DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-23, 26-27 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by French Figure 5 (US 8,316,825).
Regarding claim 21, French Figure 5 discloses a fuel injector, comprising:
an upper housing portion (341) that defines an inlet passage adapted to receive fuel (The element has a central inlet passage capable of receiving fuel);
a lower housing portion (365) that defines a pintle- receiving cavity that is attached to the upper housing portion (Figure 5) and an injector outlet that is adapted to dispense fuel (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 2; The outlet is capable of dispensing fuel);
an electromagnetic coil assembly (315, 325);
a movable pintle (340) (Column 5, lines 43-56, the pintle has the same function as the pintle of embodiment 1) that is:
(i) located in the pintle-receiving cavity of the lower housing (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 2)
(ii) biased to a closed position that is adapted to prevent fuel from flowing through the injector outlet, and
(iii) movable, responsive to magnetic force produced by energizing the electromagnetic coil assembly, to an open position that is adapted to permit fuel to flow through the injector outlet (Column 5, lines 7-17); and
a guide (382) that is:
(i) adapted to guide the movable pintle within the pintle-receiving cavity (Figure 5), and
(ii) sized to be spaced apart from the movable pintle during pintle movement and provide a fluid bearing for the movable pintle during pintle movement (The guide is sized to perform the claimed function).
Examiner’s Annotated Figure 2
Regarding claim 22, French Figure 5 discloses the fuel injector of claim 21, wherein:
a direction in which the movable pintle is adapted to move between the closed position and the open position defines a pintle-movement axis (Column 4, lines 66-67); and
the guide (382) defines a first inner surface that is:
(i) curved about the pintle-movement axis, and
(ii) straight in directions parallel to the pintle-movement axis (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 2).
Regarding claim 23, French Figure 5 discloses the fuel injector of claim 22, wherein:
the guide defines a second inner surface that is:(i) curved about the pintle-movement axis, and (ii) straight in directions parallel to the pintle-movement axis (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 2, Second Inner Guide surface);
the first inner surface only partially surrounds the pintle-movement axis; and the second inner surface only partially surrounds the pintle-movement axis (The first and second inner guide surfaces only partially surround the length of the pintle movement axis).
Regarding claims 26-27, French Figure 5 discloses the fuel injector of claim 21, wherein:
a direction in which the movable pintle is adapted to move between the closed position and the open position defines a pintle-movement axis (The upward and downward movement of the pintle defines the pintle-movement axis); and the guide (382) defines a first inner surface (392) that:(i) is curved about the pintle-movement axis (Figure 5), but fails to disclose the surface has a length of at least 1mm along a direction aligned with the pintle- movement axis;
or as to claim 27, wherein the first inner surface has a length of at least 2.5mm along the direction aligned with the pintle-movement axis.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of French to have the surface having a length of at least 1 mm along the movement axis, or as to claim 27, wherein the first inner surface has a length of at least 2.5mm along the direction aligned with the pintle-movement axis, since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of French would not operate differently with the claimed lengths and the device would function appropriately having the claimed lengths. Further, it appears that applicant places no criticality on the range claimed.
Regarding claim 29, French Figure 5 discloses the fuel injector of claim 21, wherein the fuel injector comprises a valve seat (355) that provides an annular seating surface adapted to receive an end of the moveable pintle when the movable pintle is in the closed position (Figure 5, the valve seat is capable of performing the claimed function).
Regarding claim 30, French Figure 5 discloses the fuel injector of claim 29, wherein:
the guide and valve seat are provided by a unitary structure (Figure 5); and the unitary structure is a distinct from the lower housing portion (Figure 5).
Claim(s) 21, 29 and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by French Figure 3.
Regarding claim 21, French Figure 3 discloses a fuel injector, comprising:
an upper housing portion (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1) that defines an inlet passage (203) adapted to receive fuel (The inlet passage is capable of receiving fuel);
a lower housing portion (265) that defines a pintle- receiving cavity that is attached to the upper housing portion (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1, The pintle receiving cavity is attached by the needle sleeve 250) and an injector outlet that is adapted to dispense fuel (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1; The outlet is capable of dispensing fuel);
an electromagnetic coil assembly (215, 225);
a movable pintle (240) (Column 5, lines 43-56, the pintle has the same function as the pintle of embodiment 1) that is:
(i) located in the pintle-receiving cavity of the lower housing (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1)
(ii) biased to a closed position that is adapted to prevent fuel from flowing through the injector outlet, and(ii) movable, responsive to magnetic force produced by energizing the electromagnetic coil assembly, to an open position that is adapted to permit fuel to flow through the injector outlet (Column 5, lines 7-17); and
a guide (250) that is:(i) adapted to guide the movable pintle within the pintle-receiving cavity (Figure 3), and (ii) sized to be spaced apart from the movable pintle during pintle movement and provide a fluid bearing for the movable pintle during pintle movement (The guide is sized to perform the claimed function).
Regarding claim 29, French Figure 3 discloses the fuel injector of claim 21, wherein the fuel injector comprises a valve seat (255) that provides an annular seating surface adapted to receive an end of the moveable pintle when the movable pintle is in the closed position (Figure 3, the valve seat is capable of performing the claimed function).
Regarding claim 31, French Figure 3 discloses the fuel injector of claim 29, wherein an outer surface of the guide (250) defines a cylinder shape (Figure 3, The outer surface of the lower portion of the guide defines a cylinder shape); and the guide fits within the pintle-receiving cavity of the lower housing portion (Figure 3), with the outer surface of the guide contacting a surface of the lower housing portion that defines the pintle-receiving passage (Figure 3, The guide contacts the inner surface of the lower housing portion that defines the pintle-receiving passage).
Regarding claim 32, French Figure 3 discloses the fuel injector of claim 29, wherein an end of the moveable pintle is adapted to contact the valve seat at the annular seating surface of the valve seat (Figure 3, the end of the pintle is capable of performing the claimed function);
the end of the movable pintle has a convex shape (The end of the pintle is convex relative to the remainder of the pintle); and the annular seating surface defines a concave shape adapted to receive the end of the movable pintle (The seating surface is annularly concave and receives the pintle).
Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 28 and 33-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over French Figure 5.
Regarding claim 28, French Figure 5 discloses the fuel injector of claim 26, wherein the first inner surface is spaced apart from an outer surface of the pintle by a consistent distance (The surfaces are spaced by a consistent minimum distance), but fails to disclose the spacing being a result of the outer surface of the pintle also being curved about the pintle-movement axis.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the outer surface curved about the pintle-movement axis since it has been held that shape is a matter of choice which one of ordinary skill in the art would have found absent persuasive evidence that the shape is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 33, French Figure 5 discloses the fuel injector of claim 21, wherein:
the guide (382) is a lower guide adapted to guide a lower portion of the movable pintle within the pintle-receiving passage (Figure 5, The element is capable of performing the claimed function); and the fuel injector includes an upper guide (391) that is adapted to guide an upper portion of the movable pintle within the pintle-receiving passage (Figure 5, the element is capable of performing the claimed function), but fails to disclose that the upper guide is defined by the fuel injector.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the upper guide, integral with the fuel injector, and thus defined by the fuel injector, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has been formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1993).
Regarding claim 34, French Figure 5 discloses the fuel injector of claim 33, wherein:
the lower guide is provided by a component that is distinct from the lower housing portion (Figure 5); and
the upper guide (391) is provided by an integral portion of the lower housing portion (As modified).
Regarding claim 35, French Figure 5 discloses the fuel injector of claim 33, wherein:
a direction in which the movable pintle is adapted to move between the closed position and the open position defines a pintle-movement axis (The pintle moves up and down, which defines the pintle moving axis) ; and the upper guide comprises annular protrusion into the pintle-receiving passage (Figure 5, the element is a guide ring), an inner surface of the annular protrusion defining a convex shape that is curved about the pintle- movement axis (Figure 5).
Regarding claims 36 and 38, French Figure 5 discloses the fuel injector of claim 21, wherein:
a gap is present between the guide and the movable pintle (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1) to provide the fluid bearing using fuel received into the fuel injector through the inlet passage (Figure 5, the gap is present to ensure movement of the pintle), but fails to disclose that the gap is at least seven microns or at least twelve microns.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of French to have a gap of at least seven microns or at least twelve microns, since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of French would not operate differently with the claimed gap size and since the device is intended to have a gap, the device would function appropriately with the claimed gap size. Further, it appears that applicant places no criticality on the range claimed (specification, paragraph 85).
Regarding claim 37, French Figure 5 discloses the fuel injector of claim 36, wherein:
the guide surrounds the movable pintle (as best understood, Figure 5); and the gap is a circumferential gap between the guide and the movable pintle.
Claim(s) 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over French Figure 3 in view of French Figure 5.
Regarding claim 22, French Figure 3 discloses the fuel injector of claim 21, wherein:
a direction in which the movable pintle is adapted to move between the closed position and the open position defines a pintle-movement axis (Column 4, lines 66-67); and
the guide (250) defines a first inner surface that is straight in directions parallel to the pintle-movement axis (Figure 3, the inner surface is of guide 250 is straight about its interior), but fails to disclose :(i) the inner surface curved about the pintle-movement axis.
French figure 3 discloses the inclusion of protrusions that serve as a guide for the needle. French figure 5 discloses an alternative configuration wherein the guiding surface protrudes to provide guide the needle.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify French Figure 3 with the disclosures of French Figure 5, providing the protrusions (239) on the guide (250), as the configurations were known alternative structures before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and the modification would have yielded predictable results, including guiding the needle in a system where the location of the guide is not a critical element.
French Figure 3 in view of French Figure 5 further discloses the inner surface (of guide 250) curved about the pintle-movement axis (the protrusions curve in a downstream direction).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 24-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER R. DANDRIDGE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/CHRISTOPHER R DANDRIDGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752