DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The filing dated 6/16/26 is entered. Claims 1-3 and 11-13 are amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statements
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 2/27/26 and 3/23/26 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-16, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoganandan, US-20180336009, in view of Spivack, US-20190102946, and in further view of Tse, US-20130021281.
In regards to claim 1, Yoganandan discloses a computer-implemented method (Par. 0005) when executed by data processing hardware causes the data processing hardware to perform operations (Fig. 34; Par. 0128, 0132, and 0133 describes memory elements 3413, 3414, and 3415 storing processor executable instructions for performing system operations) comprising: receiving image data comprising a plurality of candidate objects displayed in a graphical user interface (GUI) displayed on a screen in communication with the data processing hardware (Fig. 3; Par. 0077 describes a user pointing input 305 to a device 120 screen 140 displaying a GUI having three elements 310, the pointing/spatial input 305 disambiguating a user voice input 315; wherein the voice and finger input comprise an event); receiving a query issued by a user (Fig. 3; Par. 0077 describes a user pointing input 305 to a device 120 screen 140 displaying a GUI having three elements 310, the pointing/spatial input 305 disambiguating a user voice input 315; wherein the voice and finger input comprise a query); detecting a pointing action performed by the user in the GUI at a first location on the screen (Fig. 3; Par. 0077 describes a user pointing input 305 to a device 120 screen 140 displaying a GUI having three elements 310, the pointing/spatial input 305 disambiguating a user voice input 315; wherein the voice and finger input comprise a query); performing query interpretation on the query to determine that the query is referring to one of the candidate objects displayed on the screen (Fig. 3; Par. 0077 describes a pointing input and ambiguous voice input about an object displayed on the screen; Par. 0085-0087 describes voice recognition processing providing uttered command recognition and interpretation); disambiguating, using the detected lassoing action performed by the user in the GUI at the first location on the screen, the query to uniquely identify the referred to one of the candidate objects that the query is referring to (Fig. 16A; Par. 0097 describes a user’s ambiguous request for information about an object displayed on display device 1610 which is disambiguated by the user’s cursor/spatial input on a displayed object); performing object recognition on the input to classify the referred to one of the candidate objects (Fig. 16A; Par. 0097 describes a user’s ambiguous request for information about an object displayed on display device 1610 which is disambiguated by the user’s cursor/spatial input on a displayed object); and providing a response to the query that includes obtained information about the referred to one of the candidate objects displayed on the screen (Fig. 16A; Par. 0097 describes the display 1610 showing the returned information 1631 on the identified screen object).
Yoganandan does not disclose expressly detecting a lassoing action performed by the user in the GUI at a first location on the screen; cropping a subset of the image data contained within a region identified by the lassoing action and located at the first location; and the subject matter as claimed in a single embodiment.
However, Yoganandan does disclose the claimed elements in a single document, and it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to experiment with combining Yoganandan’s finite number of described features, including a combination which the instant claim reads on, given Yoganandan’s statement that the various disclosed elements can be freely combined (Par. 0044).
Yoganandan does not disclose expressly detecting a lassoing action performed by the user in the GUI at a first location on the screen; cropping a subset of the image data contained within a region identified by the lassoing action and located at the first location.
Spivack discloses detecting a lassoing action performed by the user in the GUI at a first location on the screen (Par. 0027 and 0209 lassoing objects to select them).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the pointing gesture of Yoganandan can be a lassoing gesture in the manner of Spivack. The motivation for doing so would have been that a lassoing gesture can select multiple objects or a single object thereby increasing usability.
Yoganandan and Spivack do not disclose expressly cropping a subset of the image data contained within a region identified by the lassoing action and located at the first location.
Tse discloses cropping a subset of the image data contained within a region identified by the lassoing action and located at the first location (Par. 0169 cropping an image using a lasso tool which the selected cropped image is recognized for gestures and other input).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the lasso gesture of Yoganandan and Spivack can be crop the image in the manner of Tse. The motivation for doing so would have been that a lassoing gesture can select multiple objects or a single object thereby increasing usability.
In regards to claim 11, Yoganandan discloses a system (Fig. 34, 3400 system; Par. 0128 system) comprising: data processing hardware (Figs. 2 and 34; Par. 0128, 0133, 0137 describes control circuitry 126 and one or more processors 3411); and memory hardware in communication with the data processing hardware, the memory hardware storing instructions that when executed on the data processing hardware cause the data processing hardware to perform operations (Fig. 34; Par. 0128, 0132, and 0133 describes memory elements 3413, 3414, and 3415 storing processor executable instructions for performing system operations) comprising: receiving image data comprising a plurality of candidate objects displayed in a graphical user interface (GUI) displayed on a screen in communication with the data processing hardware (Fig. 3; Par. 0077 describes a user pointing input 305 to a device 120 screen 140 displaying a GUI having three elements 310, the pointing/spatial input 305 disambiguating a user voice input 315; wherein the voice and finger input comprise an event); receiving a query issued by a user (Fig. 3; Par. 0077 describes a user pointing input 305 to a device 120 screen 140 displaying a GUI having three elements 310, the pointing/spatial input 305 disambiguating a user voice input 315; wherein the voice and finger input comprise a query); detecting a pointing action performed by the user in the GUI at a first location on the screen (Fig. 3; Par. 0077 describes a user pointing input 305 to a device 120 screen 140 displaying a GUI having three elements 310, the pointing/spatial input 305 disambiguating a user voice input 315; wherein the voice and finger input comprise a query); performing query interpretation on the query to determine that the query is referring to one of the candidate objects displayed on the screen (Fig. 3; Par. 0077 describes a pointing input and ambiguous voice input about an object displayed on the screen; Par. 0085-0087 describes voice recognition processing providing uttered command recognition and interpretation); disambiguating, using the detected lassoing action performed by the user in the GUI at the first location on the screen, the query to uniquely identify the referred to one of the candidate objects that the query is referring to (Fig. 16A; Par. 0097 describes a user’s ambiguous request for information about an object displayed on display device 1610 which is disambiguated by the user’s cursor/spatial input on a displayed object); performing object recognition on the input to classify the referred to one of the candidate objects (Fig. 16A; Par. 0097 describes a user’s ambiguous request for information about an object displayed on display device 1610 which is disambiguated by the user’s cursor/spatial input on a displayed object); and providing a response to the query that includes obtained information about the referred to one of the candidate objects displayed on the screen (Fig. 16A; Par. 0097 describes the display 1610 showing the returned information 1631 on the identified screen object).
Yoganandan does not disclose expressly detecting a lassoing action performed by the user in the GUI at a first location on the screen; cropping a subset of the image data contained within a region identified by the lassoing action and located at the first location; and the subject matter as claimed in a single embodiment.
However, Yoganandan does disclose the claimed elements in a single document, and it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to experiment with combining Yoganandan’s finite number of described features, including a combination which the instant claim reads on, given Yoganandan’s statement that the various disclosed elements can be freely combined (Par. 0044).
Yoganandan does not disclose expressly detecting a lassoing action performed by the user in the GUI at a first location on the screen; cropping a subset of the image data contained within a region identified by the lassoing action and located at the first location.
Spivack discloses detecting a lassoing action performed by the user in the GUI at a first location on the screen (Par. 0027 and 0209 lassoing objects to select them).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the pointing gesture of Yoganandan can be a lassoing gesture in the manner of Spivack. The motivation for doing so would have been that a lassoing gesture can select multiple objects or a single object thereby increasing usability.
Yoganandan and Spivack do not disclose expressly cropping a subset of the image data contained within a region identified by the lassoing action and located at the first location.
Tse discloses cropping a subset of the image data contained within a region identified by the lassoing action and located at the first location (Par. 0169 cropping an image using a lasso tool which the selected cropped image is recognized for gestures and other input).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the lasso gesture of Yoganandan and Spivack can be crop the image in the manner of Tse. The motivation for doing so would have been that a lassoing gesture can select multiple objects or a single object thereby increasing usability.
In regards to claim 2, Yoganandan discloses performing query interpretation on the query further comprises determining that the query is requesting information about the referred to one of the candidate objects displayed on the screen (Fig. 16A; Par. 0097 describes a user’s ambiguous request for information about an object displayed on display device 1610 which is disambiguated by the user’s cursor/spatial input on a displayed object).
Yoganandan does not disclose expressly the subject matter as claimed in a single embodiment.
However, Yoganandan does disclose all of the claimed elements in a single document, and it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to experiment with combining Yoganandan’s finite number of described features, including a combination which the instant claim reads on, given Yoganandan’s statement that the various disclosed elements can be freely combined (Par. 0044).
In regards to claim 12, Yoganandan discloses performing query interpretation on the query further comprises determining that the query is requesting information about the referred to one of the candidate objects displayed on the screen (Fig. 16A; Par. 0097 describes a user’s ambiguous request for information about an object displayed on display device 1610 which is disambiguated by the user’s cursor/spatial input on a displayed object).
Yoganandan does not disclose expressly the subject matter as claimed in a single embodiment.
However, Yoganandan does disclose all of the claimed elements in a single document, and it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to experiment with combining Yoganandan’s finite number of described features, including a combination which the instant claim reads on, given Yoganandan’s statement that the various disclosed elements can be freely combined (Par. 0044).
In regards to claim 3, Yoganandan discloses performing query interpretation on the query further comprises determining that the query is referring to the object displayed on the screen without uniquely identifying the object (Par. 0085-0087 describes voice recognition processing providing uttered command recognition and interpretation; Fig. 3; Par. 0077 describes an ambiguous voice input 315).
Yoganandan does not disclose expressly the subject matter as claimed in a single embodiment.
However, Yoganandan does disclose all of the claimed elements in a single document, and it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to experiment with combining Yoganandan’s finite number of described features, including a combination which the instant claim reads on, given Yoganandan’s statement that the various disclosed elements can be freely combined (Par. 0044).
In regards to claim 13, Yoganandan discloses performing query interpretation on the query further comprises determining that the query is referring to the object displayed on the screen without uniquely identifying the object (Par. 0085-0087 describes voice recognition processing providing uttered command recognition and interpretation; Fig. 3; Par. 0077 describes an ambiguous voice input 315).
Yoganandan does not disclose expressly the subject matter as claimed in a single embodiment.
However, Yoganandan does disclose all of the claimed elements in a single document, and it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to experiment with combining Yoganandan’s finite number of described features, including a combination which the instant claim reads on, given Yoganandan’s statement that the various disclosed elements can be freely combined (Par. 0044).
In regards to claim 4, Yoganandan discloses receiving the query issued by the user comprises receiving audio data corresponding to the query and captured by an assistant-enabled device associated with the user (Par. 0085-0087 describes voice recognition processing providing uttered command recognition and interpretation; Fig. 3; Par. 0077 describes an ambiguous voice input 315; voice recognition, i.e. audio data corresponding to the query and captured by an assistant-enabled device associated).
Yoganandan does not disclose expressly the subject matter as claimed in a single embodiment.
However, Yoganandan does disclose all of the claimed elements in a single document, and it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to experiment with combining Yoganandan’s finite number of described features, including a combination which the instant claim reads on, given Yoganandan’s statement that the various disclosed elements can be freely combined (Par. 0044).
In regards to claim 14, Yoganandan discloses receiving the query issued by the user comprises receiving audio data corresponding to the query and captured by an assistant-enabled device associated with the user (Par. 0085-0087 describes voice recognition processing providing uttered command recognition and interpretation; Fig. 3; Par. 0077 describes an ambiguous voice input 315; voice recognition, i.e. audio data corresponding to the query and captured by an assistant-enabled device associated).
Yoganandan does not disclose expressly the subject matter as claimed in a single embodiment.
However, Yoganandan does disclose all of the claimed elements in a single document, and it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to experiment with combining Yoganandan’s finite number of described features, including a combination which the instant claim reads on, given Yoganandan’s statement that the various disclosed elements can be freely combined (Par. 0044).
In regards to claim 5, Yoganandan discloses receiving, in the GUI displayed on the screen, a user input indication indicating selection of a graphical element (Fig. 3; Par. 0077 describes a user pointing input 305 to a device 120 screen 140 displaying a GUI having three elements 310, the pointing/spatial input 305 disambiguating a user voice input 315; wherein the voice and finger input comprise a selection event); and in response to receiving the user input indication indicating selection of the graphical element, activating a speech recognition model to enable performance of speech recognition on the audio data corresponding to the query and captured by the assistant-enabled device (Fig. 3; Par. 0077 describes a user pointing input 305 to a device 120 screen 140 displaying a GUI having three elements 310, the pointing/spatial input 305 disambiguating a user voice input 315; Par. 0085-0087 describes voice recognition processing providing uttered command recognition and interpretation; Fig. 3; Par. 0077 describes an ambiguous voice input 315; voice recognition, i.e. audio data corresponding to the query and captured by an assistant-enabled device associated).
Yoganandan does not disclose expressly the subject matter as claimed in a single embodiment.
However, Yoganandan does disclose all of the claimed elements in a single document, and it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to experiment with combining Yoganandan’s finite number of described features, including a combination which the instant claim reads on, given Yoganandan’s statement that the various disclosed elements can be freely combined (Par. 0044).
In regards to claim 15, Yoganandan discloses receiving, in the GUI displayed on the screen, a user input indication indicating selection of a graphical element (Fig. 3; Par. 0077 describes a user pointing input 305 to a device 120 screen 140 displaying a GUI having three elements 310, the pointing/spatial input 305 disambiguating a user voice input 315; wherein the voice and finger input comprise a selection event); and in response to receiving the user input indication indicating selection of the graphical element, activating a speech recognition model to enable performance of speech recognition on the audio data corresponding to the query and captured by the assistant-enabled device (Fig. 3; Par. 0077 describes a user pointing input 305 to a device 120 screen 140 displaying a GUI having three elements 310, the pointing/spatial input 305 disambiguating a user voice input 315; Par. 0085-0087 describes voice recognition processing providing uttered command recognition and interpretation; Fig. 3; Par. 0077 describes an ambiguous voice input 315; voice recognition, i.e. audio data corresponding to the query and captured by an assistant-enabled device associated).
Yoganandan does not disclose expressly the subject matter as claimed in a single embodiment.
However, Yoganandan does disclose all of the claimed elements in a single document, and it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to experiment with combining Yoganandan’s finite number of described features, including a combination which the instant claim reads on, given Yoganandan’s statement that the various disclosed elements can be freely combined (Par. 0044).
In regards to claim 6, Yoganandan discloses receiving a user input indication indicating selection of a physical button disposed on the assistant-enabled device associated with the user (Par. 0103 disambiguation using touch input, i.e. physical button, plus voice); and in response to receiving the user input indication indicating selection of the physical button disposed on the assistant-enabled device, activating a speech recognition model to enable performance of speech recognition on the audio data corresponding to the query and captured by the assistant-enabled device (Fig. 3; Par. 0077 describes a user pointing input 305 to a device 120 screen 140 displaying a GUI having three elements 310, the pointing/spatial input 305 disambiguating a user voice input 315; Par. 0085-0087 describes voice recognition processing providing uttered command recognition and interpretation; Fig. 3; Par. 0077 describes an ambiguous voice input 315; voice recognition, i.e. audio data corresponding to the query and captured by an assistant-enabled device associated).
Yoganandan does not disclose expressly the subject matter as claimed in a single embodiment.
However, Yoganandan does disclose all of the claimed elements in a single document, and it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to experiment with combining Yoganandan’s finite number of described features, including a combination which the instant claim reads on, given Yoganandan’s statement that the various disclosed elements can be freely combined (Par. 0044).
In regards to claim 16, Yoganandan discloses receiving a user input indication indicating selection of a physical button disposed on the assistant-enabled device associated with the user (Par. 0103 disambiguation using touch input, i.e. physical button, plus voice); and in response to receiving the user input indication indicating selection of the physical button disposed on the assistant-enabled device, activating a speech recognition model to enable performance of speech recognition on the audio data corresponding to the query and captured by the assistant-enabled device (Fig. 3; Par. 0077 describes a user pointing input 305 to a device 120 screen 140 displaying a GUI having three elements 310, the pointing/spatial input 305 disambiguating a user voice input 315; Par. 0085-0087 describes voice recognition processing providing uttered command recognition and interpretation; Fig. 3; Par. 0077 describes an ambiguous voice input 315; voice recognition, i.e. audio data corresponding to the query and captured by an assistant-enabled device associated).
Yoganandan does not disclose expressly the subject matter as claimed in a single embodiment.
However, Yoganandan does disclose all of the claimed elements in a single document, and it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to experiment with combining Yoganandan’s finite number of described features, including a combination which the instant claim reads on, given Yoganandan’s statement that the various disclosed elements can be freely combined (Par. 0044).
In regards to claim 9, Yoganandan discloses the GUI is displayed on a screen of an assistant-enabled device associated with the user (Par. 0055 “mobile telephone devices”).
Yoganandan does not disclose expressly the subject matter as claimed in a single embodiment.
However, Yoganandan does disclose all of the claimed elements in a single document, and it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to experiment with combining Yoganandan’s finite number of described features, including a combination which the instant claim reads on, given Yoganandan’s statement that the various disclosed elements can be freely combined (Par. 0044).
In regards to claim 19, Yoganandan discloses the GUI is displayed on a screen of an assistant-enabled device associated with the user (Par. 0055 “mobile telephone devices”).
Yoganandan does not disclose expressly the subject matter as claimed in a single embodiment.
However, Yoganandan does disclose all of the claimed elements in a single document, and it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to experiment with combining Yoganandan’s finite number of described features, including a combination which the instant claim reads on, given Yoganandan’s statement that the various disclosed elements can be freely combined (Par. 0044).
In regards to claim 10, Yoganandan discloses the assistant-enabled device comprises a smart phone or tablet device (Par. 0055 “mobile telephone devices”).
Yoganandan does not disclose expressly the subject matter as claimed in a single embodiment.
However, Yoganandan does disclose all of the claimed elements in a single document, and it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to experiment with combining Yoganandan’s finite number of described features, including a combination which the instant claim reads on, given Yoganandan’s statement that the various disclosed elements can be freely combined (Par. 0044).
In regards to claim 20, Yoganandan discloses the assistant-enabled device comprises a smart phone or tablet device (Par. 0055 “mobile telephone devices”).
Yoganandan does not disclose expressly the subject matter as claimed in a single embodiment.
However, Yoganandan does disclose all of the claimed elements in a single document, and it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to experiment with combining Yoganandan’s finite number of described features, including a combination which the instant claim reads on, given Yoganandan’s statement that the various disclosed elements can be freely combined (Par. 0044).
Claim(s) 7, 8, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoganandan, US-20180336009, Spivack, US-20190102946, and Tse, US-20130021281, as combined in regards to claim 1 and 11, in further view of Pettyjohn, US-20120232897.
In regards to claim 7, Yoganandan, Spivack, and Tse, as combined above, do not disclose expressly generating a textual representation of the response to the query that includes the obtained information, wherein providing the response to the query comprises displaying, in the GUI, the textual representation of the response.
Pettyjohn discloses generating a textual representation of the response to the query that includes the obtained information, wherein providing the response to the query comprises displaying, in the GUI, the textual representation of the response (Par. 0027 “Text-to-speech module 102 generates audible responses to the user's queries and requests. System 90 can also include components (not shown) that provide text and/or graphical data to a user's communication device in response to a voice or text request from the user.”, i.e. providing textual and text-to-speech responses to queries from a user).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the queries of Yognandan, can include text-to-speech and textual responses in the manner of Pettyjohn. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide the user with multiple way to receive the query response.
In regards to claim 17, Yoganandan, Spivack, and Tse, as combined above, do not disclose expressly generating a textual representation of the response to the query that includes the obtained information, wherein providing the response to the query comprises displaying, in the GUI, the textual representation of the response.
Pettyjohn discloses generating a textual representation of the response to the query that includes the obtained information, wherein providing the response to the query comprises displaying, in the GUI, the textual representation of the response (Par. 0027 “Text-to-speech module 102 generates audible responses to the user's queries and requests. System 90 can also include components (not shown) that provide text and/or graphical data to a user's communication device in response to a voice or text request from the user.”, i.e. providing textual and text-to-speech responses to queries from a user).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the queries of Yognandan, can include text-to-speech and textual responses in the manner of Pettyjohn. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide the user with multiple way to receive the query response.
In regards to claim 8, Yoganandan, Spivack, and Tse, as combined above, do not disclose expressly generating a textual representation of the response to the query that includes the obtained information; and converting, using a text-to-speech system, the textual representation of the response into synthesized speech that conveys the response to the query, wherein providing the response to the query comprises providing, for audible output from an assistant-enabled device associated with the user, the synthesized speech that conveys the response to the query that includes the obtained information about the referred to one of the candidate objects.
Pettyjohn discloses generating a textual representation of the response to the query that includes the obtained information (Par. 0027 “Text-to-speech module 102 generates audible responses to the user's queries and requests. System 90 can also include components (not shown) that provide text and/or graphical data to a user's communication device in response to a voice or text request from the user.”, i.e. providing textual and text-to-speech responses to queries from a user); and converting, using a text-to-speech system, the textual representation of the response into synthesized speech that conveys the response to the query, wherein providing the response to the query comprises providing, for audible output from an assistant-enabled device associated with the user, the synthesized speech that conveys the response to the query that includes the obtained information about the referred to one of the candidate objects (Par. 0027 “Text-to-speech module 102 generates audible responses to the user's queries and requests. System 90 can also include components (not shown) that provide text and/or graphical data to a user's communication device in response to a voice or text request from the user.”, i.e. providing textual and text-to-speech responses to queries from a user).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the queries of Yognandan, can include text-to-speech and textual responses in the manner of Pettyjohn. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide the user with multiple way to receive the query response.
In regards to claim 18, Yoganandan, Spivack, and Tse, as combined above, do not disclose expressly generating a textual representation of the response to the query that includes the obtained information; and converting, using a text-to-speech system, the textual representation of the response into synthesized speech that conveys the response to the query, wherein providing the response to the query comprises providing, for audible output from an assistant-enabled device associated with the user, the synthesized speech that conveys the response to the query that includes the obtained information about the referred to one of the candidate objects.
Pettyjohn discloses generating a textual representation of the response to the query that includes the obtained information (Par. 0027 “Text-to-speech module 102 generates audible responses to the user's queries and requests. System 90 can also include components (not shown) that provide text and/or graphical data to a user's communication device in response to a voice or text request from the user.”, i.e. providing textual and text-to-speech responses to queries from a user); and converting, using a text-to-speech system, the textual representation of the response into synthesized speech that conveys the response to the query, wherein providing the response to the query comprises providing, for audible output from an assistant-enabled device associated with the user, the synthesized speech that conveys the response to the query that includes the obtained information about the referred to one of the candidate objects (Par. 0027 “Text-to-speech module 102 generates audible responses to the user's queries and requests. System 90 can also include components (not shown) that provide text and/or graphical data to a user's communication device in response to a voice or text request from the user.”, i.e. providing textual and text-to-speech responses to queries from a user).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the queries of Yognandan, can include text-to-speech and textual responses in the manner of Pettyjohn. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide the user with multiple way to receive the query response.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CORY A ALMEIDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628 6/3/26