Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the limitation “the latch shaft” in the limitation “an annular portion to which …” It is suggested amending the limitation as “[[the]] a latch shaft.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by D1 (JP 5828173).
For claim 1, D1 discloses, in Figures 1-10, a door lock device provided to a door of a vehicle, the door lock device comprising:
a latch (20) that engages with a striker (S) of a body of the vehicle, the latch being rotatable about a latch axial direction orthogonal to an approach direction of the striker (Figures 1-2);
a top cover (10) that supports a latch shaft (12) serving as a rotation center of the latch on an upper side in the latch axial direction (Figure 2);
a lever latch (110) integrally provided with the latch (20); and
a pressing unit (124) that is driven by a motor (150) and rotates about a drive shaft (142) in the approach direction of the striker (P5, last two paragraphs.),
wherein the lever latch (110) is positioned on a lower side with respect to the top cover in the latch axial direction (Figure 2), and
the pressing unit (124) presses and drives the lever latch (110) on a lower side with respect to the top cover in the latch axial direction (P5, last two paragraphs.)
For claim 2, D1 discloses the door lock device according to claim 1, further comprising: a meshing unit including the latch (20), the lever latch (110), and a ratchet (30) that holds the latch in an engagement state with the striker (P3, para. [3]); and a drive unit including the motor (150) and a sector gear (120) including the pressing unit (124), the sector gear being rotationally driven by the motor about the drive shaft, wherein the drive unit and the meshing unit form an L shape or an obtuse L shape (P5, para. [2]. Figures 2-3, and 6-9.)
For claim 3, D1 discloses the door lock device according to claim 1, further comprising: a ratchet (30) that maintains an engagement state between the striker and the latch (P3, para. [3]), the ratchet being rotatable about a ratchet shaft (13) parallel to the latch shaft (12, Figures 1-2); and a bottom cover (50) that supports the latch shaft and the ratchet shaft on a lower side in the latch axial direction, wherein the top cover (10) supports the ratchet shaft on an upper side in the latch axial direction, and the latch and the ratchet are disposed between the top cover and the bottom cover (Figures 1-2.)
For claim 4, D1 discloses the door lock device according to claim 3, wherein the top cover (10) and the bottom cover (50) are fastened together to the door (Figures 1-2.)
For claim 5, D1 discloses the door lock device according to claim 3, wherein the lever latch (110) has a lever portion whose distal end protrudes radially outward from an outer peripheral edge of the latch (20) when viewed in the latch axial direction (Figures 1-2), the distal end pressed and driven by the pressing unit (P8, para. [4-6]), and at least a part of the lever portion always overlaps the top cover when viewed in the latch axial direction (Figures 1-2.)
For claim 6, D1 discloses the door lock device according to claim 1, wherein an operation range for the pressing unit to press and drive the lever latch is set to an area extending across a reference line in an up-down direction passing through the drive shaft below the drive shaft (Since the lever latch is U-shaped, when pressing unit 124 presses lever latch 110, lever latch moves in up-down direction. P5, para. [5]; P8, para. [4].)
For claim 7, D1 discloses the door lock device according to claim 2, wherein the drive unit includes an emergency operation unit that releases engagement between the latch and the striker by a manual operation, the drive unit being covered with a resin housing except for the emergency operation unit (P7, para. [3].)
For claim 8, D1 discloses, in Figures 1-10, a door lock device provided to a door of a vehicle, the door lock device comprising:
a latch (20) that engages with a striker (S) of a body of the vehicle, the latch being rotatable about a latch axial direction orthogonal to an approach direction of the striker (Figures 1-2), the latch (20) having an engagement recess (the recess that carries 109) in the latch axial direction (Figure 5);
a lever latch (110) integrally provided with the latch (20); and
a pressing unit (124) that is driven by a motor (150) and rotates about a drive shaft (142) in the approach direction of the striker (P5, last two paragraphs.),
wherein the lever latch (110) includes:
a lever portion (one of the arms of 110) whose distal end protrudes radially outward from an outer peripheral edge of the latch (20) when viewed in the latch axial direction (Figures 1-2), the distal end being pressed and driven by the pressing unit (P5, last two paragraphs.);
an engagement protrusion (109) being fitted into the engagement recess (A portion 114 of lever latch 110 engages 109 which is fitted into the engagement recess. Figure 5);
an annular portion (Portion of 114 surrounding 12) to which the latch shaft (12) is fitted (Figure 5); and
a column portion (114) extending in the latch axial direction, the column portion (114) connecting the engagement protrusion (109) and the lever portion (Latch lever is U-shaped, P5, para. [5]. Column portion 114 connects both arms of 110, Figure 2.)
For claim 9, D1 discloses the door lock device according to claim 8, wherein the engagement recess is a notch formed in the outer peripheral edge of the latch (109 and surface of 20 form a notch. Figure 5.)
For claim 11, D1 discloses the door lock device according to claim 8, wherein the lever portion extends along a plane orthogonal to the latch (20) axial direction (Figure 3.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (JP 5828173) alone.
For claim 10, D1 discloses the door lock device according to claim 8, wherein the latch and the lever latch are made of a metal material, and a surface of the engagement recess on a side where the engagement protrusion applies a pressing force when the lever latch is pressed and driven from the pressing unit is exposed of the metal material (P5, last two paragraphs; p8, para. [4].), and a surface of the engagement recess on an opposite side is covered with a resin material.
D1 discloses the claimed invention except for the lever latch are made of a metal material, and a surface of the engagement recess on an opposite side is covered with a resin material. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the lever latch are made of a metal material, and a surface of the engagement recess on an opposite side is covered with a resin material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. One skill in the art would realize that having the lever latch are made of a metal material, and a surface of the engagement recess on an opposite side is covered with a resin material would yield the durable and wear resistance lock.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and provides example of invention. A few of the prior art cited but not applied includes Hiramoto (US 9,970,220); Inoue (US 8,025,320); Hayakawa (US 6,945,574).
/NATHAN CUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675