DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 10 and 17 are independent.
3. The IDS submitted on 7/9/2025 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nickolov (US PG. Pub 2017/0034023).
As regarding claim 1, Nickolov discloses A method for data management comprising:
receiving, at a cloud platform that is configured to manage a plurality of virtual machine management systems and from one or more of the plurality of virtual machine management systems, an indication of configuration information of corresponding virtual machines [para. 13, 29 and 235; receiving, by the DataGrid service, configuration parameters/data from virtual machines];
determining, using the configuration information, a set of common configurations that are supported by a plurality of virtual machines [para. 325; determining configuration record including attributes or characteristics which may be common to many different servers];
identifying an indication of one or more security risks of a virtual machine managed by a virtual machine management system of the plurality of virtual machine management systems based on comparing the set of common configurations to the configuration information associated with the virtual machine [para. 325, 549-552; determining vulnerabilities of the new identified subscriber system based on comparing common configurations stored in the DG database]; and
generating a notification that indicates the one or more security risks and an identifier of the virtual machine [para. 559 and 597; sending notification of updated system score(s) including vulnerability score].
As regarding claim 2, Nickolov further discloses The method of claim 1, wherein identifying the indication of the one or more security risks comprises: determining that the configuration information associated with the virtual machine comprises at least one configuration parameter different from the set of common configurations [para. 536-548].
As regarding claim 3, Nickolov further discloses The method of claim 1, further comprising: causing to display a user interface that includes the one or more security risks [para. 1058; block 4431 of FIG. 44].
As regarding claim 4, Nickolov further discloses The method of claim 3, wherein the user interface indicates a number of virtual machines that are in compliance or out of compliance based at least in part on the one or more security risks, a number of total security risks across virtual machines managed by the plurality of virtual machine management systems [para. 1058; block 4431 of FIG. 44], or a combination thereof.
As regarding claim 5, Nickolov further discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the indication of the configuration information is received in accordance with a periodicity [para. 587 and 590].
As regarding claim 6, Nickolov further discloses The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the indication of the configuration information comprises: receiving one or more indications of current software versions of a set of software packages installed on a set of virtual machines supported by the plurality of virtual machine management systems [para. 543 and 591].
As regarding claim 7, Nickolov further discloses The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the indication of the configuration information comprises: receiving one or more indications of one or more operating systems installed on a set of virtual machines supported by the plurality of virtual machine management systems [para. 513, 543 and 544].
As regarding claim 8, Nickolov further discloses The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the indication of the configuration information comprises: receiving one or more indications of configuration parameters associated with a set of software packages installed on a set of virtual machines supported by the plurality of virtual machine management systems [para. 514].
As regarding claim 9, Nickolov further discloses The method of claim 1, wherein generating the notification comprises: generating the notification that includes information about the one or more security risks [para. 559 and 597; sending notification of updated system score(s) including vulnerability score], a link to remediation of the one or more security risks, or both.
As regarding claim 10, Nickolov discloses An apparatus, comprising:
one or more processors [para. 97];
one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the one or more processors [para. 97 and 102-103] to cause the apparatus to:
receive, at a cloud platform that is configured to manage a plurality of virtual machine management systems and from one or more of the plurality of virtual machine management systems, an indication of configuration information of corresponding virtual machines [para. 13, 29 and 235; receiving, by the DataGrid service, configuration parameters/data from virtual machines];
determine, using the configuration information, a set of common configurations that are supported by a plurality of virtual machines [para. 325; determining configuration record including attributes or characteristics which may be common to many different servers];
identify an indication of one or more security risks of a virtual machine managed by a virtual machine management system of the plurality of virtual machine management systems based on comparing the set of common configurations to the configuration information associated with the virtual machine [para. 325, 549-552; determining vulnerabilities of the new identified subscriber system based on comparing common configurations stored in the DG database]; and
generate a notification that indicates the one or more security risks and an identifier of the virtual machine [para. 559 and 597; sending notification of updated system score(s) including vulnerability score].
As regarding claim 11, Nickolov further discloses The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the instructions to identify the indication of the one or more security risks are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: determine that the configuration information associated with the virtual machine comprises at least one configuration parameter different from the set of common configurations [para. 536-548].
As regarding claim 12, Nickolov further discloses The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: cause to display a user interface that includes the one or more security risks [para. 1058; block 4431 of FIG. 44].
As regarding claim 13, Nickolov further discloses The apparatus of claim 12, wherein the user interface indicates a number of virtual machines that are in compliance or out of compliance based at least in part on the one or more security risks, a number of total security risks across virtual machines managed by the plurality of virtual machine management systems [para. 1058; block 4431 of FIG. 44], or a combination thereof.
As regarding claim 14, Nickolov further discloses The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the indication of the configuration information is received in accordance with a periodicity [para. 587 and 590].
As regarding claim 15, Nickolov further discloses The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the instructions to receive the indication of the configuration information are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: receive one or more indications of current software versions of a set of software packages installed on a set of virtual machines supported by the plurality of virtual machine management systems [para. 543 and 591].
As regarding claim 16, Nickolov further discloses The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the instructions to receive the configuration information are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: receive one or more indications of configuration parameters associated with a set of software packages installed on a set of virtual machines supported by the plurality of virtual machine management systems [para. 514].
As regarding claim 17, Nickolov discloses A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code, the code comprising instructions executable by one or more processors to:
receive, at a cloud platform that is configured to manage a plurality of virtual machine management systems and from one or more of the plurality of virtual machine management systems, an indication of configuration information of corresponding virtual machines [para. 13, 29 and 235; receiving, by the DataGrid service, configuration parameters/data from virtual machines];
determine, using the configuration information, a set of common configurations that are supported by a plurality of virtual machines [para. 325; determining configuration record including attributes or characteristics which may be common to many different servers];
identify an indication of one or more security risks of a virtual machine managed by a virtual machine management system of the plurality of virtual machine management systems based on comparing the set of common configurations to the configuration information associated with the virtual machine [para. 325, 549-552; determining vulnerabilities of the new identified subscriber system based on comparing common configurations stored in the DG database]; and
generate a notification that indicates the one or more security risks and an identifier of the virtual machine [para. 559 and 597; sending notification of updated system score(s) including vulnerability score].
As regarding claim 18, Nickolov further discloses The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the instructions to identify the indication of the one or more security risks are executable by the one or more processors to: determine that the configuration information associated with the virtual machine comprises at least one configuration parameter different from the set of common configurations [para. 536-548].
As regarding claim 19, Nickolov further discloses The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the indication of the configuration information is received in accordance with a periodicity [para. 587 and 590].
As regarding claim 20, Nickolov further discloses The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the instructions to receive the indication of the configuration information are executable by the one or more processors to: receive one or more indications of current software versions of a set of software packages installed on a set of virtual machines supported by the plurality of virtual machine management systems [para. 543 and 591].
Conclusion
/THONG TRUONG/
Examiner, Art Unit 2433
/JEFFREY C PWU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2433