Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of US Patents: 11507624 and 12332940. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they basically claim the same claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-patentable subject matter. The claimed invention is directed to one or more abstract ideas without significantly more. The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than judicial exception. The eligibility analysis in support of these findings is provided below.
Step 1:
The claimed method (claims 1-7), computer-readable medium (claims 8-14), and system (claims 15-20) are directed to one of the eligible categories of subject matter and therefore satisfies step 1.
Step 2A, Prong One:
Independent claim 1 (8 and 15) recites the following limitations that can be practically performed in the mind and/or with a pen and a piece of paper:
receiving, from a user, a query prefix of a query;
presenting, based on the query prefix and popularity of a general population, a plurality of query suggestions arranged in an order;
monitoring interaction of the user with one or more of the plurality of query suggestions;
updating the query prefix based on additional input from the user;
adjusting, based on the interaction and the updated query prefix, the order of the plurality of query suggestions; and
presenting the plurality of query suggestions arranged in the adjusted order.
Step 2A, Prong Two:
The additional elements are:
the monitoring interaction and the adjusting, based on the interaction and the update, the order step could also be performed by generic computer functions.
These additional elements are using generic computer functions as a tool to perform.
Step 2B:
For Step 2B, the additional elements, taken individually and in combination, do not result in the claim, as a whole, amounting to significantly more than the identified judicial exception. MPEP 2106.07(a)(III)(B) identifies the list of cases in MPEP 2106. 05(d)(II) as available bases. Taking these aforementioned additional elements as an ordered combination, these additional elements add nothing that is not already present when the elements are considered separately.
As per dependent claims:
Step 2A, Prong One:
Claim 2 (9 and 16) - the search session extends from receipt of a first character of the query until an execution of a search based on the query.
Claim 3 (10 and 17)- the interaction indicates negative user feedback or neutral user feedback with respect to a query suggestion.
Claim 4. (11 and 18) The method of claim 3, wherein the negative user feedback is represented by a first time spent by the user on a query suggestion, and the first time spent indicates that the user has examined the query suggestion before deciding not to select the query suggestion. Attorney Docket No.: 19/238,786
Claim 6. (13) - the second time is shorter than the first time.
Claim 7. (14 and 20) - the adjusted is based on the negative user feedback or neutral user feedback.
As per dependent claims:
Step 2A, Prong Two:
Claim 5. (12 and 19), wherein the neutral user feedback is represented by a second time spent by the user on the query suggestion, and the second time spent indicates that the user did not examine the query suggestion.
The additional elements of dependent claims 5, 12 and 19 are directed to generic computer functions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Carpenter (US Pub. 2014/0258273) in view of Black (DE 212011100017U1).
Regarding claim 1, Carpenter discloses a method for providing query suggestions within a search session, comprising: receiving, from a user, a query prefix of a query (¶ [0035], generate suggestions (e.g., words or query search terms) as the user enters keystrokes representing partial query prefixes);
presenting, based on the query prefix and popularity of a general population, a plurality of query suggestions arranged in an order (¶ [0094], causing the results to be displayed in sorted heading order without having to sort the headings themselves);
monitoring interaction of the user with one or more of the plurality of query suggestions;
updating the query prefix based on additional input from the user (¶ [0035], ¶ [0092], The system monitors 404 for the user input. The user then performs a sequence of actions);
adjusting, based on the interaction and the updated query prefix, the order of the plurality of query suggestions (¶ [0035]); and
presenting the plurality of query suggestions arranged in the adjusted order (¶ [0095]; presenting in an order by prefix).
While Carpenter discloses updating based on the interaction, Black further discloses adjusting the order (sect. 3.1.6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Black into Carpenter to provide user’s preference of search results’ presentation.
Regarding claim 2, Carpenter in view of Black discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the search session extends from receipt of a first character of the query until an execution of a search based on the query (¶ [0080], a keystroke associated with an alphanumeric character is input 304 on the mobile communications device in the search query field).
Regarding claim 3, Carpenter in view of Black discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the interaction indicates negative user feedback or neutral user feedback with respect to a query suggestion (Black, sect. 3.1.6, not lead to some positive user interaction are not passed into the user's history).
Regarding claim 4, Carpenter in view of Black discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the negative user feedback is represented by a first time spent by the user on a query suggestion, and the first time spent indicates that the user has examined the query suggestion before deciding not to select the query suggestion (Black, p. 7, determining that a timer associated with the second request proposals has expired after a predefined period of time and before another request has been received based on interaction).
Regarding claim 5, Carpenter in view of Black discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the neutral user feedback is represented by a second time spent by the user on the query suggestion, and the second time spent indicates that the user did not examine the query suggestion (Black, p. 7, determining that a timer associated with the second request proposals has expired after a predefined period of time and before another request has been received based on interaction).
Regarding claim 6, Carpenter in view of Black discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the second time is shorter than the first time (black, p. 7, one time is shorter than another time).
Regarding claim 7, Carpenter in view of Black discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the adjusted is based on the negative user feedback or neutral user feedback (Black, sect. 8).
Regarding claims 8-14, see discussion of claims 1-7 above for the same reason of rejection.
Regarding claims 15-20, see discussion of claims 1-5 and 7 above for the same reason of rejection.
Conclusion
/TUANKHANH D PHAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2154