panel (see frame in Fig. 1b), wherein the frame includes a top frame for holding an upper end of the first panel, side frames for holding side ends of the first panel, or a bottom frame for holding a lower end of the first panel (see side portions in Fig. 1b to either side of PM which support PM), and the second panel is held so as to be movable relative to the first panel or detachable from the first panel by using a part of the top frame, the side frames, or the bottom frame (portions of top frame and bottom frame support re1 and re2 which hold F1 so as to be movable relative to PM).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electromagnetic-wave reflecting apparatus of Nomoto such that the frame includes a top frame for holding an upper end of the first panel, side frames for holding side ends of the first panel, or a bottom frame forholding a lower end of the first panel, and the second panel is held so as to be movable relative to the first panel or detachable from the first panel by using a part of the top frame, the side frames, or the bottom frame, employing the teachings of Legay.
Doing so would provide the predictable benefit of adjusting reflection coverage area and thereby controlling phase of the reflected electromagnetic wave (Legay, ¶3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art does not teach or reasonably suggest, in combination with other claimed limitations, the limitation of “wherein the holding part comprises a first part configured to be movable along a first edge of the first panel in a first direction, and a second part configured to support the second panel, a length of the second part being able to be changed in a second direction different from the first direction”, and the modification of the art of record to incorporate this feature would not have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art does not teach or reasonably suggest, in combination with other claimed limitations, the limitation of “comprising a holding part configured to hold the second panel relative to the first panel, wherein the holding part comprises a first part configured to be movable in a first direction along the top frame, the side frames, or the bottom frame, and a second part configured to support the second panel, a length of the second part being able to be changed in a second direction different from the first direction”, and the modification of the art of record to incorporate this feature would not have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nomoto et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2024/0088570) and Yoshida et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2008/0084259) teach various embodiments of electromagnetic-wave reflecting surfaces.
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/Jordan E. DeWitt/Examiner, Art Unit 2845