DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Request
The applicant is requested to provide line numbers to each claim in all future claim submissions to aide in examination and communication with the applicant about claim recitations. The applicant is thanked for aiding examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-10, 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In regard to claim 1, the recitation, “wherein the coupling element (109) comprises a first material (301) having a thermal conductivity that is greater at a first reference temperature that is above a threshold temperature and that is lower at a second reference temperature that is below the threshold temperature so that there is reduced thermal transfer between the first cooling stage (103) and the first cold stage (108) and the first cooling stage (103) is only cooling the fluid cooling medium in the first conduit (104) when a temperature of the cryogenic cooling system (100) is below the threshold temperature.” introduces new matter as there is no support that the coupling element is capable of being responsible for whether there is other cooling than from the first cooling stage to the first conduit or not, as recited. Further, the recitation language “only” introduces new matter as the scope of the recitation includes that cooling by the first cooling stage of other structures other than the first conduit is excluded. Further, the drawings fail to support an exclusion, as encompassed by the recitation, as the drawings merely show positive cooling features and fail to show any exclusion of other cooling. In addition, in direct contradiction to the recitation, the disclosed first cooling stage does cool more than just the fluid cooling medium, as the disclosure explicitly shows that the first cooling stage cools the first conduit and not “only…the fluid cooling medium”.
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-10, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In regard to claim 1, the recitation, ‘a stream of fluid cooling medium” is unclear for being redundant since a stream, fluid, and medium are redundant of one another and it is unclear how to interpret the repetition. For present examination, the stream is interpreted as merely a fluid capable of cooling something.
The recitation, “the recitation, “wherein the coupling element (109) comprises a first material (301) having a thermal conductivity that is greater at a first reference temperature that is above a threshold temperature and that is lower at a second reference temperature that is below the threshold temperature so that there is reduced thermal transfer between the first cooling stage (103) and the first cold stage (108) and the first cooling stage (103) is only cooling the fluid cooling medium in the first conduit (104) when a temperature of the cryogenic cooling system (100) is below the threshold temperature.” is indefinite for several reasons: initially, it is noted that the recitation “and the first cooling stage (103) is only cooling the fluid cooling medium in the first conduit (104) when a temperature of the cryogenic cooling system (100) is below the threshold” is a step recitation in a system claim and therefore it is unclear what structure is responsible for the step of the first cooling stage (103) only cooling the fluid cooling medium. Further, there is no way to discern what location is required of the recited temperature of the cryogenic cooling system, since the system has many varied temperatures and locations. For present examination, any location in the system is included. Further, the recitation is indefinite since there is no way to discern what amount of thermal transfer is included or must be compared with to be considered reduced as claimed. Further, there is no support that the first cooling stage is excluded from cooling anything other than the fluid cooling medium in the first conduit and therefore it is unclear what the scope of the “only” recitation encompasses.
The recitation, “thermal coupling” is indefinite in view of the indeterminate definition provided by the disclosure. The description states that “a thermal coupling between two objects may refer to any coupling that can be used to transfer heat sufficiently efficiently between the two objects (spec. para. 48). The definition depends on the indeterminate qualifier of “sufficiently efficiently” and there is no way to determine what may or may not be considered efficient enough to be within the scope of the recitation. For present examination, the term is interpreted as --any coupling that can be used to transfer heat between two objects--.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claim limitation “coupling element” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph and is interpreted as a controllable thermal connection (spec. para. 57).
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 9, 10, 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 2024/0102701) in view of Paquette (US 11287171).
In regard to claim 1, Liu teaches a cryogenic cooling system (see whole disclosure; para. 23 “refrigeration mechanism”), comprising:
a vacuum enclosure (1.16) and a working region (at least some volume in 1.13) within the vacuum enclosure (1.16),
a first cryocooler (pulse tube; para. 19, 28) having a first cooling stage (interpreted as a part that provides cooling, see at least part of 2.9 or 2.11; para. 19, 28, 29), the first cooling stage (at least part of 2.9 or 2.11) being located in the vacuum enclosure (1.16),
a first conduit (4.2) for passing a stream of fluid cooling medium (para. 19, 32 - see helium) towards the working region (in 1.13),
at least one thermal coupling (interpreted as any coupling that can be used to transfer heat between two objects; at least part of 1.5 between 4.2 and 2.9; or at least part of 1.7, between 4.2 and 2.11) of the first conduit (4.2) and the first cooling stage (at least part of 2.9 or 2.11) for cooling the fluid cooling medium (helium) on its way (the helium’s way) towards the working region (in 1.13),
a second cryocooler (throttling refrigeration unit, para. 25) having a second cooling stage (interpreted as part that provides cooling, 1.4, 1.6, or 1.12), the second cooling stage (1.4, 1.6, or 1.12) being located in the vacuum enclosure (1.16),
a first cold stage (interpreted as part that is cooled, 3.5, para. 19, 30, 31) located in the vacuum enclosure (1.16),
at least one thermal coupling (interpreted as any coupling that can be used to transfer heat between two objects; see thermal connecting structure between 3.5 and 1.12, or between 3.5 and 1.6, or between 3.5 and 1.4) of the second cooling stage (1.4, 1.6, or 1.12) and the first cold stage (3.5) for cooling the first cold stage (3.5), and
a first thermal coupling (interpreted as any coupling that can be used to transfer heat between two objects; thermal connections from 2.9 or 2.11 to 3.5 including 1.9) of the first cooling stage (at least part of 2.9 or 2.11) and the first cold stage (3.5), provided by a coupling element (interpreted as a controllable thermal connection; at least 1.9), for cooling the first cold stage (3.5),
wherein the coupling element (at least 1.9) is configured to reduce thermal transfer (para. 39 heat switch is “switched off”) between the first cooling stage (2.9, 2.11) and the first cold stage (3.5) when a temperature (para. 39 “off” “when the temperature…is decreased to a predetermined degree”) of the cryogenic cooling system (refrigeration mechanism) is below a threshold (para. 39 “off” “when the temperature…is decreased to a predetermined degree”). Further, note that when the coupling element (at least 1.9) is reduced as claimed, the first cooling stage (2.9, 2.11) is capable of operating to only cool the fluid cooling medium (helium) in the first conduit (4.2) (by controlling the operation of the first cooling stage and the second cooling stage; alternatively see that the first cooling stage 2.9 or 2.11 is capable of cooling the helium in the first conduit 4.2 and not cooling the first cold stage 3.5 when the coupling element 1.9 has reduced thermal transfer - is “off”, para. 39)
Liu teaches most of the claim limitations but does not explicitly teach that the coupling element (1.9) is a superconducting material having a thermal conductivity that is greater at a first reference temperature above a threshold temperature and that is lower at a second reference temperature below the threshold temperature so that there is reduced thermal transfer therethrough.
However, such heat switches are well known as taught by Paquette. Paquette teaches a coupling element (210) is a superconducting material (column 5, line 5-45), including niobium (column 5, line 15-20) having a thermal conductivity (high thermal conductivity in non-superconducting state) that is greater at a first reference temperature (see higher temperature of non-superconducting state) above a threshold temperature (column 5, line 20-25) than at a second reference temperature (see cryogenic temperature) below the threshold (column 5, line 20-25). Therefore it would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the coupling element (1.9) of Liu with the superconducting heat switch of Paquette for the purpose of providing a heat switch that has no moving parts and provides a reliable heat switching operation at a desired cryogenic temperature near the temperature of the cold stage (3.5) and to provide the ability to reduce heat leak from the first cryocooler at lower temperatures while providing the ability to add refrigeration at higher temperatures in an easy to control manner. It is rehearsed that when the coupling element (1.9) is modified as described above, to be formed from the first material of Paquette, the first cooling stage (2.9, 2.11) is capable of cooling only the first conduit (4.2) and the fluid therein.
In regard to claim 2, Liu teaches the working region (1.13) is arranged to receive an object to be cooled (an object can be placed therein and cooled).
In regard to claim 3, Liu teaches that the first cold stage (3.5) is thermally coupled to a heat radiation shield (1.13; interpreted as any structure that can shield thermal radiation) surrounding the working region (inside 1.13).
In regard to claim 4, Liu teaches that the first cold stage (3.5) is a 4K stage (fully capable thereof; para. 24) of the cryogenic cooling system (refrigeration mechanism).
In regard to claim(s) 18-19, Liu teaches that the fluid cooling medium is helium-3 (para. 32) and is helium in a dilution refrigerator (para. 32).
Claim(s) 1-4, 9, 10, 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corcoles-Gonzalez (US 2022/0221108) in view of Paquette (US 11287171). See the indefiniteness rejections and note that the prior art teaches the claimed features as far as can be interpreted. Further note an interpretation of the claim language as outlined in the rejection below.
In regard to claim(s) 1, 9, 10, Corcoles-Gonzalez teaches a cryogenic cooling system (see whole disclosure; including Fig. 5, 500), comprising:
a vacuum enclosure (providing common vacuum space, para. 43, hereafter simply vacuum space) and a working region (at least within 552) within the vacuum enclosure (of vacuum space, para. 43),
a first cryocooler (formed by at least 560, 565, 562) having a first cooling stage (interpreted as a part that provides cooling, see at least part of 560), the first cooling stage (560) being located in the vacuum enclosure (vacuum space),
a first conduit (pump line 275 in 580; para. 46) for passing a stream of fluid cooling medium (fluid therein, para. 46) towards the working region (530),
at least one thermal coupling (interpreted as any coupling that can be used to transfer heat between two objects; 518) of the first conduit (pump line 275 in 580) and the first cooling stage (560) for cooling the fluid cooling medium (in pump line 275) on its way towards the working region (530),
a second cryocooler (formed by 570, 575, 572, 574) having a second cooling stage (interpreted as part that provides cooling, 570), the second cooling stage (570) being located in the vacuum enclosure (vacuum space),
a first cold stage (525) located in the vacuum enclosure (vacuum space),
at least one thermal coupling (interpreted as any coupling that can be used to transfer heat between two objects; see contact therebetween) of the second cooling stage (570) and the first cold stage (525) for cooling the first cold stage (525), and
a first thermal coupling (interpreted as any coupling that can be used to transfer heat between two objects; thermal connection between 560 and 523) of the first cooling stage (560) and the first cold stage (525), provided by a coupling element (interpreted as a controllable thermal connection; at least 593, 595), for cooling the first cold stage (525),
wherein the coupling element (at least 593, 595) is operable to reduce thermal transfer (is decoupled, para. 49, 50, 58) between the first cooling stage (560) and the first cold stage (525);
wherein the first cooling stage (560) is configured to cool the fluid cooling medium (in 275 of 580) in the first conduit (275 in 580) via the first thermal coupling (thermal connection between 560 and 523) when the coupling element (at least 593, 595) operates to reduce thermal transfer (is decoupled, para. 49, 50, 58) and when a temperature (of at least 593, 595) of the cryogenic cooling system (500) is below a threshold temperature (para. 58) and not cool the first cold stage (525) when the coupling element (593, 595) has reduced cooling (thermal switch is decoupled, para. 50).
Corcoles-Gonzalez teaches most of the claim limitations but does not explicitly teach that the coupling element (593, 595) comprises a first material having a thermal conductivity that is greater at a first reference temperature above a threshold temperature and that is lower at a second reference temperature below the threshold temperature so that there is reduced thermal transfer therethrough; the first material comprising a superconducting material and being Niobium, as claimed in claims 9-10.
However, such heat switches are well known as taught by Paquette. Paquette teaches a coupling element (210) being a superconducting material (column 5, line 5-45), the superconducting material is niobium (column 5, line 15-20). Further Paquette teaches the first material having a thermal conductivity (high thermal conductivity in non-superconducting state) that is greater (column 5, line 45-46, increased thermal conductivity) at a first reference temperature (see higher temperature of non-superconducting state) above a threshold temperature (column 5, line 20-25, 40-45 critical temperature) and the thermal conductivity is lower (column 5, line 35-40) at a second reference temperature (see cryogenic temperature) below the threshold (column 5, line 20-25, 40-45). Therefore it would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the coupling element (593, 595) of Corcoles-Gonzalez with the superconducting heat switch of Paquette for the purpose of providing a heat switch that has no moving parts and provides a reliable heat switching operation at a desired cryogenic temperature of the cold stage (525) and to provide the ability to reduce heat leak from the first cryocooler at lower temperatures while providing the ability to add refrigeration at higher temperatures in an easy to control manner and provides the passive operation of Paquette at a desired cryogenic temperature of the first material (Paquette - column 5, line 45-51).
It is rehearsed that when the coupling element (593, 595), modified as described above, is formed from the first material of Paquette, the first cooling stage (560) is capable of cooling the fluid cooling medium (in 275 of 580) (Corcoles-Gonzalez - para. 46) and not the first cold stage (525).
In regard to claim 2, Corcoles-Gonzalez teaches the working region (inside 552) is arranged to receive an object to be cooled (an object can be placed therein and cooled).
In regard to claim 3, Corcoles-Gonzalez teaches that the first cold stage (525) is thermally coupled to a heat radiation shield (552; interpreted as any structure that can shield thermal radiation) surrounding the working region (inside 552).
In regard to claim 4, Corcoles-Gonzalez teaches that the first cold stage (525) is a 4K stage (fully capable thereof; para. 43, 58) of the cryogenic cooling system (500).
In regard to claim(s) 18-19, Corcoles-Gonzalez teaches that the fluid cooling medium is helium-3 (para. 58) and is helium in a dilution refrigerator (see structures and operations in para. 58, 52).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/24/2026 have been fully considered but are not fully persuasive in view of the grounds of rejection above.
Applicant's arguments (page 6-7) are an allegation that the claims do not recite an exclusion of cooling other structures than the fluid cooling medium by the recitation “only”. In response, the allegation is unpersuasive since there is insufficient support for the alleged “necessarily only cooling the other”. There is no support that the first cooling stage can only cool the fluid cooling medium as recited.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHN F PETTITT whose telephone number is (571)272-0771. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F, 9-5p. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR): http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. The examiner’s supervisor, Frantz Jules can be reached on 571-272-6681. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOHN F PETTITT, III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763