CLAIMS 1-21 ARE PRESENTED FOR EXAMINATION
Applicant’s amendment, remarks and Information Disclosure Statement filed April 16, 2026 have been received and entered into the application. As reflected by the attached, completed copies of form PTO/SB/08, the cited references have been considered by the Examiner. Also, the claims have been amended as directed by Applicant.
Claim Rejection - 35 USC § 112, (New Grounds)
Claims 13-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ),
second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the
subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA
35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Each of claims 13-18 and 20 recites a physiological result which either does not follow or
is lessened after the administration of minoxidil as per the method of claim 1. However, such a
result does not equate to a further limitation of the patient population, minoxidil dosage form or
the step of administration as recited in claim 1 and thus the supposed further limited metes and
bounds of the subject matter of these claims as compared to claim 1 would be unclear to one of
ordinary skill in the art.
For example, with respect to claim 13, the phrase "results in no tachycardia" makes
the claim indefinite because one of ordinary skill in the art could not reasonably determine the
metes and bounds of this limitation. Specifically, it is not clear how this limitation in claim 13
further limits claim 1 with respect to either the patient population, the dosage form, the dosage
amount, the method step of administration, or adds some of functional-descriptive limitation to
the claim.
The specification uses the term "tachycardia" on nine specific instances (see paragraphs
0031, 0033, 0034, 0151, 0153, 0369, 0372, 0466, and 0472). However, none of the appearances
of the limitation in claim 13 in the specification explains how a treatment method without
tachycardia is achieved.
"In some embodiments of the method described herein, administering results in
substantially no cardiac effects. In some embodiments, the cardiac effects are selected from
tachycardia, hypotension, premature ventricular contractions, and other tachyarrhythmias.
In some embodiments of the method described herein, administering results in hair
regrowth with substantially no clinically significant hemodynamic changes in blood pressure. In
some embodiments, administering results in hair regrowth with substantially no cardiac effects.
In some embodiments, the daily dose of minoxidil or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof
results in substantially no cardiac effects or hemodynamic effects as compared to administration
of an immediate-release oral minoxidil or a pharmaceutically".
The current Specification demonstrates a clinical trial using 5 mg that 1 patient
developed tachycardia, which appears contrary to claim 13's intended result of the functional
descriptive claim language.
Taken as a whole, it is still not clear how the disputed limitation of claim 16 further limits
claim 1, and is therefore indefinite.
The same rationale can be applied to the supposed limitations of claims 7-21 resulting in the same conclusion that one of ordinary skill in the art would be unable to reasonably ascertain the supposed further limiting metes and bounds of the claimed subject matter.
Accordingly, the claims are deemed properly rejected
Claim Rejection - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinha, (U.S. 2024/0474594) in view of Reynolds et al., each of record for the reasons of record as set forth in the previous Office action dated January 12, 2026, which reasons are here incorporated by reference.
Applicant’s remarks have been carefully considered, but fail to persuade the Examiner of error in his determination of obviousness.
In particular, Applicants have argued that the presently claimed subject matter would not have been obvious because claim 1 is not prima facie obvious at least because all elements of the claim are not taught or suggested in the prior art. More specifically, Applicant continues, the combination of Sinha and Reynolds does not teach or suggest alopecia areata as a type of hair loss that could be treated. However, at [0022], Sinha teaches that “other types of hair loss” may be treated than those specifically named and this would have clearly suggested at least alopecia areata to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Further argued by Applicant is that the references fail to teach “wherein the modified release formulation has a Cmax less than about 20 ng/ml" as required by claim 1.
The Examiner agrees that the specific pharmacokinetic characteristics as in present claim 1 are not taught or suggested in the prior art. However, such does not diminish the propriety of the present rejection because absent evidence to the contrary, the Examiner believes such characteristics to be necessarily present, i.e., inherent, in the prior art dosage form which meets each and every tangible limitation set forth for the dosage form in present claim 1. In particular, the dosage form of Sinha may be sustained release, oral and contain about 8.5 mg of minoxidil and specifically a “release aid”, ([0047]). Also, each and every tangible method limitation present in claim 1 is clearly taught by Sinha, i.e., the dosage form is orally administered to a human patient experiencing hair loss. It must therefore necessarily follow that whether taught or recognized in the prior art or not, the same release characteristics present in current claim 1 would also be present in the prior art. As per MPEP 2112 (III), “Where applicant claims a composition in terms of a function, property or characteristic and the composition of the prior art is the same as that of the claim but the function is not explicitly disclosed by the reference, the examiner may make a rejection under both 35 USC 102 and 103”. Also, there is no requirement that an inherent feature be recognized or otherwise disclosed in the art.
Applicant has also argued that as taught by Reynolds, there are numerous variables which can affect a drug’s release from HPMC, e.g., polymer level, molecular weight and solubility. However, given that the Sinha discloses an identical dosage form and method steps, it is immaterial that the release of a drug from HPMC can be varied as argued.
Finally, Applicant has argued that the release characteristics, and consequently the resulting pharmacokinetic parameters of claim 1 are not inherent in the prior art because they have shown that drug release rates cannot in fact necessarily be associated with only dosage amounts and dosage form.
This argument is not persuasive because dosage form and a dosage amount are the only two tangible requirements for the dosage form present in claim 1. While not expressly required by Applicant’s claim 1, it is noted that not only does Sinha teach a dosage form and dosage amount, but also that the dosage form may be sustained release in nature and may contain various excipient materials, including a release aid at paragraph [0047]. Applicant’s argument fails to take this teaching into consideration and thus does not persuade the Examiner of error in his determination.
For the above reasons, the claims are deemed to remain properly rejected.
Double Patenting
Provisional
Claims 1-20 remain provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20, (unless otherwise specified), of copending Application Nos. (reference applications). 19/094,703; 19/422,011; 19/413,834; 19/242,858; 19/404,931; 19/241,304; 19/230,051; 19/236,933; 19/235,535; 19/250,029; 19/324,046; 19/234,212; 19/329,476, (claims 1-19); 19/245,208; 19/303,300; 19/315,441; 19/215,216; 19/409,546; 19/414,251; or 19/397,854, each of record for the reasons of record as set forth in the previous Office action dated January 12, 2026, which reasons are here incorporated by reference.
Applicant’s remarks have been carefully considered, but fail to persuade the Examiner of error in his determination of provisional double-patenting.
In particular, Applicant has merely referenced the amendments to claim 1 and asks for reconsideration, (page 8 of Applicant’s remarks). This does not persuade the Examiner of error in his determination because the supposed errors in the Examiner’s determination, even with the newly added claim language, have not been specifically addressed by Applicant. The previous claims had a supposed limitation regarding the pharmacokinetic characteristics of the dosage form. The newly added language is similarly directed to such characteristics.
For the above reasons, the claims are deemed to remain properly rejected.
Non-Provisional
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-28 of U.S. Patent No. 12,268,688, (cited by Applicant) or (b) claims 1-20 of U.S. Application No. 19/094,703, (allowed and soon to be patented), each of record for the reasons of record as set forth in the previous Office action dated January 12, 2026, which reasons are here incorporated by reference.
Applicant’s remarks have been carefully considered, but fail to persuade the Examiner of error in his determination of provisional double-patenting.
In particular, Applicant has merely referenced the amendments to claim 1 and asks for reconsideration, (page 8 of Applicant’s remarks). This does not persuade the Examiner of error in his determination because the supposed errors in the Examiner’s determination, even with the newly added claim language, have not been specifically addressed by Applicant. The previous claims had a supposed limitation regarding the pharmacokinetic characteristics of the dosage form. The newly added language is similarly directed to such characteristics.
For the above reasons, the claims are deemed to remain properly rejected.
/RAYMOND J HENLEY III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1629
May 25, 2026