DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morimoto et al. (US Pub No 2015/0291031).
In regard to claim 1, Morimoto discloses a vehicular control system (see the Title and Figs 1-2), the vehicular control system comprising:
a plurality of sensors (cameras 14F, 14SL, 14SR, and 14R, see Fig 1 and Paragraph 0045) disposed at a vehicle equipped with the vehicular control system (see the vehicle “V” of Fig 1 with at least controllers 10 and 12; also see Paragraph 0040), at least one sensor of the plurality of sensors sensing at least forward of the vehicle (Paragraph 0045: “configured with a front camera 14F”), wherein the at least one sensor is operable to capture sensor data (Paragraph 0045 (emphasis added): “recognition sensor 14 is configured with a front camera 14F, a right side camera 14SR, a left side camera 14SL, and a rear camera 14R. Note that the front camera 14F is configured to capture a frontward image of the vehicle V in front-rear direction of the vehicle V”);
wherein the at least one sensor comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) a camera (see Paragraph 0045),
an electronic control unit (ECU) (with at least controllers 10 and 12, Figs 1 and 2) comprising electronic circuitry and associated software (Paragraph 0057: “The travel controller 10 is an electronic control unit including a CPU (Central Processing Unit) and CPU peripheral components such as a ROM (Read Only Memory), a RAM (Random Access Memory), and the like.”);
wherein the electronic circuitry of the ECU (with at least controllers 10 and 12, Figs 1 and 2) comprises a processor (Paragraph 0057: “The travel controller 10 is an electronic control unit including a CPU (Central Processing Unit) and CPU peripheral components such as a ROM (Read Only Memory), a RAM (Random Access Memory), and the like.”) for processing sensor data captured by the at least one sensor (Paragraph 0044 (emphasis added: “The surrounding environment recognition sensor 14 is configured to capture an image of surroundings of the vehicle V, and to generate an information signal (hereinafter, may be referred to as “individual image signal”) including individual images corresponding to plural imaging directions on the basis of the respective images that has been captured. Then, the individual image signal which has been generated is output to the travel controller 10.”);
wherein the vehicular control system (via at least “parking frame certainty degree calculation unit” 36, of 10I of processor 10, see Figs 2 and 3), based at least in part on processing of sensor data captured by the at least one sensor (Paragraph 0060: “The surrounding environment recognition information computing unit 10A is configured to create an image (bird's-eye view image) of surroundings of the vehicle V viewed from above the vehicle V on the basis of the individual image signal received from the surrounding environment recognition sensor 14. Then, the surrounding environment recognition information computing unit 10A is configured to output an information signal (hereinafter, may be referred to as “bird's-eye view image signal”) including the bird's-eye view image which has been created to the acceleration suppression control computing unit 10I.”), determines when the vehicle is undertaking a parking maneuver (Paragraph 0264: “The parking frame certainty degree calculation unit 36 is configured to calculate the parking frame certainty degree on the basis of the bird's-eye view image (environment) of surroundings of the vehicle V”);
wherein, at least during the determined parking maneuver, the vehicular control system is operable to determine whether acceleration of the vehicle is unintentional (Paragraph 0264: “As a result, it is possible to suppress the degradation in the drive performance of the vehicle V at the time of parking, and to suppress the acceleration of the vehicle V when the accelerator pedal 32 is erroneously manipulated.”); and
wherein, during the determined parking maneuver, and responsive to determining that acceleration of the vehicle is unintentional, the vehicular control system limits acceleration of the vehicle (Paragraph 0264: “to suppress the acceleration of the vehicle V when the accelerator pedal 32 is erroneously manipulated.”).
In regard to claim 2, Morimoto discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of sensors comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) a plurality of cameras (cameras 14F, 14SL, 14SR, and 14R, see Fig 1 and Paragraph 0045,
In regard to claim 3, Morimoto discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the vehicular control system, during the determined parking maneuver, and responsive to determining that the acceleration of the vehicle is unintentional, controls braking of the vehicle.
See Paragraph 0248: “Thus, even if the accelerator pedal 32 is manipulated by an erroneous manipulation or the like in a situation where braking is appropriate such as the state where the vehicle V moves to be closer to the position suitable for parking in the parking frame L0, it is possible to suppress the throttle opening degree depending on the total certainty degree.”.
Also see Paragraph 0288: “the throttle opening degree depending on the pressed amount (drive force manipulation amount) of the accelerator pedal 32 may be set to a target throttle opening degree, and in addition, a brake force may be generated by the above-descried brake device so that the acceleration of the vehicle V depending on the drive force manipulation amount may be suppressed”.
In regard to claim 4, Morimoto discloses the system of claim 1, wherein, during the determined parking maneuver, the vehicular control system limits acceleration of the vehicle to a parking maneuver maximum acceleration, and wherein the parking maneuver maximum acceleration is less than a maximum acceleration of the vehicle.
See Paragraph 0264 (emphasis added): “The parking frame certainty degree calculation unit 36 is configured to calculate the parking frame certainty degree on the basis of the bird's-eye view image (environment) of surroundings of the vehicle V and the vehicle speed (travel state) of the vehicle V. In addition to this, the suppression degree of the acceleration command value is set to be lower when the parking frame certainty degree calculated by the parking frame certainty degree calculation unit 36 is lower than when the parking frame certainty degree is higher.”
In regard to claim 5, Morimoto discloses the system of claim 1, wherein, during the determined parking maneuver, the vehicular control system limits speed of the vehicle to a parking lot maximum speed, and wherein the parking lot maximum speed is less than a maximum speed of the vehicle.
See Paragraph 0006: “However, when the above-mentioned determination condition is used, a throttle of a vehicle which enters a parking space from a road is controlled so as to decrease the vehicle speed depending thereon.”.
Also see Paragraph 0105: “It is to be noted that in the present embodiment, a case where the threshold vehicle speed is set to 15 km/h, as an example, will be described.”
In regard to claim 6, Morimoto discloses the system of claim 5, wherein the parking lot maximum speed is less than 20 miles per hour (Paragraph 0105: “It is to be noted that in the present embodiment, a case where the threshold vehicle speed is set to 15 km/h, as an example, will be described.”).
In regard to claim 7, Morimoto discloses the system of claim 1, wherein, during the determined parking maneuver, the vehicular control system limits a rate of change of acceleration of the vehicle.
Being able to adjust the rate of suppression, see Paragraph 0264: “Therefore, it is possible to reduce the degradation in the drive performance by decreasing the suppression degree of the acceleration command value, when the parking frame certainty degree is low, and to enhance the acceleration suppression effect of the vehicle by increasing the suppression degree of the acceleration command value, when the parking frame certainty degree is high.”
In regard to claim 8, Morimoto discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the vehicular control system, during the determined parking maneuver, and responsive to determining that acceleration of the vehicle is unintentional, provides an alert to a driver of the vehicle.
See Paragraph 0056: “The information presentation device is configured to output warning or another presentation in a sound or image in response to a control signal from the travel controller 10. Furthermore, the information presentation device includes for example, a speaker configured to provide information to the driver in a buzzer or a sound, and a display unit configured to provide information by presenting an image or text. Furthermore, for example, a display monitor of the navigation device 26 may be also used as the display unit.”
In regard to claim 9, Morimoto discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the alert comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) a visual warning, (ii) an audible warning and
See Paragraph 0056 (emphasis added): “The information presentation device is configured to output warning or another presentation in a sound or image in response to a control signal from the travel controller 10. Furthermore, the information presentation device includes for example, a speaker configured to provide information to the driver in a buzzer or a sound, and a display unit configured to provide information by presenting an image or text. Furthermore, for example, a display monitor of the navigation device 26 may be also used as the display unit.”
In regard to claim 10, Morimoto discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the vehicular control system determines that the vehicle is undertaking the parking maneuver based at least in part on determining that the vehicle has entered a parking lot (Paragraph 0008: “a parking frame certainty degree indicative of a degree of certainty about a presence of a parking frame in the travel direction of the vehicle on the basis of a surrounding environment of the vehicle”).
In regard to claim 11, Morimoto discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the vehicular control system determines that the vehicle has entered the parking lot based at least in part on map data (Paragraph 0054: “Furthermore, the navigation device 26 is capable of acquiring road information such as a type, a width, and the like of the road on which the vehicle V travels, on the basis of the current position of the vehicle V acquired by using the GPS receiver and the road information stored in the map database.”).
In regard to claim 12, Morimoto discloses a vehicular control system (see the Title and Figs 1-2) comprising:
a plurality of sensors (cameras 14F, 14SL, 14SR, and 14R, see Fig 1 and Paragraph 0045) disposed at a vehicle equipped with the vehicular control system (see the vehicle “V” of Fig 1 with at least controllers 10 and 12; also see Paragraph 0040), at least one sensor of the plurality of sensors sensing at least forward of the vehicle (Paragraph 0045: “configured with a front camera 14F”), wherein the at least one sensor is operable to capture sensor data (Paragraph 0045 (emphasis added): “recognition sensor 14 is configured with a front camera 14F, a right side camera 14SR, a left side camera 14SL, and a rear camera 14R. Note that the front camera 14F is configured to capture a frontward image of the vehicle V in front-rear direction of the vehicle V”);
wherein the at least one sensor comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) a camera (see Paragraph 0045), ;
an electronic control unit (ECU) (with at least controllers 10 and 12, Figs 1 and 2) comprising electronic circuitry and associated software (Paragraph 0057: “The travel controller 10 is an electronic control unit including a CPU (Central Processing Unit) and CPU peripheral components such as a ROM (Read Only Memory), a RAM (Random Access Memory), and the like.”);
wherein the electronic circuitry of the ECU (with at least controllers 10 and 12, Figs 1 and 2) comprises a processor (Paragraph 0057: “The travel controller 10 is an electronic control unit including a CPU (Central Processing Unit) and CPU peripheral components such as a ROM (Read Only Memory), a RAM (Random Access Memory), and the like.”) for processing sensor data captured by the at least one sensor (Paragraph 0044 (emphasis added: “The surrounding environment recognition sensor 14 is configured to capture an image of surroundings of the vehicle V, and to generate an information signal (hereinafter, may be referred to as “individual image signal”) including individual images corresponding to plural imaging directions on the basis of the respective images that has been captured. Then, the individual image signal which has been generated is output to the travel controller 10.”);
wherein the vehicular control system (via at least “parking frame certainty degree calculation unit” 36, of 10I of processor 10, see Figs 2 and 3), based at least in part on processing of sensor data captured by the at least one sensor (Paragraph 0060: “The surrounding environment recognition information computing unit 10A is configured to create an image (bird's-eye view image) of surroundings of the vehicle V viewed from above the vehicle V on the basis of the individual image signal received from the surrounding environment recognition sensor 14. Then, the surrounding environment recognition information computing unit 10A is configured to output an information signal (hereinafter, may be referred to as “bird's-eye view image signal”) including the bird's-eye view image which has been created to the acceleration suppression control computing unit 10I.”), determines when the vehicle is undertaking a parking maneuver (Paragraph 0264: “The parking frame certainty degree calculation unit 36 is configured to calculate the parking frame certainty degree on the basis of the bird's-eye view image (environment) of surroundings of the vehicle V”);
wherein the vehicular control system determines that the vehicle is undertaking the parking maneuver based at least in part on determining that the vehicle has entered a parking lot (Paragraph 0008: “a parking frame certainty degree indicative of a degree of certainty about a presence of a parking frame in the travel direction of the vehicle on the basis of a surrounding environment of the vehicle”);
wherein, at least during the determined parking maneuver, the vehicular control system is operable to determine whether acceleration of the vehicle is unintentional (Paragraph 0264: “As a result, it is possible to suppress the degradation in the drive performance of the vehicle V at the time of parking, and to suppress the acceleration of the vehicle V when the accelerator pedal 32 is erroneously manipulated.”);
wherein, during the determined parking maneuver, and responsive to determining that acceleration of the vehicle is unintentional, the vehicular control system limits acceleration of the vehicle (Paragraph 0264: “to suppress the acceleration of the vehicle V when the accelerator pedal 32 is erroneously manipulated.”); and
wherein the vehicular control system, during the determined parking maneuver, and responsive to determining that acceleration of the vehicle is unintentional, provides an alert to a driver of the vehicle.
See Paragraph 0056: “The information presentation device is configured to output warning or another presentation in a sound or image in response to a control signal from the travel controller 10. Furthermore, the information presentation device includes for example, a speaker configured to provide information to the driver in a buzzer or a sound, and a display unit configured to provide information by presenting an image or text. Furthermore, for example, a display monitor of the navigation device 26 may be also used as the display unit.”
In regard to claim 13, Morimoto discloses the system of claim 12, wherein, during the determined parking maneuver, the vehicular control system limits acceleration of the vehicle to a parking maneuver maximum acceleration, and wherein the parking maneuver maximum acceleration is less than a maximum acceleration of the vehicle.
See Paragraph 0264 (emphasis added): “The parking frame certainty degree calculation unit 36 is configured to calculate the parking frame certainty degree on the basis of the bird's-eye view image (environment) of surroundings of the vehicle V and the vehicle speed (travel state) of the vehicle V. In addition to this, the suppression degree of the acceleration command value is set to be lower when the parking frame certainty degree calculated by the parking frame certainty degree calculation unit 36 is lower than when the parking frame certainty degree is higher.”
In regard to claim 14, Morimoto discloses the system of claim 12, wherein, during the determined parking maneuver, the vehicular control system limits speed of the vehicle to a parking lot maximum speed, and wherein the parking lot maximum speed is less than a maximum speed of the vehicle.
See Paragraph 0006: “However, when the above-mentioned determination condition is used, a throttle of a vehicle which enters a parking space from a road is controlled so as to decrease the vehicle speed depending thereon.”.
Also see Paragraph 0105: “It is to be noted that in the present embodiment, a case where the threshold vehicle speed is set to 15 km/h, as an example, will be described.”
In regard to claim 15, Morimoto discloses the system of claim 12, wherein, during the determined parking maneuver, the vehicular control system limits a rate of change of acceleration of the vehicle.
Being able to adjust the rate of suppression, see Paragraph 0264: “Therefore, it is possible to reduce the degradation in the drive performance by decreasing the suppression degree of the acceleration command value, when the parking frame certainty degree is low, and to enhance the acceleration suppression effect of the vehicle by increasing the suppression degree of the acceleration command value, when the parking frame certainty degree is high.”
In regard to claim 16, Morimoto discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the alert comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) a visual warning, (ii) an audible warning and
See Paragraph 0056 (emphasis added): “The information presentation device is configured to output warning or another presentation in a sound or image in response to a control signal from the travel controller 10. Furthermore, the information presentation device includes for example, a speaker configured to provide information to the driver in a buzzer or a sound, and a display unit configured to provide information by presenting an image or text. Furthermore, for example, a display monitor of the navigation device 26 may be also used as the display unit.”
In regard to claim 17, Morimoto discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the vehicular control system determines that the vehicle has entered the parking lot based at least in part on map data (Paragraph 0054: “Furthermore, the navigation device 26 is capable of acquiring road information such as a type, a width, and the like of the road on which the vehicle V travels, on the basis of the current position of the vehicle V acquired by using the GPS receiver and the road information stored in the map database.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morimoto et al. (US Pub No 2015/0291031) in view of Joos et al. (US Pub No 2019/0371175).
In regard to claim 18,
Morimoto discloses a vehicular control system (see the Title and Figs 1-2), the vehicular control system comprising:
a plurality of sensors (cameras 14F, 14SL, 14SR, and 14R, see Fig 1 and Paragraph 0045) disposed at a vehicle equipped with the vehicular control system (see the vehicle “V” of Fig 1 with at least controllers 10 and 12; also see Paragraph 0040), at least one sensor of the plurality of sensors sensing at least forward of the vehicle (Paragraph 0045: “configured with a front camera 14F”), wherein the at least one sensor is operable to capture sensor data (Paragraph 0045 (emphasis added): “recognition sensor 14 is configured with a front camera 14F, a right side camera 14SR, a left side camera 14SL, and a rear camera 14R. Note that the front camera 14F is configured to capture a frontward image of the vehicle V in front-rear direction of the vehicle V”);
wherein the at least one sensor comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) a camera (see Paragraph 0045),
an electronic control unit (ECU) (with at least controllers 10 and 12, Figs 1 and 2) comprising electronic circuitry and associated software (Paragraph 0057: “The travel controller 10 is an electronic control unit including a CPU (Central Processing Unit) and CPU peripheral components such as a ROM (Read Only Memory), a RAM (Random Access Memory), and the like.”);
wherein the electronic circuitry of the ECU (with at least controllers 10 and 12, Figs 1 and 2) comprises a processor (Paragraph 0057: “The travel controller 10 is an electronic control unit including a CPU (Central Processing Unit) and CPU peripheral components such as a ROM (Read Only Memory), a RAM (Random Access Memory), and the like.”) for processing sensor data captured by the at least one sensor (Paragraph 0044 (emphasis added: “The surrounding environment recognition sensor 14 is configured to capture an image of surroundings of the vehicle V, and to generate an information signal (hereinafter, may be referred to as “individual image signal”) including individual images corresponding to plural imaging directions on the basis of the respective images that has been captured. Then, the individual image signal which has been generated is output to the travel controller 10.”);
wherein the vehicular control system(via at least “parking frame certainty degree calculation unit” 36, of 10I of processor 10, see Figs 2 and 3), based at least in part on processing of sensor data captured by the at least one sensor (Paragraph 0060: “The surrounding environment recognition information computing unit 10A is configured to create an image (bird's-eye view image) of surroundings of the vehicle V viewed from above the vehicle V on the basis of the individual image signal received from the surrounding environment recognition sensor 14. Then, the surrounding environment recognition information computing unit 10A is configured to output an information signal (hereinafter, may be referred to as “bird's-eye view image signal”) including the bird's-eye view image which has been created to the acceleration suppression control computing unit 10I.”), determines when the vehicle is undertaking a parking maneuver (Paragraph 0264: “The parking frame certainty degree calculation unit 36 is configured to calculate the parking frame certainty degree on the basis of the bird's-eye view image (environment) of surroundings of the vehicle V”);
wherein the vehicular control system determines that the vehicle is undertaking the parking maneuver based at least in part on determining that the vehicle has entered a parking lot (Paragraph 0008: “a parking frame certainty degree indicative of a degree of certainty about a presence of a parking frame in the travel direction of the vehicle on the basis of a surrounding environment of the vehicle”);
wherein, at least during the determined parking maneuver, the vehicular control system is operable to determine whether acceleration of the vehicle is unintentional (Paragraph 0264: “As a result, it is possible to suppress the degradation in the drive performance of the vehicle V at the time of parking, and to suppress the acceleration of the vehicle V when the accelerator pedal 32 is erroneously manipulated.”); and
wherein the vehicular control system, during the determined parking maneuver, and responsive to determining that the acceleration of the vehicle is unintentional, controls braking of the vehicle (Paragraph 0264: “to suppress the acceleration of the vehicle V when the accelerator pedal 32 is erroneously manipulated.”).
Morimoto does not positively disclose wherein the plurality of sensors comprises at least two selected from the group consisting of (i) at least one camera, (ii) at least one radar sensor and (iii) at least one ultrasonic sensor.
However such practices are well known in the art.
Joos discloses a parking assistance system (see the Title) which utilizes sensors to create a surround-view of the vehicle (see Paragraph 0036). Most importantly, Joos teaches that any combination od cameras, radar sensors, and ultrasonic sensors can be used.
See Paragraph 0036: “In an embodiment, the vehicle 101 can be equipped with one or more sensors 105, enabling sensing of the vehicle environment, the one or more sensors 105 including ultrasonic sensor(s), radar sensor(s), odometric sensor(s), laser scanner(s), camera(s), and the like. In an embodiment, the camera(s) can be a plurality of cameras positioned around the vehicle 101 and can be configured to provide a surround-view of the vehicle 101.”
Also see Paragraph 0054: “FIG. 2B is a flow diagram reflecting real-time updates to the parking trajectory. As before, at step 231 of process 200, sensor data is received by the parking server from one or more sensors of the vehicle via the VECU. In an embodiment, and with reference to FIG. 3, this updated sensor data can be received from one or more sensors 305 including at least one of radar 306, lidar 307, ultrasonic sensor 308, camera 309, accelerometer 398, gyroscope 399, or a combination thereof.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to configure the array of cameras of Morimoto, used to create a bird’s-eye view of the vehicle (see Morimoto, Paragraphs 0044 and 0060), with a combination of cameras and other sensors, such as radar and ultrasonic sensors, used for the same purpose, as is commonly done in the art as demonstrated by Joos. Such a configuration is considered to be a simple and obvious combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (MPEP 2141 III).
In regard to claim 19, Morimoto modified supra discloses the system of claim 18, wherein the at least one sensor comprises a camera (see Paragraph 0045).
In regard to claim 20, Morimoto modified supra discloses the system of claim 18, wherein the at least one sensor comprises a radar sensor (as modified by Joos when rejecting claim 18).
In regard to claim 21, Morimoto modified supra discloses the system of claim 18, wherein the at least one sensor comprises an ultrasonic sensor (as modified by Joos when rejecting claim 18).
In regard to claim 22, Morimoto modified supra discloses the system of claim 18, wherein, during the determined parking maneuver, the vehicular control system limits acceleration of the vehicle to a parking maneuver maximum acceleration, and wherein the parking maneuver maximum acceleration is less than a maximum acceleration of the vehicle.
See Paragraph 0264 (emphasis added): “The parking frame certainty degree calculation unit 36 is configured to calculate the parking frame certainty degree on the basis of the bird's-eye view image (environment) of surroundings of the vehicle V and the vehicle speed (travel state) of the vehicle V. In addition to this, the suppression degree of the acceleration command value is set to be lower when the parking frame certainty degree calculated by the parking frame certainty degree calculation unit 36 is lower than when the parking frame certainty degree is higher.”
In regard to claim 23, Morimoto modified supra discloses the system of claim 18, wherein, during the determined parking maneuver, the vehicular control system limits speed of the vehicle to a parking lot maximum speed, and wherein the parking lot maximum speed is less than a maximum speed of the vehicle.
See Paragraph 0006: “However, when the above-mentioned determination condition is used, a throttle of a vehicle which enters a parking space from a road is controlled so as to decrease the vehicle speed depending thereon.”.
Also see Paragraph 0105: “It is to be noted that in the present embodiment, a case where the threshold vehicle speed is set to 15 km/h, as an example, will be described.”
In regard to claim 24, Morimoto modified supra discloses the system of claim 18, wherein, during the determined parking maneuver, the vehicular control system limits a rate of change of acceleration of the vehicle.
Being able to adjust the rate of suppression, see Paragraph 0264: “Therefore, it is possible to reduce the degradation in the drive performance by decreasing the suppression degree of the acceleration command value, when the parking frame certainty degree is low, and to enhance the acceleration suppression effect of the vehicle by increasing the suppression degree of the acceleration command value, when the parking frame certainty degree is high.”
In regard to claim 25, Morimoto modified supra discloses the system of claim 18, wherein the vehicular control system determines that the vehicle has entered the parking lot based at least in part on map data (Paragraph 0054: “Furthermore, the navigation device 26 is capable of acquiring road information such as a type, a width, and the like of the road on which the vehicle V travels, on the basis of the current position of the vehicle V acquired by using the GPS receiver and the road information stored in the map database.”).
Conclusion
/JACOB M AMICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747