Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Duan (US 20140122407 A1).
Claim 1 Duan teaches an information processing apparatus comprising a controller (FIG. 1, Processor 140) and being configured to provide a chatbot service, (FIG. 1, Chat Engine 142) wherein the controller is configured to:
generate a message to a user of a chatbot; (FIG. 2, 213, ¶0051, generating a prompt to a user of the provided chat engine 142)
automatically generate a plurality of next input candidates for the user (FIG. 3, 302A-302B, ¶0058, generate a plurality of candidate input messages 302) in response to the message according to content of a dialogue with the user; (FIG. 3, 304, ¶0057, in response to the dialogue 304 with the user)
automatically determine whether a number of selections to be made by the user from among the input candidates is limited to one according to the content of the dialogue with the user; (¶0083, wherein it is determined that the user can adopt any one of the candidate input messages according to the dialogue 304 with the user) and
generate display information indicating a display mode for the input candidates according to whether the number of selections is limited to one. (FIG. 4A, input indicator 412, ¶0083, wherein the display information is displayed according to the selection being limited to one, i.e. wherein the display highlights a single response for selection)
Claim 3 Duan teaches Claim 1, and further teaches wherein the display information does not include information explicitly indicating whether the number of selections is limited to one. (FIG. 4A, input indicator 412, ¶0083, wherein the display information is displayed according to the selection being limited to one, i.e. wherein the display highlights a single response for selection; Examiner notes that there is no explicit statement in the GUI that limits the selectable options to merely one)
Claim 4 is taught by Duan as described for Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duan (US 20140122407 A1) in view of HAI DANG, How to prompt? Opportunities and Challenges of Zero- and Few-Shot Learning for Human-AI Interaction in Creative Applications of Generative Models.
Claim 2 Duan teaches Claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to restrict a number of the input candidates upon determining that the number of selections is not limited to one.
From a related technology, Hai Dang teaches wherein the controller is configured to restrict a number of the input candidates upon determining that the number of selections is not limited to one. (FIG. 3, 6.2 “Combining Prompts” wherein the controller restricts the number of input candidates to a number of that is not one, i.e. allowing multiple selections)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventions to modify the teachings of Duan in order to more effectively utilize the chat engine technology by allowing for combinations of prompt responses.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER P CADORNA/Examiner, Art Unit 2444
/JOHN A FOLLANSBEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2444