DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/14/2025 and 3/27/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 13-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lunceford et al., (US 2014/0137974), hereinafter Lunceford.
Regarding claim 1 Lunceford discloses a twinaxial waveguide (e.g., paragraphs 0028 and 0030), comprising: a sidewall (Figs. 2A-6, at 117) having a first side, a second side, a first end, a second end, a longitudinal axis extending between the first end and the second end, an outer surface, and an inner surface surrounding a waveguide core extending between the first end and the second end (e.g., Figs. 2A-6, at 110, 113, 115, 118; see also paragraph 0048); a first support (Figs. 2A-6, at 414a, 514a) extending between the first end and the second end on the first side; a second support (Figs. 2A-6, at 414b, 514b) extending between the first end and the second end on the second side; a first conductor (Figs. 2A-6, at 490, 570) extending along the longitudinal axis between the first end and the second end of the sidewall, the first conductor being supported by the first support; and a second conductor (Figs. 2A-6, at 490, 570) extending along the longitudinal axis between the first end and the second end of the sidewall, the second conductor being supported by the second support; wherein the waveguide core (Fig. 2A-6, at 460, 560) extends between the first conductor and the second conductor (Figs. 2A-6, at 490, 570).
Regarding claim 2 Lunceford further discloses the twinaxial waveguide of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first support and the second support is constructed of a dielectric material (paragraph 0072).
Regarding claim 3 Lunceford further discloses the twinaxial waveguide of claim 2, wherein the dielectric material is a plastic (e.g., paragraphs 0047 and 0072).
Regarding claim 6 Lunceford further discloses the twinaxial waveguide of claim 1, wherein the sidewall is a tube.
Regarding claim 13 Lunceford further discloses the twinaxial waveguide of claim 1, wherein the first conductor and the second conductor are spaced apart from each other (e.g., paragraphs 0044 and 0067-0069).
Regarding claim 14 Lunceford further discloses the twinaxial waveguide of claim 1, wherein the first conductor and the second conductor are not electrically coupled to each other (e.g., paragraph 0028).
Regarding claim 15 Lunceford further discloses the twinaxial waveguide of claim 1, wherein the first conductor and the second conductor are electrically isolated from each other (e.g., paragraph 0028).
Regarding claim 16 Lunceford further discloses the twinaxial waveguide of claim 1, wherein the sidewall further has a third side, a fourth side, a first diameter d.sub.1 extending between the first side and the second side (e.g., Figs. 2A-2B, at 110, 115, 117, 118; paragraph 0048), and a second diameter d.sub.2 extending between the third side and the fourth side, wherein the first diameter d.sub.1 is longer than the second diameter d.sub.2 such that the sidewall has an elliptically shaped cross-section (e.g., Figs. 2A-2B, at 110, 115, 117, 118; paragraph 0048).
Regarding claim 18 Lunceford discloses a transport network (e.g., paragraph 0012), comprising: a twinaxial waveguide (e.g., paragraphs 0028 and 0030), comprising: a sidewall (Fig. 2A-6, at 117) having a first side, a second side, a first end, a second end, a longitudinal axis extending between the first end and the second end, an outer surface, and an inner surface end (e.g., Fig. 2A-6, at 110, 115, 118, 113; see also paragraph 0048) surrounding a waveguide core (Fig. 2A-6, at 460, 560) extending between the first end and the second end; a first support (Fig. 2A-6, at 414a, 514a) extending between the first end and the second end on the first side; a second support (Fig. 2A-6, at 414b, 514b) extending between the first end and the second end on the second side; a first conductor (Fig. 2A-6, at 490, 570) extending along the longitudinal axis between the first end and the second end of the sidewall, the first conductor being supported by the first support; and a second conductor (Fig. 2A-6, at 490, 570) extending along the longitudinal axis between the first end and the second end of the sidewall, the second conductor being supported by the second support; wherein the waveguide core extends between the first conductor and the second conductor (Fig. 2A-6, at 490, 570); a first network element comprising a transmitter operatively coupled to the first end of the twinaxial waveguide (e.g., paragraph 0007), the transmitter being operable to provide an electromagnetic signal to the first end of the twinaxial waveguide (e.g., paragraphs 0007-0009); and a second network element (e.g., paragraph 0068) comprising a receiver operatively coupled to the second end of the twinaxial waveguide, the receiver being operable to receive the electromagnetic signal from the second end of the twinaxial waveguide.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lunceford in view of Long (US 2023/0017428), hereinafter Long.
Regarding claim 4 Lunceford does not explicitly disclose the twinaxial waveguide of claim 1, wherein the sidewall is constructed of a conductive material.
Long discloses wherein the sidewall is constructed of a conductive material (e.g., paragraphs 0007 and 0123)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the twinaxial waveguide disclosed by Lunceford in accordance with the teaching of Long regarding the use of a sidewall constructed of a conductive material in order to improve the performance and efficiency of the device (Long, paragraph 0011).
Regarding claim 7 Lunceford does not explicitly disclose the twinaxial waveguide of claim 1, wherein the sidewall is a layered structure having a first layer constructed of a conductive material and a second layer constructed of a dielectric material.
Long discloses wherein the sidewall is a layered structure having a first layer constructed of a conductive material and a second layer constructed of a dielectric material (Fig. 3, at 300; paragraph 0077).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the twinaxial waveguide disclosed by Lunceford in accordance with the teaching of Long regarding the use of a sidewall constructed of a conductive material in order to improve the performance and efficiency of the device (Long, paragraph 0011).
Regarding claim 8 Lunceford does not explicitly disclose the twinaxial waveguide of claim 7, wherein the first layer is in contact with the second layer.
Long discloses wherein the first layer is in contact with the second layer (e.g., paragraph 0073).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the twinaxial waveguide disclosed by Lunceford in accordance with the teaching of Long regarding wherein the first layer is in contact with the second layer in order to provide electrical isolation between conductive elements which also improves the performance and efficiency of the device (Long, paragraph 0011).
Regarding claim 9 Lunceford further discloses the twinaxial waveguide of claim 7, wherein the first layer has an elliptically shaped cross-section (e.g., Figs. 2A-2B, at 110, 113, 115, 117, 118; see also paragraph 0048).
Regarding claim 10 Lunceford further discloses the twinaxial waveguide of claim 7, wherein the second layer is within confines of the first layer (e.g., paragraph 0007).
Regarding claim 11 Lunceford further discloses the twinaxial waveguide of claim 7, wherein the conductive material is a metal (e.g., paragraph 0123).
Regarding claim 12 Lunceford further discloses the twinaxial waveguide of claim 7, wherein the dielectric material is a plastic (e.g., paragraph 0074).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lunceford in view of Dogiamis et al., (US 2019/0379097), hereinafter Dogiamis.
Regarding claim 5 Lunceford does not explicitly disclose the twinaxial waveguide of claim 1, wherein the waveguide core is at least partially filled with air.
Dogiamis discloses wherein the waveguide core is at least partially filled with air (e.g., paragraph 0036).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the twinaxial waveguide disclosed by Lunceford in accordance with the teaching of Dogiamis regarding wherein the waveguide core is at least partially filled with air in order to form cables with improved dispersion characteristics (Dogiamis, paragraph 0001).
Claims 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lunceford.
Regarding claim 17 Lunceford further discloses the twinaxial waveguide of claim 1, wherein the sidewall further has a third side, a fourth side, a first diameter d.sub.1 extending between the first side and the second side, and a second diameter d.sub.2 extending between the third side and the fourth side (e.g., Figs. 7A-7B, at 610, 612, 613, 615; paragraph 0073), such that the sidewall has a circularly shaped cross-section (e.g., Figs. 7A-7B, at 610, 612, 613, 615; paragraph 0073).
Lunceford discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the first diameter d.sub.1 is equal to the second diameter d.sub.2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to wherein the first diameter d.sub.1 is equal to the second diameter d.sub.2, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 20 Lunceford further discloses the transport network of claim 18, wherein the transmitter comprises a transmitter antenna array comprising one or more transmitter antennas (e.g., paragraphs 0027-0031 and 0036), the transmitter antenna array being operable to couple the electromagnetic signal as a radiated signal into the waveguide core (e.g., paragraphs 0027-0031 and 0036), and wherein the receiver comprises a receiver antenna array comprising one or more receiver antennas (e.g., paragraphs 0027-0031 and 0036), the receiver antenna array being operable to detect the radiated signal received from the waveguide core (e.g., paragraphs 0027-0031 and 0036).
Lunceford does not explicitly disclose the radiated signal being a radiated electromagnetic wave having a frequency in a range between 300 Gigahertz (GHz) and 10 Terahertz (THz).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to the radiated signal being a radiated electromagnetic wave having a frequency in a range between 300 Gigahertz (GHz) and 10 Terahertz (THz), since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lunceford in view of Gore et al., (US 2023/0335960), hereinafter Gore.
Regarding claim 19 Lunceford does not disclose the transport network of claim 18, wherein the transmitter is operable to provide the electromagnetic signal as a conducted electromagnetic signal having a first complementary signal component and a second complementary signal component , the first complementary signal component being provided to the first conductor and the second complementary signal component being provided to the second conductor, and wherein the receiver is operable to receive the conducted electromagnetic signal, the first complementary signal component being received from the first conductor and the second complementary signal component being received from the second conductor
Gore discloses wherein the transmitter is operable to provide the electromagnetic signal as a conducted electromagnetic signal having a first complementary signal component and a second complementary signal component (e.g., Figs. 6A-6C at 43, 46, 64, 66, 68a, 68b, 69a, 69b, 70; see also paragraph 0088), the first complementary signal component being provided to the first conductor and the second complementary signal component being provided to the second conductor (e.g., Figs. 6A-6C at 43, 46, 64, 66, 68a, 68b, 69a, 69b, 70; see also paragraph 0088), and wherein the receiver is operable to receive the conducted electromagnetic signal, (e.g., Figs. 6A-6C at 43, 46, 64, 66, 68a, 68b, 69a, 69b, 70; see also paragraph 0088) the first complementary signal component being received from the first conductor and the second complementary signal component being received from the second (e.g., Figs. 6A-6C at 43, 46, 64, 66, 68a, 68b, 69a, 69b, 70; see also paragraph 0088).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the twinaxial waveguide disclosed by Lunceford in accordance with the teaching of Gore regarding wherein the transmitter is operable to provide the electromagnetic signal as a conducted electromagnetic signal having a first complementary signal component and a second complementary signal component in order to improve the reliability and performance if the device (Gore, paragraphs 0002-004).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The International Search Report disclosed by Applicant contains additional analysis considered highly relevant to the current application.
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference aspotentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of thepassage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
DAVID E. LOTTER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2845
/DAVID E LOTTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845