DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: attention mechanism in claims 12 and 27, for which [0139] appears to disclose “reference label” of fig. 10B for identifying a measured or otherwise determined lateral position of one of the anatomical structures.
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 10 and 25 recites “wherein the processing unit operatively coupled to the ultrasound transducer is further configured to differentiate at least the following anatomical structures: spinous processes, lamina, articular processes, and epidural spaces”. It is unclear if the differentiation is for all of the recited anatomical structures, at least one of the recited anatomical features or a combination of the recited anatomical features. For purposes of the examination, the limitation is being interpreted to mean that at least one of the recited anatomical structures is differentiated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The claims were considered under subject matter eligibility and deemed eligible because the claim requires detection of the acoustic shadows by an image processing routine, which is not performable mentally or by hand. Further, the recognizing step requires electronic input. Altogether, the steps are NOT routine, conventional image analysis and requires specific machine for accomplishing the steps.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, 8-9, 11-12, 15-17, 19, 21, 24, 26-27, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suri, J.S., US 20120078099 A1.
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Suri an ultrasound imaging system (claim 1) and a method of identifying anatomical structures using ultrasound imaging (claim 16) (abstract discloses a statistical (a) Computer Aided Diagnostic (CAD) technique is described for symptomatic versus asymptomatic plaque automated classification of carotid ultrasound images and (b) presents a cardiovascular risk score computation, of calcium shadows in blood vessels ([0049]) comprising:
an ultrasound transducer configured to acquire ultrasound image data from an anatomical region ([0044]);
a processing unit operatively coupled to the ultrasound transducer (processor 201 of fig. 2 and [0051]), configured to:
access the ultrasound image data ([0049]);
detect an acoustic shadow region and a boundary between the acoustic shadow region and anatomical tissue from the ultrasound image data using at least one image processing routine ([0049] discloses This application particularly takes care of Atherosclerotic Wall Region computation during the shadow cone formation. We will see how the actual LI boundaries are recovered if calcium is present causing the shadow cone. As a result, the Atherosclerotic Wall Region computation has the following advantages when using shadow cones (a) Accurate Atherosclerotic Wall Region computation in real time when the calcium is present in the proximal wall (near wall) causing the shadow cone formation; (b) The system allows computing the Atherosclerotic Wall Region in both cases: (a) when calcium is present and when calcium is not present);
electronically recognize at least one anatomical feature based on the acoustic shadow region and the boundary between the acoustic shadow region and the anatomical tissue using at least one modeling routine ([0202] discloses determining blood vessel features in shadow ultrasound scans based on boundaries);
classify one or more anatomical structure as depicted or identified within, within a known proximity to, or adjacent to, the acoustic shadow region based on the at least one recognized anatomical feature and generating classification results therefrom ([0237] Note that even though, the lumen anatomic information, which acts as a reference, provides a good test for catching a series of wrongly computed ADF boundary, it might slip from sudden bumps which may be due to the changes in grayscale intensity due presence of unusual high intensity in lumen region or a calcium deposit in the near wall causing a shadow in far wall region. This sudden spike can then be easily detected ahead using the spike detection method. This improves the accuracy of the system which in turn helps in determination of the correct region of interest and thus the classification accuracy); and
generate an output signal for transmission to a display device for presenting the classification results ([0007] This application describes a (a) Computer Aided Diagnostic (CAD) technique for symptomatic versus asymptomatic plaque automated classification of carotid ultrasound images and (b) presents a cardiovascular risk score computation in longitudinal 2D Ultrasound, cross-sectional MR, CT and 3D Ultrasound and 3D IVUS. We show this for Ultrasound, CT and MR modalities and extendable to 3D Carotid Ultrasound and 3D IVUS).
Regarding claims 2 and 17, Suri further teaches wherein the at least one modeling routine is a machine learning model ([0008]).
Regarding claims 5 and 19, Suri further teaches wherein the machine learning model is trained at least partly on supervised learning with annotated ultrasound images or annotated ultrasound image data comprising at least labeled acoustic shadow regions from a diverse anatomical dataset ([0008] discloses a supervised classifier for used on the image dataset).
Regarding claims 8 and 24, Suri further teaches wherein the machine learning model is configured to output a confidence metric indicative of accuracy of the classification results, wherein the display device visually represents the confidence metric along with the classification results ([0008] Performance of the system can be evaluated by computing the accuracy, sensitivity, specificity, and Positive Predictive Value (PPV). Hence, such a tool would prove to be a valuable inclusion in the current treatment planning protocol by vascular surgeons).
Regarding claims 9 and 30, Suri further teaches a memory unit storing the machine learning model ([0324]).
Regarding claims 11 and 26, Suri further teaches wherein classifying the one or more anatomical structure uses spatial features from the ultrasound image data comprising one or more acoustic shadow region indicative of the anatomical structure ([0049]).
Regarding claims 12 and 27, Suri further teaches wherein attention mechanisms are configured to identify key regions within, within a known proximity to, or adjacent to, the acoustic shadow region contributing to anatomical classification ([0049] discloses shadow cone indicative of the presence of calcium. Also see [0227]).
Regarding claims 15 and 21, Suri further teaches wherein the machine learning model is used to classify the one or more anatomical structure ([0007]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suri in view of Drukker, et al., US 20030161513 A1.
Regarding claims 3 and 20, Suri teaches all the limitations of claims 2 and 17 respectively above.
Suri fails to teach wherein the at least one modeling routine is selected from the group consisting of convolutional neural networks, recurrent neural networks, or transformer-based models.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Drukker discloses computerized detection and diagnostic schemes for sonographic images combine the benefits of computerized machine detection with the acquisition of non-radiographic medical images of special use for the screening of high risk, young patients who do not want the effects of ionizing characteristic of mammography. More specifically, an embodiment of the computerized detection scheme involves convoluting a sonographic image with a mask of a given ROI (region of interest) size, and calculating a skewness value for each mask location, and assembling the calculated skewness values to form a skewness image. Thresholds are applied to pixels of the skewness image to determine potential shadows. (Ultrasound images show characteristic posterior acoustic behavior for different lesion types: Posterior acoustic shadowing is often observed for malignant lesions and for some benign solid masses, while posterior acoustic enhancement is often seen for cysts.) (see abstract). Drukker further teaches wherein the at least one modeling routine is selected from the group consisting of convolutional neural networks, recurrent neural networks, or transformer-based models ([0064],[0071], [0090], [0091]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Suri, wherein the at least one modeling routine is selected from the group consisting of convolutional neural networks, recurrent neural networks, or transformer-based models, as taught by Drukker, to provide more accurate diagnosis ([0039]).
Regarding claims 4 and 18, Suri teaches all the limitations of claims 2 and 17, respectively above.
Suri fails to teach wherein the machine learning model comprises a convolutional neural network (CNN) trained at least partly on labeled acoustic shadow regions derived from ultrasound images or ultrasound image data of known anatomical landmarks, anatomical structures, or anatomical features.
However, Drukker further teaches wherein the machine learning model comprises a convolutional neural network (CNN) trained at least partly on labeled acoustic shadow regions derived from ultrasound images or ultrasound image data of known anatomical landmarks, anatomical structures, or anatomical features ([0064],[0071], [0090], [0091]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Suri, wherein the at least one modeling routine is selected from the group consisting of convolutional neural networks, recurrent neural networks, or transformer-based models, as taught by Drukker, to provide more accurate diagnosis ([0039]).
Claims 6-7, 10, 13-14, 22-23, 25, and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suri in view of Berton, et al., “Segmentation of the Spinous Process and its Acoustic Shadow in Vertebral Ultrasound Images”, Computers in Biology and Medicine 72 (2016) 201-211” (discloses in IDS field 07/16/2026).
Regarding claim 6, Suri teaches all the limitations of claim 2 above.
Suri fails to teach wherein one or more location of the one or more anatomical structure classified by the machine learning model is used to predict a location of a spinal midline, a spinal canal, a spinous process, an articular process, a sacrum, location of an epidural space, or combinations thereof.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Berton teaches segmentation of spinous process and its acoustic shadow in vertebral ultrasound images (see abstract), wherein one or more location of the one or more anatomical structure classified by the machine learning model is used to predict a location of a spinal midline, a spinal canal, a spinous process, an articular process, a sacrum, location of an epidural space, or combinations thereof (see “Segmentation results” section on page 208 for the segmentation of spinous process, and laminae).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Suri, wherein one or more location of the one or more anatomical structure classified by the machine learning model is used to predict a location of a spinal midline, a spinal canal, a spinous process, an articular process, a sacrum, location of an epidural space, or combinations thereof, as taught by Berton, for accurate localization of spinous process (left column of page 209).
Regarding claim 7, Suri teaches all the limitations of claim 2 above.
Suri fails to teach wherein one or more location of the one or more anatomical structure classified by the machine learning model is used to predict a depth to a spinous process tip, a depth to an epidural space, or combinations thereof.
However, Berton further teaches wherein one or more location of the one or more anatomical structure classified by the machine learning model is used to predict a depth to a spinous process tip, a depth to an epidural space, or combinations thereof (fig. 10 and last paragraph under “Segmentation results” on pages 208-209).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Suri, wherein one or more location of the one or more anatomical structure classified by the machine learning model is used to predict a depth to a spinous process tip, a depth to an epidural space, or combinations thereof, as taught by Berton, for accurate localization of spinous process (left column of page 209).
Regarding claims 10 and 25, Suri teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 16 respectively above.
Suri fails to teach wherein the processing unit operatively coupled to the ultrasound transducer is further configured to differentiate at least the following anatomical structures: spinous processes, lamina, articular processes, and epidural spaces.
However, Berton further teaches wherein the processing unit operatively coupled to the ultrasound transducer is further configured to differentiate at least the following anatomical structures: spinous processes (first paragraph under “Segmentation results” section page 208), lamina, articular processes, and epidural spaces (third paragraph under “Segmentation results” section page 208).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Suri, wherein one or more location of the one or more anatomical structure classified by the machine learning model is used to predict a depth to a spinous process tip, a depth to an epidural space, or combinations thereof, as taught by Berton, for accurate localization of spinous process (left column of page 209).
Regarding claims 13 and 28, Suri teaches all the limitations of claims 12 and 27 respectively above.
Suri fails to teach wherein the key regions comprise one or more of: a spinal midline, a spinal canal, a spinous process, an articular process, a sacrum, and a location of an epidural space.
However Berton further teaches wherein the key regions comprise one or more of: a spinal midline, a spinal canal, a spinous process, an articular process, a sacrum, and a location of an epidural space (see “Segmentation results” section on page 208 for the segmentation of spinous process, and laminae).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Suri, wherein the key regions comprise one or more of: a spinal midline, a spinal canal, a spinous process, an articular process, a sacrum, and a location of an epidural space, as taught by Berton, for accurate localization of spinous process (left column of page 209).
Regarding claims 14 and 29, Suri teaches all the limitations of claims 13 and 28 respectively above.
Suri fails to teach wherein one or more location of the key regions is used to predict a depth to a spinous process tip, a depth to an epidural space, or combinations thereof.
However Berton further teaches wherein one or more location of the key regions is used to predict a depth to a spinous process tip, a depth to an epidural space, or combinations thereof (fig. 10 and last paragraph under “Segmentation results” on pages 208-209).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Suri, wherein one or more location of the key regions is used to predict a depth to a spinous process tip, a depth to an epidural space, or combinations thereof, as taught by Berton, for accurate localization of spinous process (left column of page 209).
Regarding claim 22, Suri teaches all the limitations of claim 16 above.
Suri fails to teach wherein the one or more classified anatomical structure comprises a spinal midline, a spinal canal, a spinous process, an articular process, a sacrum, an epidural space, or combinations thereof.
However, Berton further teaches wherein the one or more classified anatomical structure comprises a spinal midline, a spinal canal, a spinous process, an articular process, a sacrum, an epidural space, or combinations thereof (see “Segmentation results” section on page 208 for the segmentation of spinous process, and laminae).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Suri, wherein the one or more classified anatomical structure comprises a spinal midline, a spinal canal, a spinous process, an articular process, a sacrum, an epidural space, or combinations thereof, as taught by Berton, for accurate localization of spinous process (left column of page 209).
Regarding claim 23, Suri teaches all the limitations of claim 17 above.
Suri fails to teach wherein one or more location of the one or more anatomical structure is used to predict a depth to a spinous process tip, a depth to an epidural space, or combinations thereof.
However, Berton further teaches wherein one or more location of the one or more anatomical structure is used to predict a depth to a spinous process tip, a depth to an epidural space, or combinations thereof (fig. 10 and last paragraph under “Segmentation results” on pages 208-209).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Suri wherein one or more location of the one or more anatomical structure is used to predict a depth to a spinous process tip, a depth to an epidural space, or combinations thereof, as taught by Berton, for accurate localization of spinous process (left column of page 209).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 10-14, 16, 22-23, and 25-29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. US 12333783 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations recited in the claims mentioned above of the instant application are also recited in the claims mentioned above of U.S. Patent No. US 12333783 B2.
Conclusion
/FAROUK A BRUCE/Examiner, Art Unit 3797