DETAILED ACTION
This written action is responding to the amendment dated on 06/16/2025.
Claims 1-19 are submitted for examination.
Claims 1-19 are pending.
Examiner’s Note
Independent method claim, computer readable claim and one dependent claim are missing claim number. Examiner has considered method claim as claim 11 and computer readable claim as claim 20 and dependent claim as claim 16. Thus claim numbers 11-15 have shifted as claim 12-16 and claim 16-17 have shifted as claim 18-19.
Priority
This application filed on June 16, 2025 claims priority of parent application 18/559,071 filed on November 06, 2023 which claims priority of PCT application PCT/UIL2022/050166 filed on October 02, 2022, which claims priority of a provisional application 63/186,126 filed on May 09, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The following Information Disclosure Statements in the instant application submitted in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, and thus, have been fully considered:
IDS filed on 16 June 2025.
Claim Objections
Independent Claims, method claim on page 24, non-transitory computer readable storage medium claim on page 27 and one of the dependent claim on page 26 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim number for independent method claim, non-transitory computer readable storage medium claim and a dependent claim are missing. Examiner has considered method claim as claim 11, non-transitory computer readable storage medium claim as claim 20 and dependent claim as claim 16. Appropriate correction is required. Applicant may give claim numbers as deemed necessary.
Claim 11 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 11 recites, “The method of Claim 11….”. A claim cannot depend upon itself. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No.12,373,576. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each. See table below.
Instant Application 19/238,582
Patent 12,373,576
SCENARIO-BASED CYBER SECURITY SYSTEM AND METHOD
SCENARIO-BASED CYBER SECURITY SYSTEM AND METHOD
1
A cyber security system comprising a processing circuitry configured to: obtain information of one or more cyber-attack scenarios, each (i) associated with a sequence of a plurality of events, and (ii) posing a threat on one or more computerized systems of an organization; for each given cyber-attack scenario of the cyber-attack scenarios: (a) collect preliminary information enabling determination of occurrence of a first sub-group of the sequence associated with the given cyber-attack scenario; (b) analyze the preliminary information to identify the occurrence of the first sub-group; (c) upon identification of occurrence of the first sub-group of the respective events, proactively collect complementary information, enabling at least one of: (i) determination of occurrence of a second sub-group of the sequence associated with the given cyber-attack scenario, the second sub-group including at least one of the events of the sequence associated with the given cyber-attack scenario that is not included in the first sub-group, or (ii) determining that the given cyber-attack scenario is not occurring; (d) analyze the complementary information to perform at least one of: (i) identify the occurrence of the second sub-group, or (ii) attempt to negate occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario; and (e) upon the analysis of the complementary information resulting in identification of occurrence of the second sub-group of the respective events and not in negation of the occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario, trigger an alert indicative of a potential occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario.
1
A cyber security system comprising a processing circuitry configured to: obtain information of one or more cyber-attack scenarios from one or more of the following sources: cyber-attack simulators, research of cyber-attack scenarios executed on an organization, research of cyber-attack scenarios executed on other organizations, cyber-attack scenarios knowledge bases or known cyber-attack scenarios, each cyber-attack scenario of the obtained cyber-attacked scenarios is: (i) associated with a sequence of a plurality of events, and (ii) posing a threat on one or more computerized systems of the organization; for each given cyber-attack scenario of the obtained cyber-attack scenarios: (a) collect preliminary information enabling determination of occurrence of a first sub-group of the sequence associated with the given cyber-attack scenario; (b) analyze the preliminary information to identify the occurrence of the first sub-group; (c) upon identification of occurrence of the first sub-group of the respective events, proactively collect complementary information, enabling at least one of: (i) determination of occurrence of a second sub-group of the sequence associated with the given cyber-attack scenario, the second sub-group including at least one of the events of the sequence associated with the given cyber-attack scenario that is not included in the first sub-group, or (ii) determining that the given cyber-attack scenario is not occurring;
(d) analyze the complementary information to perform at least one of: (i) identify the occurrence of the second sub-group, or (ii) attempt to negate occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario; (e) upon the analysis of the complementary information resulting in identification of occurrence of the second sub-group of the respective events and not in negation of the occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario, trigger an alert indicative of a potential occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario; (f) proactively collect additional complementary information, after triggering the alert; (g) analyze the additional complementary information to re-attempt to negate occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario; and (h) upon the analysis of the complementary information resulting in negation of the occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario, cancel the alert.
2
The cyber security system of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: proactively collect additional complementary information, after triggering the alert; analyze the additional complementary information to re-attempt to negate occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario; and upon the analysis of the complementary information resulting in negation of the occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario, cancel the alert.
1
(g) analyze the additional complementary information to re-attempt to negate occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario; and (h) upon the analysis of the complementary information resulting in negation of the occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario, cancel the alert.
3
The cyber security system of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is an endpoint processing circuitry of an endpoint of the organization, and wherein the preliminary information and the complementary information are collected from the endpoint.
2
The cyber security system of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is an endpoint processing circuitry of an endpoint of the organization, and wherein the preliminary information and the complementary information are collected from the endpoint.
4
The cyber security system of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is a central server processing circuitry of a server of the organization, and wherein the preliminary information and the complementary information are collected from a plurality of endpoints of the organization.
3
The cyber security system of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is a central server processing circuitry of a server of the organization, and wherein the preliminary information and the complementary information are collected from a plurality of endpoints of the organization.
5
The cyber security system of claim 4, wherein the server is a virtual server running in a cloud computing environment.
4
The cyber security system of claim 3, wherein the server is a virtual server running in a cloud computing environment.
6
The cyber security system of claim 1, wherein the preliminary information is received from one or more endpoints of the organization.
5
The cyber security system of claim 1, wherein the preliminary information is received from one or more endpoints of the organization.
7
The cyber security system of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is a central server processing circuitry of a server of the organization, and wherein the preliminary information and the complementary information are collected from a Security Information and Event Management (SIEM) system of the organization.
6
The cyber security system of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is a central server processing circuitry of a server of the organization, and wherein the preliminary information and the complementary information are collected from a Security Information and Event Management (SIEM) system of the organization.
8
The cyber security system of claim 1, wherein the events include one or more of: creation of a first file, creation of a first process, deletion of a second file, termination of a second process, change of a first name of a third file, change of a second name of a third process, loading of a driver, loading of a Dynamic Link Library (DLL), accessing a disk, opening a network connection.
7
The cyber security system of claim 1, wherein the events include one or more of: creation of a first file, creation of a first process, deletion of a second file, termination of a second process, change of a first name of a third file, change of a second name of a third process, loading of a driver, loading of a Dynamic Link Library (DLL), accessing a disk, opening a network connection.
9
The cyber security system of claim 1, wherein at least some of the preliminary information is collected from log files.
8
The cyber security system of claim 1, wherein at least some of the preliminary information is collected from log files.
10
The cyber security system of claim 1, wherein the complementary information is collected by performing one or more of: (a) actively scanning a memory of one or more endpoints of the organization; (b) actively retrieving information from a registry of one or more of the endpoints of the organization; or (c) actively scanning a Master File Table (MFT) of one or more endpoints of the organization.
9
The cyber security system of claim 1, wherein the complementary information is collected by performing one or more of: (a) actively scanning a memory of one or more endpoints of the organization; (b) actively retrieving information from a registry of one or more of the endpoints of the organization; or (c) actively scanning a Master File Table (MFT) of one or more endpoints of the organization.
11
A method comprising: obtaining, by a processing circuitry, information of one or more cyber-attack scenarios, each (i) associated with a sequence of a plurality of events, and (ii) posing a threat on one or more computerized systems of an organization; for each given cyber-attack scenario of the cyber-attack scenarios: (a) collecting, by the processing circuitry, preliminary information enabling determination of occurrence of a first sub-group of the sequence associated with the given cyber-attack scenario; (b) analyzing, by the processing circuitry, the preliminary information to identify the occurrence of the first sub-group; (c) upon identification of occurrence of the first sub-group of the respective events, proactively collecting, by the processing circuitry, complementary information, enabling at least one of: (i) determination of occurrence of a second sub-group of the sequence associated with the given cyber-attack scenario, the second sub-group including at least one of the events of the sequence associated with the given cyber-attack scenario that is not included in the first sub-group, or (ii) determining that the given cyber-attack scenario is not occurring; (d) analyzing, by the processing circuitry, the complementary information to perform at least one of: (i) identify the occurrence of the second sub-group, or (ii) attempt to negate occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario; and
10
A method comprising: obtaining, by a processing circuitry, information of one or more cyber-attack scenarios from one or more of the following sources: cyber-attack simulators, research of cyber-attack scenarios executed on an organization, research of cyber-attack scenarios executed on other organizations, cyber-attack scenarios knowledge bases or known cyber-attack scenarios, each cyber-attack scenario of the obtained cyber-attacked scenarios is: (i) associated with a sequence of a plurality of events, and (ii) posing a threat on one or more computerized systems of the organization; for each given cyber-attack scenario of the obtained cyber-attack scenarios: (a) collecting, by the processing circuitry, preliminary information enabling determination of occurrence of a first sub-group of the sequence associated with the given cyber-attack scenario; (b) analyzing, by the processing circuitry, the preliminary information to identify the occurrence of the first sub-group; (c) upon identification of occurrence of the first sub-group of the respective events, proactively collecting, by the processing circuitry, complementary information, enabling at least one of: (i) determination of occurrence of a second sub-group of the sequence associated with the given cyber-attack scenario, the second sub-group including at least one of the events of the sequence associated with the given cyber-attack scenario that is not included in the first sub-group, or (ii) determining that the given cyber-attack scenario is not occurring;
(e) upon the analysis of the complementary information resulting in identification of occurrence of the second sub-group of the respective events and not in negation of the occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario, triggering, by the processing circuitry, an alert indicative of a potential occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario.
(d) analyzing, by the processing circuitry, the complementary information to perform at least one of: (i) identify the occurrence of the second sub-group, or (ii) attempt to negate occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario; (e) upon the analysis of the complementary information resulting in identification of occurrence of the second sub-group of the respective events and not in negation of the occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario, triggering, by the processing circuitry, an alert indicative of a potential occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario; (f) proactively collecting, by the processing circuitry, additional complementary information, after triggering the alert; (g) analyzing, by the processing circuitry, the additional complementary information to re-attempt to negate occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario; and (h) upon the analysis of the complementary information resulting in negation of the occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario canceling, by the processing circuitry, the alert.
12
The method of claim 11, further comprising: proactively collecting, by the processing circuitry, additional complementary information, after triggering the alert; analyzing, by the processing circuitry, the additional complementary information to re-attempt to negate occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario; and upon the analysis of the complementary information resulting in negation of the occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario, canceling, by the processing circuitry, the alert.
10
(f) proactively collecting, by the processing circuitry, additional complementary information, after triggering the alert; (g) analyzing, by the processing circuitry, the additional complementary information to re-attempt to negate occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario; and (h) upon the analysis of the complementary information resulting in negation of the occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario canceling, by the processing circuitry, the alert.
13
The method of claim 11, wherein the processing circuitry is an endpoint processing circuitry of an endpoint of the organization, and wherein the preliminary information and the complementary information are collected from the endpoint.
11
The method of claim 10, wherein the processing circuitry is an endpoint processing circuitry of an endpoint of the organization, and wherein the preliminary information and the complementary information are collected from the endpoint.
14
The method of claim 11, wherein the processing circuitry is a central server processing circuitry of a server of the organization, and wherein the preliminary information and the complementary information are collected from a plurality of endpoints of the organization.
12
The method of claim 10, wherein the processing circuitry is a central server processing circuitry of a server of the organization, and wherein the preliminary information and the complementary information are collected from a plurality of endpoints of the organization.
15
The method of claim 11, wherein the preliminary information is received from one or more endpoints of the organization.
13
The method of claim 10, wherein the preliminary information is received from one or more endpoints of the organization.
16
The method of claim 11, wherein the processing circuitry is a central server processing circuitry of a server of the organization, and wherein the preliminary information and the complementary information are collected from a Security Information and Event Management (SIEM) system of the organization.
14
The method of claim 10, wherein the processing circuitry is a central server processing circuitry of a server of the organization, and wherein the preliminary information and the complementary information are collected from a Security Information and Event Management (SIEM) system of the organization.
17
The method of claim 11, wherein the events include one or more of: creation of a first file, creation of a first process, deletion of a second file, termination of a second process, change of a first name of a third file, change of a second name of a third process, loading of a driver, loading of a Dynamic Link Library (DLL), accessing a disk, opening a network connection.
15
The method of claim 10, wherein the events include one or more of: creation of a first file, creation of a first process, deletion of a second file, termination of a second process, change of a first name of a third file, change of a second name of a third process, loading of a driver, loading of a Dynamic Link Library (DLL), accessing a disk, opening a network connection.
18
The method of claim 11, wherein at least some of the preliminary information is collected from log files.
16
The method of claim 10, wherein at least some of the preliminary information is collected from log files.
19
The method of claim 11, wherein the complementary information is collected by performing one or more of: (d) actively scanning a memory of one or more endpoints of the organization; (e) actively retrieving information from a registry of one or more of the endpoints of the organization; or (f) actively scanning a Master File Table (MFT) of one or more endpoints of the organization.
17
The method of claim 10, wherein the complementary information is collected by performing one or more of: (a) actively scanning a memory of one or more endpoints of the organization; (b) actively retrieving information from a registry of one or more of the endpoints of the organization; or (c) actively scanning a Master File Table (MFT) of one or more endpoints of the organization.
20
A non-transitory computer readable storage medium having computer readable program code embodied therewith, the computer readable program code, executable by at least one processor of a computer to perform a method comprising: obtaining, by a processing circuitry, information of one or more cyber-attack scenarios, each (i) associated with a sequence of a plurality of events, and (ii) posing a threat on one or more computerized systems of an organization; for each given cyber-attack scenario of the cyber-attack scenarios: (a) collecting, by the processing circuitry, preliminary information enabling determination of occurrence of a first sub-group of the sequence associated with the given cyber-attack scenario; (b) analyzing, by the processing circuitry, the preliminary information to identify the occurrence of the first sub-group; (c) upon identification of occurrence of the first sub-group of the respective events, proactively collecting, by the processing circuitry, complementary information, enabling at least one of: (i) determination of occurrence of a second sub-group of the sequence associated with the given cyber-attack scenario, the second sub-group including at least one of the events of the sequence associated with the given cyber-attack scenario that is not included in the first sub-group, or (ii) determining that the given cyber-attack scenario is not occurring;
18
A non-transitory computer readable storage medium having computer readable program code embodied therewith, the computer readable program code, executable by at least one processor of a computer to perform a method comprising: obtaining, by a processing circuitry, information of one or more cyber-attack scenarios from one or more of the following sources: cyber-attack simulators, research of cyber-attack scenarios executed on an organization, research of cyber-attack scenarios executed on other organizations, cyber-attack scenarios knowledge bases or known cyber-attack scenarios, each cyber-attack scenario of the obtained cyber-attacked scenarios is: (i) associated with a sequence of a plurality of events, and (ii) posing a threat on one or more computerized systems of the organization; for each given cyber-attack scenario of the obtained cyber-attack scenarios: (a) collecting, by the processing circuitry, preliminary information enabling determination of occurrence of a first sub-group of the sequence associated with the given cyber-attack scenario; (b) analyzing, by the processing circuitry, the preliminary information to identify the occurrence of the first sub-group;
(d) analyzing, by the processing circuitry, the complementary information to perform at least one of: (i) identify the occurrence of the second sub-group, or (ii) attempt to negate occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario; and (e) upon the analysis of the complementary information resulting in identification of occurrence of the second sub-group of the respective events and not in negation of the occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario, triggering, by the processing circuitry, an alert indicative of a potential occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario.
(c) upon identification of occurrence of the first sub-group of the respective events, proactively collecting, by the processing circuitry, complementary information, enabling at least one of: (i) determination of occurrence of a second sub-group of the sequence associated with the given cyber-attack scenario, the second sub-group including at least one of the events of the sequence associated with the given cyber-attack scenario that is not included in the first sub-group, or (ii) determining that the given cyber-attack scenario is not occurring; (d) analyzing, by the processing circuitry, the complementary information to perform at least one of: (i) identify the occurrence of the second sub-group, or (ii) attempt to negate occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario; (e) upon the analysis of the complementary information resulting in identification of occurrence of the second sub-group of the respective events and not in negation of the occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario, triggering, by the processing circuitry, an alert indicative of a potential occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario; (f) proactively collecting, by the processing circuitry, additional complementary information, after triggering the alert; (g) analyzing, by the processing circuitry, the additional complementary information to re-attempt to negate occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario; and (h) upon the analysis of the complementary information resulting in negation of the occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario, canceling, by the processing circuitry, the alert.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 9, 11, 13-16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiu et al. (US PGPUB. # US 2016/0359895, hereinafter “Chiu), and further in view of Crabtree et al. (US PGPUB. # US 2021/0092162, hereinafter “Crabtree”).
Referring to Claims 1, 11 and 20:
Regarding Claim 1, Chiu teaches,
A cyber security system comprising a processing circuitry configured to:
obtain information of one or more cyber-attack scenarios, each (i) associated with a sequence of a plurality of events, and (ii) posing a threat on one or more computerized systems of an organization; (Fig. 1, ¶47, “the cybersecurity analysis module 102 can request, fetch, retrieve, monitor, or otherwise acquire data from various components, services, and/or systems of the operational and information technology portions”, ¶61, “the cyber vulnerability module 302 can be configured to generate, based on the first set of data, a first metric (i.e., a cyber vulnerability metric) indicating a likelihood that a particular network component is affected by one or more cyber vulnerabilities, such as viruses, malware, hackers, errors, etc”, Fig. 6(602, 604), ¶75, “acquire a first set of data from a first group of data sources including a plurality of network components within an energy delivery network”, Fig. 6(604), ¶75, “a first metric indicating a likelihood that a particular network component, from the plurality of network components, is affected (e.g., has been affected, is currently affected, and/or may be affected in the future, etc.) by one or more cyber vulnerabilities”, i.e. cyber-attack scenarios associated with plurality of events are obtained. They post vulnerability (attack) to one or more enterprise system),
for each given cyber-attack scenario of the cyber-attack scenarios:
(a) collect preliminary information enabling determination of occurrence of a first sub-group of the sequence associated with the given cyber-attack scenario; (Fig. 2, ¶51, “the cybersecurity analysis module 202 can utilize the cyber vulnerability module 204 to facilitate acquiring a first set of data from the first group of data sources 210”, ¶63, i.e. preliminary information are collected to determine first group of sequence associated with the cyber-attack)
(b) analyze the preliminary information to identify the occurrence of the first sub-group; (¶51, “cyber vulnerability module 204 can also be configured to facilitate generating, based on (i.e., based at least in part on) the first set of data, a first metric indicating a likelihood that a particular network component, from the plurality of network components, is affected (e.g., has been affected, is currently affected, and/or may be affected in the future, etc.) by one or more cyber vulnerabilities”, ¶63-¶64, “if the hash value is determined to be related to a virus, malware, Trojan, etc., and/or if the regular expression is determined to be related to a spam communication, a phishing message, a piece of junk mail, etc., then the first metric can be increased”, i.e. preliminary information is analyzed)
(c) upon identification of occurrence of the first sub-group of the respective events, proactively collect complementary information, enabling at least one of: (i) determination of occurrence of a second sub-group of the sequence associated with the given cyber-attack scenario, the second sub-group including at least one of the events of the sequence associated with the given cyber-attack scenario that is not included in the first sub-group, or (ii) determining that the given cyber-attack scenario is not occurring; (Fig. 2, ¶52, “the cybersecurity analysis module 202 can utilize the potential impact module 206 to facilitate acquiring a second set of data from the second group of data sources 212”, “The second group of data sources 212 can include, but is not limited to, a collection of services associated with the energy delivery network, such as various information technology services or systems”, ¶53, “it so also contemplated that at least some of the network components can be associated with information technology and that at least some of the collection of services can be associated with operational technology”, Fig. 6(605), ¶75, “the example method 600 can acquire a second set of data from a second group of data sources including a collection of services associated with the energy delivery network”, i.e. complementary information is collected for second group of the sequence that is not included in the first group. Claim has or which requires only 1 limitation)
(d) analyze the complementary information to perform at least one of: (i) identify the occurrence of the second sub-group, or (ii) attempt to negate occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario; (Fig. 2, ¶52, “The potential impact module 206 can also be configured to facilitate generating, based on the second set of data, a second metric indicating a calculated impact to at least a portion of the energy delivery network when the one or more cyber vulnerabilities affect the particular network component”, ¶65-¶67, “the potential impact module 352 can utilize the impact metric module 356 to facilitate generating, based on the second set of data, a second metric (i.e., a potential impact metric) indicating a calculated impact to at least a portion of the energy delivery network when one or more cyber vulnerabilities affect the particular network component”,¶68, Fig. 6(608), ¶75,“At block 608, the example method 600 can generate, based on the second set of data, a second metric indicating a calculated impact to at least a portion of the energy delivery network when the one or more cyber vulnerabilities affect the particular network”, i.e. analyzing complementary information to identify second group) and
(e) upon the analysis of the complementary information resulting in identification of occurrence of the second sub-group of the respective events and not in negation of the occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario, (¶65, ¶67, “generating, based on the second set of data, a second metric (i.e., a potential impact metric) indicating a calculated impact to at least a portion of the energy delivery network when one or more cyber vulnerabilities affect the particular network component”, ¶68, “generate the second metric based on analyzing the at least one of the customer data, the operations data, or the economic data. In one example, the customer data can be associated with at least one of a customer count, an issue resolution time, a reliability index, and/or a customer criticality metric, etc”, i.e. complementary information is analyzed in identification of second group of events) [trigger an alert indicative of a potential occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario].
Chiu does not teach explicitly,
(e) [upon the analysis of the complementary information resulting in identification of occurrence of the second sub-group of the respective events and not in negation of the occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario,] trigger an alert indicative of a potential occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario.
However, Crabtree teaches,
(e) [upon the analysis of the complementary information resulting in identification of occurrence of the second sub-group of the respective events and not in negation of the occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario,] trigger an alert indicative of a potential occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario. (¶42, “issue any needed alerts regardless of whether the attack follows a published exploit specification or exhibits novel characteristics deviant to normal network practice”, Fig. 3, ¶43, i.e. an alert is issued for a potential occurrence of a cyber-attack).
As per KSR vs Teleflex, combining prior art elements according to known methods (device, product) to yield predictable results may be used to create a prima facie case of obviousness.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the teachings of Crabtree with the invention of Chiu.
Chiu teaches, determining a cyber-attack on enterprise systems based on analyzing collected preliminary information as well as additional complementary information. Crabtree teaches, sending an alert when an attack on the enterprise systems is identified. Therefore, it would have been obvious to send an alert when an attack on the enterprise systems is identified of Crabtree with determining a cyber-attack on enterprise systems based on analyzing collected preliminary information as well as additional complementary information of Chiu for timely informing responsible parties for a potential cyber-attack on the enterprise system.
. KSR Int’l v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1740-41, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007).
Regarding Claim 11, it is a method Claim of above System Claim 1 and therefore Claim 11 is rejected with the same rationale as applied against Claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 20, it is a non-transitory computer readable storage medium Claim of above System Claim 1 and therefore Claim 20 is rejected with the same rationale as applied against Claim 1 above.
Referring to Claims 3 and 13:
Regarding Claim 3 rejection of Claim 1 is included and for the same motivation Chiu teaches,
The cyber security system of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is an endpoint processing circuitry of an endpoint of the organization, and wherein the preliminary information and the complementary information are collected from the endpoint. (¶51, “cybersecurity analysis module 202 can be configured to acquire data from various components, services, systems, etc., of the operational technology portion and the information technology portion of the energy delivery network. In some embodiments”, Fig. 11(11020), ¶106, ¶60-¶61, “the first set of data can be acquired using at least a portion of a network cybersecurity service, such as an end point protection provider”, ¶66, ¶72, i.e. preliminary information and complementary information are collected from the endpoints).
Regarding Claim 13, rejection of Claim 11 is included and Claim 13 is rejected with the same rationale as applied against Claim 3 above.
Referring to Claims 4 and 14:
Regarding Claim 4 rejection of Claim 1 is included and for the same motivation Chiu teaches,
The cyber security system of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is a central server processing circuitry of a server of the organization, and wherein the preliminary information and the complementary information are collected from a plurality of endpoints of the organization. (Fig. 8, ¶84, “The energy management platform 802 may be implemented as a computer system, such as a server or series of servers and other hardware (e.g., applications servers, analytic computational servers, database servers”, Fig. 10, ¶103, ¶51, “cybersecurity analysis module 202 can be configured to acquire data from various components, services, systems, etc., of the operational technology portion and the information technology portion of the energy delivery network. In some embodiments”, Fig. 11(11020), ¶106, ¶60-¶61, “the first set of data can be acquired using at least a portion of a network cybersecurity service, such as an end point protection provider”, ¶66, ¶72, i.e. a server processes collected preliminary information and complementary information from the endpoints).
Regarding Claim 14, rejection of Claim 11 is included and Claim 14 is rejected with the same rationale as applied against Claim 4 above.
Regarding Claim 5 rejection of Claim 4 is included and for the same motivation Chiu teaches,
The cyber security system of claim 4, wherein the server is a virtual server running in a cloud computing environment. (¶102, “management platform 902 may be a cloud computing platform that allows the entity that owns, maintains, or controls the energy management platform 902 to rent virtual computers on which to run its own computer applications”).
Referring to Claims 6 and 15:
Regarding Claim 6 rejection of Claim 1 is included and for the same motivation Chiu teaches,
The cyber security system of claim 1, wherein the preliminary information is received from one or more endpoints of the organization. (¶51, “cybersecurity analysis module 202 can be configured to acquire data from various components, services, systems, etc., of the operational technology portion and the information technology portion of the energy delivery network. In some embodiments”, Fig. 11(11020), ¶106, ¶61, “the first set of data can be acquired using at least a portion of a network cybersecurity service, such as an end point protection provider”, ¶66, ¶72, i.e. preliminary information is collected from the endpoints).
Regarding Claim 15, rejection of Claim 11 is included and Claim 15 is rejected with the same rationale as applied against Claim 6 above.
Referring to Claims 7 and 16:
Regarding Claim 6 rejection of Claim 1 is included and for the same motivation Chiu teaches,
The cyber security system of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is a central server processing circuitry of a server of the organization, and wherein the preliminary information and the complementary information are collected from a Security Information and Event Management (SIEM) system of the organization. .(Fig. 8, ¶84, “The energy management platform 802 may be implemented as a computer system, such as a server or series of servers and other hardware (e.g., applications servers, analytic computational servers, database servers”, Fig. 10, ¶103, ¶18, ¶58, “the cyber vulnerability module 302 can facilitate acquiring a first set of data from a first group of data sources…..a security information and event management service (SIEM)”, ¶60)
Regarding Claim 16, rejection of Claim 11 is included and Claim 16 is rejected with the same rationale as applied against Claim 7 above.
Referring to Claims 9 and 18:
Regarding Claim 9 rejection of Claim 1 is included and for the same motivation Chiu teaches,
The cyber security system of claim 1, wherein at least some of the preliminary information is collected from log files. (¶18, ¶58, “acquiring a first set of data from a first group of data sources…. a log service”).
Regarding Claim 18, rejection of Claim 11 is included and Claim 18 is rejected with the same rationale as applied against Claim 9 above.
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiu et al. (US PGPUB. # US 2016/0359895, hereinafter “Chiu), and further in view of Crabtree et al. (US PGPUB. # US 2021/0092162, hereinafter “Crabtree”), and further in view of Miasnik et al. (US PGPUB. # US 2016/0307286, hereinafter “Miasnik”).
Referring to Claims 2 and 12:
Regarding Claim 2 rejection of Claim 1 is included and Chiu does not teach explicitly,
The cyber security system of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
proactively collect additional complementary information, after triggering the alert;
analyze the additional complementary information to re-attempt to negate occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario; and
upon the analysis of the complementary information resulting in negation of the occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario, cancel the alert.
However Crabtree discloses,
The cyber security system of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
proactively collect additional complementary information, after triggering the alert; (¶42, “issue any needed alerts regardless of whether the attack follows a published exploit specification or exhibits novel characteristics deviant to normal network practice”, Fig. 3, ¶43, i.e. an alert is issued for a potential occurrence of a cyber-attack)
analyze the additional complementary information to re-attempt to negate occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario; (Fig. 2, ¶40, “ to present preventative recommendations to the enterprise decision makers for network infrastructure changes, physical and configuration-based to cost effectively reduce the probability of a cyberattack and to significantly and most cost effectively mitigate data exposure and loss in the event of attack 203, 204”, Fig. 3, ¶43, Fig. 4, ¶44) and
As per KSR vs Teleflex, combining prior art elements according to known methods (device, product) to yield predictable results may be used to create a prima facie case of obviousness.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the teachings of Crabtree with the invention of Chiu.
Chiu teaches, determining a cyber-attack on enterprise systems based on analyzing collected preliminary information as well as additional complementary information. Crabtree teaches, sending an alert when an attack on the enterprise systems is identified. Therefore, it would have been obvious to send an alert when an attack on the enterprise systems is identified of Crabtree with determining a cyber-attack on enterprise systems based on analyzing collected preliminary information as well as additional complementary information of Chiu for timely informing responsible parties for a potential cyber-attack on the enterprise system.
. KSR Int’l v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1740-41, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007).
Combination of Chiu and Crabtree does not teach explicitly,
upon the analysis of the complementary information resulting in negation of the occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario, cancel the alert.
However, Miasnik teaches,
upon the analysis of the complementary information resulting in negation of the occurrence of the given cyber-attack scenario, cancel the alert. (¶133, “the proposed alert to the operator along with a recommendation (operation 1024) to cancel the alert (if the alert is a duplicate of another alert) or a modification to the alert based on the links to related events”, i.e. alert is canceled).
As per KSR vs Teleflex, combining prior art elements according to known methods (device, product) to yield predictable results may be used to create a prima facie case of obviousness.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the teachings of Miasnik with the invention of Chiu in view of Crabtree.
Chiu in view of Crabtree teaches, determining a cyber-attack on enterprise systems based on analyzing collected preliminary information as well as additional complementary information and sending an alert when an attack on the enterprise systems is identified. Miasnik teaches, canceling an alert after mitigating a cyber attack. Therefore, it would have been obvious to cancel an alert after mitigating a cyber attack of Miasnik into the teachings of Chiu in view of Crabtree to timely determine an attack on the enterprise and automatically mitigating an attack.
. KSR Int’l v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1740-41, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007).
Regarding Claim 12, rejection of Claim 11 is included and Claim 12 is rejected with the same rationale as applied against Claim 2 above.
Claims 8, 10, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiu et al. (US PGPUB. # US 2016/0359895, hereinafter “Chiu), and further in view of Crabtree et al. (US PGPUB. # US 2021/0092162, hereinafter “Crabtree”), and further in view of Yao et al. (US PGPUB. # US 2011/0320816, hereinafter “Yao”).
Referring to Claims 8 and 17:
Regarding Claim 8, rejection of Clam 1 is included and combination of Chiu and Crabtree does not teach explicitly,
The cyber security system of claim 1, wherein the events include one or more of: creation of a first file, creation of a first process, deletion of a second file, termination of a second process, change of a first name of a third file, change of a second name of a third process, loading of a driver, loading of a Dynamic Link Library (DLL), accessing a disk, opening a network connection.
However, Yao teaches,
The cyber security system of claim 1, wherein the events include one or more of: creation of a first file, creation of a first process, deletion of a second file, termination of a second process, change of a first name of a third file, change of a second name of a third process, loading of a driver, loading of a Dynamic Link Library (DLL), accessing a disk, opening a network connection. (¶69).
As per KSR vs Teleflex, combining prior art elements according to known methods (device, product) to yield predictable results may be used to create a prima facie case of obviousness.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the teachings of Yao with the invention of Chiu in view of Crabtree.
Chiu in view of Crabtree teaches, determining a cyber-attack on enterprise systems based on analyzing collected preliminary information as well as additional complementary information and sending an alert when an attack on the enterprise systems is identified. Yao, teaches various suspicious events on the enterprise system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to describe various suspicious events on the enterprise system of Yao into the teachings of Chiu in view of Crabtree to timely determine an attack on the enterprise.
. KSR Int’l v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1740-41, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007).
Regarding Claim 17, rejection of Claim 11 is included and Claim 17 is rejected with the same rationale as applied against Claim 8 above.
Referring to Claims 10 and 19:
Regarding Claim 10, rejection of Clam 1 is included and combination of Chiu and Crabtree does not teach explicitly,
The cyber security system of claim 1, wherein the complementary information is collected by performing one or more of:
(a) actively scanning a memory of one or more endpoints of the organization;
(b) actively retrieving information from a registry of one or more of the endpoints of the organization; or
(c) actively scanning a Master File Table (MFT) of one or more endpoints of the organization.
However, Yao teaches,
The cyber security system of claim 1, wherein the complementary information is collected by performing one or more of:
(a) actively scanning a memory of one or more endpoints of the organization; (¶64).
(b) actively retrieving information from a registry of one or more of the endpoints of the organization; or
(c) actively scanning a Master File Table (MFT) of one or more endpoints of the organization. (¶64).
As per KSR vs Teleflex, combining prior art elements according to known methods (device, product) to yield predictable results may be used to create a prima facie case of obviousness.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the teachings of Yao with the invention of Chiu in view of Crabtree.
Chiu in view of Crabtree teaches, determining a cyber-attack on enterprise systems based on analyzing collected preliminary information as well as additional complementary information and sending an alert when an attack on the enterprise systems is identified. Yao, teaches various suspicious events on the enterprise system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to describe various suspicious events on the enterprise system of Yao into the teachings of Chiu in view of Crabtree to timely determine an attack on the enterprise.
. KSR Int’l v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1740-41, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007).
Regarding Claim 19, rejection of Claim 11 is included and Claim 19 is rejected with the same rationale as applied against Claim 10 above.
Conclusion
Neil et al. (US PGPUB. # US 2021/0406365) discloses, a non-transitory computer storage media for identifying malicious enterprise behaviors within a large enterprise. At a high level, embodiments of the present disclosure identify sub-graphs of behaviors within an enterprise based on probabilistic and deterministic methods. For example, starting with the node or edge having the highest risk score, embodiments of the present disclosure iteratively crawl a list of neighbors associated with the nodes or edges to identify subsets of behaviors within an enterprise that indicate potentially malicious activity based on the risk scores of each connected node and edge. In another example, embodiments select a target node and traverse the connected nodes via edges until a root-cause condition is met. Based on the traversal, a sub-graph is identified indicating a malicious execution path of traversed nodes with associated insights indicating the meaning or activity of the node.
Paturi et al. (US PGPUB. # US 2020/0351298) discloses, a method for cyber risk quantification calculated from the likelihood of a cyber-attack on the target enterprise and/or cyber ecosystem based on its security posture. The cyber-attack likelihood can be derived as a probability-based time-to-event (TTE) measure using survivor function analysis. The likelihood probability measure can also be passed to cyber risk frameworks to determine financial impacts of the cyber-attacks. Embodiments of the present invention also relate to an apparatus and method (1) to identify and validate application attack surfaces and protect web applications against business logic-based attacks, sensitive data leakage and privilege escalation attacks; and/or (2) that protects web applications against business logic-based attacks, sensitive data leakage and privilege escalation attacks. This can include implementing an intelligent learning loop using artificial intelligence that creates an ontology-based knowledge base from application request and response sequences. Stochastic probabilistic measures are preferably applied to a knowledge base for predicting malicious user actions in real time.
Stolte et al. (US PAT. # US 10,691,796) discloses, a method of identifying security risks in a computer system that includes several computers executing different applications is provided. The method receives event data about threat events associated with a set of applications executing on a set of computers in the computer system. The method, for each event, compares a set of parameters associated with the event with a set of historical parameters maintained for a similar event. The method, based on the comparisons, defines a normality characterization for each event to express a probability of an exploit of the application associated with the event. The method, based on the normality characterization, defines a prioritized display of security risks due to the threat events associated with the set of application.
Siddiqui et al. (US PGPUB. # US 2018/0288077) discloses, a method for authenticating access to a subscription-based service to detect an attempted cyber-attack. The method features operations by the cloud broker that include receiving service policy level information and information based on operational metadata. The service policy level information includes at least subscription attributes to identify one or more performance criterion in analyses conducted on one or more objects submitted by a sensor for malware representing an attempted cyber-attack. The operational metadata includes metadata that pertains to an operating state of one or more clusters of a plurality of clusters of the subscription-based service. The cloud broker, using both the service policy level information and the information based on the operational metadata, selecting a cluster of the plurality of clusters to analyze the one or more objects submitted by the sensor and establishes a communication session between the sensor and the cluster via the cloud broker.
Carpenter et al. (US PGPUB. # Us 2016/0050225) discloses, a method of analyzing cyber-security risks in an industrial control system (ICS) including a plurality of networked devices includes providing a processor and a memory storing a cyber-security algorithm. The processor runs the cyber-security algorithm and implements data collecting to compile security data including at least vulnerability data including cyber-risks (risks) regarding the plurality of networked devices by scanning the plurality of devices, processing the security data using a rules engine which associates a numerical score to each of the risks, aggregating data including ranking the risks across the plurality of networked devices and arranging the risks into at least one logical grouping, and displaying the logical grouping(s) on a user station.
/DARSHAN I DHRUV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2498