DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 02/05/2026 has been entered.
The rejection of claims 1-8 under 35 U.S.C 101 is withdrawn in view of the amendment and the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance
Claims 1, 8 and 14 are amended.
Claims 4 and 8 are cancelled.
Claims 1-3 and 5-7 are pending of which claims 1 and 5 are independent claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 02/05/2026 have been fully considered and they are persuasive. A new ground of rejection is made below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parla (Pub. No.: US 2025/0097237) in view of Kim et al. (Pub. No.: US 2021/0168169, hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 1: Parla teaches: A computer-implemented method for generating application programming interface (API) and application vulnerability mitigation policies, the method comprising:
generating, by the LLM and based on the received inputs, API and application vulnerability mitigation policies that include a policy and/or configuration file for at least one of an API gateway, a web application firewall, a next generation firewall, or intrusion prevention/detection systems (IPS/IDS) (Parla - [0089] Using the attack vectors 224, a policy and configuration generator 226 then generates a policy 228 for the prompt generator 230. Policy 228 directs the prompt generator 230 regarding the substance (e.g., the attack vectors 224) and style of the summary 232 to be created by the prompt generator 230. Policy 228 can include a comprehensive list of known attack vectors relevant to the system or software in consideration. This list could contain vulnerabilities, exploits, malware, and social engineering tactics. For each attack vector identified, policy 228 outlines which specific security measures and configurations are necessary to mitigate or prevent any associated attacks);
executing, by a feedback loop automation engine (FLAE), the API and application vulnerability mitigation policies against the code with the one or more vulnerability exploits to produce feedback data including at least one of policy errors, mitigation errors, or exploit- mitigation results; and updating, by the LLM, the API and application vulnerability mitigation policies based on the feedback data generated by the FLAE (Parla - [0093] FIG. 3 illustrates an example process for penetration testing for optimization of network security policies. [0099]: analyzing one or more cybersecurity threats that successfully penetrated the security service and generating the update of the policy used by the security management service 108 is performed using an LLM. The LLM can be made aware of a current policy used by the security service and prompted to analyze one or more cybersecurity threats to generate an update of the current policy. See also [0103] and [0119]).
Although Parla [0075] discloses the threat intelligence service 144 collects data from many devices and adds to it all the data collected by partners to analyze vectors of new attacks using LLM, Parla doesn’t explicitly teach a plurality of inputs including textual description of vulnerabilities, code with one or more vulnerability exploits, and meta-data, and code with one or more vulnerability exploits comprising computer-executable exploit code configured to exercise a known vulnerability of a target API or application. However, Kim discloses:
receiving, by a large language model (LLM), a plurality of inputs including textual description of vulnerabilities, code with one or more vulnerability exploits, and meta-data, and code with one or more vulnerability exploits comprising computer-executable exploit code configured to exercise a known vulnerability of a target API or application (Kim - [0048]: The collector 120 collects various information for generating and/or optimizing a rule. For example, the collector 120 may collect information on a device (e.g., a name, a manufacturer, an operating system, firmware, etc.), vulnerability information on the device (e.g., CVE information), exploit information, or the like);
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Parla with Kim so that LLM input data can be vulnerability information on the device, exploit information and meta-data. The modification would have allowed the system to increase usability and be more flexible.
Regarding claim 3: Parla teaches: wherein the meta-data comprises one or more of information regarding the API, technical infrastructure information, notation of error handling, notation of exceptions/error codes, or user-defined extra requirements (Parla - [0070]: The threat research service 112 may contain threat identification updates, also referred to as definition files and can store these definition files in the knowledgebase 136. A definition file may be a virus identity file that may include definitions of known or potential malicious code. The virus identity definition files may provide information that may identify malicious code within files, applications, or the like).
Regarding claims 5 and 7: Claims are directed to computer readable medium claims and do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claims 1 and 3. Therefore, claims 5 and 7 are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claims 1 and 3. Furthermore, Parla [0131] discloses a processor and memory on which stored a set of instructions.
Claims 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parla (Pub. No.: US 2025/0097237) in view of Kim et al. (Pub. No.: US 2021/0168169, hereinafter Kim) and Cameron et al. (Pub. No.: US 2025/0036777, hereinafter Cameron).
Regarding claims 2 and 6: Parla as modified doesn’t explicitly teach but Cameron discloses:
wherein the textual description of vulnerabilities comprises manually created and validated policies for vulnerabilities (CVEs) with their exploits and step-by-step guides on its reproduction (Cameron - [0061]: the information included in security vulnerability descriptions, the information included in the platform-specific policy, the one or more computing aspects, and the impact level measures, the system protection measures, or other information).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Parla and Kim with Cameron so that vulnerability description includes policies and many other information. The modification would have allowed the system to increase security.
Conclusion
/MENG LI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2437