DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is a response to an application filed on 06/17/2025, in which claims 1-19 are pending and ready for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/17/2025 and 04/13/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in this application and a copy has been placed of record in the file.
Claim interpretation
Claims 13 and 14’s recitation of a “A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a bitstream…” is a product by process claim limitation where the product is the bitstream and the decoding process is the operations to generate the bitstream. MPEP §2113 recites “Product-by-Process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps”. Thus, the scope of the claim is the computer readable medium storing the bitstream (with the structure implied by the encoding steps). The structure includes the encoded information, the decoder, and other information manipulated by the operation.
To be given patentable weight, the computer-readable medium (a storage medium) and the bitstream (i.e. descriptive material) must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the descriptive material performs some function with respect to the storage medium to which it is associated. See MPEP §2111.05(I)(A). When a claimed “computer-readable medium” merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists”. MPEP §2111.05(III). The storage medium storing the claimed bitstream in claims 13 and 14 merely services as a support for the storage of the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the stored bitstream and storage medium. Therefor the structure of the bitstream, which scope is implied by the method steps, is non-functional descriptive material and given no patentable weight. MPEP §2111.05(III). Thus, the claim scope is just a storage medium storing data.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 7, and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,503,286. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 7, and 14 of the instant application are generic to all that is recited in claims 1, 7, and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,503,286. Therefore, claims 1, 7, and 14 of the instant application are anticipated by claims 1, 7, and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,503,286.
Claims 1, 7, and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,368,847. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 7, and 14 of the instant application are generic to all that is recited in claims 1, 7, and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,368,847. Therefore, claims 1, 7, and 14 of the instant application are anticipated by claims 1, 7, and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,368,847.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US 2013/0039421 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses: A video decoding method, comprising:
determining whether to apply a filtering using a filter for a prediction for a target block (see Fig. 6, step S204, and paragraph 69); and
performing the prediction for the target block using the filter in a case that it is determined to apply the filtering for the prediction (see Fig. 6, step S205, and paragraph 72).
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses: The video decoding method of claim 1, wherein one of a plurality of interpolation filters is selected as the filter for an inter prediction for the target block (see Lee, paragraph 71).
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses: The video decoding method of claim 2, wherein one of the plurality of the interpolation filters is selected as the filter based on a coding parameter for the target block (see Lee, paragraph 70), and
the coding parameter comprises at least one of a component of the target block, a size of the target block, and a mode for the inter prediction for the target block (see Lee, paragraph 71, filter is selected according to the size of the current block).
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses: The video decoding method of claim 2, wherein the selected filter is used for an interpolation for a sub-sample for the target block (see Lee, paragraph 70).
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses: The video decoding method of claim 1, wherein one of a plurality of interpolation filters is selected as the filter for an intra prediction for the target block (see Lee, paragraph 69).
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses: The video decoding method of claim 5, wherein one of the plurality of the interpolation filters is selected as the filter based on a coding parameter for the target block (see Lee, paragraph 70), and
the coding parameter comprises at least one of a component of the target block, a size of the target block, information about a partitioning for the target block, information indicating a type of a filter and an intra prediction direction for the intra prediction (see Lee, paragraph 71, filter is selected according to the size of the current block).
Regarding claims 7-12, claims 7-12 are drawn to methods having limitations similar to the method claimed in claims 1-6 treated in the above rejections. Therefore, method claims 7-12 correspond to method claims 1-6 and are rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used above.
Regarding claim 13, Lee discloses: A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a bitstream generated by the video encoding method of claim 7 (see Lee, paragraph 19).
Regarding claims 14-19, claims 14-19 are drawn to a computer readable storage medium having limitations similar to the method claimed in claims 1-6 treated in the above rejections. Therefore, computer readable storage medium claims 14-19 correspond to apparatus and method claims 1-6 and are rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used above.
Conclusion
/MARYAM A NASRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483