DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, the phrase “(including those described in paragraph [0025])” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Furthermore, paragraph [0025] of the Applicant’s specification does not disclose or describe any “control switch.” Instead, paragraph [0026] describes various types of control switches.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 8-10 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lu et al. (US 2025/0084980 hereinafter refer as “Lu”).
Regrading claim 1. Lu discloses a lighting apparatus (see Fig. 1, Para. 0075) with an adjustable illumination range, comprising: An LED panel (3, see Fig. 2, Para. 0123), having a first lighting zone (inner ring zone, see Fig. 2, Para. 0126) disposed on one side thereof, the first lighting zone being provided with a plurality of first LEDs (32, see Fig. 2, Para. 0123), and at least one ring-shaped second lighting zone (outer ring zone, see Fig. 2) disposed around the first lighting zone, the second lighting zone being provided with a plurality of second LEDs (outer ring light source 33, see Fig. 2, Para. 0123); A light diffusion plate (lens board 21, see Figs. 1 and 3, Para. 0124), disposed on one side of the LED panel and covering the first and second lighting zones, wherein a plurality of diffusion lenses (outer ring lens 23, see Figs. 1 and 3, Para. 0124) are provided at positions corresponding to the second lighting zone, each diffusion lens corresponding to one of the second LEDs (33, see Para. 0124); Wherein the LED panel (3) is electrically connectable to a preset external control switch (see Para. 0131), wherein the control switch is configured to selectively activate only the first LEDs (32) in the first lighting zone, or both the first LEDs (32) and the second LEDs (33) in the respective lighting zones simultaneously (see Para. 0131); Wherein, when the second LEDs (33) are activated, the emitted light from the second LEDs is refracted and diffused through the diffusion lenses of the light diffusion plate.
Regrading claim 2. Lu further discloses the diffusion lenses (23, see Fig. 3) are formed with a plurality of convex surface features.
Regrading claim 3. Lu further discloses the control switch (e.g. 661, see Fig. 8, Para. 0101, 0104, and 0131) is one of a manual push-button switch, a remote control switch, or a voice-activated switch.
Regrading claim 8. Lu further discloses the light diffusion plate (21) includes a protruding convex column (22, see Fig. 3) at a position corresponding to the first lighting zone.
Regrading claim 9. Lu discloses a lighting apparatus (see Fig. 1, Para. 0075) with an adjustable illumination range, comprising: An LED panel (3, see Fig. 2, Para. 0123), having a first lighting zone (inner ring zone, see Fig. 2, Para. 0126) disposed on one side thereof, the first lighting zone being provided with a plurality of first LEDs (32, see Fig. 2, Para. 0123), and at least one ring-shaped second lighting zone disposed around the first lighting zone, the second lighting zone (outer ring zone, see Fig. 2, Para. 0126) being provided with a plurality of second LEDs (33, see Fig. 2, Para. 0123), wherein each second LED has a diffusion lens (outer ring lens 23, see Figs. 1 and 3, Para. 0124) directly mounted on its light-emitting surface; Wherein the LED panel is electrically connectable to a preset external control switch (see Para. 0131), such that the control switch is configured to selectively activate only the first LEDs in the first lighting zone, or both the first LEDs and the second LEDs simultaneously (see Para. 0131); And wherein, when the second LEDs are activated, their emitted light is directly diffused and refracted through the respective diffusion lenses.
Regrading claim 10. Lu further discloses the control switch (e.g. 661, see Fig. 8, Para. 0101, 0104, and 0131) is one of a manual push-button switch, a remote control switch (including those described in paragraph [0025]), or a voice-activated switch.
Claims 1-3, 7-10, and 14 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SHIMA et al. (US 2020/0132259 hereinafter refer as “SHIMA”)
Regrading claim 1. SHIMA discloses a lighting device (1, see Fig. 1) with an adjustable illumination range, comprising: An LED panel (15, see Figs. 1 and 3, Para. 0045), having a first lighting zone disposed on one side thereof, the first lighting zone being provided with a plurality of first LEDs (11, see Fig. 3; Para. 0045), and at least one ring-shaped second lighting zone disposed around the first lighting zone, the second lighting zone being provided with a plurality of second LEDs (12, see Fig. 3; Para. 0045); A light diffusion plate (30 and optical member 20, see Figs. 1, 4A, Para. 0039-0040 and 0068), disposed on one side of the LED panel and covering the first and second lighting zones (see Fig. 1), wherein a plurality of diffusion lenses (20) are provided at positions corresponding to the second lighting zone, each diffusion lens corresponding to one of the second LEDs (see Fig. 2A); Wherein the LED panel is electrically connectable to a preset external control switch (see Para. 0074, 0077-0078, and 00128), such that the control switch is configured to selectively activate only the first LEDs in the first lighting zone, or both the first LEDs and the second LEDs in the respective lighting zones simultaneously; Wherein, when the second LEDs are activated, the emitted light from the second LEDs is refracted and diffused through the diffusion lenses of the light diffusion plate (see Fig. 7).
Regrading claim 2. SHIMA further discloses the diffusion lenses (20/24, see Fig. 2A) are formed with a plurality of convex surface features.
Regrading claim 3. SHIMA further discloses the control switch (not shown, see Para. 0046 and 0074) is one of a manual push-button switch, a remote control switch, or a voice-activated switch.
Regrading claim 7. SHIMA further discloses the control switch is further configured to activate only the second LEDs in the second lighting zone (see Para. 0078).
Regrading claim 8. SHIMA further discloses the light diffusion plate (30 and optical member 20, see Figs. 1, 4A, Para. 0039-0040 and 0068) includes a protruding convex column (22/23, see Fig. 2A) at a position corresponding to the first lighting zone.
Regrading claim 9. SHIMA discloses a lighting apparatus (see Fig. 1, Para. 0075) with an adjustable illumination range, comprising: An LED panel (see Figs. 1 and 3, Para. 0045), having a first lighting zone (inner ring zone, see Fig. 3) disposed on one side thereof, the first lighting zone being provided with a plurality of first LEDs (11, see Fig. 2, see Fig. 3; Para. 0045), and at least one ring-shaped second lighting zone disposed around the first lighting zone, the second lighting zone (outer ring zone, see Fig. 3) being provided with a plurality of second LEDs (12, see Fig. 3; Para. 0045), wherein each second LED has a diffusion lens (20, see Figs. 1 and 2A) directly mounted on its light-emitting surface; Wherein the LED panel is electrically connectable to a preset external control switch (see Para. 0074, 0077-0078, and 00128), such that the control switch is configured to selectively activate only the first LEDs in the first lighting zone, or both the first LEDs and the second LEDs simultaneously (see Para. 0074, 0077-0078, and 00128); And wherein, when the second LEDs are activated, their emitted light is directly diffused and refracted through the respective diffusion lenses.
Regrading claim 10. SHIMA further discloses the control switch (not shown, see Para. 0046 and 0074) is one of a manual push-button switch, a remote control switch (including those described in paragraph [0025]), or a voice-activated switch.
Regrading claim 14. SHIMA further discloses the control switch is further configured to activate only the second LEDs in the second lighting zone (see Para. 0078).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view Hsieh et al. (US 12,467,611 hereinafter refer as “Hsieh”).
Regrading claims 4 and 11. Lu further discloses an outer housing (1, see Fig. 1, Para. 0122) including a lamp cover (see Fig. 1).
However, Lu is silent with respect to the outer housing including a lamp base, wherein the lamp base is provided with a receiving chamber for accommodating the LED panel, and the lamp cover is coupled with the lamp base to enclose the receiving chamber, the LED panel, and the light diffusion plate.
Hsieh teaches lighting module (200) that includes a lamp housing structure (310 and 230, see Figs. 2 and 3) including a lamp cover (230) and a lamp base (310), wherein the lamp base is provided with a receiving chamber for accommodating an LED panel (210), and the lamp cover is coupled with the lamp base to enclose the receiving chamber, the LED panel, and a light diffusion plate (220, see Figs. 2 and 3, see Col. 4; lines 51-67).
Therefore, in view of Hsieh, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lu by incorporating the lamp base disclosed by Hsieh for the purpose of effectively enclosing the LED panel and the light diffusion plate as suggested by Hsieh, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, providing a lamp base configured to accommodate the LED panel and the light diffusion plate would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application.
Regrading claims 5 and 12. Lu further discloses the lamp cover (1, see Fig. 1, Para. 0122) includes a peripheral sidewall, the sidewall being transparent or semi-transparent (i.e. the lamp cover is used for homogenizing and mixing the emitted light, preventing the light from being too glaring). Lu further discloses diffusers are typically made from materials like frosted glass or plastic, which scatter light as it passes through (see Para. 0017).
However, Lu is silent with respect to the central region of the lamp cover being frosted.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lu by forming the central region of the lamp cover to be frosted in order to scatter light as it passes through, since it has been held by the courts that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, forming the central region of the lamp cover to be frosted would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application.
Regrading claims 6 and 13. The teachings of Lu have been discussed above.
However, Lu is silent with respect to the lamp housing is installable on a ceiling fan.
Hsieh further teaches lighting module (200) is installable on a ceiling fan (see Figs. 1 and 2, Col. 4; lines 41-67).
Therefore, in view of Hsieh, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lu by incorporating a lamp housing configured to be installable in a fan, as disclosed by Hsieh in order to provide a ceiling fan lamp, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, incorporating the lamp housing configure for installation in a fan would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Xu et al. (US 12,276,397) discloses an LED lamp includes a lamp holder provided with a mounting groove; an LED lamp panel mounted in the mounting groove and including a plurality of groups of light-emitting elements uniformly arranged in a plurality of sectors; Liang et al. (US 10,948,168) discloses a downlight apparatus includes a container housing, a light source module, and a lens module; and JUNG et al. (US 2017/0082262) discloses a lighting apparatus including: a base; a first light emitting device (LED) array disposed on the base; a second LED array disposed on the base; and an optical device disposed on the base, the optical device including: a first lens covering the first LED array; and a second lens covering the second LED array, wherein a first beam angle of the first lens is different from a second beam angle of the second lens.
/TSION TUMEBO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875