DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the central body which extends DOWNWARD from the platform as recited in Claim 2 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claims 1 and 18 recite a platform or a male coupler for a stackable utility module configured to engage a female coupler on an adjacent utility module in the preamble.
Regarding Claim 1, it is unclear if it is PLATFORM or the UTILITY MODULE which engages the female coupler. Similarly, regarding Claim 18, it is unclear which component -either the MALE COUPLER or the UTILITY MODULE which is configured to engage the female coupler. Also note that the transitional phrase “comprising” is repeated in Claim 1, thereby rendering the subject matter of the claim indefinite.
For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that all claims are generally directed to the embodiment of Figure 24 which shows a plurality of male couplers (360) on a utility coupling platform (358) where the couplers are configured to engage a female coupler.
Regarding Claim 2, as discussed above, the drawings do not show a first male coupler comprising a central body that extends DOWNWARD FROM the platform. As shown in Figure 24, the male coupling members extend UPWARD or OUTWARD from the platform. For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that the claim intends to identify the central body extends upward from the platform planar body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 5035389).
Regarding Claim 1, Wang discloses a male coupler comprising a first male coupler configured to engage a space between a locking rib (231’) of the female coupler (21) and a depressed surface (defined within channel 22) of the female coupler. The male coupler comprises at least one locking tongue (defined by trapezoidal plate 10) extending along a sliding/guiding path (23) in a second direction opposite a first direction. While Wang does not disclose a platform, Wang does disclose the male coupler is attached to a wall (30). A person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize and find obvious that the couplers of Wang may be attached to a horizontal platform surface instead of a vertical wall as the simple substitution of one known flat connectable surface for another that would produce no unexpected results. Please see Tu (US 2008/0105803) for a known example of couplers integrated into a platform having apertures (303).
Similarly, while the preamble discusses the platform is for a stackable utility module, this appears to be a statement of intended use and does not impart any structural limitations to the male coupler. A person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize and find obvious that such male couplers disclosed in Wang may be used for stackable utility modules, as the containers (5) disclosed in Wang may be stackable as is generally practiced in the art as seen in Gould (US 3347394) which discloses similar wall-mountable bin containers with wall engagement means (23, 24).
Regarding Claim 2, Wang discloses the male coupler comprises a central body (defined by the pair of ribs 11) that extends outward from the wall, and wherein the at least one locking tongue defined by the trapezoidal plate comprises a first locking tongue offset from the platform that protrudes from the central body in a third direction; and a second locking tongue offset from the platform that protrudes from the central body in a fourth direction opposite the third direction on opposite sides of the ribs.
Regarding Claim 3, Wang discloses the first locking tongue extends from a front of the first male coupler a first distance that is more than twice as far as the first locking tongue protrudes from the central body, and wherein the second locking tongue extends from the front of the first male coupler a second distance that is more than twice as far as the second locking tongue protrudes from the central body.
Regarding Claim 4, as shown in Figure 11, Wang discloses the platform comprises a plurality of male couplers including the first male coupler, each of the plurality of male couplers comprising at least one locking tongue, the at least one locking tongue configured for arresting engagement with the locking rib of the female coupler.
Regarding Claim 5, Wang does not disclose a plate from which the first male coupler extends, the plate defining a plurality of apertures configured to receive fasteners to couple the plate to an article. Rather, Wang discloses the trapezoidal plate has a plurality of holes through which a plurality of screws (17) can pass to secure it to a wall (Col. 2 Lines 36-39). A person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize and find obvious that the location of such holes may be modified in order to provide an alternate means of fastening a planar surface with such male couplers to another exterior surface.
Regarding Claim 6, while Wang does not disclose the plurality of apertures are located around a periphery of the plate, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize and find obvious that the location of such apertures may be relocated to adjust for different mounting positions or differently sized containers.
Regarding Claim 7, as discussed above, while Wang discloses apertures for receiving fasteners, Wang does not disclose the plate defines a first aperture. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize and find obvious that the location of the apertures may be varied and would provide no unexpected results in the ability to fasten the couplers to a desired surface or article.
Regarding Claim 8, Wang discloses a plurality of male couplers as shown in Figure 11, wherein each of the plurality of male couplers is configured to arrestingly engage a space between a locking rib of a female coupler and a depressed surface of a female coupler.
Regarding Claim 9, Wang discloses the plurality of male couplers extend from a same surface of the wall/plate.
Regarding Claim 10, Wang discloses in Figure 11 the plurality of male couplers are arranged in a first row of at least two male couplers and a second row of at least two male couplers.
Regarding Claim 11, Wang discloses the first row is parallel to the second row.
Regarding Claim 12, Wang discloses the plurality of male couplers are arranged in a first column of at least two male couplers and a second column of at least two male couplers, and wherein each of the first column and second column are perpendicular to each of the first row and the second row.
Regarding Claim 13, Wang discloses each of the plurality of male couplers comprises a central body extending from the plate, a first rib extending from the central body in a third direction, and a second rib extending from the central body in a fourth direction opposite the third direction.
Regarding Claim 14, Wang discloses each of the plurality of male couplers comprises a back wall (14) extending from the central body and the plate, and wherein each of the first ribs and the second ribs extends from the back wall.
Regarding Claim 15, Wang discloses the first rib of the first male coupler extends from the central body of the first male coupler along a first axis, and wherein the first rib of a second male coupler of the plurality of male couplers extends from the central body of the second male coupler along the first axis.
Regarding Claim 16, Wang discloses the first rib of the first male coupler extends from the back wall of the first male coupler along a second axis, and wherein the first rib of a third male coupler of the plurality of male couplers extends from the back wall of the third male coupler along the second axis.
Regarding Claim 17, Wang discloses he first rib of the first male coupler extends from the back wall of the first male coupler along a second axis, and wherein the first rib of a third male coupler of the plurality of male couplers extends from the back wall of the third male coupler along the second axis.
Regarding Claim 18, as discussed above, Wang discloses a male coupler with a protrusion configured with at least one locking tongue extending along a sliding path in a second direction opposite a first direction that a locking rib of the female coupler extends, the at least one locking tongue configured for arresting engagement between a locking rib of the female coupler and a depressed surface of the female coupler.
Regarding Claim 19, Wang discloses a central body, wherein the at least one locking tongue comprises a first locking tongue that protrudes from the central body in a third direction and a second locking tongue that protrudes from the central body in a fourth direction opposite the third direction.
Regarding Claim 20, Wang discloses the first locking tongue extends from a front of the male coupler a first distance that is more than twice as far as the first locking tongue protrudes from the central body, and wherein the second locking tongue extends from the front of the male coupler a second distance that is more than twice as far as the second locking tongue protrudes from the central body.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/GIDEON R WEINERTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736