DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-14, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Keysight (NPL).
Regarding claim 1:
Keysight teaches:
A method, comprising:
receiving, by a first device, results associated with tracing through of a link training and status state machine (LTSSM) test configuration associated with a second device [pages 102-105, 110, inter alia – tester provides various LTSSM tests to DUT, including numerous predefined tests and designed corner cases, gets results of the tests] ;
modifying, by the first device and based on the results, the LTSSM test configuration [pages 102-105, 110, inter alia – running a different type of test or a corner case test modifies the test configuration]; and
providing, by the first device, the modified LTSSM test configuration [pages 102-105, 110, inter alia – running further tests].
Regarding claim 2:
Keysight teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the LTSSM test configuration includes a plurality of states and paths connecting a subset of the plurality of states [pages 100, 101, inter alia].
Regarding claim 3:
Keysight teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the results are received from, and the LTSSM test configuration is provided to, a third device [page 102 – results received and tests routed from testing station through protocol exerciser card to DUT].
Regarding claim 4:
Keysight teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein modifying the LTSSM test configuration comprises:
modifying one or more paths of the LTSSM test configuration [pages 102-105, 110 – modifies paths to verify state transitions in various tests].
Regarding claim 8:
Keysight teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein modifying the LTSSM test configuration comprises:
providing a defined path for the LTSSM test configuration that couples one or more actions to one or more states in the defined path [pages 102-105, 110-120 – details various actions that are linked to states, e.g. performing capture, verification, display for states in the state transitions. This meets the broadest reasonable definition of couple actions to states].
Regarding claim 9:
Keysight teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
enabling, in the LTSSM test configuration, definition of a path that couples one or more actions to one or more states in the path [pages 102-105, 110-120 – details various actions that are linked to states, e.g. performing capture, verification, display for states in the state transitions. This meets the broadest reasonable definition of couple actions to states. To define a corner cases requires that a path is defined].
Regarding claims 11-14, 16 and 20:
See the teachings above with respect to claims 1-4 and 8.
Keysight further teaches one or more memories, one or more processors and a non-transitory computer-readable medium [page 22 fig 2 – computer functioning as host contains processor(s) and memories].
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, and 4-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 8, 9, 15-17 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12360871. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘871 claims contain all teachings of the instant claims and therefore anticipate the instant claims.
Claim 1 is exemplary:
Instant claim
‘871 claim language
Explanation as necessary
A method, comprising:
A method, comprising:
identical
receiving, by a first device, results associated with tracing through of a link training and status state machine (LTSSM) test configuration associated with a second device;
receiving, by the device, results associated with tracing through of the LTSSM test configuration by the device under test
‘871 device corresponds to instant claim’s first device, ‘871 device under test corresponds to instant claim’s second device
modifying, by the first device and based on the results, the LTSSM test configuration;
modifying, by the device and based on the results, one of the paths of the LTSSM test configuration to include a different one of the states and to generate a modified LTSSM test configuration
Details of the modification provided by ‘871 claim removed to broaden instant claim limitation
providing, by the first device, the modified LTSSM test configuration
providing, by the device, the modified LTSSM test configuration for tracing through by the device under test.
Remove intended use of the providing step to broaden instant limitation
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12360871 in view of Keysight.
Claim 1 of the ‘871 patent contains all teachings of instant claim 3 except wherein the results are received from, and the LTSSM test configuration is provided to, a third device.
Keysight teaches the results received from, and LTSSM test configuration provided to, a third device [page 22, fig 2 – protocol exerciser card is third device that routes results and test configurations between host and device under test].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the third device of Keysight with the teachings of the ‘871 claim because the use of the protocol exerciser card provides flexibility to adapt to different setups as an endpoint or a root complex and provides a plethora of options for testing indicated throughout the Keysight reference.
Allowable Subject Matter
The examiner notes that claims 5-7, 15, and 17-19 are rejected only under double patenting. If the double patenting rejection were to be obviated, these claims would be considered to contain allowable subject matter. The examiner recommends filing of a termina disclaimer to obviate the outstanding double patenting rejections.
Conclusion
/MARC DUNCAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2113