Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 9-10, 14, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ibrahim et al. (US 20200175880 A1) in view of Kim (US 20200183420 A1)
In regards to claim 1, Ibrahim teaches, A travel support device that supports platooning of a plurality of vehicles, comprising processing circuitry configured to: (See paragraph 30, The platoon subscription application 170 may communicate specifically with the platoon server 162 to organize platoons based on driver requests, driver preferences and profiles, traffic and map information, and other vehicle and driver information. The platoon server 162 may include a processor and be configured to receive and respond to platoon requests from the driver. )
acquire travel preference information indicating a preference of an occupant regarding vehicle traveling, from each of the plurality of vehicles; (See paragraph 17, Drivers may enter user preferences for their platoon which may include certain compliance scores of the other drivers in the platoon, certain vehicle features that increase the efficiency of the platoon, MPG, ETC, number of vehicles, position in the platoon, preferred platoon configuration, etc…paragraph 40, The user preferences may also include preferences in platoon positioning. That is, does the user prefer to be towards the front or back of the platoon. The size and range of the platoon may also be selected. This may include a maximum or minimum number of vehicles in a single platoon that the registrant is willing to participant with. Other desired parameters such as MPG, ETA, safety ratings, optimization, etc., may also be selected by the user. The number or hops per trip, such as the number of platoons that the registrant is willing to participate in may be specified…paragraph 41, The user preferences may include a minimum length of the platoon, or a minimum participation amount (e.g., that the user participate in the platoon). The user preferences may include a minimum distance from the estimation, the amount of time the user is willing to delay a trip in order to join a platoon, etc…paragraph 34, The profile database 208 may include driver and vehicle profiles both for the user 202, as well as other drivers subscribing to the platoon service…paragraph 47, At block 316, the server 162 may look-up the user registration including the user preferences and vehicle information.)
based on the travel preference information, execute vehicle train formation support processing of supporting formation of a support target vehicle train in which vehicles having similar preferences perform the platooning; and (See paragraph 17, The system may then match a platoon request for a specific destination with existing platoon opportunities that meet the user preferences. Furthermore, the system may create ad-hoc platoons based on multiple and similar platoon requests…paragraph 34, The server 162 may receive the platoon request and attempt to match the request with an existing platoon, or collate multiple platoon requests to form a platoon…paragraph 51, The server 162 may then filter these overlapping sections based on platoon data and platoon requirements such as driver history, vehicle capabilities, and user preferences…paragraph 59, At block 450, the server 162 may determine whether other users have submitted similar platoon requests. This may allow a new platoon to form based on similarly received requests…paragraph 55, At block 420, the server 162 may filter the matched platoon by applying the user preferences. )
when there is a plurality of support target vehicle trains, … acquiring at least one of the travel preference information and vehicle train travel information from each of the plurality of support target vehicle trains and (See paragraph 3, a database configured to maintain a user profile and data descriptive of existing platoons...paragraph 48, The platoon opportunities may include a list of existing platoons. The existing platoons may include platoon data, such as the platoon start location, platoon start time, platoon end location, number of platoon participants, and the location of the next vehicle in the platoon…paragraph 32, The platoon 204 may include platoon information such as a platoon start location, platoon start time, platoon end location, number of participants and various vehicle positions within the platoon…paragraph 54, is there a platoon, or more than one platoon, with similar overlapping routes…paragraph 55, filter the matched platoon by applying the user preferences.)
Ibrahim does not specifically teach, execute first travel control processing of …controlling the platooning of each of the plurality of support target vehicle trains based on the acquired at least one of the travel preference information and the vehicle train travel information.
Kim further teaches, execute first travel control processing of …controlling the platooning of each of the plurality of support target vehicle trains based on the acquired at least one of the travel preference information and the vehicle train travel information. (See paragraph 10, adjust and share vehicle speeds of the forward platooning group to be overtaken and a platooning group to overtake, based on the expected time taken to overtake…claim 3, calculate the expected time taken to overtake based on a platoon line distance of the forward platooning group, a platoon line distance of the platooning group to overtake, a platooning speed of the forward platooning group, and a platooning speed of the platooning group to overtake…paragraph 61, the processor 140 may reduce an inter-vehicle distance in both the platooning group G1 to be overtaken and the platooning group G2 to overtake. Also see claims 1, 8, share platoon line information between platooning groups… storage storing the platoon line information.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious by one of ordinary skilled in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the user preference based travel support device of Ibrahim to further comprise platooning device taught by Kim because utilizing Kim’s method can prevent unnecessary traffic congestion by previously determining an expected time taken to overtake between platooning groups such that the platooning groups cooperate with each other on a suitable inter-vehicle distance and speed therebetween using V2V communication and minimizing a time taken to overtake between the platooning groups (paragraph 81).
In regards to claim 2, Ibrahim-Kim teaches the travel support device according to claim 1, wherein after predicting another vehicle that is about to make a lane change to a travel lane of the support target vehicle train, the processing circuitry executes second travel control processing of instructing the support target vehicle train to accelerate, decelerate, or change lanes so as not to impede the lane change of the another vehicle. (See Kim figs. 4A-4B, paragraphs 61, 78-79, the apparatus 100 for controlling platooning of the vehicle may perform a lane change to an adjacent lane to overtake at the changed speed N2_ NEXT and may determine whether the lane change is completed…paragraph 4, Upon such platooning, it is checked whether a sufficient space is ensured to change a lane. The lane is changed in a manner where the last vehicle first changes a lane and where preceding vehicles in front of the last vehicle perform the lane change to the location in front of the last vehicle.)
In regards to claim 4, Ibrahim-Kim teaches the travel support device according to claim 1, wherein after predicting another vehicle that is about to make a lane change to a travel lane of the support target vehicle train, the processing circuitry executes fourth travel control processing, and the fourth travel control processing includes: specifying a plurality of specific vehicles among vehicles included in the support target vehicle train, wherein the plurality of specific vehicles each have the travel preference information that is different from the travel preference information of the support target vehicle train by a threshold value or more; and instructing each of the plurality of specific vehicles to cause the plurality of specific vehicles to leave the support target vehicle train and form another vehicle train. (See Kim figs. 4A-4B, paragraphs 61, 78-79, the apparatus 100 for controlling platooning of the vehicle may perform a lane change to an adjacent lane to overtake at the changed speed N2_ NEXT and may determine whether the lane change is completed…paragraph 4, Upon such platooning, it is checked whether a sufficient space is ensured to change a lane. The lane is changed in a manner where the last vehicle first changes a lane and where preceding vehicles in front of the last vehicle perform the lane change to the location in front of the last vehicle. Also see Ibrahim paragraph 42, When a driver subscribes to a platoon, but then drops out either before the start, or mid-way through the route, the efficiency of the platoon is affected…paragraph 55, the server 162 may filter the matched platoon by applying the user preferences. As explained above, the user preferences/required attributes may include certain restrictions or preferences that the platoon must meet in order for the user to desire to be part of the platoon.)
In regards to claim 9, Ibrahim-Kim teaches the travel support device according to claim 1, wherein the travel preference information includes at least one of travel pattern preference information on a desired travel pattern, destination preference information on a desired destination, and travel speed preference information on a desired travel speed. (See Ibrahim paragraph 33, The user 202 may make a platoon request indicating platoon request data such as a route start location, a route start time, and a route end location…paragraph 17, The system may then match a platoon request for a specific destination with existing platoon opportunities that meet the user preferences.)
In regards to claim 10, Ibrahim-Kim teaches the travel support device according to claim 1, wherein the travel preference information includes travel speed preference information on a desired travel speed,the plurality of support target vehicle trains include a preceding vehicle train and a following vehicle train having a desired travel speed higher than that of the preceding vehicle train, andthe first travel control processing includes instructing the preceding vehicle train or the following vehicle train to make a lane change for causing the following vehicle train to move ahead of the preceding vehicle train when the following vehicle train approaches the preceding vehicle train. (See Ibrahim paragraph 40, Other desired parameters such as MPG, ETA, safety ratings, optimization, etc., may also be selected by the user…Kim paragraph 51, When the forward platooning group G1 is slower in speed than the following platooning group G2, the processor 140 may determine that it is necessary to overtake…paragraph 59, processor 140 may check whether the distance between the platooning group G2 to overtake and the platooning group G1 to be overtaken (the forward platooning group) decreases to less than 300 m….paragraph 61, The processor 140 may perform a lane change to an adjacent lane to overtake at the changed speed V2_NEXT. )
In regards to claim 14, Ibrahim-Kim teaches the travel support device according to claim 1, wherein the vehicle train travel information includes information on a number of vehicles forming a vehicle train, and the first travel control processing includes instructing a vehicle train having a smaller number of vehicles among a preceding vehicle train and a following vehicle train that are included in the plurality of support target vehicle trains to make a lane change for causing the following vehicle train to move ahead of the preceding vehicle train when the following vehicle train approaches the preceding vehicle train. (See Ibrahim paragraph 48, The existing platoons may include platoon data, such as the platoon start location, platoon start time, platoon end location, number of platoon participants, and the location of the next vehicle in the platoon….Kim paragraph 53, L1 denotes a platoon line distance from a leader vehicle of the platooning group G1 to be overtaken (platoon group 1) to the last following vehicle thereof…paragraph 5, Particularly, as the platoon line is long and as a speed difference between a group to be overtaken and a vehicle to overtake is small, a time taken to overtake may be significantly increased to cause traffic congestion.)
Claims 16-17 are similar in scope to claim 1, therefore, they are rejected under similar rationale as set forth above.
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ibrahim et al. (US 20200175880 A1) in view of Kim (US 20200183420 A1), and further in view of Bang; Kyung Joo (US 20210110720 A1)
In regards to claim 3, Ibrahim-Kim teaches the travel support device according to claim 1.
Ibrahim-Kim does not specifically teach, wherein after predicting another vehicle that is about to make a lane change to a travel lane of the support target vehicle train, the processing circuitry executes third travel control processing, and the third travel control processing includes: specifying first and second vehicle trains acquired by dividing the support target vehicle train in such a manner as not to impede the lane change of the another vehicle; and instructing the support target vehicle train to form the first and second vehicle trains while securing a travel space for the another vehicle between the first vehicle train and the second vehicle train.
Bang further teaches, wherein after predicting another vehicle that is about to make a lane change to a travel lane of the support target vehicle train, the processing circuitry executes third travel control processing, and the third travel control processing includes: specifying first and second vehicle trains acquired by dividing the support target vehicle train in such a manner as not to impede the lane change of the another vehicle; and instructing the support target vehicle train to form the first and second vehicle trains while securing a travel space for the another vehicle between the first vehicle train and the second vehicle train. (See paragraph 65, the processor 150 may predict that the outside vehicle will perform a lane change to move to the entrance and exit ramp…fig. 4, paragraph 89, when only one leading vehicle LV is in front of an outside vehicle OV between divided platooning lines, in reference numeral 402, a forefront vehicle FV21 among following vehicles in a following line between the divided platooning lines may become a new leading vehicle LVnew. In reference numeral 403, the old leading vehicle LVold may change its lane to decelerate and may join behind the new leading vehicle LVnew. In this embodiment, when the following line between the divided platooning lines is configured with two or more vehicles, a tail end vehicle of the following line may decelerate. Thus, the old leading vehicle LVold joins in front of the tail end vehicle. Also see fig. 5 and associated paragraphs)
Therefore, it would have been obvious by one of ordinary skilled in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the user preference based travel support device of Ibrahim to further comprise platooning device taught by Bang because a fuel efficiency effect may be increased by increasing a time when the platooning line is maintained and increasing convenience of the driver by automatically forming a platoon again (paragraph 75).
In regards to claim 6, Ibrahim-Kim teaches the travel support device according to claim 1.
Ibrahim-Kim does not specifically teach, wherein after another vehicle cuts into the support target vehicle train, the processing circuitry executes vehicle train reconstitution processing, andthe vehicle train reconstitution processing includes:specifying a third vehicle train formed by one or more vehicles located ahead of the another vehicle among vehicles included in the support target vehicle train and a fourth vehicle train formed by one or more vehicles located behind the another vehicle among the vehicles included in the support target vehicle train;instructing the third vehicle train to perform platooning as the third vehicle train; and instructing the fourth vehicle train to perform platooning as the fourth vehicle train.
Bang further teaches, wherein after another vehicle cuts into the support target vehicle train, the processing circuitry executes vehicle train reconstitution processing, andthe vehicle train reconstitution processing includes:specifying a third vehicle train formed by one or more vehicles located ahead of the another vehicle among vehicles included in the support target vehicle train and a fourth vehicle train formed by one or more vehicles located behind the another vehicle among the vehicles included in the support target vehicle train;instructing the third vehicle train to perform platooning as the third vehicle train; and instructing the fourth vehicle train to perform platooning as the fourth vehicle train. (See paragraph 65, the processor 150 may predict that the outside vehicle will perform a lane change to move to the entrance and exit ramp…fig. 4, paragraph 89, when only one leading vehicle LV is in front of an outside vehicle OV between divided platooning lines, in reference numeral 402, a forefront vehicle FV21 among following vehicles in a following line between the divided platooning lines may become a new leading vehicle LVnew. In reference numeral 403, the old leading vehicle LVold may change its lane to decelerate and may join behind the new leading vehicle LVnew. In this embodiment, when the following line between the divided platooning lines is configured with two or more vehicles, a tail end vehicle of the following line may decelerate. Thus, the old leading vehicle LVold joins in front of the tail end vehicle. Also see fig. 5 and associated paragraphs)
Therefore, it would have been obvious by one of ordinary skilled in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the user preference based travel support device of Ibrahim to further comprise platooning device taught by Bang because a fuel efficiency effect may be increased by increasing a time when the platooning line is maintained and increasing convenience of the driver by automatically forming a platoon again (paragraph 75).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ibrahim et al. (US 20200175880 A1) in view of Kim (US 20200183420 A1), and further in view of Korn; Alan (US 9632507 B1)
In regards to claim 5, Ibrahim-Kim teaches the travel support device according to claim 1.
Ibrahim-Kim does not specifically teach, wherein the processing circuitry executes vehicle train dissipation processing, andthe vehicle train dissipation processing includes:based on travel environment information on the support target vehicle train, determining whether or not a vehicle train maintenance condition for maintaining the support target vehicle train is satisfied; and transmitting an instruction for ending the platooning to the support target vehicle train when the vehicle train maintenance condition is not satisfied.
Korn further teaches, wherein the processing circuitry executes vehicle train dissipation processing, andthe vehicle train dissipation processing includes:based on travel environment information on the support target vehicle train, determining whether or not a vehicle train maintenance condition for maintaining the support target vehicle train is satisfied; and transmitting an instruction for ending the platooning to the support target vehicle train when the vehicle train maintenance condition is not satisfied. (See fig. 1, col. 3, lines 39-45, the vehicles may each be configured to communicate not only with each other but further via a communications network 124 with a remote computing network including for example one or more servers 126 configured to implement platooning control aspects…col. 9, lines 53-56, the system may in various embodiments be configured to cancel the platoon orientation or other generate notifications to that effect (step 307)…col. 9, lines 40-43, In an embodiment, the system may further monitor traffic and ambient conditions as they would potentially affect braking performance capabilities over time for one or more of the vehicles in the platoon (step 306)...col. 9, lines 50-55, If the system is able to determine that target vehicle conditions and characteristics, braking performance capabilities, road conditions, ambient conditions, etc., have changed such that the platoon orientation should not be maintained…col. 6, lines 59-62, the system may further determine relative following distances of the one or more vehicles following the lead vehicle in the platoon, assuming the platoon conditions remain adequate (step 302)…col. 6, lines 22-26, Such pre-conditions may further include peripheral road conditions, such as for example a limited access highway, a nature or quality of the road surface, such as having relatively low grade and relatively straight, lack of construction or other impediments to normal travel, etc.…fig. 3)
Therefore, it would have been obvious by one of ordinary skilled in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the user preference based travel support device of Ibrahim to further comprise device taught by Korn because safety can be greatly improved by checking conditions (e.g. environmental) and canceling the platoon when condition is not met.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ibrahim et al. (US 20200175880 A1) in view of Kim (US 20200183420 A1), and further in view of Asakura; Masahiko et al. (US 20190106118 A1)
In regards to claim 7, Ibrahim-Kim teaches the travel support device according to claim 1.
Ibrahim-Kim does not specifically teach, wherein after a first vehicle joins the support target vehicle train, the processing circuitry executes processing of releasing a vehicle function which is restricted during non- execution of the platooning from being used by the first vehicle that has joined, to the first vehicle only during execution of the platooning.
Asakura further teaches, wherein after a first vehicle joins the support target vehicle train, the processing circuitry executes processing of releasing a vehicle function which is restricted during non- execution of the platooning from being used by the first vehicle that has joined, to the first vehicle only during execution of the platooning. (See paragraph 106, When the following permission information is received by the communication device 55, the travel state determination unit 146A determines the travel state to be vehicle platooning so that the subject vehicle M follows the companion vehicle…paragraph 133, Further, in the case of the other travel state, one or both of the warning signal and the jamming radio waves are transmitted to the terminal device (the paired terminal 97), and in the case of the vehicle platooning, the transmission of the signal and the radio waves is stopped. That is, the use of the terminal device (the paired terminal 97) is not permitted in the case of the other travel state and is permitted in the case of the vehicle platooning…paragraph 132, in the case of the other travel state, the use of the non-driving operation system of the HMI 70 may be permitted or not permitted according to the type of automated driving mode, and in the case of the vehicle platooning, the use of the non-driving operation system of the HMI 70 is permitted…paragraph 122, the mode-specific control unit 170A relaxes the regulation of the driver distraction and performs control to receive the operation of the vehicle occupant with respect to the non-driving operation system of which the operation has not been received. For example, the mode-specific control unit 170A causes the display 82 to display a video, causes the speaker 83 to output sound, or causes the content reproduction device 85 to reproduce t content from a DVD or the like...paragraph 139, On the other hand, when the vehicle platooning is ended, the automated driving mode control unit 130 restores the speed limit to an original speed limit (step S108), and the travel state determination unit 146A changes the travel state to another travel state (step S110). Accordingly, the process of this flowchart ends.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious by one of ordinary skilled in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the user preference based travel support device of Ibrahim to further comprise platooning device taught by Asakura because both entertaining passengers of vehicle and safety is achieved, thereby improving experience of the passengers including driver.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 11-13, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN S LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668