DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should Claim 37 be found allowable, Claim 38 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15, 17-19, and 24-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (US 2014 / 0062854) in view of Sasidharan et al. (hereinafter “Sasidharan” US 2016 / 0353386).
As pertaining to Claim 1, Cho discloses (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 11) a head-mounted display (HMD; see (100)), comprising:
one or more memories (i.e., implicit in (110); see Fig. 11) storing instructions (i.e., functional instructions; see Page 6, Para. [0066]); and
one or more processors (110) which, when executing the instructions (i.e., the functional instructions; again, see Page 6, Para. [0066]), causes the HMD (100) to:
perform display control to project (see Fig. 3), into a field of vision of a user, a setting screen (125; i.e., an interface screen) for enabling a predetermined mode (i.e., an arbitrary operational mode) of the HMD (100);
store (again, see (110) in Fig. 11), in the HMD (100), a value (i.e., any arbitrary value) indicating that the predetermined mode (i.e., the arbitrary operational mode) has been enabled or disabled (see (15) in Fig. 3), and
cause an external terminal (200) to display a screen (see (220)) indicating whether the predetermined mode (i.e., the arbitrary operational mode) has been enabled or disabled (see Page 3, Para. [0036]-[0039]; and note that the HMD (100) and the external terminal (200) display the same interface screen (125, 225) and respond correspondingly to enabling or disabling of interfacing functions by the user (15)).
Cho does not explicitly disclose that the setting screen (125, 225) is a setting screen for enabling a predetermined mode for suppressing a notification from one or more applications of the HMD.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sasidharan discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3, and Fig. 5A) an architecture in which an external terminal (220) is in communication with a wearable device (210), such as a HMD (see Page 2, Para. [0018]-[0019]), and the HMD (210) comprises one or more memories (see (320, 330, 340) in Fig. 3) storing instructions and one or more processors (320) for executing those instructions (see Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0023], [0025], and [0028]-[0030]), wherein a setting screen (see the right portion of Fig. 5A) is displayed for enabling a predetermined mode (i.e., a notification mode) for suppressing a notification from one or more applications (App1, App2, App3) of the HMD (210), and the HMD (210) stores a value indicating that the predetermined mode (i.e., the notification mode) has been enabled or disabled (see Page 5, Para. [0049]-[0055]). It is a goal of Sasidharan to provide a device communication architecture in which a wearable device, such as a HMD, and an external terminal are in paired communication such that applications executed by the wearable device and/or the external terminal can be easily managed in a way that also conserves power (see Page 1 through Page 2, Para. [0016]-[0019]). In this regard, Sasidharan suggests that the wearable device, such as a HMD, can perform the functions of a management device to provide the setting screens for application management and to store values indicating that predetermined modes have been enabled or disabled. (see Page 2, Para. [0022] and Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cho with the teachings of Sasidharan, such that the setting screen (125, 225), of Cho, is a setting screen for enabling a predetermined mode for suppressing a notification from one or more applications of the HMD, as suggested by Sasidharan, and that the HMD stores values indicating that the predetermined mode has been enabled or disabled, as suggested by both Cho and Sasidharan, in order to provide a means for easily managing the settings of applications executed by the HMD and/or external terminal in a way that also conserves power.
As pertaining to Claim 2, Cho discloses (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 11) that the HMD (100) is connectable to the Internet using a built-in module (see (150) in Fig. 11; and see Page 6, Para. [0065]; also see (240) in Fig. 2 of Sasidharan and Page 2, Para. [0021]).
As pertaining to Claim 3, Cho discloses (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 11) that the one or more applications receive the notification from the Internet (again, see (150) in Fig. 11; and see Page 6, Para. [0065]; also see (240) in Fig. 2 of Sasidharan and Page 2, Para. [0021]).
As pertaining to Claim 4, Cho discloses (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 11) that the screen (220) displayed at the external terminal (200) such that the setting screen (125, 220) allows the user to enable or disable the predetermined mode (i.e., the operational mode; again, see Page 3, Para. [0036]-[0039]).
As pertaining to Claim 5, the combined teachings of Cho and Sasidharan disclose (see Fig. 3 of Cho) that the instructions (i.e., the functional instructions) further cause the HMD (100) to project, in a case where the value indicating that the predetermined mode (i.e., the operational mode) has been enabled is not stored (i.e., the operational mode, such as the notification mode, is disabled; see Fig. 5A of Sasidharan for App2, for example), a visual (see Fig. 5A of Sasidharan in combination with Fig. 3 of Cho) regarding a notification from the one or more applications into the field of vision of the user when the HMD (100) is being worn by the user (again, see Page 3, Para. [0036]-[0039] of Cho; and note that the HMD (100) provides a visual interface (125) corresponding to a right portion of Fig. 5A of Sasidharan that is a visual regarding a notification from the one or more applications).
As pertaining to Claim 6, Cho discloses (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 11) that the notification from one or more applications is suppressed when the HMD (100) is not being worn by the user and is in unuse (i.e., it stands to reason that when the HMD (100) is powered off it cannot provide notifications).
As pertaining to Claim 7, Cho discloses (see Fig. 3) that the predetermined mode (i.e., the operational mode) is a mode for not projecting a visual regarding a notification from an application into the field of vision of the user when the HMD (100) is being worn by the user (see Fig. 3 of Cho in combination with Fig. 5A and Page 4, Para. [0036]-[0037] of Sasidharan).
As pertaining to Claim 8, Cho discloses (see Fig. 3) that the one or more applications are installed in the HMD (100; see Fig. 3 and Page 5 through Page 6, Para. [0059] and [0066] of Cho in combination with Page 5, Para. [0051] of Sasidharan).
As pertaining to Claim 9, Sasidharan discloses (see Fig. 5A) that the one or more applications include an application comprising a function for a voice call (see Page 4, Para. [0036]).
As pertaining to Claim 10, the combined teachings of Cho and Sasidharan disclose (see Fig. 5A of Sasidharan; and see Fig. 3 of Cho) that the setting screen (see Fig. 5A corresponding to (125, 225) of Cho) is further configured to enable a transfer setting for transferring the notification from the one or more applications to a paired device (see Page 2, Para. [0027] of Cho and Page 2, Para. [0017]-[0018] and Page 5, Para. [0052]-[0055] of Sasidharan; and note that the HMD and the external terminal are paired devices).
As pertaining to Claim 11, Sasidharan discloses (see Fig. 5A) that, in response to a notification being issued by one of the one or more applications (see (App1, App2, App3) in Fig. 5A) while the HMD is not being worn by the user or is in the predetermined mode (i.e., a notification enabled mode), the issued notification is transferred to the paired device (i.e., the HMD and/or the external terminal) based on the transfer setting (again, see Page 2, Para. [0027] of Cho and Page 2, Para. [0017]-[0018] and Page 5, Para. [0052]-[0055] of Sasidharan).
As pertaining to Claim 12, Cho discloses (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 11) that the screen (see (220)) displayed by the external terminal (200) is provided to the external terminal (200) by use of a web server in the HMD (see (150) in Fig. 11; and see Page 6, Para. [0065]; also see (240) in Fig. 2 of Sasidharan and Page 2, Para. [0021]).
As pertaining to Claim 13, the combined teachings of Cho and Sasidharan disclose (see Fig. 3 of Cho) that the notification from the one or more applications is projected into the field of vision of the user (see Fig. 3 of Cho) when the predetermined mode (i.e., the operational mode) has been disabled (see Fig. 5A of Sasidharan and note that the visual interface is projected into the field of vision of the user as shown in Fig. 3 of Cho; again, see Page 3, Para. [0036]-[0039] of Cho).
As pertaining to Claim 14, Sasidharan discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3, and Fig. 5A) that the suppressing of the notification includes not providing the notification to the user (see Page 5, Para. [0052]-[0055]).
As pertaining to Claim 15, Sasidharan discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3, and Fig. 5A) that the suppressing of the notification includes not projecting the notification to the user into the field of vision of the user (see Page 5, Para. [0052]-[0055]).
As pertaining to Claim 17, Cho discloses (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 11) a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (see (110) in Fig. 11) on which is stored a computer program (i.e., functional instructions; see Page 6, Para. [0066]) for causing a head-mounted display (HMD; see (100)) to execute a method, the method comprising:
projecting (see Fig. 3), into a field of vision of a user, a setting screen (125; i.e., an interface screen) for enabling a predetermined mode (i.e., an arbitrary operational mode) of the HMD (100);
storing (again, see (110) in Fig. 11), in the HMD (100), a value (i.e., any arbitrary value) indicating that the predetermined mode (i.e., the arbitrary operational mode) has been enabled or disabled (see (15) in Fig. 3), and
causing an external terminal (200) to display a screen (see (220)) indicating whether the predetermined mode (i.e., the arbitrary operational mode) has been enabled or disabled (see Page 3, Para. [0036]-[0039]; and note that the HMD (100) and the external terminal (200) display the same interface screen (125, 225) and respond correspondingly to enabling or disabling of interfacing functions by the user (15)).
Cho does not explicitly disclose that the setting screen (125, 225) is a setting screen for enabling a predetermined mode for suppressing a notification from one or more applications of the HMD.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sasidharan discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3, and Fig. 5A) an architecture in which an external terminal (220) is in communication with a wearable device (210), such as a HMD (see Page 2, Para. [0018]-[0019]), and the HMD (210) comprises one or more memories (see (320, 330, 340) in Fig. 3) storing instructions and one or more processors (320) for executing those instructions (see Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0023], [0025], and [0028]-[0030]), wherein a setting screen (see the right portion of Fig. 5A) is displayed for enabling a predetermined mode (i.e., a notification mode) for suppressing a notification from one or more applications (App1, App2, App3) of the HMD (210), and the HMD (210) stores a value indicating that the predetermined mode (i.e., the notification mode) has been enabled or disabled (see Page 5, Para. [0049]-[0055]). It is a goal of Sasidharan to provide a device communication architecture in which a wearable device, such as a HMD, and an external terminal are in paired communication such that applications executed by the wearable device and/or the external terminal can be easily managed in a way that also conserves power (see Page 1 through Page 2, Para. [0016]-[0019]). In this regard, Sasidharan suggests that the wearable device, such as a HMD, can perform the functions of a management device to provide the setting screens for application management and to store values indicating that predetermined modes have been enabled or disabled. (see Page 2, Para. [0022] and Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cho with the teachings of Sasidharan, such that the setting screen (125, 225), of Cho, is a setting screen for enabling a predetermined mode for suppressing a notification from one or more applications of the HMD, as suggested by Sasidharan, and that the HMD stores values indicating that the predetermined mode has been enabled or disabled, as suggested by both Cho and Sasidharan, in order to provide a means for easily managing the settings of applications executed by the HMD and/or external terminal in a way that also conserves power.
As pertaining to Claim 18, Cho discloses (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 11) that the screen (220) displayed at the external terminal (200) such that the setting screen (125, 220) allows the user to enable or disable the predetermined mode (i.e., the operational mode; again, see Page 3, Para. [0036]-[0039]).
As pertaining to Claim 19, the combined teachings of Cho and Sasidharan disclose (see Fig. 3 of Cho) projecting, in a case where the value indicating that the predetermined mode (i.e., the operational mode) has been enabled is not stored (i.e., the operational mode, such as the notification mode, is disabled; see Fig. 5A of Sasidharan for App2, for example), a visual (see Fig. 5A of Sasidharan in combination with Fig. 3 of Cho) regarding a notification from the one or more applications into the field of vision of the user when the HMD (100) is being worn by the user (again, see Page 3, Para. [0036]-[0039] of Cho; and note that the HMD (100) provides a visual interface (125) corresponding to a right portion of Fig. 5A of Sasidharan that is a visual regarding a notification from the one or more applications).
As pertaining to Claim 24, Cho discloses (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 11) a head-mounted display (HMD; see (100)), comprising:
one or more memories (i.e., implicit in (110); see Fig. 11) storing instructions (i.e., functional instructions; see Page 6, Para. [0066]); and
one or more processors (110) which, when executing the instructions (i.e., the functional instructions; again, see Page 6, Para. [0066]), causes the HMD (100) to:
project (see Fig. 3), into a field of vision of a user, a setting screen (125; i.e., an interface screen) related to a predetermined mode (i.e., an arbitrary operational mode) of the HMD (100), such that the setting screen (125) allows the user to enable or disable the predetermined mode (i.e., the arbitrary operational mode);
store (again, see (110) in Fig. 11), in the HMD (100), a value (i.e., any arbitrary value) indicating that the predetermined mode (i.e., the arbitrary operational mode) has been enabled or disabled (see (15) in Fig. 3), and
cause an external terminal (200) to display the setting screen (see (220); and see Page 3, Para. [0036]-[0039]; and note that the HMD (100) and the external terminal (200) display the same interface screen (125, 225) and respond correspondingly to enabling or disabling of interfacing functions by the user (15)).
Cho does not explicitly disclose that the setting screen (125, 225) is a setting screen for enabling a predetermined mode for suppressing a notification from one or more applications of the HMD.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sasidharan discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3, and Fig. 5A) an architecture in which an external terminal (220) is in communication with a wearable device (210), such as a HMD (see Page 2, Para. [0018]-[0019]), and the HMD (210) comprises one or more memories (see (320, 330, 340) in Fig. 3) storing instructions and one or more processors (320) for executing those instructions (see Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0023], [0025], and [0028]-[0030]), wherein a setting screen (see the right portion of Fig. 5A) is displayed for enabling a predetermined mode (i.e., a notification mode) for suppressing a notification from one or more applications (App1, App2, App3) of the HMD (210), and the HMD (210) stores a value indicating that the predetermined mode (i.e., the notification mode) has been enabled or disabled (see Page 5, Para. [0049]-[0055]). It is a goal of Sasidharan to provide a device communication architecture in which a wearable device, such as a HMD, and an external terminal are in paired communication such that applications executed by the wearable device and/or the external terminal can be easily managed in a way that also conserves power (see Page 1 through Page 2, Para. [0016]-[0019]). In this regard, Sasidharan suggests that the wearable device, such as a HMD, can perform the functions of a management device to provide the setting screens for application management and to store values indicating that predetermined modes have been enabled or disabled. (see Page 2, Para. [0022] and Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cho with the teachings of Sasidharan, such that the setting screen (125, 225), of Cho, is a setting screen for enabling a predetermined mode for suppressing a notification from one or more applications of the HMD, as suggested by Sasidharan, and that the HMD stores values indicating that the predetermined mode has been enabled or disabled, as suggested by both Cho and Sasidharan, in order to provide a means for easily managing the settings of applications executed by the HMD and/or external terminal in a way that also conserves power.
As pertaining to Claim 25, the combined teachings of Cho and Sasidharan disclose (see Fig. 3 of Cho) that, in the HMD (see (100) of Cho), the value indicating that the predetermined mode (i.e., the operational mode) has been enabled or disable is stored according to a setting (i.e., a user setting; see Fig. 5A of Sasidharan) made via at least one of the setting screen (see (125) of Cho corresponding to the right portion of Fig. 5A of Sasidharan) projected into the field of vision and the setting screen (see (225) of Cho corresponding to the right portion of Fig. 5A of Sasidharan) displayed at the external terminal (see (200) of Cho; again, see Page 3, Para. [0036]-[0039] of Cho; and note that the HMD (100) provides a visual interface (125) corresponding to a right portion of Fig. 5A of Sasidharan that is a visual regarding a notification from the one or more applications).
As pertaining to Claim 26, Cho discloses (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 11) that the screen (220) is displayed at the external terminal (200) such that the setting screen (125, 220) allows the user to enable or disable the predetermined mode (i.e., the operational mode; again, see Page 3, Para. [0036]-[0039]).
As pertaining to Claim 27, Cho discloses (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 11) that the HMD (100) is connectable to the Internet using a built-in module (see (150) in Fig. 11; and see Page 6, Para. [0065]; also see (240) in Fig. 2 of Sasidharan and Page 2, Para. [0021]).
As pertaining to Claim 28, Cho discloses (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 11) that the one or more applications receive the notification from the Internet (again, see (150) in Fig. 11; and see Page 6, Para. [0065]; also see (240) in Fig. 2 of Sasidharan and Page 2, Para. [0021]).
As pertaining to Claim 29, Cho discloses (see Fig. 3) that the one or more applications are installed in the HMD (100; see Fig. 3 and Page 5 through Page 6, Para. [0059] and [0066] of Cho in combination with Page 5, Para. [0051] of Sasidharan).
As pertaining to Claim 30, Sasidharan discloses (see Fig. 5A) that the one or more applications include an application comprising a function for a voice call (see Page 4, Para. [0036]).
As pertaining to Claim 31, the combined teachings of Cho and Sasidharan disclose (see Fig. 3 of Cho) that, in a case where the value indicating that the predetermined mode (i.e., the operational mode) has been enabled is not stored (i.e., the operational mode, such as the notification mode, is disabled; see Fig. 5A of Sasidharan for App2, for example), a visual (see Fig. 5A of Sasidharan in combination with Fig. 3 of Cho) regarding notification received from the one or more applications is projected into the field of vision of the user when the HMD (100) is being worn by the user (again, see Page 3, Para. [0036]-[0039] of Cho; and note that the HMD (100) provides a visual interface (125) corresponding to a right portion of Fig. 5A of Sasidharan that is a visual regarding a notification from the one or more applications).
As pertaining to Claim 32, Cho discloses (see Fig. 3) that the predetermined mode (i.e., the operational mode) is a mode for not projecting a visual regarding a notification from an application into the field of vision of the user when the HMD (100) is being worn by the user (see Fig. 3 of Cho in combination with Fig. 5A and Page 4, Para. [0036]-[0037] of Sasidharan).
As pertaining to Claim 33, the combined teachings of Cho and Sasidharan disclose (see Fig. 5A of Sasidharan; and see Fig. 3 of Cho) that the setting screen (see Fig. 5A corresponding to (125, 225) of Cho) is further configured to enable a transfer setting for transferring the notification from the one or more applications to a paired device (see Page 2, Para. [0027] of Cho and Page 2, Para. [0017]-[0018] and Page 5, Para. [0052]-[0055] of Sasidharan; and note that the HMD and the external terminal are paired devices).
As pertaining to Claim 34, Cho discloses (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 11) that the screen (see (220)) displayed by the external terminal (200) is provided to the external terminal (200) by use of a web server in the HMD (see (150) in Fig. 11; and see Page 6, Para. [0065]; also see (240) in Fig. 2 of Sasidharan and Page 2, Para. [0021]).
As pertaining to Claim 35, Cho discloses (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 11) a method for a head-mounted display (HMD; see (100); and see Page 6, Para. [0066]), the method comprising:
projecting (see Fig. 3), into a field of vision of a user, a setting screen (125; i.e., an interface screen) related to a predetermined mode (i.e., an arbitrary operational mode) of the HMD (100), such that the setting screen (125) allows the user to enable or disable the predetermined mode (i.e., the arbitrary operational mode);
storing (see (110) in Fig. 11), in the HMD (100), a value (i.e., any arbitrary value) indicating that the predetermined mode (i.e., the arbitrary operational mode) has been enabled or disabled (see (15) in Fig. 3), and
causing an external terminal (200) to display the setting screen (see (220); and see Page 3, Para. [0036]-[0039]; and note that the HMD (100) and the external terminal (200) display the same interface screen (125, 225) and respond correspondingly to enabling or disabling of interfacing functions by the user (15)).
Cho does not explicitly disclose that the setting screen (125, 225) is a setting screen for enabling a predetermined mode for suppressing a notification from one or more applications of the HMD.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sasidharan discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3, and Fig. 5A) an architecture in which an external terminal (220) is in communication with a wearable device (210), such as a HMD (see Page 2, Para. [0018]-[0019]), and the HMD (210) comprises one or more memories (see (320, 330, 340) in Fig. 3) storing instructions and one or more processors (320) for executing those instructions (see Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0023], [0025], and [0028]-[0030]), wherein a setting screen (see the right portion of Fig. 5A) is displayed for enabling a predetermined mode (i.e., a notification mode) for suppressing a notification from one or more applications (App1, App2, App3) of the HMD (210), and the HMD (210) stores a value indicating that the predetermined mode (i.e., the notification mode) has been enabled or disabled (see Page 5, Para. [0049]-[0055]). It is a goal of Sasidharan to provide a device communication architecture in which a wearable device, such as a HMD, and an external terminal are in paired communication such that applications executed by the wearable device and/or the external terminal can be easily managed in a way that also conserves power (see Page 1 through Page 2, Para. [0016]-[0019]). In this regard, Sasidharan suggests that the wearable device, such as a HMD, can perform the functions of a management device to provide the setting screens for application management and to store values indicating that predetermined modes have been enabled or disabled. (see Page 2, Para. [0022] and Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cho with the teachings of Sasidharan, such that the setting screen (125, 225), of Cho, is a setting screen for enabling a predetermined mode for suppressing a notification from one or more applications of the HMD, as suggested by Sasidharan, and that the HMD stores values indicating that the predetermined mode has been enabled or disabled, as suggested by both Cho and Sasidharan, in order to provide a means for easily managing the settings of applications executed by the HMD and/or external terminal in a way that also conserves power.
As pertaining to Claim 36, Cho discloses (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 11) a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (see (110) in Fig. 11) on which is stored a computer program (i.e., functional instructions; see Page 6, Para. [0066]) for making a head-mounted display (HMD; see (100)) execute a method, the method comprising:
projecting (see Fig. 3), into a field of vision of a user, a setting screen (125; i.e., an interface screen) related to a predetermined mode (i.e., an arbitrary operational mode) of the HMD (100), such that the setting screen (125) allows the user to enable or disable the predetermined mode (i.e., the arbitrary operational mode);
storing (see (110) in Fig. 11), in the HMD (100), a value (i.e., any arbitrary value) indicating that the predetermined mode (i.e., the arbitrary operational mode) has been enabled or disabled (see (15) in Fig. 3), and
causing an external terminal (200) to display the setting screen (see (220); and see Page 3, Para. [0036]-[0039]; and note that the HMD (100) and the external terminal (200) display the same interface screen (125, 225) and respond correspondingly to enabling or disabling of interfacing functions by the user (15)).
Cho does not explicitly disclose that the setting screen (125, 225) is a setting screen for enabling a predetermined mode for suppressing a notification from one or more applications of the HMD.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sasidharan discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3, and Fig. 5A) an architecture in which an external terminal (220) is in communication with a wearable device (210), such as a HMD (see Page 2, Para. [0018]-[0019]), and the HMD (210) comprises one or more memories (see (320, 330, 340) in Fig. 3) storing instructions and one or more processors (320) for executing those instructions (see Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0023], [0025], and [0028]-[0030]), wherein a setting screen (see the right portion of Fig. 5A) is displayed for enabling a predetermined mode (i.e., a notification mode) for suppressing a notification from one or more applications (App1, App2, App3) of the HMD (210), and the HMD (210) stores a value indicating that the predetermined mode (i.e., the notification mode) has been enabled or disabled (see Page 5, Para. [0049]-[0055]). It is a goal of Sasidharan to provide a device communication architecture in which a wearable device, such as a HMD, and an external terminal are in paired communication such that applications executed by the wearable device and/or the external terminal can be easily managed in a way that also conserves power (see Page 1 through Page 2, Para. [0016]-[0019]). In this regard, Sasidharan suggests that the wearable device, such as a HMD, can perform the functions of a management device to provide the setting screens for application management and to store values indicating that predetermined modes have been enabled or disabled. (see Page 2, Para. [0022] and Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cho with the teachings of Sasidharan, such that the setting screen (125, 225), of Cho, is a setting screen for enabling a predetermined mode for suppressing a notification from one or more applications of the HMD, as suggested by Sasidharan, and that the HMD stores values indicating that the predetermined mode has been enabled or disabled, as suggested by both Cho and Sasidharan, in order to provide a means for easily managing the settings of applications executed by the HMD and/or external terminal in a way that also conserves power.
As pertaining to Claim 37, Cho discloses (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 11) that the setting screen (220) is displayed at the external terminal (200) such that the setting screen (125, 220) allows the user to enable or disable the predetermined mode (i.e., the operational mode; again, see Page 3, Para. [0036]-[0039]).
As pertaining to Claim 38, Cho discloses (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 11) that the setting screen (220) is displayed at the external terminal (200) such that the setting screen (125, 220) allows the user to enable or disable the predetermined mode (i.e., the operational mode; again, see Page 3, Para. [0036]-[0039]).
As pertaining to Claim 39, Cho discloses (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 11) a glasses-type wearable information device (i.e., a HMD; see (100)), comprising:
one or more memories (i.e., implicit in (110); see Fig. 11) storing instructions (i.e., functional instructions; see Page 6, Para. [0066]); and
one or more processors (110) which, when executing the instructions (i.e., the functional instructions; again, see Page 6, Para. [0066]), cause the glasses-type wearable information device (100) to:
project (see Fig. 3), into a field of vision of a user, a setting screen (125; i.e., an interface screen) related to a predetermined mode (i.e., an arbitrary operational mode) of the glasses-type wearable information device (100), such that the setting screen (125) allows the user to enable or disable the predetermined mode (i.e., the arbitrary operational mode);
store (again, see (110) in Fig. 11), in the glasses-type wearable information device (100), a value (i.e., any arbitrary value) indicating that the predetermined mode (i.e., the arbitrary operational mode) has been enabled or disabled (see (15) in Fig. 3), and
cause an external terminal (200) to display the setting screen (see (220); and see Page 3, Para. [0036]-[0039]; and note that the glasses-type wearable information device (100) and the external terminal (200) display the same interface screen (125, 225) and respond correspondingly to enabling or disabling of interfacing functions by the user (15)).
Cho does not explicitly disclose that the setting screen (125, 225) is a setting screen for enabling a predetermined mode for suppressing a notification from one or more applications of the glasses-type wearable information device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sasidharan discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3, and Fig. 5A) an architecture in which an external terminal (220) is in communication with a wearable device (210), such as a glasses-type wearable information device (see Page 2, Para. [0018]-[0019]), and the glasses-type wearable information device (210) comprises one or more memories (see (320, 330, 340) in Fig. 3) storing instructions and one or more processors (320) for executing those instructions (see Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0023], [0025], and [0028]-[0030]), wherein a setting screen (see the right portion of Fig. 5A) is displayed for enabling a predetermined mode (i.e., a notification mode) for suppressing a notification from one or more applications (App1, App2, App3) of the glasses-type wearable information device (210), and the glasses-type wearable information device (210) stores a value indicating that the predetermined mode (i.e., the notification mode) has been enabled or disabled (see Page 5, Para. [0049]-[0055]). It is a goal of Sasidharan to provide a device communication architecture in which a wearable device, such as a glasses-type wearable information device, and an external terminal are in paired communication such that applications executed by the wearable device and/or the external terminal can be easily managed in a way that also conserves power (see Page 1 through Page 2, Para. [0016]-[0019]). In this regard, Sasidharan suggests that the wearable device, such as a HMD, can perform the functions of a management device to provide the setting screens for application management and to store values indicating that predetermined modes have been enabled or disabled. (see Page 2, Para. [0022] and Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cho with the teachings of Sasidharan, such that the setting screen (125, 225), of Cho, is a setting screen for enabling a predetermined mode for suppressing a notification from one or more applications of the glasses-type wearable information device, as suggested by Sasidharan, and that the glasses-type wearable information device stores values indicating that the predetermined mode has been enabled or disabled, as suggested by both Cho and Sasidharan, in order to provide a means for easily managing the settings of applications executed by the glasses-type wearable information device and/or external terminal in a way that also conserves power.
As pertaining to Claim 40, the combined teachings of Cho and Sasidharan disclose (see Fig. 3 of Cho) that, in the glasses-type wearable information device (see (100) of Cho), the value indicating that the predetermined mode (i.e., the operational mode) has been enabled or disable is stored according to a setting (i.e., a user setting; see Fig. 5A of Sasidharan) made via at least one of the setting screen (see (125) of Cho corresponding to the right portion of Fig. 5A of Sasidharan) projected into the field of vision and the setting screen (see (225) of Cho corresponding to the right portion of Fig. 5A of Sasidharan) displayed at the external terminal (see (200) of Cho; again, see Page 3, Para. [0036]-[0039] of Cho; and note that the glasses-type wearable information device (100) provides a visual interface (125) corresponding to a right portion of Fig. 5A of Sasidharan that is a visual regarding a notification from the one or more applications).
As pertaining to Claim 41, Cho discloses (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 11) that the setting screen (220) is displayed at the external terminal (200) such that the setting screen (125, 220) allows the user to enable or disable the predetermined mode (i.e., the operational mode; again, see Page 3, Para. [0036]-[0039]).
As pertaining to Claim 42, Cho discloses (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 11) that the glasses-type wearable information device (100) is connectable to the Internet using a built-in module (see (150) in Fig. 11; and see Page 6, Para. [0065]; also see (240) in Fig. 2 of Sasidharan and Page 2, Para. [0021]).
As pertaining to Claim 43, Cho discloses (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 11) that the one or more applications receive the notification from the Internet (again, see (150) in Fig. 11; and see Page 6, Para. [0065]; also see (240) in Fig. 2 of Sasidharan and Page 2, Para. [0021]).
As pertaining to Claim 44, Cho discloses (see Fig. 3) that the one or more applications are installed in the glasses-type wearable information device (100; see Fig. 3 and Page 5 through Page 6, Para. [0059] and [0066] of Cho in combination with Page 5, Para. [0051] of Sasidharan).
As pertaining to Claim 45, Cho discloses (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 11) a method for glasses-type wearable information device (i.e., a HMD; see (100); and see Page 6, Para. [0066]), the method comprising:
projecting (see Fig. 3), into a field of vision of a user, a setting screen (125; i.e., an interface screen) related to a predetermined mode (i.e., an arbitrary operational mode) of the glasses-type wearable information device (100), such that the setting screen (125) allows the user to enable or disable the predetermined mode (i.e., the arbitrary operational mode);
storing (see (110) in Fig. 11), in the glasses-type wearable information device (100), a value (i.e., any arbitrary value) indicating that the predetermined mode (i.e., the arbitrary operational mode) has been enabled or disabled (see (15) in Fig. 3), and
causing an external terminal (200) to display the setting screen (see (220); and see Page 3, Para. [0036]-[0039]; and note that the glasses-type wearable information device (100) and the external terminal (200) display the same interface screen (125, 225) and respond correspondingly to enabling or disabling of interfacing functions by the user (15)).
Cho does not explicitly disclose that the setting screen (125, 225) is a setting screen for enabling a predetermined mode for suppressing a notification from one or more applications of the glasses-type wearable information device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sasidharan discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3, and Fig. 5A) an architecture in which an external terminal (220) is in communication with a wearable device (210), such as a glasses-type wearable information device (see Page 2, Para. [0018]-[0019]), and the glasses-type wearable information device (210) comprises one or more memories (see (320, 330, 340) in Fig. 3) storing instructions and one or more processors (320) for executing those instructions (see Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0023], [0025], and [0028]-[0030]), wherein a setting screen (see the right portion of Fig. 5A) is displayed for enabling a predetermined mode (i.e., a notification mode) for suppressing a notification from one or more applications (App1, App2, App3) of the glasses-type wearable information device (210), and the glasses-type wearable information device (210) stores a value indicating that the predetermined mode (i.e., the notification mode) has been enabled or disabled (see Page 5, Para. [0049]-[0055]). It is a goal of Sasidharan to provide a device communication architecture in which a wearable device, such as a glasses-type wearable information device, and an external terminal are in paired communication such that applications executed by the wearable device and/or the external terminal can be easily managed in a way that also conserves power (see Page 1 through Page 2, Para. [0016]-[0019]). In this regard, Sasidharan suggests that the wearable device, such as a glasses-type wearable information device, can perform the functions of a management device to provide the setting screens for application management and to store values indicating that predetermined modes have been enabled or disabled. (see Page 2, Para. [0022] and Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cho with the teachings of Sasidharan, such that the setting screen (125, 225), of Cho, is a setting screen for enabling a predetermined mode for suppressing a notification from one or more applications of the glasses-type wearable information device, as suggested by Sasidharan, and that the HMD stores values indicating that the predetermined mode has been enabled or disabled, as suggested by both Cho and Sasidharan, in order to provide a means for easily managing the settings of applications executed by the HMD and/or external terminal in a way that also conserves power.
As pertaining to Claim 46, Cho discloses (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 11) a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (see (110) in Fig. 11) on which is stored a computer program (i.e., functional instructions; see Page 6, Para. [0066]) for making a glasses-type wearable information device (i.e., a HMD; see (100)) execute a method, the method comprising:
projecting (see Fig. 3), into a field of vision of a user, a setting screen (125; i.e., an interface screen) related to a predetermined mode (i.e., an arbitrary operational mode) of the glasses-type wearable information device (100), such that the setting screen (125) allows the user to enable or disable the predetermined mode (i.e., the arbitrary operational mode);
storing (see (110) in Fig. 11), in the glasses-type wearable information device (100), a value (i.e., any arbitrary value) indicating that the predetermined mode (i.e., the arbitrary operational mode) has been enabled or disabled (see (15) in Fig. 3), and
causing an external terminal (200) to display the setting screen (see (220); and see Page 3, Para. [0036]-[0039]; and note that the glasses-type wearable information device (100) and the external terminal (200) display the same interface screen (125, 225) and respond correspondingly to enabling or disabling of interfacing functions by the user (15)).
Cho does not explicitly disclose that the setting screen (125, 225) is a setting screen for enabling a predetermined mode for suppressing a notification from one or more applications of the glasses-type wearable information device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sasidharan discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3, and Fig. 5A) an architecture in which an external terminal (220) is in communication with a wearable device (210), such as a glasses-type wearable information device (see Page 2, Para. [0018]-[0019]), and the glasses-type wearable information device (210) comprises one or more memories (see (320, 330, 340) in Fig. 3) storing instructions and one or more processors (320) for executing those instructions (see Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0023], [0025], and [0028]-[0030]), wherein a setting screen (see the right portion of Fig. 5A) is displayed for enabling a predetermined mode (i.e., a notification mode) for suppressing a notification from one or more applications (App1, App2, App3) of the glasses-type wearable information device (210), and the glasses-type wearable information device (210) stores a value indicating that the predetermined mode (i.e., the notification mode) has been enabled or disabled (see Page 5, Para. [0049]-[0055]). It is a goal of Sasidharan to provide a device communication architecture in which a wearable device, such as a glasses-type wearable information device, and an external terminal are in paired communication such that applications executed by the wearable device and/or the external terminal can be easily managed in a way that also conserves power (see Page 1 through Page 2, Para. [0016]-[0019]). In this regard, Sasidharan suggests that the wearable device, such as a glasses-type wearable information device, can perform the functions of a management device to provide the setting screens for application management and to store values indicating that predetermined modes have been enabled or disabled. (see Page 2, Para. [0022] and Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cho with the teachings of Sasidharan, such that the setting screen (125, 225), of Cho, is a setting screen for enabling a predetermined mode for suppressing a notification from one or more applications of the glasses-type wearable information device, as suggested by Sasidharan, and that the HMD stores values indicating that the predetermined mode has been enabled or disabled, as suggested by both Cho and Sasidharan, in order to provide a means for easily managing the settings of applications executed by the HMD and/or external terminal in a way that also conserves power.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 10, and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,352,964. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of Claims 1, 10, and 11 of the instant application is entirely overlapped by the scope of Claims 1 and 5 of the cited U.S. Patent.
Claims 1, 10, and 11 of Instant Application
Claims 1 and 5 of U.S. 12,352,964
1. A head-mounted display (HMD), comprising:
one or more memories storing instructions; and
one or more processors which, when executing the instructions, causes the HMD to:
perform display control to project, into a field of vision of a user, a setting screen for enabling a predetermined mode for suppressing a notification from one or more applications of the HMD;
store, in the HMD, a value indicating that the predetermined mode has been enabled or disabled, and
cause an external terminal to display a screen indicating whether the predetermined mode has been enabled or disabled.
10. The HMD according to claim 1, wherein the setting screen is further configured to enable a transfer setting for transferring the notification from the one or more applications to a paired device.
11. The HMD according to claim 10, wherein, in response to a notification being issued by one of the one or more applications while the HMD is not being worn by the user or is in the predetermined mode, the issued notification is transferred to the paired device based on the transfer setting.
1. A glasses-type wearable information device connectable to the Internet using a built-in module, comprising:
at least one memory storing instructions; and
at least one processor executing the instructions causing the glasses-type wearable information device to:
perform display control to project, into a field of vision of a user via the glasses type wearable information device, a setting screen related to a predetermined mode for suppressing a notification from one or more applications of the glasses-type wearable information device;
wherein the setting screen is further configured to set a transfer setting for transferring the notification from the one or more applications to a paired device;
store setting values related to the predetermined mode and the a transfer setting in the glasses-type wearable information device;
provide the setting screen to an external terminal to perform setting on a display device of the external terminal
5. The glasses-type wearable information device according to claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the glasses-type wearable information device to, in response to a notification being issued by the application while the glasses-type wearable information device is not being worn by the user or in the predetermined mode, transfer the notification to the paired device according to the stored transfer setting.
The claimed “HMD” of Claims 1, 10, and 11 of the instant application is not patentably distinct from the “glasses-type wearable information device” of Claims 1 and 5 of the cited U.S. Patent.
Claim 17 is likewise rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,352,964. Again, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of Claim 17 of the instant application is entirely overlapped by the scope of Claim 7 of the cited U.S. Patent.
Claims 24, 27, and 33 are likewise rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,352,964. Again, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of Claims 24, 27, and 33 of the instant application is entirely overlapped by the scope of Claims 1 and 5 of the cited U.S. Patent.
Claim 35 is likewise rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,352,964. Again, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of Claim 35 of the instant application is entirely overlapped by the scope of Claim 6 of the cited U.S. Patent.
Claim 36 is likewise rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,352,964. Again, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of Claim 36 of the instant application is entirely overlapped by the scope of Claim 7 of the cited U.S. Patent.
Claims 39 and 42 are likewise rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,352,964. Again, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of Claims 39 and 42 of the instant application is entirely overlapped by the scope of Claim 1 of the cited U.S. Patent.
Claim 45 is likewise rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,352,964. Again, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of Claim 45 of the instant application is entirely overlapped by the scope of Claim 6 of the cited U.S. Patent.
Claim 46 is likewise rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,352,964. Again, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of Claim 46 of the instant application is entirely overlapped by the scope of Claim 1 of the cited U.S. Patent.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kaneko (US 11,852,810) corresponds to the reference JP-2022081342 submitted by the applicant via Information Disclosure Statement on 11 December 2025.
Yim et al. (US 2017 / 0289329) and Ryu et al. (US 2015 / 0341901) disclose at least one wearable device and at least one external terminal that are paired, and a processor that allows for notification settings in each device to be provided by a user.
/JASON M MANDEVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623