DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8, 10, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morito (JP 2005010911 A) in view of Collison (US 10134036 B1) and ADC (World Bank ADC Handbook).
Re Claim 1: Morito discloses a cash handling apparatus (fig 1: 12) installed in a first store (fig 1: 11), the cash handling apparatus comprising:
a display; and circuitry ("Automated Transaction Device" (12) comprising a display/touch panel operation unit and internal "Processing Unit" (31), installed within a "Store" (11).) configured to
control the cash handling apparatus to operate based on a first application and a second application (examiner: the terminal operating on distinct functional logic paths (applications) separating general customer banking operations and store clerk operations.), wherein
the first application is configured to handle cash withdrawal from a bank account of a customer of the first store and cash deposit into the bank account (p56: general financial transaction, and starts an operation for performing a normal financial transaction such as deposit), and
the second application is configured to handle sales proceeds and change funds of the first store (p57: a screen for selecting the register machine 17 is displayed on the touch panel of the operation unit.) and a second store which differs from the first store (p19: there are a plurality of the stores 11, and each store 11 is provided with a register machine 17 for collecting sales and storing sales, p39: the first storage unit 32 includes, for example, data storage files 32a, 32b, and 32c corresponding to each store 11,), and
operate the first application and the second application independently of each other (examiner: Discloses the "Processing Unit" (31) providing separate logic layers and independent functional processing phases (S1-S7) to handle data transitions: Accounting Host Computer 17 vs Payment Server 13); and
acquire ID information from a user (p56: clerk card) of the cash handling apparatus (p56: determines whether or not the card corresponds to a clerk card registered in advance), wherein
the circuitry controls the cash handling apparatus to operate based on the first application or the second application selected according to the ID information acquired by the circuitry (p56: when the card does not correspond to the clerk card, the automatic transaction device 12 determines that the card is a general card to be used for a general financial transaction, p57: when it is determined that the card is a salesperson card, the automatic transaction device 12 may select a corresponding register machine 17 from among the plurality of register machines 17. In this case, a screen for selecting the register machine 17 is displayed on the touch panel of the operation unit.),
the circuitry is further configured to control the cash handling apparatus to perform cash handling corresponding to an operation performed on the corresponding screen (examiner: the physical execution of cash handling operations, such as "Replenishment and Withdrawal", based on user selections made on the screen.),
connects to a bank support server (fig 1: 18, "Financial Institution Accounting Host Computer (18)") including a bank support server application related to handling the cash withdrawal based on operation of the first application,
connects to the bank support server and a store support server (fig 1: Payment Server (13)) including a store support server application related to managing cash of each of the first store and the second store based on operation of the second application,
However, Morito does not disclose the circuitry controls the display to display a corresponding screen corresponding to either a case where the first application is executed and a case where the second application is executed,
the first application is a web application executed in response to execution of the bank support server application by the bank support server to independently connect to the bank support server without the second application, and
the second application is a native application executed by the cash handling apparatus to connect to the bank support server and the store support server.
Collison however discloses the circuitry controls the display to display a corresponding screen corresponding to either a case where the first application is executed and a case where the second application is executed (col 5 ll 8+: The customer's electronic device may interact with the merchant via a browser application that executes on the device, or via a native app installed onto the customer's device. col 5 ll 49+: More generically, a native application is designed to run in the computer environment (machine language and operating system) that it is being run in),
the first application is a web application executed in response to execution of the bank support server application by the bank support server to independently connect to the bank support server without the second application (col 2 ll 35+: The Merchant's Customer (200) uses an internet-enabled browser (210) to visit the Merchant's site. Customer is served a Stripe.js enabled Payment Form (110) using standard web technologies...), and
the second application is a native application executed by the cash handling apparatus to connect to the bank support server and the store support server (col 5 ll 37+: Native Application — A Native Application or 'native app' is an app commonly used with a mobile device, such as a smartphone or tablet. When used with a mobile device, the native app is installed directly onto the mobile device.).
Morito does not explicitly disclose executing the customer banking path as a web application and the store staff path as a native application as taught by Collison. However, the World Bank Alternative Delivery Channels (ADC) Handbook establishes that it was a known, standard industry practice to bifurcate software execution environments on shared financial hardware (like ATMs and POS systems) based entirely on the user's role. (The ADC Handbook explicitly dictates that "Native applications can be developed to serve as a user interface for staff" (page 19) while "Internet banking runs on the back of a Web application" (page 19).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinarily skill in the art to incorporate Collison’s teaching in the apparatus of Morito for the purpose of optimizing the hardware footprint of a single shared terminal while ensuring the hardware-level security of localized staff operations (Native) and the centralized control of remote customer banking (Web).
Re Claim 2: Morito modified by Collison and ADC discloses the cash handling apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein in a case where the first application is executed (p56: general financial transaction,),
information on cash handling performed by the cash handling apparatus is transmitted to the bank support server (fig 1: 16), and
the bank support server performs the handling on the bank account (examiner: Discloses transmission of transaction records to the Host Computer (18) to update the "Temporary Account (24)" and "Headquarters Account (22)".).
Re Claim 3: Morito modified by Collison and ADC discloses the cash handling apparatus according to claim 2, wherein
in a case where the second application is executed (p57), the information on the cash handling performed by the cash handling apparatus is transmitted to the store support server (the payment server further performs cash management of the store by separating into sales and change based on the deposit / withdrawal information corresponding to the store account., the payment server further stores a first storage unit that stores transaction information relating to the deposit or withdrawal of the sales or change, and transaction information for managing the change. A second storage unit and a third storage unit that stores transaction information for managing the sales proceeds are provided.),
However, Morito modified by Collison and ADC does not disclose that the ID information acquired by the acquisition circuitry are transmitted to the store support server.
However, Morito discloses connecting the terminal to the payment server (13) to manage store’s physical cash state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinarily skill in the art to incorporate that the ID information acquired by the acquisition circuitry are transmitted to the store support server in the apparatus of Morito modified by Collison and ADC for the purpose of tracking the transaction.
However, Morito modified by Collison and ADC does not disclose that in a case where the user is determined to be a clerk of the first store based on the received ID information, the store support server performs a process for updating information on cash of the first store and in a case where the user is determined to be a clerk of the second store, the store support server performs a process for updating information on cash of the second store.
However, while Morito lacks the explicit terms, “first store” and ”second store,” the store support server performing a process for updating information on cash of the respective store is obvious by standard POS authentication practices distinguishing clerk IDs from customer account IDs and by multi-store accounting tracked via the centralized Headquarters Account (p19 & p22: a plurality of stores 11, p39: the first storage unit 32 includes a data-storing file 32a,32b,32c corresponding to each shop 11, the second storage unit 33 includes a data-storing file 33a,33b,33c corresponding to each store 11. the third storage section 34 includes a data-storing file 34a,34b,34c corresponding to each shop 11.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinarily skill in the art to configure the central payment server (13) to identify the origin of a transaction based on the received ID and update the distinct cash records of a first store and second store accordingly for the purpose of ensuring that the headquarters maintain accurate, compartmentalized accounting for its various locations.
Re Claim 4: Morito modified by Collison and ADC discloses the cash handling apparatus according to claim 3, wherein
the store support server (fig 1: 13, fig 2: 13)
stores therein information on cash of the first store and the second store (p19 & p22: a plurality of stores 11), and conditions for account handling on a bank account of each of the first store and the second store (fig 5, p43: the left column shows the operation from opening to closing of the store 11), and
determines, based on the conditions, a timing to perform the account handling on the bank account for reflecting a result of the cash handling having been performed by the cash handling apparatus in the balance of the bank account of a corresponding store (fig 5, p43: the left column shows the operation from opening to closing of the store 11), and
the bank support server (fig 1: 16, fig 2: 16) performs the account handling on the bank account, based on the determination by the store support server.
Re Claim 5: First embodiment of Morito of Morito modified by Collison and ADC discloses the cash handling apparatus according to claim 1.
However, the First embodiment of Morito of does not disclose that wherein the cash handling apparatus stores therein information on content of cash handling performed during an operation based on the first application, and information on content of cash handling performed during an operation based on the second application, so as to be distinguishable from each other.
Second embodiment of Morito of Morito modified by Collison and ADC however discloses that wherein the cash handling apparatus stores therein information on content of cash handling performed during a specific function, and information on content of cash handling performed during another function, so as to be distinguishable from each other (p38: the temporary account 24, the change account 25, and the proceeds account 26. The first storage unit 32 functions as the temporary account 24, the second storage unit 33 functions as the change account 25, and the third storage unit 34 functions as the proceeds account 26.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinarily skill in the art to incorporate the second embodiment of Morito in the apparatus of the first embodiment of Morito for the purpose of organizing information.
Re Claim 8: Morito modified by Collison and ADC discloses the cash handling apparatus according to claim 1, wherein in a case where the first application is executed, the cash handling apparatus displays the corresponding screen based on an instruction from the bank support server (Collison: col 2 ll 35+: The Merchant's Customer (200) uses an internet-enabled browser (210) to visit the Merchant's site. Customer is served a Stripe.js enabled Payment Form (110) using standard web technologies...).
Re Claim 10: Morito modified by Collison and ADC discloses the cash handling apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the cash handling apparatus accepts a login operation performed by the user (p56: determines whether or not the card corresponds to a clerk card registered in advance), and operates based on the second application when the user is authenticated (p57: when it is determined that the card is a salesperson card, the automatic transaction device 12 may select a corresponding register machine 17 from among the plurality of register machines 17. In this case, a screen for selecting the register machine 17 is displayed on the touch panel of the operation unit).
Re Claim 11: Claim is directed to a method of operating the cash handling apparatus defined in Claim 1. As established above, the apparatus of Claim 1 is rendered unpatentable over Morito (JP 2005010911 A) in view of Collison (US 10134036 B1) and ADC (World Bank ADC Handbook).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the obvious apparatus of Claim 1 for its intended purpose, thereby performing the steps of Claim 11. Such an operation represents nothing more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions to yield predictable results (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007))."
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morito (JP 2005010911 A) modified by Collison (US 10134036 B1) and ADC (World Bank ADC Handbook) further in view of Hatanaka (JP 2022173884 A).
Re Claim 9: Morito modified by Collison and ADC discloses the cash handling apparatus according to claim 8.
However, Morito modified by Collison and ADC does not disclose that the cash handling apparatus displays, on the corresponding screen, code information for specifying the cash handling apparatus, and the bank support server specifies the cash handling apparatus to be used by the user, based on the code information read by a mobile communication terminal operated by the user, and transmits an instruction to the specified cash handling apparatus.
Hatanaka however discloses that the cash handling apparatus displays, on the operation screen, code information for specifying the cash handling apparatus, and the bank support server specifies the cash handling apparatus to be used by the user, based on the code information read by a mobile communication terminal operated by the user, and transmits an instruction to the specified cash handling apparatus (the touchless transaction application instructs the user to read the two-dimensional code displayed on the display input unit 12 of the automated teller machine 10 with the portable terminal 3. Therefore, when the user reads the two-dimensional code with the camera (not shown) of the mobile terminal 3 (S20, S21), the touchless transaction application reads the ATM identification number and the transaction information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinarily skill in the art to incorporate Hatanaka’s teaching in the apparatus of Morito modified by Collison and ADC for the purpose of identifying the specific cash handling apparatus.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection.
Collison discloses the circuitry controls the display to display a corresponding screen corresponding to either a case where the first application is executed and a case where the second application is executed (col 5 ll 8+: The customer's electronic device may interact with the merchant via a browser application that executes on the device, or via a native app installed onto the customer's device. col 5 ll 49+: More generically, a native application is designed to run in the computer environment (machine language and operating system) that it is being run in),
the first application is a web application executed in response to execution of the bank support server application by the bank support server to independently connect to the bank support server without the second application (col 2 ll 35+: The Merchant's Customer (200) uses an internet-enabled browser (210) to visit the Merchant's site. Customer is served a Stripe.js enabled Payment Form (110) using standard web technologies...), and
the second application is a native application executed by the cash handling apparatus to connect to the bank support server and the store support server (col 5 ll 37+: Native Application — A Native Application or 'native app' is an app commonly used with a mobile device, such as a smartphone or tablet. When used with a mobile device, the native app is installed directly onto the mobile device.).
In addition, World Bank Alternative Delivery Channels (ADC) Handbook establishes that it was a known, standard industry practice to bifurcate software execution environments on shared financial hardware (like ATMs and POS systems) based entirely on the user's role. (The ADC Handbook explicitly dictates that "Native applications can be developed to serve as a user interface for staff" (page 19) while "Internet banking runs on the back of a Web application" (page 19).)
Conclusion
/TAE W KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2876
/THIEN M LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876