Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leerentveld, US PGPUB 20220366822 in view of Takata, US PGPUB 20110032286.
As to claim 1, Leerentveld discloses a processing method for brightness compensation of a display screen, comprising: obtaining a sample data set of the display screen ([0086] for example, an optical characteristic (e.g., luminance) can be measured by a photo sensor provided to each of the first set of sample pixels),
a real environment temperature of the display screen ([0042] FIG. 20 is a flow chart of a procedure for incorporating temperature as a factor in an effective stress operating condition associated with the interdependency curves) and
a real image average grayscale value corresponding to the real environment temperature ([0080] The variable, gti is the grayscale at the time of measurement, gpeak is the highest grayscale value of use (e.g. 255) and is a gamma constant),
the sample data set comprising an environment temperature sample set, an image average grayscale sample set corresponding to the environment temperature sample set and a simulated temperature sample set ([0162] In another case, temperature is sampled in addition to sampling the video data and time. In this case, temperature change can also be used as a trigger value for sampling the video data. For example, once the temperature change exceeds a threshold new video data is sampled);
performing a linear regression processing on the sample data set to generate a regression coefficient set ([0075] Alternatively, a curve may be determined and updated using linear regression or by storing data in a look up table in the memory 118);
processing the real environment temperature and the real image average grayscale value according to the regression coefficient set to generate a temperature to be compensated of the display screen ([0076] The disclosed display system 100 overcomes such limitations by determining and storing a discrete number of characterization correlation curves at predetermined stress conditions and subsequently combining those predefined characterization correlation curves using linear or nonlinear algorithm(s) to synthesize a compensation factor for each pixel 104 of the display system 100 depending on the particular operating condition of each pixel); and
determining a brightness compensation parameter according to the temperature to be compensated, and performing a brightness compensation processing on the display screen according to the brightness compensation parameter ([0128] To accommodate for the temperature effect as well, the temperature profile of the panel is either measured or estimated and taken into account in the compensation of the display).
Leerentveld does not specifically disclose determining a brightness compensation parameter according to the temperature.
However, in the same endeavor, Takata discloses determining a brightness compensation parameter according to the temperature ([0142] The brightness control is performed by referring to the LUT 91. As illustrated in FIG. 21, the grayscale adjustment percentage and the light emission adjustment percentage are changed according to the measured temperature TL and the brightness is adjusted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Leerentveld to further include Takata’s brightness adjustment method, in order to improve displaying a quality image.
As to claim 8, Leerentveld discloses a processing system for brightness compensation of a display screen, comprising: a data acquisition module, the data acquisition module configured to obtain a sample data set of the display screen ([0086] for example, an optical characteristic (e.g., luminance) can be measured by a photo sensor provided to each of the first set of sample pixels),
a real environment temperature of the display screen ([0042] FIG. 20 is a flow chart of a procedure for incorporating temperature as a factor in an effective stress operating condition associated with the interdependency curves); and
a corresponding real image average grayscale value ([0080] The variable, gti is the grayscale at the time of measurement, gpeak is the highest grayscale value of use (e.g. 255) and is a gamma constant),
the sample data set comprising an environment temperature sample set, a corresponding image average grayscale sample set and a simulated temperature sample set ([0162] In another case, temperature is sampled in addition to sampling the video data and time. In this case, temperature change can also be used as a trigger value for sampling the video data. For example, once the temperature change exceeds a threshold new video data is sampled);
a linear regression module, the linear regression module configured to perform a linear regression processing on the sample data set to generate a regression coefficient set ([0075] Alternatively, a curve may be determined and updated using linear regression or by storing data in a look up table in the memory 118);
a temperature generation module, the temperature generation module configured to process the real environment temperature and the real image average grayscale value according to the regression coefficient set to generate a temperature to be compensated of the display screen ([0076] The disclosed display system 100 overcomes such limitations by determining and storing a discrete number of characterization correlation curves at predetermined stress conditions and subsequently combining those predefined characterization correlation curves using linear or nonlinear algorithm(s) to synthesize a compensation factor for each pixel 104 of the display system 100 depending on the particular operating condition of each pixel); and
a brightness compensation module, the brightness compensation module configured to determine a brightness compensation parameter according to the temperature to be compensated, and perform a brightness compensation processing on the display screen according to the brightness compensation parameter ([0128] To accommodate for the temperature effect as well, the temperature profile of the panel is either measured or estimated and taken into account in the compensation of the display).
Leerentveld does not specifically disclose determining a brightness compensation parameter according to the temperature.
However, in the same endeavor, Takata discloses determining a brightness compensation parameter according to the temperature ([0142] The brightness control is performed by referring to the LUT 91. As illustrated in FIG. 21, the grayscale adjustment percentage and the light emission adjustment percentage are changed according to the measured temperature TL and the brightness is adjusted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Leerentveld to further include Takata’s brightness adjustment method, in order to improve displaying a quality image.
As to claim 2, the combination of Leerentveld and Takata discloses the processing method for brightness compensation of a display screen according to claim 1. The combination further discloses obtaining a sample data set of the display screen, a real environment temperature and a corresponding real image average grayscale value comprises: obtaining the sample data set of the display screen; obtaining the real environment temperature of the display screen; and obtaining a resolution of the display screen and grayscale values of all pixels in a display image at the real environment temperature, and processing the resolution and the grayscale values to generate the real image average grayscale value (Leerentveld, [0066] The current or luminance level(s) generated in the reference pixel 130 can be, for example, high values, low values, and/or average values expected for the particular application for which the display system 100 is intended).
As to claim 9, the combination of Leerentveld and Takata discloses one or more processors; and a storage system, the storage system configured to store one or more programs, wherein, when the one or more programs are executed by the one or more processors, the storage system enables the electronic device to implement the processing method for brightness compensation of the display screen of claim 1 (Leerentveld, [0089] The algorithm may be embodied in software stored on tangible media such as, for example, a flash memory, a CD-ROM, a floppy disk, a hard drive, a digital video (versatile) disk (DVD), or other memory devices).
As to claim 10, the combination of Leerentveld and Takata discloses a computer program is stored on the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, when the computer program is executed by a processor of a computer, the computer is adapted to implement the processing method for brightness compensation of the display screen of claim 1 (Leerentveld, [0089] The algorithm may be embodied in software stored on tangible media such as, for example, a flash memory, a CD-ROM, a floppy disk, a hard drive, a digital video (versatile) disk (DVD), or other memory devices).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leerentveld and Takata as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kraemer, US PGPUB 20100301777.
As to claim 7, the combination of Leerentveld and Takata does not disclose the processing method for brightness compensation of a display screen according to claim 1, wherein, processing the real environment temperature and the real image average grayscale value according to the regression coefficient set satisfies a formula:
T' = C3 + C1L’ + C₂T'
Wherein, C₁ represents an image grayscale regression coefficient, C₁ represents
an environment temperature regression coefficient, C₁ represents a
temperature compensation coefficient, T' represents the real environment
temperature, L' represents the real image average grayscale value, and
T'OLED represents the temperature to be compensated of the display screen.
However, in the same endeavor, Kraemer discloses processing the real environment temperature and the real image average grayscale value according to the regression coefficient set satisfies a formula:
T' = C3 + C1L’ + C₂T'
Wherein, C₁ represents an image grayscale regression coefficient, C₁ represents
an environment temperature regression coefficient, C₁ represents a
temperature compensation coefficient, T' represents the real environment
temperature, L' represents the real image average grayscale value, and T'OLED represents the temperature to be compensated of the display screen ([0069] A further development of this simplified alternative method for the color stabilization of an LED spotlight therewith exists in that a factor fPWM corresponding to the relative luminance modification of each color group of the variously colored LEDs with respect to the basic setting is determined and in that the multiplication of the value corresponding to the basic setting of the pulse-width modulated signals PWMA of each color group results with the reciprocal 1/fPWM of this factor being dependent on the measured temperature results in the value of the pulse-width modulated signals PWM (T) of each color group corresponding to the measured temperature T according to the formula:
PWM(T) = PWMA/fPWM(T)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Leerentveld and Takata, to further include Kraemer’s luminance modification method, in order to view a clear image.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Killo et al., US PGPUB 20160349823 discloses a temperature control device (e.g., a thermostat) may be configured to control an internal heat-generating electrical load so as to accurately measure a present temperature in a space around the temperature control device. The temperature control device may comprise a temperature sensing circuit configured to generate a temperature control signal indicating the present temperature in the space, and a control circuit configured to receive the temperature control signal and to control the internal electrical load. The control circuit may be configured to energize the internal electrical load in an awake state and to cause the internal electrical load to consume less power in an idle state. The control circuit may be configured to control the internal electrical load to a first energy level (e.g., a first intensity) during the awake state and to a second energy level (e.g., second intensity) that is less than the first during the idle state.
/SAHLU OKEBATO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625 3/20/2026