DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the Examiner assumes applicant has support for claim 38 solely from the drawings. This is because, as required, applicant has not provided any citation to specific sections of the specification or drawings for support for the amendment. With that said, assuming arguendo that applicant has support solely from the drawings for the limitation of claim 38, the language of claim 38 (i.e. the sloped portion disposed within the water-carrying cavity) needs to be added to the specification for proper antecedent basis. Restated, nowhere in the written specification does it state that the “sloped portions are located in the water carrying cavity”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21 and 23-34, 37, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forutanpour (US Pub. No. 2014/0221136; as cited in applicant’s IDS) in view of Panec (US Pat. No 5,975,983; as cited in applicant’s IDS) and in further view of Zoellner (US Pub. No. 2005/0170739 A1; as cited in applicant’s IDS).
Regarding claim 21, Forutanpour discloses a toy ball (Fig. 3, item 11 as seen in Fig. 18, items 127 and 129), comprising: a first petal comprising an elastic material (Fig. 3, item 11a, and par. [0058]; noting rubber may be used), the first petal including a first edge portion having a first fitting surface (Fig. 18; noting the edge of rim on item 129), and a plurality of first magnetic members mounted and fixed inside the first edge portion (Fig. 17, items 111; noting this is obvious and par. [0088]; disclosing item 111 may be a magnet; specifically noting under Boston Scientific Scimed, Inc. v. Cordis Corp., 683 F.3d 1347 (Fed. Cir. 2011), combining side by side embodiments does not require a “leap of inventiveness”); a second petal comprising an elastic material (Fig. 18, item 127 and Fig. 3, item 11b, and par. [0058]; noting rubber may be used), the second petal including a second edge portion having a second fitting surface (Fig. 18; noting the edge on item 127), and a plurality of second magnetic members mounted and fixed inside the second edge portion (Fig. 17, items 111 and Fig. 16, items 93 making obvious corresponding magnets on the other half, see specifically par. [0088] disclosing magnets), wherein the first fitting surface is shaped to fit and contact the second fitting surface (Fig. 3, item 11), a connecting member connecting the first petal to the second petal (Fig. 18, item 131), wherein the first petal, the second petal, and the connecting member form an integral molded member (Fig. 18; noting they are all connected and thus “integral”; and alternatively, “integral molded member” is merely a product-by-process, see MPEP 2113(II) stating “once a product appearing to be substantially identical is found a prior art rejection is made, the burden shifts to applicant to show an nonobvious difference”); wherein the plurality of first magnetic members are spaced apart from each other, and the plurality of second magnetic members are spaced apart from each other (Fig. 17, item 11, and as per par. [0088] and Fig. 16, it would be obvious that the second magnetic members would be of opposite polarity and spaced consistent with the first magnetic members), wherein the plurality of first magnetic members mate with the plurality of second magnetic members to position the first petal and the second petal in a closed state and define a object-carrying cavity (Fig. 17, and par. [0088]; noting this would be obvious as seen in Fig. 3, item 11, par. [0057] making obvious the ability to carry objects), and wherein a magnetic attraction force between the plurality of first magnetic members and the plurality of second magnetic members is sufficient to cause the first edge portion and the second edge portion to contact each other to create a waterproof seal (Fig. 5 and par. [0065]; noting a “waterproof seal” is functionally possible given the structure; noting as per Fig. 5, the ends can be deformed upon connection to create a continuous seal). It is noted that Forutanpour does not specifically disclose that the ball is toy water ball specifically used to carry water and that the petals are made of silicone, and alternatively, a waterproof seal. However, Forutanpour discloses that a reusable sports ball can carry other things (par. [0057]), specifically indicates that the ball can impact another user (par. [0055]; noting the ball can be specifically used in “dodgeball”), and has edges that deform to create, at a minimum, a tight seal (Fig. 5 and par. [0065]). In addition, Panec discloses a similar toy ball wherein the ball is toy water ball specifically used to carry water (Fig. 3) and that it is made of rubber or silicone (col. 2, lines 27-29) and has a “watertight seal” (col. 2, lines 62-64; noting the Examiner notes that applicant does not structurally define the difference between what constitutes a “waterproof” seal over that of a “watertight” seal; see also applicant’s spec, par. [0032], noting numerous types of seals can be used as long as a “water-retaining effect is provide” appearing to negate that it must be “waterproof” over “water tight”). Thus, it would have bene obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Forutanpour to make the ball a toy water ball made out of silicone with a waterproof as taught and suggested by Panec because doing so would be applying a known technique (making a toy ball out of compressible silicone, the toy ball being reusable and can carry water with a waterproof seal that can be released upon impact) to a known product (a reusable toy ball that is made of rubber and has two sides and two rims that can be closed by magnets and can have a tight seal) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (making the reusable toy ball from silicone, and specifically using the toy ball for holding water with a waterproof seal, the toy ball being flexible and compressible enough to impact a user and also allowing the impact to release water). Finally, it is noted that the combined Forutanpour and Panec do not specifically disclose that the first and second magnets are fixed inside the first and second edge portion away from the first and second fitting surface, respectively. However, Forutanpour clearly disclose the use of magnets to join two contacting portions with edges (par. [0088] and Fig. 17, items 111). In addition, Zoellner discloses a toy that uses magnets wherein the magnets are specifically positioned away from the fitting surface (Fig. 4). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combined Forutanpour and Panec to position the magnets away from the first and second fitting surface as taught and suggested by Zoellner because doing so would be use of a known technique (using a layer of material over the connecting magnet proximate a surface) to improve a similar product (a toy ball that has two sides connected by adjoining magnets proximate a surface) in the same way (using a layer of material over the connecting magnets in a toy ball that has two connected surfaces by adjoining magnets, the layer of material over the magnets minimizing the risk of injury to the user when the magnets are connected – see Zoellner: par. [0044]).
Regarding claim 23, the combined Forutanpour, Panec, and Zoellner disclose that the connecting member is integrally formed with the first edge portion and the second edge portion (Forutanpour: Fig. 18, item 131; noting they are all connected or “integral”; and alternatively, “integrally formed” is merely a product-by-process, see MPEP 2113(II) stating “once a product appearing to be substantially identical is found a prior art rejection is made, the burden shifts to applicant to show an nonobvious difference”).
Regarding claim 24, the combined Forutanpour, Panec, and Zoellner disclose that the first fitting surface and the second fitting surface deform into a tight fit in the closed state (Forutanpour: Fig. 5 and par. [0065]).
Regarding claim 25, the combined Forutanpour, Panec, and Zoellner disclose that a first hemispherical shell of the first petal is integrally formed with the first edge portion (Forutanpour: Figs. 3, item 11, Fig. 5, or 18; noting they are all connected and thus “integral”; and alternatively, “integrally formed” is merely a product-by-process, see MPEP 2113(II) stating “once a product appearing to be substantially identical is found a prior art rejection is made, the burden shifts to applicant to show an nonobvious difference”).
Regarding claim 26, the combined Forutanpour, Panec, and Zoellner disclose that a second hemispherical shell of the first petal is integrally formed with the second edge portion (Forutanpour: Figs. 3, item 11, Fig. 5, or 18; noting they are all connected and thus “integral”; and alternatively, “integrally formed” is merely a product-by-process, see MPEP 2113(II) stating “once a product appearing to be substantially identical is found a prior art rejection is made, the burden shifts to applicant to show an nonobvious difference”).
Regarding claim 27 the combined Forutanpour, Panec, and Zoellner disclose that each of the plurality of first magnetic members is shaped as a rectangular block, and each of the plurality of second magnetic member is shaped as a rectangular block (Zoellner: Fig. 7, items 122-127). In the alternative, regarding using rectangular shaped magnets over that of circular as shown in Forutanpour: Fig. 17, item 111, it has been held that changes in shape are a matter of choice absent persuasive evidence that a person of skill in the art would find the shape significant. In re Daily, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)(see applicant’s spec, par. [0034]; giving no criticality to using rectangular shapes). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the exact shape of the magnets would not be significant: that is, the magnets would allow the two halves to be attracted to each other regardless of their exact shape.
Regarding claim 28, the combined Forutanpour, Panec, and Zoellner disclose that the each of the plurality of first magnetic members is fixed in the first edge portion by integrally molding each first magnetic member in the first edge portion (Forutanpour: Fig. 17, item 111; noting they are connected so they are “integral”; and alternatively, “integrally molding” is merely a product-by-process, see MPEP 2113(II) stating “once a product appearing to be substantially identical is found a prior art rejection is made, the burden shifts to applicant to show an nonobvious difference”).
Regarding claim 29, the combined Forutanpour, Panec, and Zoellner disclose that the each of the plurality of second magnetic members is fixed in the second edge portion by integrally molding each second magnetic member in the second edge portion (Forutanpour: Fig. 17, item 111; noting they are connected so they are “integral”; and alternatively, “integrally molding” is merely a product-by-process, see MPEP 2113(II) stating “once a product appearing to be substantially identical is found a prior art rejection is made, the burden shifts to applicant to show an nonobvious difference”; noting duplication of the magnets and their positions with opposite polarity is obvious given the disclosure of par. [0088] and as shown in Fig. 16).
Regarding claim 30, the combined Forutanpour, Panec, and Zoellner disclose that the first petal and the second petal each comprises a semispherical shell (Forutanpour: Figs. 3, 5, and 18, items 127 and 129; noting they are “hemispherical” which is “semispherical”).
Regarding claim 31, the combined Forutanpour, Panec, and Zoellner disclose that the first fitting surface comprises a slope and the second fitting surface comprises a slope; and wherein the slope of the first fitting surface and the slope of the second fitting surface are tilted to each other (Forutanpour: Fig. 5 below and par. [0065]-[0066]; noting they are concave from inside-to-out, so the edges are sloped or titled out toward the middle and each other).
Regarding claim 32, the combined Forutanpour, Panec, and Zoellner disclose that the first fitting surface and the second fitting surface deform into a tight fit (Forutanpour: Fig. 5 and par. [0065]).
Regarding claim 33, the combined Forutanpour, Panec, and Zoellner disclose that the first fitting surface and the second fitting surface are concavely arranged in a natural state (Forutanpour: Fig. 5 above and par. [0065]-[0066]; noting they are concave from inside-to-out; the Examiner taking the broadest reasonable interpretation of the limitation). In the alternative, regarding the exact shape of the first and second fitting surface, it has been held that changes in shape are a matter of choice absent persuasive evidence that a person of skill in the art would find the shape significant. In re Daily, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)(see applicant’s spec, par. [0031]; noting the fitting surfaces can actually be “flat, as long as a seal” can be achieved). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the exact shape of the fitting surfaces would not be significant: that is, the surface would continue to seal regardless of its exact shape.
Regarding claim 34, the combined Forutanpour, Panec, and Zoellner disclose that the magnetic attraction force is sufficient to cause the first fitting surface and the second fitting surface to deform into the tight fit against each other and create a waterproof seal (Forutanpour: Fig. 5 and 17 in combination with par. [0065]; noting under noting under Boston Scientific Scimed, Inc. v. Cordis Corp., 683 F.3d 1347 (Fed. Cir. 2011), combining side by side embodiments does not require a “leap of inventiveness”; the Examiner noting that the creation of a waterproof seal is functionally possible given the combined structure as described in Forutanpour: par. [0065] and in light of the teaches of Panec providing a “water tight” seal).
Regarding claim 37, the combined Forutanpour, Panec, and Zoellner disclose that the first petal and the second petal are configured to separate and release water stored in the water carrying cavity when the toy water ball hits a person of an object (Forutanpour: Figs. 17, 18, and par. [0088]; noting this is functionally possible given the structure; the italicized language denoting functional language; also noting if not obvious based on Forutanpour alone, it would be obvious when looking at the teachings of Panec).
Regarding claim 38, the combined Forutanpour, Panec, and Zoellner disclose that the first fitting surface comprises a first sloped portion and the second fitting surface comprises a second sloped portion, the first sloped portion and the second sloped portion being disposed adjacent the water-carrying cavity (Forutanpour: Fig. 5 above). It is noted that the combined Forutanpour, Panec, and Zoellner disclose that the slope surface is within the cavity. However, regarding the actual location of the sloped surface, it has been held that the rearrangement of parts is not patentable unless it modifies the operation of the device. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)(see applicant’s spec, par. [0032]; applicant not even stating that the slopes are found in the water cavity, let alone giving any criticality for that exact location). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the exact location of the sloped surface would not modify the operation of the device: that is, the slope surfaces would help to create a waterproof seal regardless of their exact location.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forutanpour (US Pub. No. 2014/0221136; as cited in applicant’s IDS) in view of Panec (US Pat. No.5,975,983; as cited in applicant’s IDS) in view of Zoellner (US Pub. No. 2005/0170739 A1; as cited in applicant’s IDS) and in further view of Mowbray et al. (herein “Mowbray”; US Pub. No. 2018/0229885 A1; as cited in applicant’s IDS).
Regarding claim 22, the combined Forutanpour, Panec, and Zoellner disclose the connecting member is configured as a sheet (Forutanpour: Fig. 18, noting it appears to be one solid piece of the material). In the alternative, Forutanpour discloses that the connecting member is some kind of folding hinge (Fig. 18, item 131). In addition Mowbray discloses a similar invention with connected petals wherein the connecting member is a sheet (Fig. 13, item 12 or alternatively, Fig. 18, item 6 and par. [0133]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combined Forutanpour, Panec, and Zoellner to use a connecting member as a sheet as taught by Mowbray because doing so would be a simple substitution of one element (a sheet hinge or living hinge) for another (some type of folding hinge) to obtain predictable results (the continued ability to use a hinge to fasten two petals together, the hinge being in the form of a sheet or living hinge).
Double Patenting
Claim 21 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 51-52 of copending Application No. 17/549,920 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 51-52 of the ‘920 application essentially claims slightly different functional language that is accomplished using the structure. However, the actual structure claimed between the two independent claims is essentially the same. In addition, the Examiner does not see any structural distinction between a “water-tight” seal, and a “water-proof” seal (emphasis added).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 21-34 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 32-45 and 47 of copending Application No. 17/549,920 in view of Forutanpour (US Pub. No. 2014/0221136). Claim 32 of the ‘920 application only claims one magnetic member. Claim 21 of the currently application claims a “plurality” of magnetic members. However, Forutanpour makes obvious that a plurality of magnetic members can be used around the edge portion (Fig. 17, items 111 and par. [0088]). Furthermore, regarding the remainder of the claims, dependent claims 22-34 of the current application essentially claim the same subject matter as dependent claims 33-45 and 47 of the ‘920 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/17/25 have been fully considered but they are not generally persuasive.
Technically, the amendments to the claims (i.e. the Reply) are non-responsive. Applicant should have provided specific support from the drawings, written specification, or both for amendments to the claims.
Rejection
"a magnetic attraction force between the plurality of first magnetic
members and the plurality of second magnetic members is sufficient
to cause the first edge portion and the second edge portion to contact
each other and create a waterproof seal"
Applicant essentially argues that the above combined references do not teach a ball used to carry water (see Remarks, pages 7-8). Applicant goes on to argue that “Forutanpour never discloses that its sports ball containing any of these items or other balls or sporting equipment would be used for playing a game such as dodgeball” (see Remarks, page 8). For the record, Forutanpour never really states if the outer ball (see for example, Fig. 3) is intended to be used with the other objects or balls inside, or with them removed (see entire specification; emphasis added). However, what is clear is that the ball in Forutanpour can still functionally be used with the other objects inside (see Figs. 1-3; emphasis added). Couple Forutanpour with the teachings of Panec that the ball is intended to be used with water inside, and the limitations of using a ball with water inside is obvious. Restated, there is nothing in Forutanpour that creates a “teaching away” (implicit or explicit) from using the ball with an object inside because Forutanpour is completely silent on the issue. Furthermore, the fact that Forutanpour shows a ball that can functionally be used with an object inside rebuts applicant’s argument of an implicit teaching away.
On page 8, applicant argues that filling he Forutanpour ball with water would “create an unbalanced ball” and “frustrate the [intended] purpose of Forutanpour’s sports ball”. First, the argument already assumes that the water does not fill the entire cavity in order to create the unbalanced effect. Second, Forutanpour: Figs. 3 and 11 already show a football inside a spherical ball, the inner football creating an unbalanced effect. As such, to argue a frustration of intended purpose when imbalance is already shown is not compelling.
On page 9, applicant goes on to argue the specifics of the second reference Panec in isolation, instead of understanding what Panec would one of ordinary skill in the art (i.e. an In re Keller argument). Panec teaches a POSA that a reusable ball can be used to hold water and deliver that water on impact. A POSA, when looking at Forutanpour, would understand that Forutanpour can be modified to do the same thing.
Applicant goes on to argue that filling the Forutanpour ball with water, “the water would not tend to hold the two halves of the sports ball against each other to form a waterproof seal” (see Remarks, page 9). This is a purely conclusionary statement with no support or citations from Forutanpour. On the contrary, Fig. 5 and par. [0065] clearly shows that the side walls can be sloped and deform to create a tight seal. Fig. 3 and par. [0057] clearly shows that the outer ball is intended to hold internal objects. There is no reason whatsoever to think that using water in the Forutanpour ball would essentially cause the ball to no close or seal. Restated, applicant appears to argue the teachings of Panec in a somewhat convoluted way to argue that the ball in Forutanpour would not close when filled with water. This argument is not compelling and is purely speculation.
Turning to the term “waterproof” as opposed to “water tight”, the Examiner does not see any real difference in the language. Restated, applicant has simply inserted one phrase for another into the claims. However, applicant does not in any way further claim the structure required to create the “waterproof seal”. And, even assuming arguendo that they did, the Examiner believes that Forutanpour teaches that structure (i.e. sloped walls that deform upon connecting the two halves to create a closed sphere).
Applicant argues that the Examiner has provided no rationale that Forutanpour provides a water tight or water proof seal. Respectfully submitted, Forutanpour discloses that the ball can be made from rubber (par. [0038]), that the side edges may be slope and deform to straight when the sides are connected (Fig. 5 and par. [0065]), and that magnets may be used to hold the ball closed at those sloped sides (Fig. 17 and par. [0088]). This is essentially what applicant is disclosing to create the claimed “waterproof” feature of their invention (i.e. the structure in Forutanpour would functionally create this waterproof structure). This argument is even stronger with a POSA looks at the teachings of Panec. In summary, the Forutanpour structure can functionally create a waterproof or water tight seal as clearly explained in the rejection above.
B. Claim 22
No other arguments are advanced. For claim 22, applicant simply incorporates the claim arguments above with no additional arguments.
C. New Claim 37
Applicant goes on to argue that “Furthermore, Forutanpour teaches away from separation of its sport ball into its portions when a user is using the sports ball” (see Remarks, page 12). Respectfully, applicant also teaches that the portions do not separate when the user is using the toy. Applicant’s toy only separates on impact and not when the user is carrying it. In addition, using applicant’s own logic, if the outer ball was intended to not “separate”, how could a user open the ball to gain access to the inside ball? Rather, it is clear that the outer ball would separate with some force so that a user could gain access to the inner ball. The ability to open on impact would functionally depend on the velocity of the thrown ball, object hit, angle of and impact, location of impact, and the strength of the magnets. However, at some velocity, the magnetic force would be overcome and the two halves would separate. As such, this argument is also not compelling. Again, couple Forutanpour with Panec and the ability of the ball to separate and release water on impact is obvious.
D. New Claim 38
Applicant should have provided specific support from the drawings or written specification for this claim amendment. Assuming arguendo that applicant does have support for the limitation, the Examiner does not see any criticality for using the sloped surfaces within the water carrying cavity as opposed to adjacent to it. In fact, applicant’s par. [0032] essentially states that any type of seal can be used as long as it creates a “water-retaining effect”.
Nonstatutory Double Patenting Rejection
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is still maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW B STANCZAK/
Examiner, Art Unit 3711
1/12/26
/NICHOLAS J. WEISS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3711