DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, and 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims (1, 8, 18), 2, 4, (6, 8, 19), (7, 8, 19), (8, 20), and 11, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12,329,693. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 1 of the instant application and claim 1, lines 1-24, and claim 8, lines 1-24, of the related patent each disclose a casket arrangement, comprising: a container having a bottom, first and second side walls, and first and second end walls forming an open top box having a length and width configured to receive a deceased human body in supine position, wherein the first and second side walls, first and second end walls and bottom are formed of biodegradable material; a rigid strip operably coupled to the first side wall and disposed between an interior of the container and at least a portion of the first side wall; and a strap handle having a first end portion, a second end portion, and an intermediate portion between the first end portion and the second end portion, the first end portion affixed to the rigid strip, the second end portion affixed to the rigid strip, and the intermediate portion extending from the first end portion through at least one opening in the first side wall, and extending from the second end portion through the at least one opening in the first side wall, such that the intermediate portion forms a flexible loop external to the container, the flexible loop sized to receive a human hand for use as a handle.
Claim 1 of the instant application also reads on claim 18, lines 1-4, and claim 12, lines 1-19, of the related patent
Claims 2, 4, 5, and 6 of the instant application clearly correspond to claims 2, 4, 6 and 7, respectively, of the related patent.
Claim 5 of the instant application also reads on claim 8, line 25, of the related patent.
Claim 5 of the instant application also reads on claim 19, lines 1-2, of the related patent.
Claim 6 of the instant application also reads on claim 8, lines 25-29, of the related patent.
Claim 6 of the instant application also reads on claim 19, lines 3-6, of the related patent.
Claim 7 of the instant application reads on claim 8, lines 30-32, of the related patent.
Claim 7 of the instant application clearly corresponds to claim 20 of the related patent.
Claim 8 of the instant application clearly corresponds to claim 11 of the related patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krinsky (US#2016/0367424).
Regarding claim 1, Krinsky discloses a casket arrangement 300 (Figs. 10-11), comprising: a container 304 having a bottom 226, first and second side walls 210, and first and second end walls 214 forming an open top box 200 having a length and width configured to receive a deceased human body in supine position, wherein the first and second side walls, first and second end walls and bottom are formed of biodegradable material (cardboard, [0034]); a rigid strip 234 operably coupled to the first side wall and disposed between an interior of the container and at least a portion of the first side wall ([0052], “…the reinforcement pieces 234 are made from other reinforcing materials, such as plastic, composite materials, and the like.”); and a strap handle 238 having a first end portion 240, a second end portion 240, and an intermediate portion between the first end portion and the second end portion, the first end portion affixed to the rigid strip at 236, the second end portion affixed to the rigid strip at 236, and the intermediate portion extending from the first end portion through at least one opening 224 in the first side wall, and extending from the second end portion through the at least one opening 224 in the first side wall, such that the intermediate portion forms a flexible loop external to the container, the flexible loop sized to receive a human hand for use as a handle.
Regarding claim 2, wherein: the at least one opening comprises a first opening 224 and a second opening spaced 224 apart from the first opening; the intermediate portion extends from the first end 240 portion through the first opening; and the intermediate portion extends from the second end portion 240 through the second opening (see Fig. 10B).
Regarding claim 4, wherein the strap handle 238 is formed of a biodegradable material ([0054], natural fibers).
Regarding claim 5, further comprising at least a first lid 302 covering the interior of the container.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krinsky (US#2016/0367424) in view of Davis et al. (US#2017/0281448).
Regarding claim 6, although Krinsky discloses its lid 302 is configured to mount to the container 304 such that the lid body extends above the container in a non-inverted position, its lid extends outside the perimeter of the open top box of the container as opposed to being configured to fit within the container in an inverted position. However, as evidenced by Davis, such a configuration is known in the casket art, see lid 106 which mounts to the container 102 such that the lid body extends above the container in a non-inverted position, and is configured to fit within the container in an inverted position when collapsed for shipping (Fig. 9 and [0047]). Therefore, as evidenced by Davis, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Krinsky by replacing its lid with a lid configured to fit within the container in an inverted position. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (See MPEP 2143 and KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)). The substitution of the lid configured to fit within the container in an inverted position would allow for the lid to be placed within the casket container in a collapsed state to facilitate compact shipping.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krinsky (US#2016/0367424) in view of Davis et al. (US#2017/0281448), as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Davis et al. (US#2011/0000059).
Regarding claim 7, although Krinsky discloses its lid 302 is configured to mount to the container 304 such that the lid body extends above the container in a non-inverted position, Krinsky fails to disclose wherein the first lid further comprises at least a first mounting tether configured to retain the first lid on the container in the non-inverted position. However, as evidenced by Davis ‘059, such a configuration is known in the casket art, see [0039] and Fig. 8c wherein lid 114 is configured to mount to the container 112 such that the lid body extends above the container in a non-inverted position, wherein the lid further comprises (i.e. directly cooperates with) a mounting tether 134 configured to retain the first lid on the container in the non-inverted position. Therefore, as evidenced by Davis ‘059, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Krinsky such the first lid further comprises (i.e. directly cooperates with) at least a first mounting tether configured to retain the first lid on the container in the non-inverted position. The rational for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is the proposed combination is based upon combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Moreover, all the claimed elements are known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yield nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143 and KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)). The inclusion of the tether would ensure securement between the lid and container.
Regarding claim 8, Krinsky discloses wherein the first lid 302 is formed of corrugated paper (i.e. cardboard, [0055]). Although Davis ‘059 fails to disclose the tether is formed from biodegradable materials, it would have been an obvious design consideration to one of ordinary skill int the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Krinsky, as modified above in claim 6, such that the tether was formed of a biodegradable material for environmental benefit as the selection of a known material based upon its suitability for the intended use is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, Krinsky discloses wherein the first end portion 240 is affixed to, and when the handle 238 is pulled outward has a surface directly contacting and thus laying on, the rigid strip 234 at the first location 236, and the second end portion 240 is affixed to, and when the handle 238 is pulled outward has a surface directly contacting and thus laying on, the rigid strip 234 at the second location 236 that is spaced apart from the first location (see Fig. 10B). However, these surfaces of the first and second end portions 240 which are capable of laying on the rigid strip at the first and second locations cannot lay flat on the rigid strip as the end portions are formed as rounded knots, see Fig. 10B.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
It is noted MacDonald (US#4041582) discloses in Fig. 2 a casket arrangement wherein a tether 26 is configured to retain the lid 14 on the container 11.
It is noted GB 2358857 cited by the applicant discloses in Fig. 5 a casket arrangement wherein a tether 39,41 is configured to retain the lid 13 on the container 11,15.
WILLIAM L. MILLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3677
/WILLIAM L MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3677