DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because in FIG. 4 “123” isn’t pointing to notches, as “123” is defined in the Specification.
Specification
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is too short. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: the body of the claim is currently one large paragraph. However, where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation, 37 CFR 1.75(i). Also in claim 18, line 5 should likely be amended to recite --portion, [[and ]]a solid-- and the second to last line should likely be amended to recite --portion, and a shoulder--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "said at least one additional thread" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Double Patenting
Claim 18 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4 and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,732,547 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim limitations in present claim 18 are already required in patented claims 4 and 14, and more specifically in claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SPENCER (US 2010/0155085 A1), alone.
Spencer teaches formation plug formed in situ in a wellbore traversing a formation, comprising:
solid bismuth alloy material 122 having a solid first cylindrical body portion (where “122” is pointing in FIG. 3), a solid second cylindrical body portion (above the first cylindrical body portion in FIG. 3) of smaller diameter than the first cylindrical body portion, a shoulder being defined at a transition from said first cylindrical body portion to said second cylindrical body portion (FIG. 3).
While the plug material taught by Spencer more than likely seeps out into the formation in a web shape before solidifying, Spencer does not specifically teach said plug comprises a dendritic web extending outwardly from and around at least a portion of said solid first cylindrical body portion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the plug taught by Spencer to have a web with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have a firmer hold into the formation.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spencer and in view of Boyd et al. (US 5,667,010) (“Boyd”).
Referring to claims 19 and 20: Spencer does not specifically teach a conical portion extending from an end of said first cylindrical portion, or said shoulder is tapered. Boyd teaches a formation plug formed in situ in a wellbore traversing a formation, comprising a material having a solid first cylindrical body portion (at “32” in FIG. 3) and a second cylindrical body portion (adjacent to plug “30”) of a smaller diameter than the first cylindrical body portion, a shoulder being defined at a transition from said first cylindrical body portion to said second cylindrical body portion (FIG. 3), further comprising a conical portion extending from an end of said first cylindrical portion (at the lower end of said first cylindrical portion), and wherein said shoulder is tapered (FIG. 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the end of the first cylindrical portion and shoulder taught by Spencer to be conical and tapered, respectively, as taught by Boyd with a reasonable expectation of success to help retain the plug so that it will not be displaced should the casing and sheath below the cement layer break down (Boyd - column 5, lines 18-21).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 26 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Mueller et al. (US 11,377,925 B2) teaches a formation plug formed in situ in a wellbore traversing a formation, comprising a bismuth alloy material (Abstract). Surjaatmadja et al. (US 9,359,848 B2) teaches a formation plug formed in situ in a wellbore traversing a formation, comprising a cement material 402 with two different diameter portions (FIG. 4C).
/Catherine Loikith/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674
24 July 2026