Drawings
Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
The drawings are objected to because Figs. 3, 4, and 7-9 are photographs. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 7, and 9-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Klancar Srecko et al (IS 21729 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Srecko et al teaches a dynamic climbing wall system comprising: a movable climbing surface 12; a drive system 23 configured to move said movable climbing surface 12; a plurality of climbing holds 62 removably attachable to said movable climbing surface; a robotic system 27 positioned to access said movable climbing surface 12 when not in use by a climber; and a controller 10 configured to coordinate said drive system and said robotic system to automatically reconfigure said plurality of climbing holds while said dynamic climbing wall system is operational (Refer to Figs. 1, 7, & 12 English Translation:” Training device according to claims 1 and 2, characterized in that the device in the second embodiment has interchangeable grips (62) provided by the gripper feeder (27) in accordance with the data structure of the selected climbing direction at certain places on the rails (50 ) alternates; that a variety of interchangeable grips (62) are stored in the grip feeder (27) mounted on a guide (28) which is secured to the side supports (22, 22 ') at the rear of the climbing assembly (12); that the control unit (10) initiates the process of inserting interchangeable grips (62) based on the position of the climber on the climbing surface through the driver (116) of the feeder; that the picker select, according to the data from the control unit (10), a specified grip (62) with climbing grips (63) of different shapes from its interchangeable grip store, be placed on the selected lath (50) and in front of the selected circular opening (54) and pushes the cylindrical mandrel (64) through a pair of circular openings (54, 55); that the mandrel (64) pulls off the curtain (55) at the opening (54) and lifts the elastic clamped wedge (59) upwards; that the springs (61, 61 ') are pulled after the grip (62) is inserted, the wedge (59) into the groove (65) on the cylindrical mandrel (60), thereby securing the grip (62); that when removing the handle (62) from the lath (50), the feeder (27) is positioned on the data from the control unit (10) in front of the handle, seizing it by its pull-out slots (67, 67 ', 67 ”), rotated by 90 degrees and pulls it out of the slats and stores it in its hold of holders.”).
Regarding Claim 2, Srecko et al continues to teach wherein said movable climbing surface 12 comprises a conveyor 23 having a belt system 13 that moves said movable climbing surface in a continuous loop 12 (Refer to Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 6, Srecko et al continues to teach wherein said plurality of climbing holds include different shapes selected from the group consisting of crimpers, edges, pockets, footholds, jugs, pinches, rails, slopers, and ceiling jugs (Refer to Fig. 8 and English Translation:” the feeder 27 holds a specified handle from its storage of replaceable grips 62 with climbing grips of 63 different shapes,”).
Regarding Claim 7, Srecko et al continues to teach further comprising a store area 27 having a plurality of addressable holder places 50 configured to store climbing holds not currently attached to said movable climbing surface 12 (Refer to English Translation:” the feeder 27 holds a specified handle from its storage of replaceable grips 62 with climbing grips of 63 different shapes, places it on the selected lath 50”).
Regarding Claim 9, Srecko et al teaches a method of operating a climbing wall 12, comprising: providing access to a first side of a climbing wall for a climber; while said climber is using said first side, automatically reconfiguring climbing holds 63 on i second side of said climbing wall using a robotic system 27,28; and after said climber finishes, providing access to said reconfigured second side (Refer to Figs. 1, 7, & 12 English Translation:” Training device according to claims 1 and 2, characterized in that the device in the second embodiment has interchangeable grips (62) provided by the gripper feeder (27) in accordance with the data structure of the selected climbing direction at certain places on the rails (50 ) alternates; that a variety of interchangeable grips (62) are stored in the grip feeder (27) mounted on a guide (28) which is secured to the side supports (22, 22 ') at the rear of the climbing assembly (12); that the control unit (10) initiates the process of inserting interchangeable grips (62) based on the position of the climber on the climbing surface through the driver (116) of the feeder; that the picker select, according to the data from the control unit (10), a specified grip (62) with climbing grips (63) of different shapes from its interchangeable grip store, be placed on the selected lath (50) and in front of the selected circular opening (54) and pushes the cylindrical mandrel (64) through a pair of circular openings (54, 55); that the mandrel (64) pulls off the curtain (55) at the opening (54) and lifts the elastic clamped wedge (59) upwards; that the springs (61, 61 ') are pulled after the grip (62) is inserted, the wedge (59) into the groove (65) on the cylindrical mandrel (60), thereby securing the grip (62); that when removing the handle (62) from the lath (50), the feeder (27) is positioned on the data from the control unit (10) in front of the handle, seizing it by its pull-out slots (67, 67 ', 67 ”), rotated by 90 degrees and pulls it out of the slats and stores it in its hold of holders.”).
Regarding Claim 10, Srecko et al continues to teach wherein said automatically reconfiguring is performed according to a climb route selected based on a skill level of a next climber (Refer to English Translation:” that the parameters that determine the difficulty level of the climbing direction, that is, the slope of the climbing surface to a greater or lesser slope or overhang, as well as the forms of climbing grip and their arrangement, are programmatically adjusted over the entire height of the simulated wall,”).
Regarding Claim 11, Srecko et al continues to teach wherein said robotic system 27,28 includes machine vision 10 configured to assess an orientation of said climbing holds before grasping said climbing holds (Refer to English Translation:” according to the data from the control unit 10, the feeder 27 holds a specified handle from its storage of replaceable grips 62 with climbing grips of 63 different shapes, places it on the selected lath 50”).
Regarding Claim 12, Srecko et al continues to teach wherein said climbing wall comprises a movable conveyor system 13,23,and said automatically reconfiguring occurs while said movable conveyor system is stationary (Refer to Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 13, Srecko et al continues to teach wherein said robotic system uses an end-effector that detachably connects to said climbing holds using at least one fastening method selected from the group consisting of electromagnetic fastening, pneumatic fastening, and hook latching fastening 59,64,65 (Refer to Fig. 12&13 Refer to English Translation:” The rear panel 52 has at each orifice 56, a removable grip fixing mechanism consisting of a wedge 59 inserted between the guides 60 and 60 'and two springs 61 and 61' are mounted. The locking mechanism fixes the inserted removable gripper 62 by wedging the wedge 59 into the groove 65 on the cylindrical mandrel 64 of the removable gripper 62.”..The Office takes the position that a “hook” is interpreted as being an “anchor” or “bent device for catching, holding , or pulling” by Merriam-webster dictionary in which the wedge 65 is bent).
Regarding Claim 14, Srecko et al continues to teach wherein said automatically reconfiguring includes rotating said climbing holds to desired rotational angular positions relative to a surface of said climbing wall before attachment (Refer to English Translation:” The rotating grip 36 is in the form of a square, with three climbing gripes 38 .sup.1 , 38 .sup.2 and 38 .sup.3 on three lateral surfaces, and of one smooth surface. According to the program, the selected rotating grips 36 are rotated about their axis 40 so that climbing grips 38 of the desired shape appear on the faces of certain laths 14 and in certain places on laths 14.”).
Regarding Claim 15, Srecko et al continues to teach further comprising using a control algorithm to determine an optimal sequence for removing and placing said climbing holds to minimize reconfiguration time (Refer to English Translation:” The software consists of:- processes enabling the control of interchangeable grips, electric drives of the inclination and drive axles, input / output modules and communication modules;- processes that allow the exercise device to be used safely;- Interpreter of climbing data structures;- the processes of generating data structures of climbing directions;- climbing analysis processes;- climbing data structures.”..The Office takes the position that minimize reconfiguration time is whatever time it takes to reconfigured the climbing holds 63).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pery, Marcin (EP 4124366 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Pery teaches dynamic climbing wall system comprising: a movable climbing surface 1A,B; a drive system configured to move said movable climbing surface (Refer to Fig. 16 Paragraph [0039]:” In another embodiment, the climbing wall 1A, 1B (fig. 16) has four climbing wall modules 2, the supporting constructions 5 of these climbing wall modules 2 being articulately connected to each other. This allows for changing the positions of the individual modules of the climbing wall 1A, 1B with respect to each other. In the climbing wall 1A, two climbing wall modules 2 have been arranged at an acute angle relative to the two remaining climbing wall modules 2, forming climbing routes with a bend, and in the wall 1B forming climbing routes in an overhang.”); a plurality of climbing holds 9 removably attachable to said movable climbing surface 1A,B; a robotic system 11,14A,B positioned to access said movable climbing surface 1A,B when not in use by a climber; and a controller configured to coordinate said drive system and said robotic system to automatically reconfigure said plurality of climbing holds 9 while said dynamic climbing wall system is operational (Refer to Paragraph [0043]:” The Cartesian coordinate robot 11 is controlled remotely, and it can also be connected to the Internet. As a consequence, the arrangement of climbing routes can be realised by controlling the Cartesian coordinate robot 11 from a control panel placed within the climbing wall 1, or by other types of applications and internet applications, in particular mobile applications. This also increases the functionality of the Cartesian coordinate robot, since the climbing routes can be arranged according to designs provided in a database, or the users' own designs.”).
Regarding Claim 3, Pery continues to teach wherein said movable climbing surface comprises a plurality of interconnected climbing surfaces 2 having different orientations selected from the group consisting of vertical faces, overhanging faces angled more than 90 degrees, and slabs angled less than 90 degrees (Refer to Fig. 16 Paragraph [0039]:” In another embodiment, the climbing wall 1A, 1B (fig. 16) has four climbing wall modules 2, the supporting constructions 5 of these climbing wall modules 2 being articulately connected to each other. This allows for changing the positions of the individual modules of the climbing wall 1A, 1B with respect to each other. In the climbing wall 1A, two climbing wall modules 2 have been arranged at an acute angle relative to the two remaining climbing wall modules 2, forming climbing routes with a bend, and in the wall 1B forming climbing routes in an overhang.”).
Regarding Claim 5, Pery continues to teach wherein said robotic system comprises a two- dimensional movement system having rails 12,13 configured to move said robotic system in X and Y directions, and said robotic system is extendable in a Z direction toward said movable climbing surface (Refer to Fig. 11&12).
Regarding Claim 6, Pery continues to teach wherein said plurality of climbing holds 9 include different shapes selected from the group consisting of crimpers, edges, pockets,footholds, jugs, pinches, rails, slopers, and ceiling jugs (Refer to Fig. 3).
Claim(s) 16, 17, & 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Meissner (US 20070240281 A1).
Regarding Claim 16, Meissner teaches a climbing hold comprising: a body 600 configured to be grasped by a climber (Refer to Fig. 10); a mounting system 602 configured for removable attachment to a climbing surface 404, said mounting system including: a pin shaft 622 configured to be inserted into an opening in said climbing surface; a locking mechanism 410,411,604 configured to secure said pin shaft in said opening; and a release mechanism 606 configured to allow rapid removal of said climbing hold from said climbing surface (Refer to Fig. 10,10A Paragraph [0012]:”There is a need for a climbing hold that overcomes the problems associated with known climbing holds by providing a climbing hold that can be removably attached, rotated, and detached quickly and easily.”).
Regarding Claim 17, Meissner continues to teach wherein said locking mechanism comprises :a ball-lock pin 652 movably disposed within said pin shaft 622; at least one ball 652 positioned in an aperture of said pin shaft and movable between a locked position and an unlocked position based on a position of said ball-lock pin; and a spring 646 configured to bias said ball-lock pin toward said locked position (Refer to Fig. 10 Paragraph [0108] To engage the climbing hold positive lock pin 602 through the female bore 604 secured to a climbing wall, the plunger button 610 is depressed against the compression spring 646 permitting the detent balls 628 to retract or recede inwardly into the deeper portion of the cam notch 638. When pressure on the plunger button 610 is released, the compression spring 646 draws the plunger 636 outward so that the detent balls 628 extend outwardly to lock the tubular shaft pin 622 inside the groove 652 of the female bore 604. The hexagonal shape of the tubular shaft pin 622 restricts any rotational movement.”).
Regarding Claim 19, Meissner continues to teach further comprising at least one loading pin 616 (A pin is broadly defined by Merriam-Webster dictionary as “a device for fastening”) positioned concentrically lateral to said pin shaft 100 and configured to bear a majority of a climber's weight when said climbing hold is attached to said climbing surface (Refer to Fig. 10 Paragraph [0103]:” The female bore 604 includes protruding cleats 616, which embed into the wall front surface when tightened, which eliminates rotation of the climbing hold”). The Office takes the position that the cleats 616 provides support for holding the climbing hold to the wall and upon downward force the anchor would bear a majority of the climbers weight due to the force pushed down on the anchors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klancar Srecko et al (IS 21729 A) in view of Garnier (US 20160136496 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Srecko et al teaches the claimed invention as noted above but fails to teach wherein each climbing hold of said plurality of climbing holds includes an RF identity tag, and said robotic system includes an RF reader configured to identify specific climbing holds. Garnier et al teaches a climbing hold comprising a RFID tag and a RF reader (Refer to Fig. 2 Paragraph [0007] The electronic card advantageously comprises a presence detector for a climber on the associated grip, the presence detector being preferably a reed switch associated with a magnet or an RFID reader associated with a tag… [0060] Indeed, the emission loop has the ability to communicate bidirectionally with the electronic card of each grip comprising at least one reception loop but also with RFID tags and other RFID sensors”). Garnier is from the same field of endeavor as Applicants invention and therefore it would have been obvious to modify the climbing holds 62,63 of Srecko to comprise an RFID tag and said robotic system includes an RF reader configured to identify specific climbing holds for the purpose a labeling system for the controller to identify and climbing hold desired to be remove or added.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 18, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Srecko et al, Pery, and Meissner are the closest prior arts to the claimed invention but fails to teach the claimed invention as a whole being a dynamic climbing wall system comprising: a movable climbing surface; a drive system configured to move said movable climbing surface; a plurality of climbing holds removably attachable to said movable climbing surface; a robotic system positioned to access said movable climbing surface when not in use by a climber; and a controller configured to coordinate said drive system and said robotic system to automatically reconfigure said plurality of climbing holds while said dynamic climbing wall system is operational, and wherein said robotic system comprises a robotic arm having six degrees of freedom configured to position said plurality of climbing holds with forward/backward translation, up/down translation, and left/right translation combined with yaw rotation, pitch rotation, and roll rotation. And/or a climbing hold comprising: a body configured to be grasped by a climber; a mounting system configured for removable attachment to a climbing surface, said mounting system including: a pin shaft configured to be inserted into an opening in said climbing surface; a locking mechanism configured to secure said pin shaft in said opening; and a release mechanism configured to allow rapid removal of said climbing hold from said climbing surface; wherein said locking mechanism comprises: a ball-lock pin movably disposed within said pin shaft; at least one ball positioned in an aperture of said pin shaft and movable between a locked position and an unlocked position based on a position of said ball-lock pin; and a spring configured to bias said ball-lock pin toward said locked position, wherein said ball-lock pin includes a head end having a diameter wider than a diameter of said ball-lock pin, and a lock end having a reduced diameter section, wherein movement of said ball-lock pin causes said at least one ball to move between said locked position and said unlocked position1; and wherein said mounting system includes a magnetic front plate configured to be engaged by a robotic end-effector having an electromagnet, and wherein said release mechanism is operable by said robotic end-effector applying force through a back hole in said climbing hold.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to attach list of references cited for prior arts pertinent to claimed and unclaimed subject matter.
/NYCA T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784