DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment to the claims filed on 06/08/2026 does not comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.121(c) because failure to provide a marked up version of the amended claim (for example claims 1-4, 7-10, and 12-14 do not show markings). In addition, claims 2-4, 7-10, and 12-14 have the wrong status identifiers.
Amendments to the claims filed on or after July 30, 2003 must comply with 37 CFR 1.121(c) which states:
(c) Claims. Amendments to a claim must be made by rewriting the entire claim with all changes (e.g., additions and deletions) as indicated in this subsection, except when the claim is being canceled. Each amendment document that includes a change to an existing claim, cancellation of an existing claim or addition of a new claim, must include a complete listing of all claims ever presented, including the text of all pending and withdrawn claims, in the application. The claim listing, including the text of the claims, in the amendment document will serve to replace all prior versions of the claims, in the application. In the claim listing, the status of every claim must be indicated after its claim number by using one of the following identifiers in a parenthetical expression: (Original), (Currently amended), (Canceled), (Withdrawn), (Previously presented), (New), and (Not entered).
(1) Claim listing. All of the claims presented in a claim listing shall be presented in ascending numerical order. Consecutive claims having the same status of “canceled” or “not entered” may be aggregated into one statement (e.g., Claims 1–5 (canceled)). The claim listing shall commence on a separate sheet of the amendment document and the sheet(s) that contain the text of any part of the claims shall not contain any other part of the amendment.
(2) When claim text with markings is required. All claims being currently amended in an amendment paper shall be presented in the claim listing, indicate a status of “currently amended,” and be submitted with markings to indicate the changes that have been made relative to the immediate prior version of the claims. The text of any added subject matter must be shown by underlining the added text. The text of any deleted matter must be shown by strike-through except that double brackets placed before and after the deleted characters may be used to show deletion of five or fewer consecutive characters. The text of any deleted subject matter must be shown by being placed within double brackets if strike-through cannot be easily perceived. Only claims having the status of “currently amended,” or “withdrawn” if also being amended, shall include markings. If a withdrawn claim is currently amended, its status in the claim listing may be identified as “withdrawn—currently amended.”
(3) When claim text in clean version is required. The text of all pending claims not being currently amended shall be presented in the claim listing in clean version, i.e., without any markings in the presentation of text. The presentation of a clean version of any claim having the status of “original,” “withdrawn” or “previously presented” will constitute an assertion that it has not been changed relative to the immediate prior version, except to omit markings that may have been present in the immediate prior version of the claims of the status of “withdrawn” or “previously presented.” Any claim added by amendment must be indicated with the status of “new” and presented in clean version, i.e., without any underlining.
(4) When claim text shall not be presented; canceling a claim.
(i) No claim text shall be presented for any claim in the claim listing with the status of “canceled” or “not entered.”
(ii) Cancellation of a claim shall be effected by an instruction to cancel a particular claim number. Identifying the status of a claim in the claim listing as “canceled” will constitute an instruction to cancel the claim.
(5) Reinstatement of previously canceled claim. A claim which was previously canceled may be reinstated only by adding the claim as a “new” claim with a new claim number.
The Applicant was notified on three occasions to submit an amendment compliant with 37 CFR 1.121. However, the Applicant failed to submit a compliant amendment. The Examiner suggests that the Applicant submit the following supplemental amendment in a future response.
1. (Currently Amended) An adjustable-illumination lighting apparatus
an LED panel having a first lighting zone and at least one peripheral lighting zone including a plurality of second LEDs;
an optical diffusion structure associated with the peripheral lighting zone and configured to widen a beam angle of light emitted from the second LEDs; a lamp housing including a lamp cover having a peripheral sidewall that is transparent or semi-transparent and a central region that is frosted; and
a control interface configured to selectively activate the first lighting zone alone and to simultaneously activate the first and the peripheral lighting zones;
wherein the peripheral sidewall defines an optical emission window through which peripheral light exits to produce wide-angle ambient illumination.
2. (Currently Amended) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the optical diffusion structure comprises having convex surface features.
3. (Currently Amended) The interface comprises at least : a manual push-button switch, a remote controllerconfigured to communicate via infrared, Bluetooth, or Wi-Fi, or a voice-activated controller.
4. (Currently Amended) The optical diffusion structure.
5. (Original) The apparatus of claim 4, wherein the lamp cover includes a peripheral sidewall, the sidewall being transparent or semi-transparent, and a central region of the lamp cover being frosted.
6. (Original) The apparatus of claim 4, wherein the lamp housing is installable on a ceiling fan.
7. (Currently Amended) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the control interface is further configured to activate only the peripheral lighting zone.
8. (Currently Amended) The optical diffusion structure further comprises a protruding convex column at a position corresponding to the first lighting zone.
9. (Currently Amended) An adjustable-illumination lighting apparatus, comprising:
an LED panel lighting zone ncluding a plurality of second LEDs;a diffusion lens body disposed directly n a light-
of each of the second LEDs configured to widen a beam angle; and a control interface alone
first and eripheral lighting zones.
10. (Currently Amended) The interface comprises at least one of: a manual push-button switch; a remote controller configured to tcommunicate via infrared, Bluetooth, or Wi-Fi; or a voice-activated controller.
11. (Original) The apparatus of claim 9, further comprising a lamp housing including a lamp base and a lamp cover, wherein the lamp base is provided with a receiving chamber for accommodating the LED panel, and the lamp cover is coupled with the lamp base to enclose the receiving chamber and the LED panel.
12. (Currently Amended) The
13. (Currently Amended) The
14. (Currently Amended) The interface is further configured to activate only the second LEDs in the second peripheral lighting zone.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (US 2025/0084980 hereinafter refer as “Lu”) in view JUNG et al. (US 2017/0082262 hereinafter refer as “JUNG”).
Regrading claim 1. Lu discloses a lighting apparatus (see Fig. 1, Para. 0075) with an adjustable illumination range, comprising: An LED panel (3, see Fig. 2, Para. 0123), having a first lighting zone (inner ring zone, see Fig. 2, Para. 0126) disposed on one side thereof, the first lighting zone being provided with a plurality of first LEDs (32, see Fig. 2, Para. 0123), and at least one peripheral lighting zone (outer ring zone, see Fig. 2) disposed around the first lighting zone, the second lighting zone being provided with a plurality of second LEDs (outer ring light source 33, see Fig. 2, Para. 0123); an optical diffusion structure (lens board 21, see Figs. 1 and 3, Para. 0124), disposed on one side of the LED panel and covering the first and peripheral lighting zone, wherein a plurality of diffusion lenses (outer ring lens 23, see Figs. 1 and 3, Para. 0124) are provided at positions corresponding to the second lighting zone, each diffusion lens corresponding to one of the second LEDs (33, see Para. 0124); Wherein the LED panel (3) is electrically connectable to a preset external control switch (see Para. 0131), wherein the control switch is configured to selectively activate only the first LEDs (32) in the first lighting zone, or both the first LEDs (32) and the second LEDs (33) in the respective lighting zones simultaneously (see Para. 0131); Wherein, when the second LEDs (33) are activated, the emitted light from the second LEDs is refracted and diffused through the diffusion lenses of the light diffusion plate. Lu further discloses a lamp housing including a lamp cover (1, see Fig. 1, Para. 0122) includes a peripheral sidewall, the sidewall being transparent or semi-transparent (i.e. the lamp cover is used for homogenizing and mixing the emitted light, preventing the light from being too glaring). Lu further discloses diffusers are typically made from materials like frosted glass or plastic, which scatter light as it passes through (see Para. 0017).
However, Lu is silent with respect to the central region of the lamp cover being frosted and wherein the peripheral sidewall defines an optical emission window through which peripheral light exits to produce wide-angle ambient illumination.
JUNG teaches a lighting apparatus (100, see Fig. 4, Para. 0069) that includes an optical device (120, see Fig. 4, Para. 0069) including a first lens (120A, see Fig. 4, Para. 0069) and a second lens (120B, see Fig. 4, Para. 0069) respectively corresponding to a first LED array (131) and the second LED array (132); wherein, the first lens (120A) covers the first LED array and the second lens (120B) covers the second LED array (132) as shown in FIG. 4, the second sidewall defines an optical emission window through which peripheral light exits to produce wide-angle ambient illumination (see Figs. 2 and 6).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lu by forming the central region of the lamp cover to be frosted in order to scatter light as it passes through, since it has been held by the courts that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, forming the central region of the lamp cover to be frosted would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application.
Therefore, in view of JUNG, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lu by configuring the optical emission of the second window through which peripheral light exits to produce wide-angle ambient illumination, as suggested by JUNG, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, configuring the optical emission to be wide-angle ambient illumination would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application.
Regrading claim 2. Lu further discloses the diffusion lenses (23, see Fig. 3) are formed with a plurality of convex surface features.
Regrading claim 3. Lu further discloses the control switch (e.g. 661, see Fig. 8, Para. 0101, 0104, and 0131) is one of a manual push-button switch, a remote control switch, or a voice-activated switch.
Regrading claim 8. Lu further discloses the light diffusion plate (21) includes a protruding convex column (22, see Fig. 3) at a position corresponding to the first lighting zone.
Regrading claim 9. Lu discloses a lighting apparatus (see Fig. 1, Para. 0075) with an adjustable illumination range, comprising: An LED panel (3, see Fig. 2, Para. 0123), having a first lighting zone (inner ring zone, see Fig. 2, Para. 0126) disposed on one side thereof, the first lighting zone being provided with a plurality of first LEDs (32, see Fig. 2, Para. 0123), and at least one ring-shaped second lighting zone disposed around the first lighting zone, the second lighting zone (outer ring zone, see Fig. 2, Para. 0126) being provided with a plurality of second LEDs (33, see Fig. 2, Para. 0123), wherein each second LED has a diffusion lens (outer ring lens 23, see Figs. 1 and 3, Para. 0124) directly mounted on its light-emitting surface; Wherein the LED panel is electrically connectable to a preset external control switch (see Para. 0131), such that the control switch is configured to selectively activate only the first LEDs in the first lighting zone, or both the first LEDs and the second LEDs simultaneously (see Para. 0131); and wherein, when the second LEDs are activated, their emitted light is directly diffused and refracted through the respective diffusion lenses.
However, Lu is silent with respect to the central region of the lamp cover being frosted and wherein the peripheral sidewall defines an optical emission window through which peripheral light exits to produce wide-angle ambient illumination.
JUNG teaches a lighting apparatus (100, see Fig. 4, Para. 0069) that includes an optical device (120, see Fig. 4, Para. 0069) including a first lens (120A, see Fig. 4, Para. 0069) and a second lens (120B, see Fig. 4, Para. 0069) respectively corresponding to a first LED array (131) and the second LED array (132); wherein, the first lens (120A) covers the first LED array and the second lens (120B) covers the second LED array (132) as shown in FIG. 4, the second sidewall defines an optical emission window through which peripheral light exits to produce wide-angle ambient illumination (see Figs. 2 and 6).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lu by forming the central region of the lamp cover to be frosted in order to scatter light as it passes through, since it has been held by the courts that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, forming the central region of the lamp cover to be frosted would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application.
Therefore, in view of JUNG, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lu by configuring the optical emission of the second window through which peripheral light exits to produce wide-angle ambient illumination, as suggested by JUNG, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, configuring the optical emission to be wide-angle ambient illumination would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application.
Regrading claim 10. Lu further discloses the control switch (e.g. 661, see Fig. 8, Para. 0101, 0104, and 0131) is one of a manual push-button switch, a remote control switch (including those described in paragraph [0025]), or a voice-activated switch.
Claims 1-3, 7-10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIMA et al. (US 2020/0132259 hereinafter refer as “SHIMA”) in view of JUNG.
Regrading claim 1. SHIMA discloses a lighting device (1, see Fig. 1) with an adjustable illumination range, comprising: An LED panel (15, see Figs. 1 and 3, Para. 0045), having a first lighting zone disposed on one side thereof, the first lighting zone being provided with a plurality of first LEDs (11, see Fig. 3; Para. 0045), and at least one ring-shaped second lighting zone disposed around the first lighting zone, the second lighting zone being provided with a plurality of second LEDs (12, see Fig. 3; Para. 0045); A light diffusion plate (30 and optical member 20, see Figs. 1, 4A, Para. 0039-0040 and 0068), disposed on one side of the LED panel and covering the first and second lighting zones (see Fig. 1), wherein a plurality of diffusion lenses (20) are provided at positions corresponding to the second lighting zone, each diffusion lens corresponding to one of the second LEDs (see Fig. 2A); Wherein the LED panel is electrically connectable to a preset external control switch (see Para. 0074, 0077-0078, and 00128), such that the control switch is configured to selectively activate only the first LEDs in the first lighting zone, or both the first LEDs and the second LEDs in the respective lighting zones simultaneously; Wherein, when the second LEDs are activated, the emitted light from the second LEDs is refracted and diffused through the diffusion lenses of the light diffusion plate (see Fig. 7).
However, SHIMA is silent with respect to the central region of the lamp cover being frosted and wherein the peripheral sidewall defines an optical emission window through which peripheral light exits to produce wide-angle ambient illumination.
JUNG teaches a lighting apparatus (100, see Fig. 4, Para. 0069) that includes an optical device (120, see Fig. 4, Para. 0069) including a first lens (120A, see Fig. 4, Para. 0069) and a second lens (120B, see Fig. 4, Para. 0069) respectively corresponding to a first LED array (131) and the second LED array (132); wherein, the first lens (120A) covers the first LED array and the second lens (120B) covers the second LED array (132) as shown in FIG. 4, the second sidewall defines an optical emission window through which peripheral light exits to produce wide-angle ambient illumination (see Figs. 2 and 6).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SHIMA by forming the central region of the lamp cover to be frosted in order to scatter light as it passes through, since it has been held by the courts that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, forming the central region of the lamp cover to be frosted would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application.
Therefore, in view of JUNG, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SHIMA by configuring the optical emission of the second window through which peripheral light exits to produce wide-angle ambient illumination, as suggested by JUNG, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, configuring the optical emission to be wide-angle ambient illumination would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application.
Regrading claim 2. SHIMA further discloses the diffusion lenses (20/24, see Fig. 2A) are formed with a plurality of convex surface features.
Regrading claim 3. SHIMA further discloses the control switch (not shown, see Para. 0046 and 0074) is one of a manual push-button switch, a remote control switch, or a voice-activated switch.
Regrading claim 7. SHIMA further discloses the control switch is further configured to activate only the second LEDs in the second lighting zone (see Para. 0078).
Regrading claim 8. SHIMA further discloses the light diffusion plate (30 and optical member 20, see Figs. 1, 4A, Para. 0039-0040 and 0068) includes a protruding convex column (22/23, see Fig. 2A) at a position corresponding to the first lighting zone.
Regrading claim 9. SHIMA discloses a lighting apparatus (see Fig. 1, Para. 0075) with an adjustable illumination range, comprising: An LED panel (see Figs. 1 and 3, Para. 0045), having a first lighting zone (inner ring zone, see Fig. 3) disposed on one side thereof, the first lighting zone being provided with a plurality of first LEDs (11, see Fig. 2, see Fig. 3; Para. 0045), and at least one ring-shaped second lighting zone disposed around the first lighting zone, the second lighting zone (outer ring zone, see Fig. 3) being provided with a plurality of second LEDs (12, see Fig. 3; Para. 0045), wherein each second LED has a diffusion lens (20, see Figs. 1 and 2A) directly mounted on its light-emitting surface; Wherein the LED panel is electrically connectable to a preset external control switch (see Para. 0074, 0077-0078, and 00128), such that the control switch is configured to selectively activate only the first LEDs in the first lighting zone, or both the first LEDs and the second LEDs simultaneously (see Para. 0074, 0077-0078, and 00128); and wherein, when the second LEDs are activated, their emitted light is directly diffused and refracted through the respective diffusion lenses.
However, SHIMA is silent with respect to the central region of the lamp cover being frosted and wherein the peripheral sidewall defines an optical emission window through which peripheral light exits to produce wide-angle ambient illumination.
JUNG teaches a lighting apparatus (100, see Fig. 4, Para. 0069) that includes an optical device (120, see Fig. 4, Para. 0069) including a first lens (120A, see Fig. 4, Para. 0069) and a second lens (120B, see Fig. 4, Para. 0069) respectively corresponding to a first LED array (131) and the second LED array (132); wherein, the first lens (120A) covers the first LED array and the second lens (120B) covers the second LED array (132) as shown in FIG. 4, the second sidewall defines an optical emission window through which peripheral light exits to produce wide-angle ambient illumination (see Figs. 2 and 6).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SHIMA by forming the central region of the lamp cover to be frosted in order to scatter light as it passes through, since it has been held by the courts that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, forming the central region of the lamp cover to be frosted would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application.
Therefore, in view of JUNG, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SHIMA by configuring the optical emission of the second window through which peripheral light exits to produce wide-angle ambient illumination, as suggested by JUNG, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, configuring the optical emission to be wide-angle ambient illumination would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application.
Regrading claim 10. SHIMA further discloses the control switch (not shown, see Para. 0046 and 0074) is one of a manual push-button switch, a remote control switch (including those described in paragraph [0025]), or a voice-activated switch.
Regrading claim 14. SHIMA further discloses the control switch is further configured to activate only the second LEDs in the second lighting zone (see Para. 0078).
Claims 4-6 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of JUNG and further in view Hsieh et al. (US 12,467,611 hereinafter refer as “Hsieh”).
Regrading claims 4 and 11. Lu further discloses an outer housing (1, see Fig. 1, Para. 0122) including a lamp cover (see Fig. 1).
However, Lu is silent with respect to the outer housing including a lamp base, wherein the lamp base is provided with a receiving chamber for accommodating the LED panel, and the lamp cover is coupled with the lamp base to enclose the receiving chamber, the LED panel, and the light diffusion plate.
Hsieh teaches lighting module (200) that includes a lamp housing structure (310 and 230, see Figs. 2 and 3) including a lamp cover (230) and a lamp base (310), wherein the lamp base is provided with a receiving chamber for accommodating an LED panel (210), and the lamp cover is coupled with the lamp base to enclose the receiving chamber, the LED panel, and a light diffusion plate (220, see Figs. 2 and 3, see Col. 4; lines 51-67).
Therefore, in view of Hsieh, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lu by incorporating the lamp base disclosed by Hsieh for the purpose of effectively enclosing the LED panel and the light diffusion plate as suggested by Hsieh, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, providing a lamp base configured to accommodate the LED panel and the light diffusion plate would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application.
Regrading claims 5 and 12. Lu further discloses the lamp cover (1, see Fig. 1, Para. 0122) includes a peripheral sidewall, the sidewall being transparent or semi-transparent (i.e. the lamp cover is used for homogenizing and mixing the emitted light, preventing the light from being too glaring). Lu further discloses diffusers are typically made from materials like frosted glass or plastic, which scatter light as it passes through (see Para. 0017).
However, Lu is silent with respect to the central region of the lamp cover being frosted.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lu by forming the central region of the lamp cover to be frosted in order to scatter light as it passes through, since it has been held by the courts that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, forming the central region of the lamp cover to be frosted would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application.
Regrading claims 6 and 13. The teachings of Lu have been discussed above.
However, Lu is silent with respect to the lamp housing is installable on a ceiling fan.
Hsieh further teaches lighting module (200) is installable on a ceiling fan (see Figs. 1 and 2, Col. 4; lines 41-67).
Therefore, in view of Hsieh, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lu by incorporating a lamp housing configured to be installable in a fan, as disclosed by Hsieh in order to provide a ceiling fan lamp, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, incorporating the lamp housing configure for installation in a fan would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims1-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TSION TUMEBO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875