DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-9, 11 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) (a)(2) as being anticipated by Bayer et al. (US 2008/0145577 henceforth Bayer).
Regarding claim 1, Bayer discloses a method for making a mycelium-based biocomposite comprising: providing a substrate including one or more textiles (fibers, meshes…other bulking agents, para. 0016), providing mycelium (para. 0047), applying the mycelium to the substrate to form a composite (para. 0047), and allowing the mycelium to grow to form a mycelium biocomposite (para. 0049).
Regarding claim 3, Bayer discloses wherein the one or more textiles includes separated fibers (para. 0023).
Regarding claim 5, Bayer discloses wherein providing mycelium includes providing grain spawn (mycelium growing on solid or liquid nutrient, para. 0053).
Regarding claim 6, Bayer discloses wherein providing mycelium includes providing liquid spawn (para. 0053).
Regarding claim 7, Bayer discloses wherein applying includes placing textiles and mycelium in one or more alternating layers (para. 0050).
Regarding claim 8, Bayer discloses wherein applying includes combining the substrate and mycelium (inoculum and substrate are combined, para. 0054).
Regarding claim 9, Bayer discloses wherein applying includes placing textiles and mycelium into a mold (para. mixture of inoculum and substrate is placed in an enclosure, para. 0054 and 0055).
Regarding claim 11, Bayer discloses wherein the one or more textiles includes cotton (para. 0023).
Regarding claim 13, Bayer discloses wherein the mycelium is of the genus Pleurotus or Ganoderma (para. 0061 and 0071).
Regarding claim 14, Bayer discloses wherein allowing the mycelium to grow includes incubating the composite (para. 0049).
Regarding claim 15, Bayer discloses a mycelium-based biocomposite comprising: a substrate including one or more textiles (para. 0016); and mycelium (para. 0047), wherein the mycelium is integrated into the substrate (para. 0054).
Regarding claim 16, Bayer discloses wherein the one or more textiles include one or more of cotton, polyester, nylon, and some combination thereof (para. 0023).
Regarding claim 17, Bayer discloses wherein the biocomposite is substantially fire resistant (the method allows for the production of materials…fire protecting, para. 0073).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bayer in view of McIntyre et al. (US 2013/0263500 henceforth McIntyre).
Regarding claim 2, Bayer teaches the invention substantially as claimed but fails to teach wherein the one or more textiles includes intact textiles. However, McIntyre teaches intact textiles (inoculum is poured onto a woven textile, para. 0022). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the fibers of Bayer’s system with a textile as taught by McIntyre to produce various shapes to appeal to a large variety of applications and/or appeal to a large variety of users.
Regarding claim 4, Bayer teaches the invention substantially as claimed but fails to teach wherein the one or more textiles includes a combination of intact textiles and separated fibers. However, McIntyre teaches intact textiles (inoculum is poured onto a woven or non-woven textile, para. 0015 and 0022). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the fibers of Bayer’s system with a textile as taught by McIntyre to produce various shapes to appeal to a large variety of applications and/or appeal to a large variety of users.
Regarding claim 10, Bayer teaches the invention substantially as claimed but fails to teach comprising sterilizing the substrate prior to applying. However, McIntyre teaches comprising sterilizing the substrate prior to applying (cotton burr substrate is sterilized, para. 0030; sterilized oat hulls, para. 0039). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Bayer’s method with a sterilized substrate as taught by McIntyre to prevent unwanted contamination of the inoculum that would prevent the fungus from growing on the substrate.
Claims 12, 18, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bayer.
Regarding claim 12, Bayer teaches the invention substantially as claimed and further teaches the one or more textiles being a polymer (polymers, para. 0023) but is silent on the polymer being polyester. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use polyester, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obviousness. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Regarding claim 18, Bayer teaches the invention substantially as claimed and further teaches a mesh or net (para. 0016 and 0055) but fails to teach wherein the substrate has an average porosity of between 10- 100 pm. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice before the effective filing date to make the different portions of the openings of the mesh of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient, in order to prevent the inoculum from passing through the openings. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Regarding claim 19, Bayer teaches the invention substantially as claimed but fails to teach wherein the biocomposite has humidity absorption of between 2-10% at 65% relative humidity and 21°C. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have a humidity absorption of between 2-10% at 65% relative humidity and 21°C, since it has been held that where routine testing and general experimental conditions are present, discovering the optimum or workable ranges until the desired effect is achieved involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 20, Bayer teaches the invention substantially as claimed but fails to teach wherein the biocomposite has humidity absorption of between 2-15% at 90% relative humidity and 21°C. wherein the biocomposite has humidity absorption of between 2-15% at 90% relative humidity and 21°C. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have a humidity absorption of between 2-15% at 90% relative humidity and 21°C, since it has been held that where routine testing and general experimental conditions are present, discovering the optimum or workable ranges until the desired effect is achieved involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
/EBONY E EVANS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647