DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, 12-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karp (US 10,324, 766 B1) in view of Dolan et al. (US 10,171,292 B1), and further in view of Grinstein et al. (US 2022/0038544 A1).
With respect to claim 1, a method, comprising: the static identifier comprising a static string corresponding to a region identifier for the region network (i.e., uses a fixed substitution token, ‘$ {crs.region},’ whose literal syntax identifies the region value associated with the software task in Karp, col. 5 lines 10-30; col. 11 line 10);
determining, by the service, whether the static identifier comprises the static string (i.e., after startup an agent scans the task definition, recognizes unresolved substitution elements by fixed dollar-sign/brace syntax, and selects resolution according to the token's identity. in Karp, col. 8 lines 15-38; col. 10 lines 49-64).
Karp discloses deployed software task's template containing fixed substitution elements, including a region token, received and processed during scheduling and deployment (col. 5 lines 10-30). Karp do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Dolan, in order to efficient configuration of cloud infrastructure and scaling by applying the placeholder-bearing template during region build (col. 1 lines 18-30), discloses:
receiving, at a computing node in a region network and during a region build process, a static identifier for a software resource within the region network (i.e., new-region devices receive build configuration while software services are installed on the configured hosts; the received configuration is treated as carrying the software-resource identifier in Dolan, col. 7 lines 10-33).
Based on Karp in view of Dolan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Dolan to improve upon those of Karp in order to efficient configuration of cloud infrastructure and scaling by applying the placeholder-bearing template during region build.
Karp discloses a placeholder-bearing task definition at the deployed computing resource after startup (col. 5 lines 31-49). Karp and Dolan do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Grinstein, in order to improve interoperability with request-carried stable identity that lets the same unmodified workload operate across multiple execution environments (¶0020), discloses:
receiving, at a service executing in the region network and after the region network is configured in a scalable footprint data center, a request comprising the static identifier (i.e., after workload deployment, the in-environment UIMS receives a metadata request whose header carries the workload's canonical identifier in Grinstein, ¶0068; ¶0046); and
based at least in part on a determination that the static identifier comprises the static string, obtaining, by the service from a datastore, the region identifier for the region network in the scalable footprint data center (i.e., UIMS extracts a canonical identifier from the request and queries stored mappings for the corresponding cloud-specific identity, an environment-specific value analogous to an operative region value in Grinstein, ¶0028; ¶0046).
Based on Karp in view of Dolan, and further in view of Grinstein, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Grinstein to improve upon those of Karp in order to improve interoperability with request-carried stable identity that lets the same unmodified workload operate across multiple execution environments.
With respect to claim 2, Karp discloses deployed software task's template containing fixed substitution elements, including a region token, received and processed during scheduling and deployment (col. 5 lines 10-30). Karp do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Dolan, in order to efficient configuration of cloud infrastructure and scaling by applying the placeholder-bearing template during region build (col. 1 lines 18-30), discloses: the method of claim 1,
wherein receiving the static identifier comprises receiving the static identifier during the region build process at a first data center facility (i.e., new-region devices receive configuration during cloud-infrastructure build, while build tools provision hosts and install services in the new region in Dolan, col. 7 lines 10-33; col. 1 line 54-col. 2 line 3), and
wherein the software resource deployed to the region network maintains the static identifier after the region network is configured in the scalable footprint data center (i.e., configuration services migrate from staging into the configured new region, while NAT permits their existing addresses to remain unchanged through the migration in Dolan, col. 7 lines 10-33).
Based on Karp in view of Dolan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Dolan to improve upon those of Karp in order to efficient configuration of cloud infrastructure and scaling by applying the placeholder-bearing template during region build.
With respect to claim 3, Karp discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the static string is different from the region identifier (i.e., the literal ‘$ {crs.region}’ escape sequence remains unresolved until the agent acquires the distinct region value that the token identifies in Karp, col. 11 line 10; col. 11 lines 35-50).
With respect to claim 5, Karp discloses a placeholder-bearing task definition at the deployed computing resource after startup (col. 5 lines 31-49). Karp and Dolan do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Grinstein, in order to improve interoperability with request-carried stable identity that lets the same unmodified workload operate across multiple execution environments (¶0020), discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the static identifier is generated by an identities service in the region network (i.e., the WCS/IAM broker functions as an identifier-management service by creating a workload canonical identity and mapping it to platform-specific logical identities in Grinstein, ¶0029; ¶0030).
Based on Karp in view of Dolan, and further in view of Grinstein, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Grinstein to improve upon those of Karp in order to improve interoperability with request-carried stable identity that lets the same unmodified workload operate across multiple execution environments.
With respect to claim 6, Karp discloses a placeholder-bearing task definition at the deployed computing resource after startup (col. 5 lines 31-49). Karp and Dolan do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Grinstein, in order to improve interoperability with request-carried stable identity that lets the same unmodified workload operate across multiple execution environments (¶0020), discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the datastore is a local metadata datastore managed by a metadata service (i.e., identity metadata may reside alongside or within the WCS, while the UIMS operates as an in-environment metadata service that retrieves mapped identity data. in Grinstein, ¶0028; ¶0043).
Based on Karp in view of Dolan, and further in view of Grinstein, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Grinstein to improve upon those of Karp in order to improve interoperability with request-carried stable identity that lets the same unmodified workload operate across multiple execution environments.
With respect to claim 7, Karp discloses a placeholder-bearing task definition at the deployed computing resource after startup (col. 5 lines 31-49). Karp and Dolan do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Grinstein, in order to improve interoperability with request-carried stable identity that lets the same unmodified workload operate across multiple execution environments (¶0020), discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the datastore is a cache accessible to the service in the region network (i.e., the executing UIMS retrieves environment-specific identity or credential data from its own cache, making that cache directly accessible to the service in Grinstein, ¶0047).
Based on Karp in view of Dolan, and further in view of Grinstein, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Grinstein to improve upon those of Karp in order to improve interoperability with request-carried stable identity that lets the same unmodified workload operate across multiple execution environments.
With respect to claim 8, the limitation(s) of claim 8 are similar to those of claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim 8 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 1.
With respect to claim 9, the limitation(s) of claim 9 are similar to those of claim(s) 2. Therefore, claim 9 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 2.
With respect to claim 10, the limitation(s) of claim 10 are similar to those of claim(s) 3. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 3.
With respect to claim 12, the limitation(s) of claim 12 are similar to those of claim(s) 5. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 5.
With respect to claim 13, the limitation(s) of claim 13 are similar to those of claim(s) 6. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 6.
With respect to claim 14, the limitation(s) of claim 14 are similar to those of claim(s) 7. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 7.
With respect to claim 15, the limitation(s) of claim 15 are similar to those of claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 1.
With respect to claim 16, the limitation(s) of claim 16 are similar to those of claim(s) 2. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 2.
With respect to claim 17, the limitation(s) of claim 17 are similar to those of claim(s) 3. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 3.
With respect to claim 19, the limitation(s) of claim 19 are similar to those of claim(s) 5. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 5.
With respect to claim 20, the limitation(s) of claim 20 are similar to those of claim(s) 6. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 6.
Claim(s) 4,11 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karp (US 10,324, 766 B1) in view of Dolan et al. (US 10,171,292 B1) and Grinstein et al. (US 2022/0038544 A1), and further in view of Rungta et al. (US 11,736,525 B1).
With respect to claim 4, Karp discloses: the method of claim 1, further comprising receiving, at the computing node, a resource identifier for an additional software resource in the region network (i.e., a deployed customer task queries the management-service API to discover a related task and receives that additional task's assigned network address in Karp, col. 4 lines 29-47).
Karp discloses a region substitution token and permits multiple resolved substitution values to be combined into one task value (col. 10 lines 32-44; col. 11 line 10). Karp, Dolan and Grinstein do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Rungta, in order to implement automatic policy management with resource-ID placeholders permit a policy to represent identifiers that are unavailable in program code until runtime (col. 10 lines 42-55), discloses:
the resource identifier comprising the region identifier (i.e., places placeholders in resource-identifier positions and later replaces them with real resource IDs available for the deployed application in Rungta, col. 3 lines 13-37, col 10 lines 56-67).
Based on Karp in view of Dolan and Grinstein, and further in view of Rungta, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Rungta to improve upon those of Karp in order to implement automatic policy management with resource-ID placeholders permit a policy to represent identifiers that are unavailable in program code until runtime.
With respect to claim 11, the limitation(s) of claim 11 are similar to those of claim(s) 4. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 4.
With respect to claim 18, the limitation(s) of claim 18 are similar to those of claim(s) 4. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 4.
Conclusion
Sherman Lin
8/6/2026
/S. L./Examiner, Art Unit 2447
/JOON H HWANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2447