DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 09/30/2025, in which claims 1-35 are pending and ready for examination.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted was filed before the mailing date of the Office Action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 8-12, 18-21, 26, and 32-25 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,047,583 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the reason indicated below.
Instant – 19/240,621
US Pat 12,047,583 B2
Claim 1 - A method of decoding a bitstream of encoded video data, the method comprising:
Claim 1 - A method of decoding video data, the method comprising:
determining that a current block of the video data is coded in a bi-prediction inter mode;
receiving a first syntax element identifying a candidate motion vector predictor from a first candidate list of candidate motion vector predictors;
determining that a current block of the video data is coded in a bi-prediction inter mode;
receiving a first syntax element, wherein the first syntax element comprises a flag with one of only two values, wherein a first value of the two values indicates that a first motion vector for a bi-predicted block is to be received in a bitstream of the video data and that a second motion vector for the bi-predicted block is to be received in the bitstream of the video data, and wherein a second value of the two values indicates that the first motion vector for the bi-predicted block is to be received in the bitstream of the video data and that the second motion vector for the bi-predicted block is determined without receiving explicit signaling in the bitstream of the video data;
determining whether a second syntax element identifying a motion vector difference is included in the bitstream of encoded video data based on a value of the first syntax element;
receiving a second syntax element identifying a motion vector predictor from a first candidate list of motion vector predictors; receiving a third syntax element identifying a motion vector difference;
determining a first motion vector for the current block based on the motion vector predictor candidate and the motion vector difference;
determining a first motion vector for the current block based on the motion vector predictor and the motion vector difference;
determining a second motion vector for the current block from a second list of candidate motion vector predictors based on bilateral matching; and
in response to the first syntax having the second value, determining a second motion vector for the current block from a second list of candidate motion vector predictors based on bilateral matching; and
determining a prediction block for the current block using the first motion vector and the second motion vector.
determining a prediction block for the current block using the first motion vector for the current block and the second motion vector for the current block.
Claim 8 - determining the second motion vector for the current block from the second list of candidate motion vector predictors based on the bilateral matching comprises:
Claim 2 - determining the second motion vector for the current block from the second list of candidate motion vector predictors based on the bilateral matching comprises:
locating a first reference block in a first reference picture using the first motion vector for the current block, wherein the first reference picture is from a first reference picture list;
locating a first reference block in a first reference picture using the first motion vector for the current block, wherein the first reference picture is from a first reference picture list;
for each of a plurality of candidates in the second list of candidate motion vector predictors, locating a second reference block in a second reference picture using a respective motion vector of the respective candidate, wherein the second reference picture is from a second reference picture list; and
for each of a plurality of candidates in the second list of candidate motion vector predictors, locating a second reference block in a second reference picture using a respective motion vector of the respective candidate, wherein the second reference picture is from a second reference picture list; and
determining a bilateral matching error between the first reference block and the second reference block.
determining a bilateral matching error between the first reference block and the second reference block.
Claim 9 - determining the second motion vector for the current block from the second list of candidate motion vector predictors based on the bilateral matching comprises:
Claim 3 - determining the second motion vector for the current block from the second list of candidate motion vector predictors based on the bilateral matching comprises:
locating a first reference block in a first reference picture using the first motion vector for the current block;
locating a first reference block in a first reference picture using the first motion vector for the current block;
for each of a plurality of candidates in the second list of candidate motion vector predictors, determining a bilateral matching cost error between the first reference block and a second reference block located with a respective motion vector of each respective candidate;
for each of a plurality of candidates in the second list of candidate motion vector predictors, determining a bilateral matching cost error between the first reference block and a second reference block located with a respective motion vector of each respective candidate;
identifying a candidate from the plurality of candidates that has a minimum bilateral matching error; and
identifying a candidate from the plurality of candidates that has a minimum bilateral matching error; and
deriving the second motion vector for the current block from the motion vector of the candidate from the plurality of candidates that has the minimum bilateral matching error.
deriving the second motion vector for the current block from the motion vector of the candidate from the plurality of candidates that has the minimum bilateral matching error.
Claim 10 - deriving the second motion vector for the current block from the motion vector of the candidate from the plurality of candidates that has the minimum bilateral matching error comprises performing bilateral matching motion vector refinement.
Claim 4 - deriving the second motion vector for the current block from the motion vector of the candidate from the plurality of candidates that has the minimum bilateral matching error comprises performing bilateral matching motion vector refinement.
Claim 11 - performing the bilateral matching motion vector refinement comprises:identifying an initial second reference block using the motion vector of the candidate from the plurality of candidates that has the minimum bilateral matching error;
Claim 5 - performing the bilateral matching motion vector refinement comprises: identifying an initial second reference block using the motion vector of the candidate from the plurality of candidates that has the minimum bilateral matching error;
searching within a search range around the initial second reference block for a final second reference block that produces a lower bilateral matching error with respect to the first reference block than does the initial second reference block; and
searching within a search range around the initial second reference block for a final second reference block that produces a lower bilateral matching error with respect to the first reference block than does the initial second reference block; and
determining the second motion vector for the current block based on the final second reference block.
determining the second motion vector for the current block based on the final second reference block.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other, because claims 1, 8-11 of the instant application differs from claims 1-5 of US Pat 12,047,583 B2 in that the instant application recites a broader claim scope while the claims in US Pat 12,047,583 B2 recites additional features that encompasses the claim scope of the corresponding claims of instance application.
Claims 2-5, 7, 13-16, 22-25, and 27-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,047,583 B2 in view of Xu (US 20200186823 A1).
Regarding claim 2, the corresponding claims of US Pat 12,047,583 B2 discloses the limitation
shown in the table above.
But it does not disclose determining whether the second syntax element identifying the motion vector difference is included in the bitstream of encoded video data based on the value of the first syntax element comprises determining that the second syntax element is not included in the bitstream of encoded video data in response to value of the first syntax element not being equal to K, wherein K is an integer value corresponding to an index of a second candidate in the first list of candidate motion vectors, wherein the second candidate is different than the candidate.
However, Xu teaches determining whether the second syntax element identifying the motion vector difference is included in the bitstream of encoded video data based on the value of the first syntax element comprises determining that the second syntax element is not included in the bitstream of encoded video data in response to value of the first syntax element not being equal to K, wherein K is an integer value corresponding to an index of a second candidate in the first list of candidate motion vectors, wherein the second candidate is different than the candidate (Xu; Para. [0151], Fig. 8. A second syntax element is determined being not included in the bitstream in accordance with a first syntax element when a first syntax element is not equal to any integer K less than a threshold, wherein K corresponds to an index of a second candidate in a first list of motion vectors, being different from the candidate.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the video coding system of corresponding claims of US Pat 12,047,583 B2 to adapt a motion vector syntax element signaling scheme, by incorporating Xu’s teaching wherein motion vectors in the bi-directions are signaled and derived, for the motivation to obtain motion vectors based on MVD and MVP (Xu; Abstract.).
Regarding claim 3, the modification further teaches determining the first motion vector for the current block based on the motion vector predictor and the motion vector difference comprises setting a value of the motion vector difference equal to zero in response to determining that the second syntax element is not included in the bitstream of encoded video data (Xu; Para. [0151], Fig. 8. For a MVD being not included in a bitstream, a motion vector is determined without using the MVD, i.e. being set to zero.).
Regarding claim 4, , the modification further teaches determining whether the second syntax element identifying the motion vector difference is included in the bitstream of encoded video data based on the value of the first syntax element comprises determining that the second syntax element is included in the bitstream of encoded video data in response to value of the first syntax element being equal to K, wherein K is an integer value corresponding to an index for the candidate in the first list of candidate motion vectors (Xu; Para. [0151], Fig. 8. A second syntax element is determined being included in the bitstream in accordance with a first syntax element when a first syntax element is not equal to any integer K greater than a threshold, wherein K corresponds to an index of a second candidate in a first list of motion vectors.).
Regarding claim 5, the modification further teaches receiving an instance of the second syntax element in the bitstream of encoded video data in response to determining that the second syntax element is included in the bitstream of encoded video data (Xu; Para. [0151], Fig. 8. An instance of a second syntax element is received for a second syntax being included in the bitstream.).
Regarding claim 7, the modification further teaches determining whether the second syntax element identifying the motion vector difference is included in the bitstream of encoded video data based on the value of the first syntax element comprises determining that the second syntax element is included in the bitstream of encoded video data in response to value of the first syntax element being equal to k, wherein k is integer value corresponding to an index for the candidate in the first list of candidate motion vectors (Xu; Para. [0151], Fig. 8. A second syntax element is determined being included in the bitstream in accordance with a first syntax element when a first syntax element is not equal to any integer K greater than a threshold, wherein K corresponds to an index of a second candidate in a first list of motion vectors.).
Claims 6, 17, and 31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,047,583 B2 in view of Xu (US 20200186823 A1), and further in view of Liu’2 (WO 2020221258 A1).
Regarding claim 6, the modification determining whether the second syntax element identifying the motion vector difference is included in the bitstream of encoded video data based on the value of the first syntax element (See the table regarding claim 1 above.).
But it does not specifically teach determining whether the second syntax element identifying the motion vector difference is included in the bitstream of encoded video data based on the value of the first syntax element comprises: determining a reference picture index associated with the first motion vector; and determining whether the second syntax element identifying the motion vector difference is included in the bitstream of encoded video data based on the reference picture index.
However, Liu’2 teaches determining whether the second syntax element identifying the motion vector difference is included in the bitstream of encoded video data based on the value of the first syntax element comprises: determining a reference picture index associated with the first motion vector; and determining whether the second syntax element identifying the motion vector difference is included in the bitstream of encoded video data based on the reference picture index (Liu’2; Para. [0077-78]. A second syntax element indicating the MVD is determined to be included in a bitstream in accordance with a reference picture index.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the video coding system of corresponding claims of US Pat 12,047,583 B2 to adapt a MVD mode scheme, by incorporating Liu’2’s teaching wherein MVD is enabled according to reference picture indexes, for the motivation to MVD coding (Liu’s; Abstract.).
Claims 17 is directed to a device for decoding a bitstream of encoded video data, the device comprising: a memory; and one or more processors implemented in circuitry and configured to perform a sequence of processing steps corresponding to the same as claimed in claim 6 , and is non-patentable over the prior art for the same reason as previously indicated.
Claim 31 is directed to a device for encoding video data, the device comprising: a memory configured to store the video data; and one or more processors implemented in circuitry and configured to perform a sequence of processing steps that are in reverse/reciprocal manner with the steps corresponding to the same as claimed in claim 6, and is non-patentable over the prior art for the same reason as previously indicated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-16, 18-30, and 32-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US Pub. 20190007699 A1) and further in view of Xu (US 20200186823 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses, in a first embodiment, a method of decoding a bitstream of encoded video data, the method comprising (Liu; Fig. 6, Para. [0119]. A video coding system/method are used.):
determining that a current block of the video data is coded in a bi-prediction inter mode (Liu; Para. [0119], Ln. 17-23. A current block of video data is determined to be coded in a bi-directional inter-prediction mode3.).
But Liu does not disclose, in the first embodiment, receiving a first syntax element identifying a candidate from a first list of candidate motion vector predictors; determining whether a second syntax element identifying a motion vector difference is included in the bitstream of encoded video data; determining a first motion vector for the current block based on the candidate and the motion vector difference; determining a second motion vector for the current block from a second list of candidate motion vector predictors based on bilateral matching; and determining a prediction block for the current block using the first motion vector and the second motion vector.
However, Liu teaches, in other embodiments, receiving a first syntax element identifying a candidate from a first list of candidate motion vector predictors (Liu; Para. [0122]. A first syntax element is used to indicate a MVP from a set of possible MVPs.);
determining whether a second syntax element identifying a motion vector difference is included in the bitstream of encoded video data (Liu; Para. [0122]. A second syntax element is determined in the bitstream, indicating an MVD.);
determining a first motion vector for the current block based on the candidate and the motion vector difference (Liu; Para. [0122]. A first motion vector for a current block is determined in accordance with a MVP and MVD, also see claims 9-10.);
determining a second motion vector for the current block from a second list of candidate motion vector predictors based on bilateral matching (Liu; Para. [0096, 97]. A second motion vector for a current block is determined from a set of candidates on a trajectory in accordance with bilateral matching.); and
determining a prediction block for the current block using the first motion vector and the second motion vector (Liu; Para. [0120]. For bi-directional inter coding, a prediction block is determined in accordance with a first motion vector and a second motion vector.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video coding system of Liu in a first embodiment to adapt a bi-directional inter prediction coding, by incorporating Liu’s teaching in other embodiments wherein motion vectors in the bi-directions are signaled and derived, for the motivation to obtain prediction block information from the preceding and subsequent frames for bi-directional coding (Liu; Abstract.).
But modified Liu does not teach determining whether a second syntax element identifying a motion vector difference is included in the bitstream of encoded video data based on a value of the first syntax element.
However, Xu teaches determining whether a second syntax element identifying a motion vector difference is included in the bitstream of encoded video data based on a value of the first syntax element (Xu; Para. [0151], Fig. 8. A second syntax element is determined being included in the bitstream in accordance with a first syntax element, wherein the second syntax element identifies a motion vector difference.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the video coding system of modified Liu to adapt a motion vector syntax element signaling scheme, by incorporating Xu’s teaching wherein motion vectors in the bi-directions are signaled and derived, for the motivation to obtain motion vectors based on MVD and MVP (Xu; Abstract.).
Regarding claim 2, modified Liu further teaches determining whether the second syntax element identifying the motion vector difference is included in the bitstream of encoded video data based on the value of the first syntax element comprises determining that the second syntax element is not included in the bitstream of encoded video data in response to value of the first syntax element not being equal to K, wherein K is an integer value corresponding to an index of a second candidate in the first list of candidate motion vectors, wherein the second candidate is different than the candidate (Xu; Para. [0151], Fig. 8. A second syntax element is determined being not included in the bitstream in accordance with a first syntax element when a first syntax element is not equal to any integer K less than a threshold, wherein K corresponds to an index of a second candidate in a first list of motion vectors, being different from the candidate.).
Regarding claim 3, modified Liu further teaches determining the first motion vector for the current block based on the motion vector predictor and the motion vector difference comprises setting a value of the motion vector difference equal to zero in response to determining that the second syntax element is not included in the bitstream of encoded video data (Xu; Para. [0151], Fig. 8. For a MVD being not included in a bitstream, a motion vector is determined without using the MVD, i.e. being set to zero.).
Regarding claim 4, modified Liu further teaches determining whether the second syntax element identifying the motion vector difference is included in the bitstream of encoded video data based on the value of the first syntax element comprises determining that the second syntax element is included in the bitstream of encoded video data in response to value of the first syntax element being equal to K, wherein K is an integer value corresponding to an index for the candidate in the first list of candidate motion vectors (Xu; Para. [0151], Fig. 8. A second syntax element is determined being included in the bitstream in accordance with a first syntax element when a first syntax element is not equal to any integer K greater than a threshold, wherein K corresponds to an index of a second candidate in a first list of motion vectors.).
Regarding claim 5, modified Liu further teaches receiving an instance of the second syntax element in the bitstream of encoded video data in response to determining that the second syntax element is included in the bitstream of encoded video data (Xu; Para. [0151], Fig. 8. An instance of a second syntax element is received for a second syntax being included in the bitstream.)..
Regarding claim 7, modified Liu further teaches determining whether the second syntax element identifying the motion vector difference is included in the bitstream of encoded video data based on the value of the first syntax element comprises determining that the second syntax element is included in the bitstream of encoded video data in response to value of the first syntax element being equal to k, wherein k is integer value corresponding to an index for the candidate in the first list of candidate motion vectors (Xu; Para. [0151], Fig. 8. A second syntax element is determined being included in the bitstream in accordance with a first syntax element when a first syntax element is not equal to any integer K greater than a threshold, wherein K corresponds to an index of a second candidate in a first list of motion vectors.).
Regarding claim 8, modified Liu further teaches determining the second motion vector for the current block from the second list of candidate motion vector predictors based on the bilateral matching comprises (Liu; Para. [0097]. A second motion vector from a set of candidates on a trajectory is determined in accordance with bilateral matching.):
locating a first reference block in a first reference picture using the first motion vector, wherein the first reference picture is from a first reference picture list (Liu; Para. [0095]. At least a first reference block in a first reference picture is determined using a first motion vector, wherein the first reference picture is from a first reference picture list.);
for each of a plurality of candidates in the second list of candidate motion vector predictors, locating a second reference block in a second reference picture using a respective motion vector of the respective candidate, wherein the second reference picture is from a second reference picture list (Liu; Para. [0095, 96]. At least a second reference block in a second reference picture is determined using a second motion vector, wherein the second reference picture is from a second reference picture list.); and
determining a bilateral matching error between the first reference block and the second reference block (Liu; Para. [0097]. A bilateral matching difference/error between a first reference block and a second reference block is determined.).
Regarding claim 9, modified Liu further teaches determining the second motion vector for the current block from the second list of candidate motion vector predictors based on the bilateral matching comprises (Liu; Para. [0097]. A second motion vector from a set of candidates on a trajectory is determined in accordance with bilateral matching.):
locating a first reference block in a first reference picture using the first motion vector for the current block (Liu; Para. [0095]. At least a first reference block in a first reference picture is determined using a first motion vector, wherein the first reference picture is from a first reference picture list.);
for each of a plurality of candidates in the second list of candidate motion vector predictors, determining a bilateral matching cost error between the first reference block and a second reference block located with a respective motion vector of each respective candidate (Liu; Para. [0095-97]. At least a second reference block in a second reference picture is determined using a second motion vector, wherein the second reference picture is from a second reference picture list, wherein a bilateral matching difference/error between a first reference block and a second reference block is determined.);
identifying a candidate from the plurality of candidates that has a minimum bilateral matching error (Liu; Para. [0095-97]. A candidate from a set of candidates on a trajectory is determined , having a minimum bilateral matching difference/error.); and
deriving the second motion vector from the motion vector of the candidate from the plurality of candidates that has the minimum bilateral matching error error (Liu; Para. [0095-97]. A second motion vector form a set of candidates is determined, having a minimum bilateral matching difference/error.).
Regarding claim 10, modified Liu further teaches deriving the second motion vector for the current block from the motion vector of the candidate from the plurality of candidates that has the minimum bilateral matching error comprises performing bilateral matching motion vector refinement. (Liu; Para. [0095-97, 102]. A second motion vector from a set of candidates is determined, having a minimum bilateral matching difference/error, by using bilateral matching MV refinement.).
Regarding claim 11, modified Liu further teaches performing the bilateral matching motion vector refinement comprises (Liu; Para. [00102]. A bilateral matching MV refinement is used.):
identifying an initial second reference block using the motion vector of the candidate from the plurality of candidates that has the minimum bilateral matching error (Liu; Para. [0079-81]. An initial second reference block is determined using a motion vector from a set of candidates, having a minimum bilateral matching difference/error.);
searching within a search range around the initial second reference block for a final second reference block that produces a lower bilateral matching error with respect to the first reference block than does the initial second reference block (Liu; Para. [0079-81]. A search window around an initial second reference block is searched to find a final block having a lower bilateral matching difference/error in accordance with a first reference block.); and
determining the second motion vector based on the final second reference block (Liu; Para. [0079-81]. A second motion vector is determined based on a final second reference block.).
Claims 12-21 are directed to a device for decoding a bitstream of encoded video data, the device comprising: a memory; and one or more processors implemented in circuitry and configured to perform a sequence of processing steps corresponding to the same as claimed in claims 1-11, and are non-patentable over the prior art for the same reason as previously indicated.
Regarding claim 22, modified Liu further teaches the device comprises a wireless communication device, further comprising a receiver configured to receive encoded video data (Liu; Para. [0127]. A video coding device includes a receiver for receiving coded video data.).
Regarding claim 23, modified Liu further teaches the wireless communication device comprises a telephone handset and wherein the receiver is configured to demodulate, according to a wireless communication standard, a signal comprising the encoded video data (Liu; Para. [0127]. A video coding device includes a receiver for receiving coded video data.).
Regarding claim 24, modified Liu further teaches a display configured to display decoded video data (Liu; Para. [0127]. A video coding device includes a display for displaying coded video data.).
Regarding claim 25, modified Liu further teaches the device comprises one or more of a camera, a computer, a mobile device, a broadcast receiver device, or a set-top box (Liu; Para. [0127]. A video coding device includes at least a receiver device.).
Claims 26-35 are directed to a device for encoding video data, the device comprising: a memory configured to store the video data; and one or more processors implemented in circuitry and configured to perform a sequence of processing steps that are in reverse/reciprocal manner with the steps corresponding to the same as claimed in claims 1-11, and are non-patentable over the prior art for the same reason as previously indicated.
Claims 6, 17, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US Pub. 20190007699 A1) and in view of Xu (US 20200186823 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu’2 (WO 2020221258 A1).
Regarding claim 6, modified Liu teaches determining whether the second syntax element identifying the motion vector difference is included in the bitstream of encoded video data based on the value of the first syntax element (See remarks regarding claim 1 above.).
But it does not specifically teach determining whether the second syntax element identifying the motion vector difference is included in the bitstream of encoded video data based on the value of the first syntax element comprises: determining a reference picture index associated with the first motion vector; and determining whether the second syntax element identifying the motion vector difference is included in the bitstream of encoded video data based on the reference picture index.
However, Liu’2 teaches determining whether the second syntax element identifying the motion vector difference is included in the bitstream of encoded video data based on the value of the first syntax element comprises: determining a reference picture index associated with the first motion vector; and determining whether the second syntax element identifying the motion vector difference is included in the bitstream of encoded video data based on the reference picture index (Liu’2; Para. [0077-78]. A second syntax element indicating the MVD is determined to be included in a bitstream in accordance with a reference picture index.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the video coding system of modified Liu to adapt a MVD mode scheme, by incorporating Liu’2’s teaching wherein MVD is enabled according to reference picture indexes, for the motivation to MVD coding (Liu’s; Abstract.).
Claims 17 is directed to a device for decoding a bitstream of encoded video data, the device comprising: a memory; and one or more processors implemented in circuitry and configured to perform a sequence of processing steps corresponding to the same as claimed in claim 6 , and is non-patentable over the prior art for the same reason as previously indicated.
Claim 31 is directed to a device for encoding video data, the device comprising: a memory configured to store the video data; and one or more processors implemented in circuitry and configured to perform a sequence of processing steps that are in reverse/reciprocal manner with the steps corresponding to the same as claimed in claim 6, and is non-patentable over the prior art for the same reason as previously indicated.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park (US Pub. 20210037238 A1) teaches a video coding system that derive motion information for performing inter-prediction.
Huang (WO 2023278964 A1) teaches a video coding system that performs adaptive bilateral matching for decoder side motion vector refinement.
Wang (US Pub. 20210314596 A1) teaches a video coding system that performs enhanced decoder side motion vector refinement.
/ALBERT KIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485