DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claim(s) 1, 8-9, 14, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KU (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20200294470).
Regarding Claim 1, (Currently Amended)
KU teaches
a display system ([0099], FIG. 4, i.e. electronic apparatus 10), comprising:
a display ([0099], FIG. 4, i.e. display 430) comprising an emitter ([0060], FIG. 4, i.e. R pixel, G pixel and B pixel) for emitting light ([0060], FIG. 4, i.e. output brightness); and
a display controller ([0099], FIG. 4, i.e. processor 410) configured to apply an amount of color correction ([0007], FIG. 4, i.e. wavelength value of a color) to the display to adjust respective amounts of light ([0007], FIG. 4, i.e. output brightness value) of two or more wavelengths ([0062], FIG. 4, i.e. green … wavelength; [0063], FIG. 4, i.e. red … wavelength) emitted by the display, the amount of color correction applied to the emitter (i.e. please see above citation(s)) being determined by a color correction scaling factor ([0059], FIG. 2, i.e. ‘2-a’ shows a graph of the Bezold Brücke) that modifies ([0028], FIG. 2, i.e. changes a color parameter) a respective scale factor for each wavelength of the two or more wavelengths ([0062], FIG. 4, i.e. green … wavelength; [0063], FIG. 4, i.e. red … wavelength), the color correction scaling factor decreasing ([0062], FIG. FIG. 2 & 4, i.e. wavelength value of 550 nm as green; [0066], FIG. 2 & 4, i.e. green … wavelength value at 530 nm (decreasing in green wavelength from 550nm to 530 nm); and [0063], FIG. FIG. 2 & 4, i.e. wavelength of 625 nm as dark red; [0067], FIG. 2 & 4, i.e. red … wavelength value of 605 nm (decreasing in red wavelength from 625 nm to 605 nm)) with increased intensity of the light emitted by the emitter ([0062], FIG. FIG. 2 & 4, i.e. brightness value is 20 nit; [0066], FIG. 2 & 4, i.e. brightness value of 220 nit (increase in brightness from 20 nit to 220 nit for green); and [0063], FIG. FIG. 2 & 4, i.e. brightness value is 100 nit; [0067], FIG. 2 & 4, i.e. brightness value of 220 nit (increase in brightness from 100 nit to 220 nit for red)
[as seen from the summary table below: Increase in brightness, decrease in wavelength]).
Green color/wavelength
Red color/wavelength
[AltContent: rect]Brightness value (nit)
20
220
100
220
[AltContent: rect]Wavelength (nm)
550
530
625
605
Regarding Claim 8, (Original)
KU teaches
the display system of claim 1, wherein:
the display controller determines the amount of color correction (i.e. please see above citation(s)) to be applied to the emitter based on image data ([0006], FIG. 2 & 4, i.e. based on a difference between the obtained output brightness value and a reference output brightness value of the display) received by the display controller (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Regarding Claim 9, (Original)
KU teaches
the display system of claim 8, wherein:
the display controller further determines the amount of color correction to be applied to the emitter (i.e. please see above citation(s)) based on a brightness configuration setting ([0066], FIG. 2 & 4, i.e. electronic apparatus 10 may set the output brightness value) of the display system (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Regarding Claim 14, (Currently Amended)
KU teaches
a method ([0016], FIG. 4, i.e. method of controlling an electronic apparatus), comprising:
determining an amount of color correction ([0007], FIG. 4, i.e. wavelength value of a color) to apply to a display ([0099], FIG. 4, i.e. display 430) to adjust respective amounts of light ([0007], FIG. 4, i.e. output brightness value) of two or more wavelengths ([0062], FIG. 4, i.e. green … wavelength; [0063], FIG. 4, i.e. red … wavelength) emitted by the display, the amount of color correction (i.e. please see above citation(s)) being determined by a color correction scaling factor ([0059], FIG. 2, i.e. ‘2-a’ shows a graph of the Bezold Brücke) that modifies ([0028], FIG. 2, i.e. changes a color parameter) a respective scale factor for each wavelength of the two or more wavelengths ([0062], FIG. 4, i.e. green … wavelength; [0063], FIG. 4, i.e. red … wavelength), the color correction scaling factor decreasing ([0062], FIG. FIG. 2 & 4, i.e. wavelength value of 550 nm as green; [0066], FIG. 2 & 4, i.e. green … wavelength value at 530 nm (decreasing in green wavelength from 550nm to 530 nm); and [0063], FIG. FIG. 2 & 4, i.e. wavelength of 625 nm as dark red; [0067], FIG. 2 & 4, i.e. red … wavelength value of 605 nm (decreasing in red wavelength from 625 nm to 605 nm)) with increased intensity of the light emitted by an emitter ([0062], FIG. FIG. 2 & 4, i.e. brightness value is 20 nit; [0066], FIG. 2 & 4, i.e. brightness value of 220 nit (increase in brightness from 20 nit to 220 nit for green); and [0063], FIG. FIG. 2 & 4, i.e. brightness value is 100 nit; [0067], FIG. 2 & 4, i.e. brightness value of 220 nit (increase in brightness from 100 nit to 220 nit for red) [as seen from the summary table above: Increase in brightness, decrease in wavelength]) of the display (i.e. please see above citation(s)); and
applying ([0017], FIG. 4, i.e. changing the color parameter to decrease a wavelength value of a color) the amount of color correction to the display using the color correction scaling factor (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Regarding Claim 20, (Currently Amended)
KU teaches
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium ([0099], FIG. 4, i.e. memory 420), the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (i.e. please see above citation(s)) including instructions ([0006], FIG. 4, i.e. configured to store instructions) that when executed by at least one processor ([0099], FIG. 4, i.e. processor 410) of a display system ([0099], FIG. 4, i.e. electronic apparatus 10), cause the display system (i.e. please see above citation(s)) to perform operations comprising:
determining an amount of color correction ([0007], FIG. 4, i.e. wavelength value of a color) to apply to a display ([0099], FIG. 4, i.e. display 430) to adjust respective amounts of light ([0007], FIG. 4, i.e. output brightness value) of two or more wavelengths ([0062], FIG. 4, i.e. green … wavelength; [0063], FIG. 4, i.e. red … wavelength) emitted by the display, the amount of color correction (i.e. please see above citation(s)) being determined by a color correction scaling factor ([0059], FIG. 2, i.e. ‘2-a’ shows a graph of the Bezold Brücke) that modifies ([0028], FIG. 2, i.e. changes a color parameter) a respective scale factor for each wavelength of the two or more wavelengths ([0062], FIG. 4, i.e. green … wavelength; [0063], FIG. 4, i.e. red … wavelength), the color correction scaling factor decreasing ([0062], FIG. FIG. 2 & 4, i.e. wavelength value of 550 nm as green; [0066], FIG. 2 & 4, i.e. green … wavelength value at 530 nm (decreasing in green wavelength from 550nm to 530 nm); and [0063], FIG. FIG. 2 & 4, i.e. wavelength of 625 nm as dark red; [0067], FIG. 2 & 4, i.e. red … wavelength value of 605 nm (decreasing in red wavelength from 625 nm to 605 nm)) with increased intensity of the light emitted by an emitter ([0062], FIG. FIG. 2 & 4, i.e. brightness value is 20 nit; [0066], FIG. 2 & 4, i.e. brightness value of 220 nit (increase in brightness from 20 nit to 220 nit for green); and [0063], FIG. FIG. 2 & 4, i.e. brightness value is 100 nit; [0067], FIG. 2 & 4, i.e. brightness value of 220 nit (increase in brightness from 100 nit to 220 nit for red) [as seen from the summary table above: Increase in brightness, decrease in wavelength]) of the display (i.e. please see above citation(s)); and
applying ([0017], FIG. 4, i.e. changing the color parameter to decrease a wavelength value of a color) the amount of color correction to the display using the color correction scaling factor (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KU (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20200294470) in view of Yuyama (US Patent/PGPub. No. 6069676).
Regarding Claim 2, (Original)
KU teaches
the display system of claim 1.
However, KU does not explicitly teach
wherein:
applying the color correction to the display comprises increasing a magnitude of an electrical stimulus applied to the emitter.
In the same field of endeavor, Yuyama teaches
wherein:
applying the color correction to the display comprises increasing (i.e. please see above citation(s)) a magnitude (Col. 3, Ln. 45-54, FIG. 1, i.e. control circuit compares the level of the input signal with a reference voltage) of an electrical stimulus applied to (Col. 3, Ln. 45-54, FIG. 1, i.e. increasing the current flowing through the corresponding LED) the emitter (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine KU teaching a display system reducing wavelengths of colors when increasing in brightness with Yuyama teaching a display system increasing magnitude of voltage applied to color correction to effectively control quantity of light by controlling the magnitude of applied voltage (Yuyama’s Col. 3, Ln. 40-45).
4. Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KU (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20200294470) in view of Xin et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20240078961).
Regarding Claim 10, (Original)
KU teaches
the display system of claim 9.
However, KU does not explicitly teach
wherein:
the brightness configuration setting is determined at least in part based on an ambient light level in an environment of the display.
In the same field of endeavor, Xin et al. teach
wherein:
the brightness configuration setting (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is determined at least in part based on an ambient light level in an environment ([0111], FIG. 23, i.e. on ambient light conditions) of the display (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine KU teaching a display system determining wavelengths of colors when increasing in brightness with Xin et al. teaching a display system determining brightness setting including ambient brightness to correctly display luminance by considering ambient brightness (Xin et al.’s [0111]).
5. Claim(s) 13 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KU (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20200294470) in view of Olchovik (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20230120576).
Regarding Claim 13, (Original)
KU teaches
the display system of claim 1.
However, KU does not explicitly teach
wherein:
the amount of color correction applied to the display is based on a calibration process performed during manufacturing of the display.
In the same field of endeavor, Olchovik teaches
wherein:
the amount of color correction ([0007], FIG. 1, i.e. pixel-level demura) applied to the display ([0007], FIG. 1, i.e. OLED display) is based on a calibration process performed during manufacturing of the display ([0007], FIG. 1, i.e. correction value is applied during OLED display manufacture).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine KU teaching a display system determining wavelengths of colors when increasing in brightness with Olchovik teaching of display comprising color corrections at manufacturer to effectively increase luminance uniformity “out-of-the-box” (Olchovik’s [0007]).
Regarding Claim 18, (Original)
KU teaches
the method of claim 14.
However, KU does not explicitly teach
wherein:
applying the color correction to the display comprises increasing a magnitude of an electrical stimulus applied to the emitter.
In the same field of endeavor, Yuyama teaches
wherein:
applying the color correction to the display comprises increasing (i.e. please see above citation(s)) a magnitude (Col. 3, Ln. 45-54, FIG. 1, i.e. control circuit compares the level of the input signal with a reference voltage) of an electrical stimulus applied to (Col. 3, Ln. 45-54, FIG. 1, i.e. increasing the current flowing through the corresponding LED) the emitter (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine KU teaching a display method of reducing wavelengths of colors when increasing in brightness with Yuyama teaching a display method of increasing magnitude of voltage applied to color correction to effectively control quantity of light by controlling the magnitude of applied voltage (Yuyama’s Col. 3, Ln. 40-45).
Response to Argument/Amendment
6. Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim(s) 1, 14, and 21 has/have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the newly cited reference being used in the current rejection.
7. All dependent claims are properly rejected or objected as shown above.
8. Applicants’ Response to the Final Office Action, 05/28/2026, has been entered and made of record. Claim(s) 1, 14, and 20 is/are amended. Thus, Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending in this application.
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claim(s) 3-7, 11-12, 15-17, and 19 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
10. The reasons for allowance have been set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated 03/16/2026.
Conclusion
/VINH T LAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628