DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed May 11, 2026 for the above identified patent application.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in United Kingdom on June 17, 2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the UK application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Justice (USP 4,291,588).
Justice teaches a gearbox for (capable of being used with) a generator, the gearbox comprising: an input shaft (88) coupled to an input gear (98); an output shaft (89) coupled to an output gear (104); a first layshaft (100) coupled to a first pair of splitter gears (99,103), wherein one of the first pair of splitter gears is configured to mesh with the input gear and the other of the first pair of splitter gears is configured to mesh with the output gear; and a second layshaft (100) coupled to a second pair of splitter gears (99,103), wherein one of the second pair of splitter gears is configured to mesh with the input gear and the other of the second pair of splitter gears is configured to mesh with the output gear, wherein the input gear, the output gear, each of the first pair of splitter gears, and each of the second pair of splitter gears is positioned between a pair of bearings (94,95, or 101).
Claim 2: Justice teaches the input shaft and the output shaft are arranged along a first axis (Fig. 17), the input shaft being axially spaced from the output shaft.
Claim 3: Justice illustrates each of the first layshaft and the second layshaft are arranged parallel to the first axis.
Claim 4: Justice illustrates (Fig. 17) the first layshaft is arranged along a second axis and the second layshaft is arranged along a third axis, each of the second axis and the third axis being parallel to the first axis.
Claim 5: Justice illustrates (Fig. 19) each of the first axis, second axis, and third axis are arranged within a same plane.
Claim 7: Justice teaches a maximum allowable twist of at least one of the input shaft, output shaft, first layshaft, or second layshaft is one degree for a predetermined torque input.
Claim 8: Justice illustrates a length of each of the first layshaft and the second layshaft is less than a combined length of the input shaft and the output shaft.
Claim 9: As described above, Justice teaches a gearbox capable of being used with a generator and an engine.
Claim 10: Justice teaches the input shaft is in line with the output shaft.
Claim 11: Justice illustrates the first layshaft is disposed on a first side of each of the input shaft and the output shaft, and wherein the second layshaft is disposed on a second side of each of the input shaft and the output shaft, the first side being opposite the second side.
Claim 12: Justice teaches a power received by each of the first layshaft and the second layshaft is between one third and two thirds of the input power.
Claim 13: Justice illustrates (Fig. 19) each of the input shaft, output shaft, first layshaft, and second layshaft are arranged in a same plane.
Claim 15: As described above, Justice teaches a gearbox, including first and second splitter gears, and first and second combination gears.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 14, 16, 17, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Justice (USP 4,291,588).
Justice does not disclose the specific ratio between the input and output gear. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed device to configure the size the gears of Justice to produce a desired speed reduction, such as 1.2:1 or 1.5:1; since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. For example, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed device to configure the gearbox of Justice to produce a speed reduction of 1.2:1 or 1.5:1; motivation being to drive an output device at a predetermined speed to produce a desired outcome.
Justice does not teach the input gear and the output gear are respectively coupled to the input shaft and the output shaft via a spline connection. However, connecting a gear to a shaft with a spline connection was notoriously known in the art. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed device to connect the input and output gears to respective shafts of Justice, with a spline connection, as was notoriously known in the art, motivation being to provide a rotational coupling capable of transmitting a predetermined torque between components.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Justice (USP 4,291,588), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Mosher (USP 533,394).
Justice does not teach a maximum allowable twist of at least one of the input shaft, output shaft, first layshaft, or second layshaft is one degree. However, it was known in the art to configure a transmission so as to prevent twisting of a transmission shaft. For example, Mosher teaches a clutch device (B’) disposed between a shaft A’ and a gear (B) for preventing twisting of the transmission components. Mosher discloses “should the driven part be suddenly and unexpectedly stopped, the plate will yield and permit the driving shaft to continue its rotation without breaking or twisting any of the parts, as would be the case were the connection between the driving and driven members A and B a rigid one.” Lines 34-44. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed device to provide the transmission of Justice with a clutch device between the shaft(s) and gear(s), as taught by Mosher, motivation being to prevent twisting of the shafts if the transmission is overloaded.
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Justice (USP 4,291,588), as applied to claim 15 above, in further view of Wolff et al. (USPub 2010/0294585).
Justice does not disclose the gearbox used to connect an engine to a generator. However, it was known to use a gearbox as defined by the claims. For example, Wolff teaches a combustion engine (32) connected to an input shaft of a gearbox (36), an output shaft of the gearbox connected to a generator (34). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the claimed device to use the gearbox of Justice for connecting an engine to a generator, as taught by Wolff, motivation being to provide an electric power generating device that operates at a predetermined speed.
Wolff does not require a specific engine, but discloses a combustion reciprocating engine (32) for driving the generator. It was notorious well known in the art to configure an engine to operate with a gaseous fuel, such as propane, for providing an engine having reduced emissions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the generator arrangement of Justice modified with Wolff, as described above, with a known reciprocating engine that uses propane, motivation being to drive the generator with an engine having reduced emissions.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Note the cited gear devices having splitter gears.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM C JOYCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618