CTNF 19/239,337 CTNF 77730 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Drawings 06-22 AIA The drawings are objected to because the drawings do not currently have any legends/text next/adjacent to each numbered element IAW MPEP 1.84(o) . Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 07-04-01 AIA 07-04 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim does not include “non-transitory” where the absence of such in the claim, then covers transitory signals (e.g. carrier wave), wherein “a program” is also not a statutory category. In order to over come this rejection the claim should recite “non-transitory” in addition to a medium (i.e. non-transitory computer readable medium) containing instructions when executed by the processing circuitry perform the method. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DUAN et al., US 20230032613 and Ribble, US 9,794,552 . PNG media_image1.png 470 652 media_image1.png Greyscale a-b-c) The claim project is met by projection device of the vehicle which may be a laser light (para 62, 78) which projects a preset pattern onto the ground (para 10, 14, 17, 21, 24-25, 29, Fig 3, para 54, 56-58, 60-62, 65-66, 69, 73, 76-80, 89, 99-100, 103, 109-110, 115, 118-127, 129, 150-151, 173, 175, 204, 208, 216-217, 227, 229, 236, for the multiple surround cameras 50, step 102 (Fig 2)(para 17, 18, 25-26, 29, 54, 56-60, 63-65, 69, 71-73, 79-80, 88, 99-105, 117, 123, 128, 13-132, 150-151, 173-179, 204, 205, 209, 227, 236 of the vehicle. d-e-f) the claimed align..is met where DUAN discloses aligning target feature points of the (para 128 using straight line 70 (Fig 3) which determines any target feature points which deviate from the projected pattern including the pixel distance deviation (para 128-129, 177). It is noted that DUAN does not explicitly recite overlaying the line on the pattern, however DUAN is using straight lines to correct/calibrate the cameras. The examiner incorporates Ribble et al., which discloses the features of including overlay markers/fiducials which are used (Fig 3b, overlay 358, full text spec para 19, 26), where the fiducial is used to align the calibration image and may comprise more than one fiducial). The motivation to incorporate the teaches of Ribble with DUAN allows the camera calibration system to ensure proper alignment using overlays/fiducials which ensure the surround view cameras are properly aligned and thus ensure a safe vehicle operating/notification system thus being an obvious modification to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. In considering claim 2, DUAN discloses the user may initiate calibration (para 80, 85-87, 150, 154-57, 160, 189-192, 198, 226, 227, 236) In combination with the lines of Ribble (noted in claim 1) it would have been an obvious combination of DUAN/Ribble to allow the user to perform/control calibration if desired, ensure user/drivers needs are met thus being an obvious modification to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. In considering claim 3, DUAN also disclose the vehicle may automatically perform calibration (para 88, 200). In combination with the lines of Ribble (noted in claim 1) it would have been an obvious combination of DUAN/Ribble to allow automatically perform/control calibration when the vehicle is autonomous or the driver desires such to, ensure user/drivers/system needs are met thus being an obvious modification to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. In considering claim 4, DUAN discloses displaying calibration information (para 65, 86, 87, 140, 160, 163-164, 189, 198, 238. As noted in claims 2 and 3, the calibration of camera by DUAN may be done via user and/or automatically, wherein the overlay of Ribble combination would ensure the user was able to view the calibration whether done automatically or by the user, thus ensuring user/drivers needs are met thus being an obvious modification to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. In considering claim 5, Refer to claim 4. In considering claim 6, Regarding the processing the first and second light and position data is met by DUAN which process the image data for target features misplaced/not aligned, in combination with Ribble for overlay, the combination would allows the user/system to overlay a line/fiducial over any of the projected/captured patterns/image to ensure proper calibration, thus being an obvious modification to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. In considering claim 7, DUAN discloses the ground plane includes and XY plane (para 66, 114) where vehicle is located. In considering claim 8, DUAN discloses a camera calibration system which provides a surround view 360 degree coverage (para 59, 72 and 118). The combination of DUAN/Ribble disclose performing vehicle calibration to ensure proper camera coverage, although the reposition the FOV is not explicitly recited, this is a conventional feature when performing camera calibration on a vehicle to ensure proper coverage (FOV) where depending upon the setup (number of cameras) area to capture, would determine the FOV needed/adjustment thus the examiner takes “OFFICIAL NOTICE” regarding such, the obviousness of such technique provides the advantages as noted above, and thus would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. In considering claim 9, DUAN discloses that external brightness environment of the vehicle can be used to control the projection in different environments (para 99) to improve the success rate of the surround view controller and camera calibration. Dribble also discloses that external sensors may be used for temp, moisture etc..(full text para 16). In considering claim 10, DUAN discloses in bright environments the system can project a red (different intensity, wavelength) than a non-red pattern. In considering claim 11, DUAN discloses that external brightness environment of the vehicle can be used to control the projection in different environments (para 99) to improve the success rate of the surround view controller and camera calibration. Dribble also discloses that external sensors may be used for temp, moisture etc..(full text para 16). The motivation to utilize such sensors in the combination provide the system to adapt to different environments and thus ensure proper camera calibration and vehicle safety, thus being an obvious modification to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. In considering claim 12, DUAN discloses the pattern may include shapes (para 61 and 79). The combination above does not disclose identifying the vehicle characteristics, however it is conventional that based upon vehicle type (which can includes size, layout) would determine the placement/arrangement/layout of the vehicle and cameras and thus used to ensure proper calibration, since different vehicles have different size/layouts, thus the examiner takes “OFFICIAL NOTICE” regarding such for the advantages as noted above, thus being an obvious modification to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. In considering claim 13, Refer to claim 1. Where DUAN disclose the use of multiple cameras to cover a 360 degree FOV of the vehicle, thus depending upon the FOV and number of cameras would determine how many cameras were need (3 with 120 FOV, no overlap) more cameras with overlap desired, thus being an obvious modification to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. In considering claim 14, DUAN discloses that calibration may be performed by the user or automatically, where if the posture changes (para 88), trunk is open, suspension changes meeting the routine check of vehicle changes. In considering claim 15, DUAN discloses after calibration is complete a calibration completion signal may be sent (para 179, 182, 183 and 198) and send such signal for display. In considering claim 16, Refer to claim 1. Regarding computer system DUAN (see para 239-240, 243). In considering claim 17, DUAN discloses displaying calibration information (para 160, 164, 189, 198), with the features of Ribble (as noted in claim 1) it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to display the calibration being performed and ultimately allow any user control/adjustment to ensure the needs of the driver/user are met. In considering claim 18, Refer to claim 1. In considering claim 19, Refer to claim 16. In considering claim 20, DUAN discloses the system may be carried out via a computer-readable medium (para 239-240) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure— see newly cited reference on attached form PTO-892 . US 20200174130 – (para 15, 42) which includes overlaying a distance/depth value over an image to calibrate the lidar and cameras. US 20240212209 (Claim 1) discloses a system which calibrates a projected image which is captured by projecting vertical lines onto the grid image, which allows more accurate position estimation (para 90) Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Brian Yenke whose telephone number is (571)272-7359. The examiner work schedule is Monday-Thursday, 0730-1830 hrs. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s Supervisor, John Miller, can be reached at (571)272-7353. Any response to this action should be mailed to: Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks Washington, D.C. 20231 or faxed to: (571)-273-8300 Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the Technology Center 2600 Customer Service Office whose telephone number is (703)305-HELP. General information about patents, trademarks, products and services offered by the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO), and other related information is available by contacting the USPTO’s General Information Services Division at: 800-PTO-9199 or 703-308-HELP (FAX) 703-305-7786 (TDD) 703-305-7785 An automated message system is available 7 days a week, 24 hours a day providing informational responses to frequently asked questions and the ability to order certain documents. Customer service representatives are available to answer questions, send materials or connect customers with other offices of the USPTO from 8:30 a.m. - 8:00p.m. EST/EDT, Monday-Friday excluding federal holidays. For other technical patent information needs, the Patent Assistance Center can be reached through customer service representatives at the above numbers, Monday through Friday (except federal holidays) from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. EST/EDT. The Patent Electronic Business Center (EBC) allows USPTO customers to retrieve data, check the status of pending actions, and submit information and applications. The tools currently available in the Patent EBC are Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) and the Electronic Filing System (EFS). PAIR (http://pair.uspto.gov) provides customers direct secure access to their own patent application status information, as well as to general patent information publicly available. EFS allows customers to electronically file patent application documents securely via the Internet. EFS is a system for submitting new utility patent applications and pre-grant publication submissions in electronic publication-ready form. EFS includes software to help customers prepare submissions in extensible Markup Language (XML) format and to assemble the various parts of the application as an electronic submission package. EFS also allows the submission of Computer Readable Format (CRF) sequence listings for pending biotechnology patent applications, which were filed in paper form. /BRIAN P YENKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2422 Application/Control Number: 19/239,337 Page 2 Art Unit: 2422 Application/Control Number: 19/239,337 Page 3 Art Unit: 2422 Application/Control Number: 19/239,337 Page 4 Art Unit: 2422 Application/Control Number: 19/239,337 Page 5 Art Unit: 2422 Application/Control Number: 19/239,337 Page 6 Art Unit: 2422 Application/Control Number: 19/239,337 Page 7 Art Unit: 2422 Application/Control Number: 19/239,337 Page 8 Art Unit: 2422 Application/Control Number: 19/239,337 Page 9 Art Unit: 2422 Application/Control Number: 19/239,337 Page 10 Art Unit: 2422 Application/Control Number: 19/239,337 Page 11 Art Unit: 2422 Application/Control Number: 19/239,337 Page 12 Art Unit: 2422 Application/Control Number: 19/239,337 Page 13 Art Unit: 2422