Response to Amendment
This Action is responsive to the Applicant’s Amendment/Remarks filed on 08/28/2026. In the Amendment, applicant amended claims 2, 7, 9 and 16. Claims 1, 8 and 15 are cancelled. As necessitated by the Amendment, Examiner hereby respectfully maintains double patenting rejection to claims 2-7, 9-14 and 16-21.
As to Arguments and Remarks filed in the Amendment, please see Examiner’s responses shown after Rejections - 35 U.S.C § 103.
Please note claims 2-7, 9-14 and 16-21 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 05/27/2026 and 08/28/2026 has been considered (see form-1449, MPEP 609).
Double Patenting
Claims 2-7, 9-14 and 16-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,610,080, and over claims 1-12 of Patent No. 11,971,933. Although the conflicting are not patentably distinct from each other because since the claims of the Patent No. 12,610,080 and 11,971,933 contains every element of the claims of the instant application, and as such, anticipate the claims of the instant application 19,240438. (See table below).
Instant Application claim 1
Patent No. xxx claim 1
A computer-implemented method for an expanded search, the method comprising:
analyzing, by a processor, semi-private data associated with a user, the semi-private data originating from a plurality of disparate data sources;
generating, based on the analysis, correlated metadata that defines a relationship between individual items of the semi-private data wherein the semi-private data comprises a first item of the semi-private data from a first data source and a second item of the semi-private data from a second data source, wherein the relationship is defined based on a common attribute shared between the first item and the second item, wherein the correlated metadata represents information not present in metadata originally associated with the individual items of the semi-private data;
storing the correlated metadata in a controlled access non-transient memory; receiving a search request from the user; in response to the search request, utilizing the correlated metadata to determine a primary response comprising first information directly responsive to the search request and an expanded response comprising second information contextually related to the search request, wherein the second information of the expanded response comprises information not explicitly requested in the search request; and
providing the primary response and the expanded response to the user.
A computer-implemented method for artificial intelligence (AI) assisted expanded search, the computer-implemented method comprising: analyzing relationships between disparate items of first semi-private data and first metadata associated with the disparate items, wherein the first semi-private data resides on a controlled access non-transient memory; generating the correlated metadata, the correlated metadata comprising data points that represent the relationships, wherein the data points are not present in the first metadata; storing the correlated metadata; receiving at a server, from a user, a user search request for searching the first semi-private data; determining, by a processor, a primary response that includes second semi-private data selected from the first semi-private data, wherein determining the primary response comprises: accessing the first metadata and the correlated metadata related to the user search request and the first semi-private data; and analyzing the first metadata and the correlated metadata to determine the primary response to the user search request; processing, by an AI search assistant, the second semi-private data to generate a feature based on the second semi-private data; generating, by the AI search assistant, a search query to an independent search engine based on the feature generated from the second semi-private data; receiving an independent result from the independent search engine; generating, by the AI search assistant, an expanded response, wherein generating the expanded response comprises: identifying, based on the data points within the correlated metadata, additional information within the first semi-private data that is inferred to be of interest based on the user search request; generating the expanded response by combining the independent result with the additional information; and returning the expanded response to the user.
Claims 1-10 of Patent No. 12,3610080 satisfies all the elements of claims 2-8 of the instant application, and as such, anticipates the claims of instant application.
Claims 1-10 of Patent No. 12,3610080 satisfies all the elements of claims 9-15 of the instant application, and as such, anticipates the claims of instant application.
Claims 11-20 of Patent No. 12,3610080 satisfies all the elements of claims 16-21 of the instant application, and as such, anticipates the claims of instant application.
Instant Application claim 1
Patent No. 11,971,933 claim 1
A computer-implemented method for an expanded search, the method comprising:
analyzing, by a processor, semi-private data associated with a user, the semi-private data originating from a plurality of disparate data sources;
generating, based on the analysis, correlated metadata that defines a relationship between individual items of the semi-private data wherein the semi-private data comprises a first item of the semi-private data from a first data source and a second item of the semi-private data from a second data source, wherein the relationship is defined based on a common attribute shared between the first item and the second item, wherein the correlated metadata represents information not present in metadata originally associated with the individual items of the semi-private data;
storing the correlated metadata in a controlled access non-transient memory; receiving a search request from the user; in response to the search request, utilizing the correlated metadata to determine a primary response comprising first information directly responsive to the search request and an expanded response comprising second information contextually related to the search request, wherein the second information of the expanded response comprises information not explicitly requested in the search request; and
providing the primary response and the expanded response to the user.
A method for assisted expanded search, comprising the steps of: receiving at a server, from a user, a user search request to access storing semi-private data, wherein the semi-private data resides on a controlled access non-transient memory, wherein the semi-private data is personal to the user, and wherein the semi-private data comprises a plurality of data items having related thereto, in the controlled access non-transient memory, semi-private metadata and semi-private correlated metadata, the semi-private correlated metadata automatically generated from interpreting other data, wherein the semi-private correlated metadata links the plurality of data items and includes additional information than in the semi-private metadata, and wherein the other data comprises the semi-private metadata; and servicing the user search request, wherein servicing the user search request comprises: accessing the semi-private metadata and the semi-private correlated metadata, wherein the semi-private metadata and the semi-private correlated metadata are personal to the user; analyzing, using a processor running instructions to implement at least one algorithm for a search engine, the semi-private metadata and the semi-private correlated metadata to determine a primary response to the user search request; analyzing, using a processor running instructions to implement at least one algorithm for an artificial intelligence (AI) search assistant, the semi-private metadata and the semi-private correlated metadata to determine an expanded response to the user search request; and providing, to the user, the primary response and the expanded response.
Claims 1-5 of Patent No. 11,971,933 satisfies all the elements of claims 2-8 of the instant application, and as such, anticipates the claims of instant application.
Claims 6-12 of Patent No. 11,971,933 satisfies all the elements of claims 9-15 of the instant application, and as such, anticipates the claims of instant application.
Claims 6-12 of Patent No. 11,971,933 satisfies all the elements of claims 16-21 of the instant application, and as such, anticipates the claims of instant application.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns, paragraphs, figures and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7, 9-14 and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aziz et al. (US PGPUB 2015/0154360, hereinafter Aziz), in view of Holman et al. (US PGPUB 2015/0106947, hereinafter Holman), and further in view of Pavlidis et al. (US PGPUB 2014/0369595, hereinafter Pavlidis).
As per as claim 2, Aziz discloses:
(Currently Amended) A computer-implemented method for an expanded search, the method
comprising:
analyzing, by a processor, semi-private data associated with a user, the semi-private data originating from a plurality of disparate data sources (Aziz, e.g., fig. 2, associating with texts description, [0060-0065], “... determine the portions of a centralized interface, if any, to which the care provider may transmit information for storage and access by other authorized individuals, while the access level of a care provider can determine the portions of the centralized interface... one or more other individuals (e.g., family members of a patient, friends, and/or other individuals associated with a patient) may be authorized to access the interface...”);
generating, based on the analysis, correlated metadata that defines relationships between individual items of the semi-private data, wherein the semi-private data comprises a first item of the semi-private data from a first data source and a second item of the semi-private data from a second data source, wherein the relationship is defined based on a common attribute shared between the first item and the second item, wherein the correlated metadata represents information not present in metadata originally associated with the individual items of the semi-private data (Aziz, e.g., [0013], “...a medical provider could provide updates to multiple family members of a patient and/or other associated care providers regarding a patient's health status, or a facility staff member could broadcast a reminder regarding an upcoming activity...” and [0060-0066], “…authorized individual can be queried, and the additional item of information can be stored in the centralized interface if the individual's input level is sufficient… [0071-0075], “…queried as to the care locations associated with a patient…editing/modifying/updating of care locations associated with the selected patient may include updating the care locations that the system has associated with the selected patient…searching for other care locations that are known to the system…”), (the examiner asserts updating/modify which is equivalent of information not present in metadata originally associated with individual);
storing the correlated metadata in a controlled access non-transient memory (Aziz, e.g., [0060-0064] and [0068], “...information for storage and access by other authorized individuals... information can be stored in the centralized interface ...”);
receiving a search request from the user (Aziz, e.g., [0065-0066], “…when information is inputted into the interface, the information can also be simultaneously sent directly to one or more authorized parties, e.g., via a text/SMS message, e-mail, a hyperlink transmitted via text/SMS message or e-mail, voice message, a message via a mobile application, or a similar medium…directly from the transmitting party…”);
in response to the search request, utilizing the correlated metadata to determine a primary response comprising first information directly responsive to the search request and an expanded response comprising second information contextually related to the search request, (Aziz, e.g., [0040], [0063-0065], [0069] and [0085], “…queried, and the additional item of information… sent directly to one or more authorized parties, e.g., via a text/SMS message, e-mail, a hyperlink transmitted via text/SMS message or e-mail, voice message, a message via a mobile application, or a similar medium…directly from the transmitting party…”), wherein the second information of the expanded response comprises information not explicitly requested in the search request (Aziz, e.g., [0048-0050], “...add and/or modify information to the activity information (14) portion of the interface (10) (e.g., for access by others), and a sufficient access level to access (e.g., display) information contained within the activities information (14) portion of the interface...” and see [0074-0075], “...editing/modifying of care locations associated with the selected patient may include updating the care locations that the system has associated with the selected patient (416), deleting any care locations that the system has associated with the selected patient (416), searching for other care locations that are known to the system (418), and/or adding new care locations to the system (420). The authorized individual may then assign one or more of the known or new care locations to the selected patient...”); and
providing the primary response and the expanded response to the user (Aziz, e.g., [0040], [0066], [0071], “… transmitted via text/SMS message or e-mail, telephone/voice message, a message sent via a mobile application, or similar means) could be transmitted to one or more registered persons and/or other authorized individuals…”).
To make records clearer regarding to the language of “utilizing the correlated metadata to determine a primary response comprising first information” (although as stated above, Aziz functional disclose the features of correlated metadata to determine information (Aziz, e.g., [0040], [0063-0065], [0069] and [0085]).
However Holman, in an analogous art, discloses “utilizing the correlated metadata to determine a primary response comprising first information” (Holman, e.g., [0268-0270], [0311], “...privacy metadata correlated to an entity-associated privacy beacon receiving module may include one or more sub-logic... privacy metadata correlated to an entity-associated privacy beacon detected by the image capture device receiving...”. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art BEFORE the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Holman and Aziz to generating a valuation of the image, said valuation at least partly based on one or more of the privacy metadata and the representation of the feature of the entity in the image (Holman, e.g., [abstract]).
To further clarify the features of “wherein the semi-private data comprises a first item of the semi-private data from a first data source and a second item of the semi-private data from a second data source, wherein the relationship is defined based on a common attribute shared between the first item and the second item”
However Pavlidis, in an analogous art, discloses “wherein the semi-private data comprises a first item of the semi-private data from a first data source and a second item of the semi-private data from a second data source, wherein the relationship is defined based on a common attribute shared between the first item and the second item” (Pavlidis, e.g., [0046-0049], “…, the comparison metric sub-part compares the collected image and metadata information established in the query analysis sub-part to existing images stored in database…analysis to find the most similar facades in database 206 to the collected image …similar images collected from the database for comparison…uniqueness of color is often used as a descriptor for a region of an image. Other descriptors include shapes, motion, and texture. The identified descriptors are utilized to correlate similar images…”). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art BEFORE the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Pavlidis, Holman and Aziz to identify similar attribute to correlate similar image for each region of the correlated stored image is matched against each region in the collected image (Pavlidis, e.g., [0049-0050]).
As per as claim 3, the combination of Holman and Aziz disclose:
(Previously Presented) The method of claim 2, wherein the plurality of disparate data sources comprises at least two selected from the group consisting of: an email service, a cloud file storage service, a social media service, and a collaboration service (Aziz, e.g., [0005], [0012-0013], “...email or text/SMS message, voice message, a communication via a mobile application, or other types of media...”).
As per as claim 4, the combination of Holman and Aziz disclose:
(Previously Presented) The method of claim 2, wherein analyzing the semi-private data comprises performing image recognition on image data within the semi-private data to extract one or more features used to generate the correlated metadata (Holman, e.g., [0260-0261], “... image analysis and data extraction module 932, which may perform analysis on the encrypted image...” and [0268-0270]).
As per as claim 5, the combination of Holman and Aziz disclose:
(Previously Presented) The method of claim 2, wherein generating the expanded response further comprises: formulating an independent inquiry for an independent search engine, the independent inquiry being based on the search request or the primary response (Aziz, e.g., fig. 2, associating with texts description, [0041], [0063-0065], [0074-0075], (allow user to search and access patient records/data);
acquiring an independent search result from the independent search engine; and
including the independent search result as part of the expanded response engine (Aziz, e.g., [0065-0066], “…when information is inputted into the interface, the information can also be simultaneously sent directly to one or more authorized parties, e.g., via a text/SMS message, e-mail, a hyperlink transmitted via text/SMS message or e-mail, voice message, a message via a mobile application, or a similar medium…directly from the transmitting party…”).
As per as claim 6, the combination of Holman and Aziz disclose:
(Previously Presented) The method of claim 5, wherein formulating the independent inquiry is based on a feature identified within the primary response engine (Aziz, e.g., [0065-0066], “…when information is inputted into the interface, the information can also be simultaneously sent directly to one or more authorized parties, e.g., via a text/SMS message, e-mail, a hyperlink transmitted via text/SMS message or e-mail, voice message, a message via a mobile application, or a similar medium…directly from the transmitting party…”).
As per as claim 7, the combination of Holman and Aziz disclose:
(Currently Amended) The method of claim 2, wherein the first item of the semi-private data comprises an image and the with a second item of the semi-private data comprises a calendar entry (Aziz, e.g., [006], [0011-0012], [0040], [0049], [0053], “...multiple activities/events (e.g., using calendar software), including, for example, an activity title, date, location, and other notes, and/or the health benefits of the activity... scheduled event (e.g., via e-mail, a text/SMS message, a voice message, a communication via a mobile application, or other types of media)” and [0064-0066], “…authorized individual can be queried, and the additional item of information can be stored in the centralized interface if the individual's input level is sufficient… [0071-0075], “…queried as to the care locations associated with a patient…editing/modifying of care locations associated with the selected patient may include updating the care locations that the system has associated with the selected patient…searching for other care locations that are known to the system…”), further see (Pavlidis, e.g., [0046-0049]).
Claims 9-14 are essentially the same as claims 2-7 except that they set forth the claimed invention as a system rather a method, respectively and correspondingly, therefore is rejected under the same reasons set forth in rejections of claims 2-8.
Claims 16-21 are essentially the same as claims 2-7 except that they set forth the claimed invention as a non-transitory computer readable medium rather a method, respectively and correspondingly, therefore is rejected under the same reasons set forth in rejections of claims 2-8.
Response to Arguments
The Examiner respectfully reminds applicant of the broadest reasonable interpretation standard (See MPEP 2111), "During examination, the claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow." In re American Academy of Science Tech Center, 367 F.3d 1359, 1369, 70 USPQ2d 1827, 1834 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (The USPTO uses a different standard for construing claims than that used by district courts; during examination the USPTO must give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation.) In Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 75 USPQ2d 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2005), the court further elaborated on the “broadest reasonable interpretation" standard and recognized that “The Patent and Trademark Office (“PTO") determines the scope of claims in patent applications not solely on the basis of the claim language, but upon giving claims their broadest reasonable construction." Thus, when interpreting claims, the courts have held that Examiners should (1) interpret claim terms as broadly as their terms reasonably allows and (2) interpret claim phrases as broadly as their construction reasonably allows.
Applicant’s arguments filed 08/28/2026 with respect to claims 2-7, 9-14 and 16-21 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by applicant's amendment to the claims. Applicant's newly amended features are taught implicitly, expressly, or impliedly by the prior art of record (See the new ground(s) of rejection set forth herein above).
Issue I: Regarding to obviousness type double patenting rejection to claims -7, 9-14 and 16-21 as being unpatentable over claim 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,361,080 and over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,971,933.
Response I: Applicant requests that the rejection be held in abeyance by the Examiner until otherwise allowable subject matter is indicated.
Issue II: Applicant argued on pages 7-8 (Remarks/Argument) regarding 103 rejections.
Response II: See above new ground rejection.
The Examiner respectfully submits that, with respect to the totally newly amended subject matter, the Examiner respectfully cited proper paragraphs from cited reference to reject the claim in responsive to the newly amended, please refer to the corresponding section of the office action.
Additional Art Considered
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the Applicants’ disclosure.
The following patents and papers are cited to further show the state of the art at the time of Applicants’ invention with respect to utilizing artificial intelligence to assist a user in searching and retrieving digital data which assisted expanded search can have a server, receiving from a user, a user search request to access semi-private data, and a controlled access non-transient memory storing at least the semi-private data and analyze semi-private metadata and semi-private correlated metadata related to the semi-private data to determine a primary response and an expanded response to the user search request.
a. Rhoads et al. (US PGPUB 2014/0080428, hereafter Rhoads); “Methods, Systems for content processing” discloses “ visual search capabilities, and determining appropriate actions responsive to different image inputs.”
Rhoad also teaches collection of similar images found in a repository of public images [fig. 22, para 50].
Rhoads further teaches image subject may be identified through its shape, color and texture. Image fingerprinting may be used to identify reference images having similar labels, and metadata associated with those other images [0169].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TUAN A PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2163