Detailed Action
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,397,430 B2 hereinafter Akiona 430. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim patentably indistinct inventions and the claimed invention and patent are commonly owned.
Regarding claim 1 Akiona 430 discloses:
19/240,618 clm 1
Akiona 430 clm 1
An apparatus, comprising: a base; a robotic arm operatively coupled to the base via a connector,
An apparatus, comprising: a base; a robotic arm operatively coupled to the base via a connector,
the robotic arm including a set of links interconnected by a set of joints,
the robotic arm including a set of links interconnected by a set of joints,
a first link from the set of links operatively coupled to the connector,
a first link from the set of links operatively coupled to the connector,
each joint from the set of joints including a brake from a set of brakes,
Each joint from the set of joints including a brake from a set of brakes,
the set of brakes including a first subset of brakes and a second subset of brakes,
the set of brakes including a first subset of brakes and a second subset of brakes,
each brake from the set of brakes configured to be enabled or disabled;
Each brake from the set of brakes configured to be enabled or disabled;
an end effector operatively coupled to the robotic arm via a second link from the set of links different from the first link;
an end effector operatively coupled to the robotic arm via a second link from the set of links different from the first link …
and a controller, communicably coupled to at least one of the base, the robotic arm, or the end effector,
and a controller, communicably coupled to at least one of the base, the robotic arm, or the end effector,
the controller configured to: cause the robotic arm to perform a task;
the controller configured to: cause the robotic arm to perform a task;
determine, during the task, that movement of the robotic arm is to be restricted;
determine, during the task, that movement of the robotic arm is to be restricted;
enable the first subset of brakes in response to determining that movement of the robotic arm is to be restricted;
enable the first subset of brakes in response to determining that movement of the robotic arm is to be restricted;
and disable the second subset of brakes in response to determining that movement of the robotic arm is to be restricted.
and disable the second subset of brakes in response to determining that movement of the robotic arm is to be restricted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Swarup et al. (US Pre-Granted Publication No. US 2017/0334067 A1 hereinafter “Swarup”).
Regarding claim 1 Swarup discloses:
An apparatus, comprising: a base; a robotic arm operatively coupled to the base via a connector, (Swarup [0041] [0047] wherein the surgical system includes arms, a base, and a table support with separate base) the robotic arm including a set of links interconnected by a set of joints, (Swarup [0066] wherein the robot arm includes multiple joints and links) a first link from the set of links operatively coupled to the connector, (Swarup [0035] fig. 2 element 221 wherein a first link connected to the base) each joint from the set of joints including a brake from a set of brakes, (Swarup [0077] wherein each joint includes brakes and motors to operate) the set of brakes including a first subset of brakes and a second subset of brakes, (Swarup [0077] [0081] [0082] [0084] [0086] wherein joints include their own independent brakes, allowing control of the robotic arm) each brake from the set of brakes configured to be enabled or disabled; (Swarup [0077] [0081] [0082] [0084] [0086] wherein the joints include brakes that are independently operated to stage the locking and unlocking of the robot arm) an end effector operatively coupled to the robotic arm via a second link from the set of links different from the first link; (Swarup [0081] [0038-0039] wherein second connectors couple the instrument to the robotic arm) and a controller, communicably coupled to at least one of the base, the robotic arm, or the end effector, (Swarup [0074] [0084] wherein a controller commands the robotic arm and is connected between the arm, table platform, and master controller) the controller configured to: cause the robotic arm to perform a task; (Swarup [0005] [0011] [0024] [0033] wherein the robotic arm is controlled to perform a medical procedure) determine, during the task, that movement of the robotic arm is to be restricted; (Swarup [0036] [0077] wherein the arms are changed or locked and held in place based on the procedure) enable the first subset of brakes in response to determining that movement of the robotic arm is to be restricted; (Swarup [0077] [0081] [0082] [0084] [0086] wherein the joints include brakes that are independently operated to stage the locking and unlocking of the robot arm i.e. a first joint break can be locked while others are becoming unlocked) and disable the second subset of brakes in response to determining that movement of the robotic arm is to be restricted. (Swarup [0077] [0081] [0082] [0084] [0086] wherein the joints include brakes that are independently operated to stage the locking and unlocking of the robot arm i.e. a first joint break can be locked while others are becoming unlocked).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2018/0079090 A1 discloses a robotic arm with a plurality of links and joints
KR 2010/0117708 A discloses an endoscope control device with arms, base, and tip for operation
US 2012/0088963 A1 discloses a distal robot arm with a ridged tool and base position attached to the surgical table
US 2018/0079090 A1 discloses a robot arm with multiple links and degrees of freedom to move a surgical instrument
US 2020/0253678 A1 discloses a robotic arm with a base and multiple joints to move the arm to desired poses
US 2023/0397961 A1 discloses a mobile robot arm with a support and base able to move to the location and then be secure in place
US 2024/0268906 A1 discloses a robot arm with a base mounted by a table
/KYLE T JOHNSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3656