Status of Claims
This communication is a first office action, non-final rejection on the merits. Claims 1-20, as originally filed, remain pending and have been considered below.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,329,485. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following:
Claim 1 of application 19/239,788
Claim 1 of USP 12,329,485
A system for a medical procedure, comprising: a set of one or more robotic arms; an imaging device coupled to one of the set of one or more robotic arms; a master controller;
a viewer communicatively coupled with the imaging device and configured to render one or more digital images based on image data from the imaging device; at least one computer-readable memory having stored thereon executable instructions; and one or more processors in communication with the at least one computer-readable memory and configured to execute the instructions to cause the system to at least: in a first mode of operation, cause movement of at least one of the set of one or more robotic arms based on a first user input received at the master controller; and in a second mode of operation, cause the viewer to display an interactive menu and a graphical overlay on the one or more digital images, wherein a second user input enables a user interaction with the interactive menu, wherein the graphical overlay comprises information regarding the procedure.
A system for a medical procedure, comprising: a set of robotic arms; an imaging device coupled to one of the set of robotic arms; a master controller, the master controller including: a first user controller operable to be manipulated by a first hand of a user; and a second user controller operable to be manipulated by a second hand of the user; a viewer communicatively coupled with the imaging device and configured to render one or more digital images based on image data from the imaging device; at least one computer-readable memory having stored thereon executable instructions; and one or more processors in communication with the at least one computer-readable memory and configured to execute the instructions to cause the system to at least…in a first mode of operation, cause movement of at least one of the set of robotic arms based on a first user input received at the master controller; and in a second mode of operation, cause the viewer to display an interactive menu and a graphical overlay on the one or more digital images, wherein a second user input enables a user interaction with the interactive menu, wherein the graphical overlay comprises information regarding the procedure.
Claim 2 of application 19/239,788
Claim 2 of USP 12,329,485
generate a visual rendering of the one or more robotic arms, wherein the visual rendering shows a current position and orientation of each robotic arm; and cause the viewer to display the visual rendering.
wherein the visual rendering shows a current position and orientation of each robotic arm.
Claim 3 of application 19/239,788
Claim 3 of USP 12,329,485
includes a patient's body; and
shows a current position and orientation of reach robotic arm relative to the patient's body.
includes a patient's body; and shows a current position and orientation of each robotic arm relative to the patient's body.
Claim 4 of application 19/239,788
Claim 4 of USP 12,329,485
wherein the visual rendering includes one or more areas of potential collision involving the one or more robotic arms.
wherein the visual rendering includes one or more areas of potential collision involving the one or more robotic arms.
Claim 5 of application 19/239,788
Claim 5 of USP 12,329,485
further comprising a non-robotic arm, wherein the visual rendering includes a current position and orientation of the non-robotic arm and one or more areas of potential collision between the non-robotic arm and the one or more robotic arms.
further comprising a non-robotic arm, wherein the visual rendering includes a current position and orientation of the non-robotic arm and one or more areas of potential collision between the non-robotic arm and the one or more robotic arms.
Claim 6 of application 19/239,788
Claim 6 of USP 12,329,485
wherein the one or more processors further are configured to execute the instructions to cause the viewer to display the interactive menu at least in part over the one or more digital images, and wherein at least one of the one or more digital images is of a surgical site.
wherein the one or more processors further are configured to execute the instructions to cause the viewer to display the interactive menu at least in part over the one or more digital images, and wherein at least one of the one or more digital images is of a surgical site.
Claim 7 of application 19/239,788
Claim 7 of USP 12,329,485
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the system to switch from the first mode of operation to the second mode of operation upon a receipt of a double click of a grip of the master controller.
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the system to switch from the first mode of operation to the second mode of operation upon a receipt of a double click of a grip of the master controller.
Claim 8 of application 19/239,788
Claim 8 of USP 12,329,485
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the system to prevent movement of one or more robotic arms when the system is in the second mode of operation.
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the system to prevent movement of the one or more robotic arms when the system is in the second mode of operation.
Claim 9 of application 19/239,788
Claim 9 of USP 12,329,485
further comprising one or more foot pedals.
further comprising one or more foot pedals.
Claim 10 of application 19/239,788
Claim 10 of USP 12,329,485
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the system to switch from the first mode of operation to the second mode of operation upon a receipt of a simultaneous actuation of a clutch feature on the master controller and a clutch feature on the one or more foot pedals.
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the system to switch from the first mode of operation to the second mode of operation upon a receipt of a simultaneous actuation of a clutch feature on the master controller and a clutch feature on the one or more foot pedals.
Claim 11 of application 19/239,788
Claim 11 of USP 12,329,485
wherein the master controller comprises a first gimbal controller and a second gimbal controller.
wherein the first user controller comprising a first gimbal controller, the second user controller comprising a second gimbal controller.
Claim 12 of application 19/239,788
Claim 12 of USP 12,329,485
in the first mode of operation, cause movement of a first robotic arm based on a user input received at the first gimbal controller and cause movement of a second robotic arm based on a user input received at the second gimbal controller; and
in the second mode of operation, cause movement of a pointer on the one or more digital images in the viewer based on a user input received at least one of the first gimbal controller and the second gimbal controller.
in the first mode of operation, cause movement of a first robotic arm based on a user input received at the first gimbal controller and cause movement of a second robotic arm based on a user input received at the second gimbal controller; and
in the second mode of operation, cause movement of a pointer on the one or more digital images in the viewer based on a user input received at least one of the first gimbal controller and the second gimbal controller.
Claim 13 of application 19/239,788
Claim 13 of USP 12,329,485
in the second mode of operation, the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the system to change an association between the master controller and the first robotic arm based on a user input comprising a user interaction with at least one of the interactive menu and the graphical overlay such that, in the first mode of operation, the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to cause movement of a first robotic arm based on a user input received at the second gimbal controller.
in the second mode of operation, the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the system to change an association between the master controller and the first robotic arm based on a user input comprising a user interaction with at least one of the interactive menu and the graphical overlay such that, in the first mode of operation, the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to cause movement of [[a]] the first robotic arm based on a user input received at the second gimbal controller.
Claims 14-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting for analogous reasons as shown for claims 1-13 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6, 8-13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Robinson et al. (US 2021/0145526; hereinafter Robinson).
Regarding Claim 1:
Robinson discloses a system for a medical procedure, comprising: a set of one or more robotic arms (Robinson, Para. [0051], Robinson discloses a plurality of robotic arms);
an imaging device coupled to one of the set of one or more robotic arms (Robinson, Para. [0051], Robinson discloses a stereo camera coupled to at least an endoscopic instrument attached to a robotic arm);
a master controller (Robinson, Para. [0051], Robinson discloses a surgical console coupled to a control system);
a viewer communicatively coupled with the imaging device and configured to render one or more digital images based on image data from the imaging device (Robinson, Para. [0052-0053], [0060], Robinson discloses a display system configured to display the captured images from the camera);
at least one computer-readable memory having stored thereon executable instructions (Robinson, Para. [0047], Robinson discloses the control system includes at least one computer-readable memory);
and one or more processors in communication with the at least one computer-readable memory (Robinson, Para. [0047], Robinson discloses at least one processor coupled to the memory) and configured to execute the instructions to cause the system to at least:
in a first mode of operation, cause movement of at least one of the set of one or more robotic arms based on a first user input received at the master controller (Robinson, Para. [0084], [0088], Robinson discloses the robotic arms perform movements based on the users input at a master controller, and the input device may be a joystick control for when the user operates in a manipulation mode); and
in a second mode of operation, cause the viewer to display an interactive menu and a graphical overlay on the one or more digital images (Robinson, Fig. 11, Para. [0164-0168], Robinson discloses the view displays an interactive menu with icons with images captured from the camera when the selection mode has been selected), wherein a second user input enables a user interaction with the interactive menu, wherein the graphical overlay comprises information regarding the procedure (Robinson, Para. [0170-0172], Robinson discloses the displayed icons at least represent information regarding the procedure (i.e. cut or coagulate procedures) when the selection mode has been selected, see Para. [0168]).
Regarding Claim 2:
Robinson discloses the system of claim 1.
Robinson further discloses generate a visual rendering of the one or more robotic arms, wherein the visual rendering shows a current position and orientation of each robotic arm (Robinson, Para. [0155-0159], Fig. 10, Robinson discloses visual renderings of the robotic arms with icons representing the positions and orientations of the robotic arms are generated and displayed); and
cause the viewer to display the visual rendering (Robinson, Para. [0155-0159], Fig. 10, Robinson discloses visual renderings of the robotic arms with icons representing the positions and orientations of the robotic arms are displayed in the display system).
Regarding Claim 6:
Robinson discloses the system of claim 1.
Robinson further discloses wherein the one or more processors further are configured to execute the instructions to cause the viewer to display the interactive menu at least in part over the one or more digital images, and wherein at least one of the one or more digital images is of a surgical site (Robinson, Para. [0009], Robinson discloses the viewer displays an image region of the surgical site with the graphical icons (i.e. interactive menu) partially overlapping the image).
Regarding Claim 8:
Robinson discloses the system of claim 1.
Robinson further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the system to prevent movement of one or more robotic arms when the system is in the second mode of operation (Robinson, [0064-0066] [0077], Robinson discloses during the selection mode the user may choose from a plurality of robotic arms to operate, with robotic arms prevented from being chosen (i.e. movement prevented) based on their available power).
Regarding Claim 9:
Robinson discloses the system of claim 1.
Robinson further discloses further comprising one or more foot pedals (Robinson, [0054], Robinson discloses the console includes a food-operable input device such as a foot pedal).
Regarding Claim 10:
Robinson discloses the system of claim 9.
Robinson further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the system to switch from the first mode of operation to the second mode of operation upon a receipt of a simultaneous actuation of a clutch feature on the master controller and a clutch feature on the one or more foot pedals (Robinson, [0089], [0177-0178], Robinson discloses a clutch feature on at least the right-hand and left-hand input devices which may be engaged for both input devices, and a pedal input device which may be active at the same time as the two other input devices).
While the art does not explicitly disclose the “simultaneous actuation” of two input devices to switch modes of operations, the examiner puts forth the simultaneous actuation input devices to switch modes of operation would be obvious to try to one of ordinary skill in the art and expect a reasonable success with a predictable solution for switching modes, see MPEP 2143.
Regarding Claim 11:
Robinson discloses the system of claim 1.
Robinson further discloses wherein the master controller comprises a first gimbal controller and a second gimbal controller (Robinson, [0047-0049], Robinson discloses a left-hand input device and right-hand input device which are joystick controllers (i.e. gimbal controller)). The examiner is interpreting a gimbal as a pivoted support that permits rotation of an object about an axis.
Regarding Claim 12:
Robinson discloses the system of claim 11.
Robinson further discloses in the first mode of operation, cause movement of a first robotic arm based on a user input received at the first gimbal controller and cause movement of a second robotic arm based on a user input received at the second gimbal controller (Robinson, [0047-0049], Robinson discloses a left-hand input device and right-hand input device which are joystick controllers (i.e. gimbal controller)); and
in the second mode of operation, cause movement of a pointer on the one or more digital images in the viewer based on a user input received at least one of the first gimbal controller and the second gimbal controller (Robinson, [0091], [0139], Robinson discloses during the selection mode (i.e. second mode of operation) the user inputs are used to move an arrow or similar (i.e. pointer) to highlight and select an icon representing at least an operation of the robotic arm).
Regarding Claim 13:
Robinson discloses the system of claim 12.
Robinson further discloses in the second mode of operation, the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the system to change an association between the master controller and the first robotic arm based on a user input comprising a user interaction with at least one of the interactive menu and the graphical overlay such that, in the first mode of operation, the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to cause movement of a first robotic arm based on a user input received at the second gimbal controller (Robinson, [0049], [0156-0157], Robinson discloses during the selection mode (i.e. second mode of operation) the user designates which robotic arm to be controlled by which specific input devices, with this designation by the user occurring through the user interface).
Regarding Claim 20:
The claim recites analogous limitations to claim 1 above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson et al. (US 2021/0145526; hereinafter Robinson) in view of Garcia Kilroy et al. (US 2020/0138534; hereinafter Kilroy).
Regarding Claim 3:
Robinson discloses the system of claim 2.
Robinson fails to explicitly disclose wherein the visual rendering: includes a patient's body; and shows a current position and orientation of reach robotic arm relative to the patient's body.
However Kilroy, in the same field of endeavor of medical robots, discloses includes a patient's body (Kilroy, Para. [0063], Kilroy discloses a visual rendering view of the patient); and
shows a current position and orientation of reach robotic arm relative to the patient's body (Kilroy, Para. [0063], Kilroy discloses a visual rendering including position of the robotic arms, patient table, and the like).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed by Robinson to include a visual rendering including the entire surgical environment as disclosed by Kilroy with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would make this combination in order to communicate tool status and potential collisions to the surgical team, Kilroy Para. [0063].
Regarding Claim 4:
Robinson discloses the system of claim 2.
Robinson fails to explicitly disclose wherein the visual rendering includes one or more areas of potential collision involving the one or more robotic arms.
However Kilroy discloses wherein the visual rendering includes one or more areas of potential collision involving the one or more robotic arms (Kilroy, Para. [0063], Kilroy discloses a visual rendering including graphical representation of the entire surgical environment, which includes areas for potential collision).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed by Robinson to include a visual rendering including the entire surgical environment as disclosed by Kilroy with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would make this combination in order to communicate tool status and potential collisions to the surgical team, Kilroy Para. [0063].
Regarding Claim 5:
Robinson discloses the system of claim 4.
Robinson fails to explicitly disclose a non-robotic arm, wherein the visual rendering includes a current position and orientation of the non-robotic arm and one or more areas of potential collision between the non-robotic arm and the one or more robotic arms.
However Kilroy discloses a non-robotic arm, wherein the visual rendering includes a current position and orientation of the non-robotic arm and one or more areas of potential collision between the non-robotic arm and the one or more robotic arms (Kilroy, Fig. 1, Para. [0021], [0063], Kilroy discloses the visual rendering may include a robotic arm and non-robotic arm (i.e. user’s hand while operating in an OTB mode) and the areas in which a potential collision may occur).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed by Robinson to include rendering areas in which non-robotic arms may collide with robotic arms as disclosed by Kilroy with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would make this combination in order to communicate tool status and potential collisions to the surgical team, Kilroy Para. [0063].
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson et al. (US 2021/0145526; hereinafter Robinson) in view of Jules et al. (USP 9,925,662; hereinafter Jules).
Regarding Claim 7:
Robinson further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the system to switch from the first mode of operation to the second mode of operation upon a receipt of a double click of a grip of the master controller (Robinson, Para. [0047], [0085-0089], Robinson discloses the control system is configured to switch between a manipulation mode and a selection mode based on the command entered by the user into the surgical console (i.e. master controller), with change signal input may be inputted by mechanical input devices, joysticks, touch screens, or contact less input devices).
While Robinson does not explicitly disclose “double click” as a change mode signal, Jules, in the same field of endeavor of medical robots, discloses double click of a rip of the master controller (Jules, Column 9 Lines 33-58, Jules discloses a signal which actuates the user interface may be a double tap (i.e. double click) of a user input).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed by Robinson to include a double click as disclosed by Jules with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would make this combination in order to select user interface elements, Jules Column 9 Lines 33-58.
Claims 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson et al. (US 2021/0145526; hereinafter Robinson) in view of Koenig et al. (US 2018/0079090; hereinafter Koenig).
Regarding Claim 14:
Robinson discloses a system for surgical procedures, comprising: a plurality of robotic arms (Robinson, Para. [0051], Robinson discloses a plurality of robotic arms);
a viewer (Robinson, Para. [0060], Robinson discloses a display system configured to display the captured images from the camera);
a master controller (Robinson, Para. [0051], Robinson discloses a surgical console coupled to a control system);
at least one computer-readable memory having stored thereon executable instructions (Robinson, Para. [0047], Robinson discloses the control system includes at least one computer-readable memory); and
one or more processors in communication with the at least one computer- readable memory (Robinson, Para. [0047], Robinson discloses at least one processor coupled to the memory) and configured to execute the instructions to cause the system to at least:
in a first mode of operation, cause a movement of at least one of the plurality of robotic arms based on user input received at the master controller (Robinson, Para. [0084], [0088], Robinson discloses the robotic arms perform movements based on the users input at a master controller, and the input device may be a joystick control for when the user operates in a manipulation mode); and
in a second mode of operation (Robinson, Fig. 11, Para. [0164-0168], Robinson discloses the view displays an interactive menu with icons with images captured from the camera when the selection mode (i.e. second mode of operation) has been selected).
Robinson fails to explicitly disclose activate or deactivate the first light based on a user interaction with a menu.
Koenig, in the same field of medical robots, discloses a first light coupled to a first robotic arm of the plurality of robotic arms (Koenig, Para. [0099], Koenig discloses one or more indicator lights coupled to at least one of the robotic arm links)…activate or deactivate the first light based on a user interaction with a menu (Koenig, Para. [0100], Koenig discloses the LED indicator may be controlled through the user interface display screen, with the LED indicator being distinct from the instrument, see at least Para. [0099], with LED indicators communicating information such as control states, instrument change, instrument lifetime, instrument type, etc. with the examiner interpreting the LED lights communicate when the instrument is attached and detached to a robotic arm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed by Robinson to include a light attached to a robotic arm with an on/off switch located at a user interface with the lights indicating instrument attachment to robotic arms as disclosed by Koenig with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would make this combination in order to indicate at least the status of the robotic arm, Koenig Para. [0099].
Regarding Claim 15:
The combination of Robinson and Koenig discloses the system of claim 14.
Robinson fails to explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of robotic arms comprises a second light coupled to a second robotic arm, wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to cause the system to, in the second mode of operation, activate or deactivate the second light based on a user interaction with the menu.
Koenig further discloses wherein the plurality of robotic arms comprises a second light coupled to a second robotic arm (Koenig, Para. [0099], Koenig discloses one or more indicator lights coupled to at least one of the robotic arm links and not limited to a single robotic arm), wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to cause the system to, in the second mode of operation, activate or deactivate the second light based on a user interaction with the menu (Koenig, Para. [0100], Koenig discloses the multiple LED indicators may be controlled through the user interface display screen).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed by Robinson to include a second light on a second arm, and an on/off switch located at the user interface as disclosed by Koenig with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would make this combination in order to indicate at least the status of the robotic arm, Koenig Para. [0099].
Regarding Claim 16:
The combination of Robinson and Koenig discloses the system of claim 14.
Robinson fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first light is positioned at a distal end of the first robotic arm.
Koenig further discloses wherein the first light is positioned at a distal end of the first robotic arm (Koenig, Para. [0099], Koenig discloses one or more indicator lights coupled to at least one of the robotic arm links; which the examiner interprets as may include a link be near the end of the robotic arm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed by Robinson to include light near the distal end of the robotic arm as disclosed by Koenig with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would make this combination in order to indicate at least the status of the robotic arm, Koenig Para. [0099].
Regarding Claim 17:
The combination of Robinson and Koenig discloses the system of claim 14.
Robinson further discloses an imaging device coupled to one of the plurality of robotic arms and communicatively coupled with the viewer, the viewer configured to render one or more digital images based on image data from the imaging device (Robinson, Para. [0060], Robinson discloses a display system configured to display the captured images from the camera).
Regarding Claim 18:
The combination of Robinson and Koenig discloses the system of claim 14.
Robinson fails to explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to cause the system to deactivate the first light upon removal of an instrument coupled with the first robotic arm.
Koenig further discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to cause the system to deactivate the first light upon removal of an instrument coupled with the first robotic arm (Koenig, Para. [0099], Koenig discloses LED lights are displayed in a pattern in which some lights are off or on depending on the indication (i.e. at least instrument change) being communicated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed by Robinson to include robotic arm status indication communicated by the attached light as disclosed by Koenig with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would make this combination in order to indicate at least the status of the robotic arm, Koenig Para. [0099].
Regarding Claim 19:
The combination of Robinson and Koenig discloses the system of claim 14.
Robinson fails to explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to cause the system to deactivate the first light upon completion of an instrument exchange on the first robotic arm.
Koenig further discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to cause the system to deactivate the first light upon completion of an instrument exchange on the first robotic arm (Koenig, Para. [0099], Koenig discloses LED lights are displayed in a pattern in which some lights are off or on depending on the indication (i.e. at least instrument change) being communicated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed by Robinson to include robotic arm status indication communicated by the attached light as disclosed by Koenig with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would make this combination in order to indicate at least the status of the robotic arm, Koenig Para. [0099].
Conclusion
/Z.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/WADE MILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656