DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: lines 20-21 recite “the protocol converter” which appears to be “a protocol converter”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-11 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0162455 (hereinafter Lin) in view of Baghdasaryan et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2011/0083173 (hereinafter Baghdasaryan).
Consider claim 1, Lin teaches a fingerprint data processing method (Figure 6 and [0046], biometric and further refers to fingerprint) for a wireless communication system, the wireless communication system comprising a host device and a wireless device (Figure 6, devices 61 and 62-63), which communicate with each other through a wireless communication interface ([0057], Bluetooth communication protocol (see also figure 4)), the fingerprint data processing method comprising: generating, by the host device, a fingerprint recognition command (Figure 6, 601); driving, by the host device, a first wireless communication circuit to transmit a fingerprint recognition request to the wireless device through the wireless communication interface according to the fingerprint recognition command (Figure 6 and [0057], Bluetooth and request 601); receiving, by the wireless device, the fingerprint recognition request through the wireless communication interface (Figure 6 and [0057-0058], biometric authentication process), and obtaining, by the wireless device, fingerprint data according to the fingerprint recognition request ([0058], a biometric authentication process is activated in the multi-functional authentication apparatus 61 (step 602) for producing a biometric feature by a biometric module of the apparatus 61. [0046], biometric module and further refers to fingerprint recognition module); and driving, by the wireless device, a second wireless communication circuit to transmit the fingerprint data to the host device through the wireless communication interface (Figure 6, 603. [0057], Bluetooth); wherein the wireless communication interface forwards at least one of the fingerprint recognition request and the fingerprint data using an encrypted communication protocol ([0058], An encryption key is used to create a digital signature. The digital signature becomes a security code for the computer system 62 (step 603)).
Lin does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the host device further comprises a fingerprint driver, the fingerprint driver is a Windows Biometric Framework (WBF) driver, and the protocol converter is configured to convert a universal serial bus (USB) protocol used for the fingerprint recognition command in the WBF driver into the encrypted communication protocol of the wireless communication interface.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Baghdasaryan teaches fingerprint biometric information to authenticate one or more users in [0025] and further teaches wherein the host device further comprises a fingerprint driver (Figures 8-9 and [0055], WinUSB Driver 808), the fingerprint driver is a Windows Biometric Framework (WBF) driver (Figures 8-9 and [0055], the biometric service uses a Windows API (e.g., a WinUSB Driver)…or similar interface. Figure 12 and [0060], WBF), and the protocol converter is configured to convert a universal serial bus (USB) protocol used for the fingerprint recognition command in the WBF driver into the encrypted communication protocol of the wireless communication interface (Figure 9 and [0057], USB and SSLv3 protocol and thus respective conversion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a Windows driver as taught by Baghdasaryan with the benefit that the browser plug-in is operable with any biometric device that supports the Windows Biometric Framework or other supported architectures or systems as suggested in [0026].
Consider claim 2, Lin and Baghdasaryan teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Lin teaches wherein the wireless communication interface comprises a Bluetooth interface [0057], and each of the first wireless communication circuit and the second wireless communication circuit is a Bluetooth control circuit ([0057], Bluetooth protocol and corresponding circuit).
Consider claim 3, Lin and Baghdasaryan teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Lin teaches performing, by the wireless device (Figure 6, 61), fingerprint collection through a fingerprint circuit according to the fingerprint recognition request, to obtain a fingerprint image as the fingerprint data to be transmitted to the host device ([0058], biometric authentication process is activated in the multi-functional authentication apparatus 61 (step 602) for producing a biometric feature by a biometric module of the apparatus 61, and further refers to an encryption key is used to create a digital signature. [0046], the biometric module 209 can be a fingerprint recognition module that cooperates with the biometric feature access interface 210 disposed on a surface of the multi-functional authentication apparatus 20 for scanning a fingerprint image. The biometric feature can be extracted from the fingerprint image by the fingerprint recognition module).
Consider claim 6, Lin and Baghdasaryan teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Lin teaches performing, by the wireless device, fingerprint collection through a fingerprint circuit according to the fingerprint recognition request [0046] and [0058], to obtain a fingerprint image [0046].
Consider claim 7, Lin and Baghdasaryan teach all the limitations of claim 6. In addition, Lin teaches storing, by the wireless device, the fingerprint image as an enrolled fingerprint image ([0029], the multi-functional authentication apparatus requires a user to register his biometric feature, e.g. fingerprint…The multi-functional authentication apparatus also stores an encryption key (i.e. private key), and the encryption key is provided for a security algorithm to calculate a security code from the biometric feature by a security authentication module of the multi-functional authentication apparatus. The security code becomes an identity of the multi-functional authentication apparatus), the enrolled fingerprint image being the fingerprint data to be transmitted to the host device ([0030], the computer system can obtain the security code from the multi-functional authentication apparatus, and the security code acts as a certification for logging on the computer system. Figure 4 shows wireless communication between multi-functional apparatus 20 (wireless device) and computer device 30 (host device)).
Consider claim 8, Lin and Baghdasaryan teach all the limitations of claim 6. In addition, Lin teaches matching, by the wireless device, the fingerprint image with an enrolled fingerprint image to generate an authentication result ([0042], The security chip has a memory that can be used to store the encryption key and the data relating to the biometric feature for comparison. When the multi-functional authentication apparatus 20 is initiated to process authentication, the biometric feature can be obtained by the biometric module 209. The biometric feature is then compared with the data stored in the memory of the security chip. [0046], the biometric feature can be extracted from the fingerprint image by the fingerprint recognition module. The security authentication module 202 accordingly generates the security code as shown in the above embodiments. The security code acts as a reference for identity authentication), the authentication result being the fingerprint data to be transmitted to the host device ([0058], For example, a biometric authentication process is activated in the multi-functional authentication apparatus 61 (step 602) for producing a biometric feature by a biometric module of the apparatus 61. A security authentication module (202, FIG. 2) of the multi-functional authentication apparatus 61 is used to calculate a hash value. An encryption key is used to create a digital signature. The digital signature becomes a security code for the computer system 62 (step 603). The security code is then encrypted by a corresponding software program running in the computer system 62 for forming authentication packets (step 604)).
Consider claim 9, Lin and Baghdasaryan teach all the limitations of claim 6. In addition, Lin teaches wherein the step of the host device driving the first wireless communication circuit to transmit the fingerprint recognition request to the wireless device through the wireless communication interface according to the fingerprint recognition command comprises: generating a virtual interface built in an operating system of the host device ([0058], web browser); transmitting the fingerprint recognition command to the first wireless communication circuit through the virtual interface ([0057-0058] and figure 6, Bluetooth, 601); and outputting, by the first wireless communication circuit, the fingerprint recognition request according to the fingerprint recognition command ([0058] and figure 6, 601).
Consider claim 10, Lin teaches a host device comprising: a fingerprint driver configured to generate a fingerprint recognition command ([0058] and figure 6, the computer system 62 requires identity authentication for accessing a network service); a wireless communication circuit configured to transmit a fingerprint recognition request through a wireless communication interface and receive fingerprint data through the wireless communication interface ([0057], Bluetooth communication protocol (see also [0057-0058)]; and a protocol converter, coupled between the fingerprint driver and the wireless communication circuit ([0057], an Application Programming Interface (API) used for web authentication in the authentication server 63 is embedded in a web browser running in the computer system 62), configured to drive the wireless communication circuit to output the fingerprint recognition request according to the fingerprint recognition command ([0058], the computer system 62 requires identity authentication for accessing a network service via a web browser (step 601)); wherein the wireless communication interface forwards at least one of the fingerprint recognition request and the fingerprint data using an encrypted communication protocol ([0058] and figure 6).
Lin does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the fingerprint driver is a Windows Biometric Framework (WBF) driver, and the protocol converter is configured to convert a universal serial bus (USB) protocol used for the fingerprint recognition command in the WBF driver into the encrypted communication protocol of the wireless communication interface.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Baghdasaryan teaches fingerprint biometric information to authenticate one or more users in [0025] and further teaches wherein the fingerprint driver is a Windows Biometric Framework (WBF) driver (Figures 8-9 and [0055], the biometric service uses a Windows API (e.g., a WinUSB Driver)…or similar interface. Figure 12 and [0060], WBF), and the protocol converter is configured to convert a universal serial bus (USB) protocol used for the fingerprint recognition command in the WBF driver into the encrypted communication protocol of the wireless communication interface (Figure 9 and [0057], USB and SSLv3 protocol and thus respective conversion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a Windows driver as taught by Baghdasaryan with the benefit that the browser plug-in is operable with any biometric device that supports the Windows Biometric Framework or other supported architectures or systems as suggested in [0026].
Consider claim 11, Lin and Baghdasaryan teach all the limitations of claim 10. In addition, Lin teaches wherein the fingerprint data comprises a fingerprint image [0046] and [0058].
Consider claim 14, Lin and Baghdasaryan teach all the limitations of claim 10. In addition, Lin teaches wherein the protocol converter comprises: a virtual interface driver configured to generate a virtual interface built in an operating system of the host device ([0057], an Application Programming Interface (API)); and a service provider configured to communicate with the wireless communication circuit through the virtual interface ([0057], web browser), to transmit the fingerprint recognition command from the fingerprint driver to the wireless communication circuit through the virtual interface ([0058], In the beginning, as shown in the diagram, the computer system 62 requires identity authentication for accessing a network service via a web browser (step 601)).
Claim(s) 4-5, 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin and Baghdasaryan as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Zhang U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0054200 (hereinafter Zhang).
Consider claim 4, Lin and Baghdasaryan teach all the limitations of claim 3. In addition, Lin teaches the biometric feature can be extracted from the fingerprint image by the fingerprint recognition module in [0046].
Lin does not appear to specifically disclose storing, by the host device, the fingerprint data as an enrolled fingerprint data.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Zhang teaches fingerprint recognition (abstract) and further teaches storing, by the host device, the fingerprint data as an enrolled fingerprint data ([0238], the electronic device and/or the accessory device may store one or more pieces of user fingerprint data. [0264-0267], the fingerprint processing module may match the to-be-verified fingerprint data with the fingerprint data prestored in the device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to store fingerprint data by the electronic device as taught by Zhang with the benefit that if the to-be-verified fingerprint data successfully matches the prestored fingerprint data, it indicates that identity verification succeeds as suggested in [0267].
Consider claim 5, Lin and Baghdasaryan teach all the limitations of claim 3. In addition, Lin teaches the biometric feature can be extracted from the fingerprint image by the fingerprint recognition module in [0046].
Lin does not appear to specifically disclose matching, by the host device, the fingerprint data with an enrolled fingerprint data to generate an authentication result.
However, Zhang teaches matching, by the host device, the fingerprint data with an enrolled fingerprint data to generate an authentication result ([0264-0267], the fingerprint processing module may match the to-be-verified fingerprint data with the fingerprint data prestored in the device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to match fingerprint data by the electronic device as taught by Zhang with the benefit that if the to-be-verified fingerprint data successfully matches the prestored fingerprint data, it indicates that identity verification succeeds as suggested in [0267].
Consider claim 12, Lin and Baghdasaryan teach all the limitations of claim 11. In addition, Lin teaches the biometric feature can be extracted from the fingerprint image by the fingerprint recognition module in [0046].
Lin does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the fingerprint driver is configured to store the fingerprint data as an enrolled fingerprint data, or match the fingerprint data with the enrolled fingerprint data to generate an authentication result.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the fingerprint driver is configured to store the fingerprint data as an enrolled fingerprint data, or match the fingerprint data with the enrolled fingerprint data to generate an authentication result ([0238], the electronic device and/or the accessory device may store one or more pieces of user fingerprint data. [0264-0267], the fingerprint processing module may match the to-be-verified fingerprint data with the fingerprint data prestored in the device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to store fingerprint data by the electronic device as taught by Zhang with the benefit that If the to-be-verified fingerprint data successfully matches the prestored fingerprint data, it indicates that identity verification succeeds as suggested in [0267].
Consider claim 13, Lin and Baghdasaryan teach all the limitations of claim 10. In addition, Lin teaches the biometric feature can be extracted from the fingerprint image by the fingerprint recognition module in [0046].
Lin does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the fingerprint data comprises an authentication result, and the authentication result is generated by matching a collected fingerprint data with an enrolled fingerprint image.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the fingerprint data comprises an authentication result, and the authentication result is generated by matching a collected fingerprint data with an enrolled fingerprint image ([0238], the electronic device and/or the accessory device may store one or more pieces of user fingerprint data. [0264-0267], the fingerprint processing module may match the to-be-verified fingerprint data with the fingerprint data prestored in the device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to store fingerprint data by the electronic device as taught by Zhang with the benefit that If the to-be-verified fingerprint data successfully matches the prestored fingerprint data, it indicates that identity verification succeeds as suggested in [0267].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument (see new reference Baghdasaryan).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERTO W FLORES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621