DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7-12, and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (DE 102020209152) in view of Wills et al. (US 2010/0024390), further in view of Miller et al. (US 2018/0071681).
In Reference to Claim 1
(See Zhang, Figure 1)
Zhang discloses:
A system comprising:
a hydrogen internal combustion engine (10) configured to produce exhaust (See Zhang, Paragraph [0020]);
an aftertreatment system (100) in exhaust receiving communication with the hydrogen internal combustion engine (10), the aftertreatment system (100) comprising a catalyst member (110) (See Zhang, Paragraph [0021]);
a second sensor (120) coupled to the aftertreatment system (100) downstream of the catalyst member (110) (See Zhang, Paragraph [0022]); and
a controller (150) (See Zhang, Paragraph [0026]) configured to:
determine a second nitrogen oxide value based on second sensor data received from the second sensor (120) (See Zhang, Paragraph [0035]),
compare the second nitrogen oxide reduction value to a threshold performance value (See Zhang, Paragraph [0036]);
upon determining that the nitrogen oxide reduction value does not exceed the threshold, cause the hydrogen internal combustion engine (10) to operate in a first engine operating mode in which the hydrogen internal combustion engine (10) outputs a first amount of hydrogen in the exhaust (See Zhang, Paragraphs [0024] w/respect to engine valve control to dose hydrogen and [0034] & [0036] w/respect to dosing value control based on sensor characteristic threshold), and
upon determining that the nitrogen oxide reduction value exceeds the threshold: cause the hydrogen internal combustion engine to operate in a second engine operating mode in which the hydrogen internal combustion engine outputs a second amount of hydrogen in the exhaust, the second amount greater than the first amount. (See Zhang, Paragraphs [0024] w/respect to engine valve control to dose hydrogen and [0034] & [0036] w/respect to dosing value control based on sensor characteristic threshold).
Zhang discloses the claimed invention except:
A first sensor coupled to the aftertreatment system upstream of the catalyst member; determine a first nitrogen oxide value based on the first sensor data received from the first sensor; determine a nitrogen oxide reduction value corresponding to the catalyst member by comparing the first nitrogen oxide value to the second nitrogen oxide value and control the reductant amount based upon the nitrogen oxide reduction value; and initiate a sulfur regeneration operation that comprises implementing an exhaust temperature command that increases a temperature of the exhaust.
Wills et al. (Wills) discloses an SCR control system. (See Wills, Abstract). Wills discloses determining, using a characteristic (NOx) from NOx sensors upstream and downstream of an SCR catalyst to determine a performance value (i.e.-conversion efficiency) and compare that performance value to a conversion efficiency threshold. (See Wills, Paragraphs [0015]-[0016] & [0070]-[0073]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a performance value (conversion efficiency) as compared to a performance value threshold reductant dosing control, as both references are directed towards exhaust gas SCR treatment control systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that using an SCR conversion efficiency would allow for accurate reductant dosing control and degradation determination. (See Wills, Paragraphs [0015]-[0016] & [0154]-[0155]).
Miller et al. (Miller) discloses an SCR emissions system. (See Miller, Abstract). Miller discloses initiating a sulfur regeneration operation that comprises implementing an exhaust temperature command that increases a temperature of the exhaust (See Zhang, Paragraph [0002] and See Miller, [0050]-[0052] w/respect to sulfur and temperature increase & Claims 1-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adjusted and controlled dosing according to sulfur, as both references are directed towards SCR emissions systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that estimating sulfur deposition and controlling the SCR system accordingly would maintain optimal working order, efficiency of emissions reduction and prevent failure due to deposition buildup. (See Miller, Paragraph [0006]).
The Examiner notes that the initiation of “a sulfur regeneration operation” is not tied to any prior determination or data and thus merely requires that a sulfur regeneration is performed (i.e.-temperature increase is initiated).
In Reference to Claim 5
(See Zhang, Figure 1)
The Zhang-Wills combination as modified by Miller discloses:
When the controller (150) causes the hydrogen internal combustion engine (10) to operate in the second engine operating mode, the controller (150) causes the hydrogen internal combustion engine (10) to: adjust a hydrogen fuel injection timing, and/or adjust a hydrogen fuel injection amount. (See Zhang, Paragraph [0024]).
In Reference to Claim 6
The Zhang-Wills combination as modified by Miller discloses:
further comprising:
a heater coupled to the aftertreatment system (100) upstream of the catalyst member (110) (See Zhang, Paragraph [0002]), wherein the controller (150) is further configured to cause the heater to increase a temperature of the exhaust gas in the aftertreatment system (100) when the nitrogen oxide reduction value exceeds the threshold.
Miller discloses using a heater upstream to increase temperature of the SCR catalyst when the conversion rate exceeds the threshold. (See Miller, Paragraph [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have increased the temperature of the SCR catalyst using the heater, as both references are directed towards SCR catalyst emissions systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that conversion rate (i.e.-conversion efficiency) is an indication of deposit buildup and heating the catalyst when the threshold is exceeded would reduce catalyst buildup and restore catalyst efficiency. (See Miller, Paragraph [0043]).
In Reference to Claim 7
(See Zhang, Figure 1)
The Zhang-Wills combination as modified by Miller discloses:
wherein:
the aftertreatment system (100) further comprises:
a conduit, and a dosing module (130) coupled to the conduit; and the controller (150) is further configured to cause the dosing module (130) to provide a target amount of reductant into the conduit when the nitrogen oxide reduction value exceeds the threshold, the target amount of the reductant based on at least one of a temperature of the exhaust or an amount of time available for providing the reductant. (See Zhang, Paragraphs [0034] & [0036] w/respect to dosing value control based on sensor characteristic threshold and Wills, Paragraphs [0147]-[0148]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a performance value (conversion efficiency) as compared to a performance value threshold reductant dosing control, as both references are directed towards exhaust gas SCR treatment control systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that using an SCR conversion efficiency would allow for accurate reductant dosing control and degradation determination. (See Wills, Paragraphs [0015]-[0016] & [0154]-[0155]).
In Reference to Claim 8
(See Zhang, Figure 1)
The Zhang-Wills combination as modified by Miller discloses:
the aftertreatment system further comprises: a conduit, and a dosing module (130); and the controller (150) is further configured to cause the dosing module (130) to provide a target amount of the hydrogen into the conduit when the nitrogen oxide reduction value exceeds the threshold, the target amount of the hydrogen based on at least one of a temperature of the exhaust or an amount of time available for providing the hydrogen. (See Zhang, Paragraphs [0034] & [0036] w/respect to dosing value control based on sensor characteristic threshold and Wills, Paragraphs [0147]-[0148]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a performance value (conversion efficiency) as compared to a performance value threshold reductant dosing control, as both references are directed towards exhaust gas SCR treatment control systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that using an SCR conversion efficiency would allow for accurate reductant dosing control and degradation determination. (See Wills, Paragraphs [0015]-[0016] & [0154]-[0155]).
In Reference to Claim 9
(See Zhang, Figure 1)
Zhang discloses:
A system comprising:
a hydrogen internal combustion engine (10) configured to produce exhaust (See Zhang, Paragraph [0020]);
an aftertreatment system (100) in exhaust receiving communication with the hydrogen internal combustion engine (10), the aftertreatment system (100) comprising a catalyst member (110) (See Zhang, Paragraph [0021]);
a sensor (120) coupled to the aftertreatment system (100) (See Zhang, Paragraph [0022]); and
a controller (150) (See Zhang, Paragraph [0026]) configured to:
receive, from the sensor (120), data corresponding to a characteristic of the aftertreatment system (100) (See Zhang, Paragraph [0035]),
compare the characteristic to a threshold performance value (See Zhang, Paragraph [0036]);
cause the hydrogen internal combustion engine (10) to operate in a first engine operating mode when the performance value does not exceed the threshold, the first engine operating mode causing the hydrogen internal combustion engine (10) to output a first amount of hydrogen in the exhaust (See Zhang, Paragraphs [0024] w/respect to engine valve control to dose hydrogen and [0034] & [0036] w/respect to dosing value control based on sensor characteristic threshold), and
cause the hydrogen internal combustion engine to operate in a second engine operating mode when the performance value exceeds the threshold, the second engine operating mode causing the hydrogen internal combustion engine to output a second amount of hydrogen in the exhaust, the second amount greater than the first amount. (See Zhang, Paragraphs [0024] w/respect to engine valve control to dose hydrogen and [0034] & [0036] w/respect to dosing value control based on sensor characteristic threshold).
Zhang discloses the claimed invention except:
determine, based on the sensor data, an ammonia associated with the aftertreatment system, compare the ammonia value to a threshold.
Wills et al. (Wills) discloses an SCR control system. (See Wills, Abstract). Wills discloses determining, using a characteristic (NOx) from NOx sensors upstream and downstream of an SCR catalyst to determine an ammonia value and compare that ammonia value to a threshold. (See Wills, Paragraphs [0015]-[0016] & [0106]-[0110]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used an ammonia value as compared to an ammonia threshold reductant dosing control, as both references are directed towards exhaust gas SCR treatment control systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that using an SCR ammonia amount would allow for accurate reductant dosing control and degradation determination. (See Wills, Paragraphs [0015]-[0016] & [0154]-[0155]).
Miller et al. (Miller) discloses an SCR emissions system. (See Miller, Abstract). Miller discloses initiating regeneration operation (i.e.-temperature increase) that comprises implementing an exhaust temperature command that increases a temperature of the exhaust (See Zhang, Paragraph [0002] and See Miller, Paragraphs [0027] & [0050]-[0052] w/respect to slip and temperature increase & Claims 1-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adjusted and controlled dosing according to sulfur, as both references are directed towards SCR emissions systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that determining ammonia slip and controlling the SCR system accordingly would maintain optimal working order, efficiency of emissions reduction and prevent failure due to deposition buildup. (See Miller, Paragraph [0006]).
The Examiner notes that the initiation of “an ammonia slip control operation” is not tied to any prior determination or data and thus merely requires that an ammonia slip control operation is performed and that it consists of a temperature increase.
In Reference to Claim 10
(See Zhang, Figure 1)
The Zhang-Wills combination as modified by Miller discloses:
Wherein the controller is further configured to determine the ammonia value by estimating an amount of ammonia stored by the catalyst member based on the sensor data, the sensor data comprising a first nitrogen oxide value measured upstream of the catalyst member and a second nitrogen oxide value measured downstream of the catalyst member, and a lookup table that correlates the first and second nitrogen oxide values to the ammonia value. (See Wills, Paragraphs [0116], [0119]-[0120]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used an ammonia value as compared to an ammonia threshold reductant dosing control, as both references are directed towards exhaust gas SCR treatment control systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that using an SCR ammonia amount would allow for accurate reductant dosing control and degradation determination. (See Wills, Paragraphs [0015]-[0016] & [0154]-[0155]).
In Reference to Claim 11
(See Zhang, Figure 1)
The Zhang-Wills combination as modified by Miller discloses:
wherein: the controller is further configured to: receive engine data regarding an operational characteristic of the hydrogen internal combustion engine, determine that an ammonia slip event is likely to occur based on at least one of: determining that the ammonia value exceeds the threshold, the ammonia value being based on the sensor data and the engine data, or determining that the operational characteristic of the hydrogen internal combustion engine exceeds an engine characteristic threshold, and cause the hydrogen internal combustion engine to operate in the second engine operating mode responsive to determining that the ammonia slip event is likely to occur. (See Wills, Paragraphs [0139]-[0141] & See Zhang, Paragraphs [0024] w/respect to engine valve control to dose hydrogen and [0034] & [0036] w/respect to dosing value control).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used an ammonia value as compared to an ammonia threshold reductant dosing control, as both references are directed towards exhaust gas SCR treatment control systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that using an SCR ammonia amount would allow for accurate reductant dosing control and degradation determination. (See Wills, Paragraphs [0015]-[0016] & [0154]-[0155]).
In Reference to Claim 12
(See Zhang, Figure 1)
The Zhang-Wills combination as modified by Miller discloses:
further comprising: a dosing module (130); wherein the controller (150) is further configured to generate a dosing command when the ammonia value exceeds the threshold, the dosing command causing the dosing module to change from a first dossing mode where the first amount of the hydrogen is provided into the exhaust to a second dosing mode where the second amount of the hydrogen is provided into the exhaust, the second amount greater than the first amount. (See Wills, Paragraphs [0139]-[0141] & See Zhang, Paragraphs [0034] & [0036] w/respect to dosing value control).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used an ammonia value as compared to an ammonia threshold reductant dosing control, as both references are directed towards exhaust gas SCR treatment control systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that using an SCR ammonia amount would allow for accurate reductant dosing control and degradation determination. (See Wills, Paragraphs [0015]-[0016] & [0154]-[0155]).
In Reference to Claim 21
(See Zhang, Figure 1)
The Zhang-Wills combination as modified by Miller discloses:
Wherein the exhaust temperature command causes the engine to heat the exhaust to a predetermined target temperature. (See Miller, Paragraph [0030]-[0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adjusted and controlled dosing according to sulfur, as both references are directed towards SCR emissions systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that estimating sulfur deposition and controlling the SCR system accordingly would maintain optimal working order, efficiency of emissions reduction and prevent failure due to deposition buildup. (See Miller, Paragraph [0006]).
In Reference to Claim 22
(See Zhang, Figure 1)
The Zhang-Wills combination as modified by Miller discloses:
Wherein the exhaust temperature command causes a heater coupled to the aftertreatment system to heat the exhaust to a predetermined target temperature. (See Miller, Paragraphs [0030]-[0043] & [0050]-[0052] w/respect to sulfur and temperature increase).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a heater, adjusted and controlled dosing according to sulfur, as both references are directed towards SCR emissions systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that estimating sulfur deposition and controlling the SCR system accordingly would maintain optimal working order, efficiency of emissions reduction and prevent failure due to deposition buildup. (See Miller, Paragraph [0006]).
In Reference to Claim 23
(See Zhang, Figure 1)
The Zhang-Wills combination as modified by Miller discloses:
Wherein the sulfur regeneration operation further comprises implementing a dosing amount command that causes a predefined amount of a reductant to be provided to the exhaust. (See Miller, Paragraphs [0050]-[0052] w/respect to sulfur and temperature increase).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adjusted and controlled dosing according to sulfur, as both references are directed towards SCR emissions systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that estimating sulfur deposition and controlling the SCR system accordingly would maintain optimal working order, efficiency of emissions reduction and prevent failure due to deposition buildup. (See Miller, Paragraph [0006]).
Claim(s) 13-15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (DE 102020209152) in view of Miller et al. (US 2018/0071681).
In Reference to Claim 13
(See Zhang, Figure 1)
Zhang discloses:
A method of regenerating a catalyst member of an aftertreatment system, the method comprising:
receiving, by a controller, vehicle data comprising at least one of a sulfur amount, a time duration, a number of miles, an exhaust temperature, a catalyst activity check, or a hydrogen amount (See Zhang, Paragraph [0007] w/respect to hydrogen)
upon determining that the sulfur amount does not exceed the threshold, causing a hydrogen internal combustion engine to operate in a first engine operating mode in which the hydrogen internal combustion engine outputs a first amount of hydrogen in the exhaust (See Zhang, Paragraphs [0024] w/respect to engine valve control to dose hydrogen and [0034]-[0036] w/respect to dosing value control based on sensor characteristic threshold); and
upon determining that the sulfur amount does exceed the threshold: causing the hydrogen internal combustion engine to operate in a second engine operating mode in which the hydrogen internal combustion engine outputs a second amount of the hydrogen, the second amount greater than the first amount. (See Zhang, Paragraphs [0024] w/respect to engine valve control to dose hydrogen and [0034]-[0036] w/respect to dosing value control based on sensor characteristic threshold).
Zhang discloses the claimed invention except:
estimating, by the controller, the sulfur amount on the catalyst member based on the vehicle data and comparing, by the controller, the sulfur amount to a threshold, and initiating a sulfur regeneration operation that comprises implementing an exhaust temperature command that increases a temperature of the exhaust.
Miller et al. (Miller) discloses an SCR emissions system. (See Miller, Abstract). Miller discloses estimating a sulfur amount based on vehicle data (e.g.-temperature and time) and comparing that data to a threshold amount. (See Miller, Paragraphs [0050]-[0052] w/respect to sulfur, temperature and dosing adaptation & Claims 1-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adjusted and controlled dosing according to sulfur, as both references are directed towards SCR emissions systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that estimating sulfur deposition and controlling the SCR system accordingly would maintain optimal working order, efficiency of emissions reduction and prevent failure due to deposition buildup. (See Miller, Paragraph [0006]).
The Examiner notes that the initiation of “a sulfur regeneration operation” is not tied to any prior determination or data and thus merely requires that a sulfur regeneration is performed (i.e.-temperature increase is initiated).
In Reference to Claim 14
(See Zhang, Figure 1)
The Zhang-Miller combination discloses:
causing, by the controller, a heater to increase a temperature of the exhaust in the aftertreatment system when the sulfur amount exceeds the threshold; wherein:
the heater is coupled to the aftertreatment system upstream of the catalyst member such that the temperature of the exhaust is greater than a temperature of the catalyst member. (See Zhang, Paragraph [0002] and See Miller, Paragraphs [0040] & [0050]-[0052] w/respect to sulfur and temperature increase).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adjusted and controlled dosing according to sulfur, as both references are directed towards SCR emissions systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that estimating sulfur deposition and controlling the SCR system accordingly would maintain optimal working order, efficiency of emissions reduction and prevent failure due to deposition buildup. (See Miller, Paragraph [0006]).
In Reference to Claim 15
(See Zhang, Figure 1)
The Zhang-Miller combination discloses:
Wherein the vehicle data further comprises a first nitrogen oxide value (140) corresponding to a first portion upstream of the catalyst member (110) and a second nitrogen oxide value (120) corresponding to a second position downstream of the catalyst member (110). (See Zhang, Paragraph [0022] & [0025]).
In Reference to Claim 17
(See Zhang, Figure 1)
The Zhang-Miller combination discloses:
further comprising causing, by the controller, a dosing module to provide a target amount of reductant into a conduit of the aftertreatment system when the sulfur amount exceeds the threshold, the target amount of the reductant based on at least one of a temperature of the exhaust or an amount of time available for providing the reductant. (See Miller, Paragraphs [0040] & [0050]-[0052] w/respect to sulfur and temperature increase and Paragraphs [0050]-[0052] w/respect to sulfur and dosing adaptation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adjusted and controlled dosing according to sulfur, as both references are directed towards SCR emissions systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that estimating sulfur deposition and controlling the SCR system accordingly would maintain optimal working order, efficiency of emissions reduction and prevent failure due to deposition buildup. (See Miller, Paragraph [0006]).
In Reference to Claim 18
(See Zhang, Figure 1)
The Zhang-Miller combination discloses:
further comprising causing, by the controller, a dosing module to provide a target amount of the hydrogen into a conduit of the aftertreatment system when the sulfur amount exceeds the threshold, the target amount of the hydrogen based on at least one of the exhaust temperature or an amount of time available for providing the hydrogen. (See Miller, Paragraphs [0040] & [0050]-[0052] w/respect to sulfur and temperature increase and Paragraphs [0050]-[0052] w/respect to sulfur and dosing adaptation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adjusted and controlled dosing according to sulfur, as both references are directed towards SCR emissions systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that estimating sulfur deposition and controlling the SCR system accordingly would maintain optimal working order, efficiency of emissions reduction and prevent failure due to deposition buildup. (See Miller, Paragraph [0006]).
The Examiner notes that hydrogen is the reductant in the Zhang-Miller combination.
In Reference to Claim 19
(See Zhang, Figure 1)
The Zhang-Miller combination discloses:
causing, by the controller (150), the hydrogen internal combustion engine to decrease a time period between a fuel injection and an ignition event when operating the hydrogen internal combustion engine in the second engine operating mode. (See Zhang, Paragraphs [0024] w/respect to engine valve control to dose hydrogen).
In Reference to Claim 20
(See Zhang, Figure 1)
The Zhang-Miller combination discloses:
causing, by the controller (150), the hydrogen internal combustion engine (10) to adjust an air-to-fuel ratio to be at or below or at or above 2.5, when operating the hydrogen internal combustion engine (10) in the second engine operating mode. (See Zhang, Paragraphs [0024] w/respect to engine valve control to dose hydrogen and [0034]-[0036] w/respect to dosing value control based on sensor characteristic threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adjusted an air-to-fuel ratio to at least 1 or less than 1 as one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that normal operation (stoichiometry = 1) and hydrogen dosing downstream or richer than stoichiometry operation would allow for downstream supply of hydrogen required for operation and emissions reduction in the second operating mode. (See Zhang, Paragraphs [0034]-[0036]).
The Examiner notes that the claimed air-to-fuel ratio value appears to be the lambda value output from an oxygen or AFR sensor and not a 1:1 or 2.5:1 air-to-fuel ratio.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (DE 102020209152) in view of Miller et al. (US 2018/0071681) further in view of Stenlaas (WO 2013/165302).
In Reference to Claim 16
The Zhang-Miller combination discloses the claimed invention except:
Determining, by the controller, the sulfur amount based on a difference between the first nitrogen oxide value and the second nitrogen oxide value.
Stenlaas (Sten) discloses an SCR emissions system. (See Sten, Abstract). Sten discloses determining a sulfur amount of the SCR catalyst using an upstream and downstream NOx sensor value. (See Sten, Page 7, Line 16 – Page 8, Line 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have determining sulfur amount based on a difference of the NOx sensors upstream and downstream, as both references are directed towards SCR emissions systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that determining sulfur based on NOx values would have been an accurate and effective indicator of sulfur deposition amount and poisoning to more accurately control the engine system and maintain emissions efficiency using existing sensors. (See Sten, Page 5, Lines 24-27).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 5-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW T LARGI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746