DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument on Pages 14-15 regarding the objection to the drawings has been fully considered. The objection to the drawings is withdrawn in view of the argument.
Applicant’s argument on Page 15 regarding the objection to the drawings has been fully considered. The objection to Claims 1, 5, 7, and 11 are withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Applicant’s argument on Page 16 regarding the rejection of Claim 4 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been fully considered. The rejection of Claim 4 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Applicant’s argument on Pages 16-18 regarding the rejection of Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Avendi in view of Krishnan has been fully considered but is not persuasive under new grounds of rejection as below.
Applicant’s argument on Pages 16-18 regarding the rejection of Claims 2-3 and 14-15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Avendi in view of Krishnan further in view of Miller has been fully considered but is not persuasive under new grounds of rejection as below.
Regarding the rejection of all remaining corresponding claims, applicant’s argument submitted on Page 19 relies on the supposed deficiencies with respect to the rejection of parent Claims 1 and 13. Applicant’s argument is moot for the same reasons detailed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10, 12-13, 15-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiran et al. (US 20210045716) in view of Peng (US 20200402226).
Regarding Claim 1, Shiran teaches a system communicatively coupled to an ultrasound imaging system, (Fig. 1 and [0019] “ultrasound system 100”), for processing ultrasound images captured by the ultrasound imaging system, (Claim 9 “an ultrasound system configured to acquire an ultrasound image”), the system comprising:
a) a processor ([0019] “signal processor 140”); and
b) a memory coupled to the processor and storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the system to perform operations, ([0060] “As used herein, for example, a particular processor and memory may comprise a first “circuit” when executing a first one or more lines of code and may comprise a second “circuit” when executing a second one or more lines of code.”), comprising:
i) receiving, from the ultrasound imaging system, a first ultrasound image of an anatomical structure of a musculoskeletal system captured by the ultrasound imaging system ([0019] “an exemplary ultrasound system 100 that is operable to facilitate interaction by an ultrasound operator with an artificial intelligence segmentation module 140 configured to identify and track biological […] structures in ultrasound images 200” and [0030] “The biological structures may include, for example, nerves, vessels, organ, tissue, or any suitable biological structures.”);
ii) identifying, using a machine learning model, a plurality of objects in the first ultrasound image, ([0019] “an exemplary ultrasound system 100 that is operable to facilitate interaction by an ultrasound operator with an artificial intelligence segmentation module 140 configured to identify and track biological and/or artificial structures in ultrasound images 200”), wherein the plurality of objects include one or more of: anatomical features of the anatomical structure, (Fig. 2 and [0034] “the ultrasound image 200 may comprise labels 212, 214, 222, 224 identifying structures 210, 220 identified and segmented by the artificial intelligence segmentation module 140.”), atypical features present in the anatomical structure that are indicative of musculoskeletal conditions, or instruments inserted into the anatomical structure as part of a musculoskeletal procedure ([0030] “The artificial structures may include, for example, a needle, an implantable device, or any suitable artificial structures.”);
iii) generating and providing, to the ultrasound imaging system, a user interface including the first ultrasound image and a visual indication of the plurality of objects displayed in association with a first location of each of the plurality of objects on the first ultrasound image, wherein the ultrasound imaging system displays the user interface (Figs. 1 and 2, [0038] “the artificial intelligence segmentation processor 140 may be configured to interact with a user via the user input device 130 to receive instructions for selecting or disregarding labeled structures 210, 220 to be tracked in subsequently acquired ultrasound images. The selection of a labeled structure 210, 220 identifies a target to track in subsequent ultrasound images,” [0041] “The display system 134 can be operable to present ultrasound images and/or any suitable information. For example, the ultrasound images presented at the display system 134 may include labels, tracking identifiers, and or any suitable information.”);
iv) receiving, from the ultrasound imaging system, an indication of a selection, via the displayed user interface, to place a visual lock on an object of interest, from the plurality of objects, to enable real-time tracking and visualization of the object of interest as the ultrasound imaging system is capturing one or more subsequent ultrasound images (Figs. 1 and 2, [0027] “Acquired ultrasound scan data may be processed in real-time during a scanning session as the echo signals are received,” and [0038] “the artificial intelligence segmentation processor 140 may be configured to interact with a user via the user input device 130 to receive instructions for selecting or disregarding labeled structures 210, 220 to be tracked in subsequently acquired ultrasound images. The selection of a labeled structure 210, 220 identifies a target to track in subsequent ultrasound images”); and
v) in response to receiving, from the ultrasound imaging system, a second ultrasound image captured by the ultrasound imaging system subsequent to the first ultrasound image, and based on the received indication of the selection to place the visual lock on the object of interest ([0038] “the artificial intelligence segmentation processor 140 may be configured to interact with a user via the user input device 130 to receive instructions for selecting or disregarding labeled structures 210, 220 to be tracked in subsequently acquired ultrasound images. The selection of a labeled structure 210, 220 identifies a target to track in subsequent ultrasound images”);
vi) determining a second location of the object of interest in the second ultrasound image (Figs. 3-4, [0040] “the artificial intelligence segmentation processor 140 may provide feedback 300 if a tracked target 230 is approaching an image boundary,” and [0051] “At step 412, the signal processor 132 of the ultrasound system 100 tracks the selected at least one target 210, 220, 230 by identifying the at least one selected target 210, 220, 230 in subsequent ultrasound images 200 acquired continuously.”); and
vii) generating and providing, to the ultrasound imaging system, an updated user interface including the second ultrasound image and an updated visual indication of at least the object of interest visually indicated displayed in association with the second location of the object of interest on the second ultrasound image, wherein the ultrasound imaging system displays the updated user interface (Fig. 3 and [0027] “Acquired ultrasound scan data may be processed in real-time during a scanning session as the echo signals are received.”).
However, Shiran does not explicitly teach musculoskeletal ultrasound images.
In an analogous image analysis field of endeavor, Peng teaches a system communicatively coupled to an ultrasound imaging system, for processing musculoskeletal ultrasound images captured by the ultrasound imaging system, (Fig. 1 and [0001] “The present invention relates to an image analysis method and system, of particular but by no means exclusive application in medical imaging, such as to diagnose and monitor diseases or conditions in (e.g. musculoskeletal) imaging. The region of interest may be a 2D region or 3D volume in such medical images. Possible medical imaging applications include […] Ultrasound […] imaging.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to modify the teachings of Shiran with the musculoskeletal images of Peng because early detection of musculoskeletal disease facilitates intervention that may reduce disease progression or minimize negative consequences (such as bone fractures), as taught by Peng in [0002]. Additionally, the modification enhances comfortability of the patient, as it allows a clinician to monitor or diagnose musculoskeletal diseases or condition without a biopsy, as taught by Peng in [0003].
Regarding Claim 3, the modified system of Shiran teaches all limitations of Claim 1, as discussed above. Furthermore, Shiran teaches wherein the machine learning model is a first machine learning model, ([0030] “The artificial intelligence segmentation processor 140 may include artificial intelligence image analysis algorithms, one or more deep neural networks (e.g., a convolutional neural network) and/or may utilize any suitable form of artificial intelligence image analysis techniques or machine learning processing functionality configured to analyze acquired ultrasound images to identify, segment, label, and track biological and/or artificial structures.”), the object of interest is a non-static object, ([0043] “the structures may include a brachial plexus nerve bundle, the axillary artery, […] and/or any suitable organ, nerve, vessel, tissue, […] or the like. The structural information may include information regarding the edges, shapes, and positions of organs, nerves, vessels, tissue, […] and/or the like.”), and determining the second location of the object of interest in the second ultrasound image comprises:
a) receiving a sequence of ultrasound images, including the first ultrasound image and the second ultrasound image, captured by the ultrasound imaging system (Figs. 3-4); and
b) determining, using a second machine learning model, the second location of the object of interest based on the sequence of ultrasound images (Fig. 3 and [0040] “a first ultrasound image 200 at a first time (t) and a second ultrasound image 200 at a second time (t+1) may comprise labels 212, 218, 226, 232, 236 identifying structures 210, 220, 230 identified and segmented by the artificial intelligence segmentation module 140.”).
Regarding Claim 4, the modified system of Shiran teaches all limitations of Claim 1, as discussed above. Furthermore, Shiran teaches wherein generating the user interface comprises: labeling the one or more of the plurality of objects identified by the machine learning model ([0040] “the labels may include a solid line 212, 232 outlining the outer edges of the identified and segmented structures 210, 230. As another example, the labels 212, 218, 226, 232, 236 may be colored, such as to further distinguish multiple identified and segmented structures 210, 220, 230 in the ultrasound image 200. The labels may include colorization of the pixels 218 of the structure 210, dashed lines 226, 236 outlining the identified and segmented structures 220, 230, or the like. In various embodiments, different label types may correspond to different confidence levels associated with the identified and segmented structures 210, 220, 230.”).
Regarding Claim 5, the modified system of Shiran teaches all limitations of Claim 1, as discussed above. Furthermore, Peng teaches the operations further comprising: determining measurements associated with one or more of the plurality of objects, ([0080] “the attributes of different structures or combination of structures are quantified by feature quantifier 25 into the following features: vBMD (the volumetric bone mineral density of the entire radius bone) 102, cortical porosity (the percentages of pores in the bone volume) 104, transitional region vBMD (the volumetric bone mineral density of the transitional region) 106, trabecular region vBMD (the volumetric bone mineral density of the trabecular region) 108, matrix mineralization level (the average percentage of the mineralized material) 110, marrow adiposity (the density of marrow adiposity in the trabecular region) 112, cortical thickness (the average thickness of compact cortex) 114, and trabecular tissue separation (the average separation of trabecular tissues) 116. These features are chosen because they have been shown to be indicative of bone fragility and risk of bone fracture. In other application, features pertinent to the condition of interest would likewise be selected.”), wherein the user interface further includes the measurements visually indicated displayed in association with the first location of each of the one or more of the plurality of objects on the first ultrasound image (Fig. 9 and [0101] “a Bone Volume Fraction Map register 204, a Scores register 206”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to modify the teachings of Shiran with the determined measurements of Peng because the display allows for a clear indication to an operator what the specific measurements are, which may be advantageous in pre-treatment planning and treatment.
Regarding Claim 6, the modified system of Shiran teaches all limitations of Claim 1, as discussed above. Furthermore, Shiran teaches wherein the machine learning model is a first machine learning model, ([0030] “The artificial intelligence segmentation processor 140 may include artificial intelligence image analysis algorithms, one or more deep neural networks (e.g., a convolutional neural network) and/or may utilize any suitable form of artificial intelligence image analysis techniques or machine learning processing functionality configured to analyze acquired ultrasound images to identify, segment, label, and track biological and/or artificial structures.”), and the operations further comprising: determining, using a second machine learning model, whether the first ultrasound image is an optimal image of one or more of the plurality of objects identified by the first machine learning model (Fig. 3 and [0040] “the artificial intelligence segmentation processor 140 may provide feedback 300 if a tracked target 230 is approaching an image boundary.”).
Regarding Claim 8, the modified system of Shiran teaches all limitations of Claim 1, as discussed above. Furthermore, Shiran teaches wherein the machine learning model is a first machine learning model, one of the plurality of objects includes an instrument, from the instruments inserted into the anatomical structure as part of the musculoskeletal procedure, to reach a target, ([0030] “The artificial structures may include, for example, a needle, an implantable device, or any suitable artificial structures.”), and the operations further comprising:
a) receiving a sequence of ultrasound images, including the first ultrasound image and the second ultrasound image, captured by the ultrasound imaging system (Figs. 3-4); and
b) determining, using a second machine learning model, a location of the instrument based on the sequence of ultrasound images (Fig. 3, [0030] “The artificial structures may include, for example, a needle, an implantable device, or any suitable artificial structures,” and [0040] “a first ultrasound image 200 at a first time (t) and a second ultrasound image 200 at a second time (t+1) may comprise labels 212, 218, 226, 232, 236 identifying structures 210, 220, 230 identified and segmented by the artificial intelligence segmentation module 140.”).
Regarding Claim 10, the modified system of Shiran teaches all limitations of Claim 1, as discussed above. Furthermore, Shiran teaches wherein the plurality of objects include at least the anatomical features of the anatomical structure, and the anatomical features include bones, tendons, ligaments, cartilage, muscles, nerves, veins, or arteries ([0030] “The biological structures may include, for example, nerves, vessels, organ, tissue, or any suitable biological structures.”).
Regarding Claim 12, the modified system of Shiran teaches all limitations of Claim 1, as discussed above. Furthermore, Shiran teaches wherein the plurality of objects include at least the instruments inserted into the anatomical structure as part of the musculoskeletal procedure, and the instruments include needles, ([0030] “The artificial structures may include, for example, a needle”), scalpels, knives, tools, or balloons ([0030] “The artificial structures may include, for example, […] an implantable device, or any suitable artificial structures.”).
Regarding Claims 13 and 20, Shiran teaches a method, (Fig. 4), performed by a system communicatively coupled to an ultrasound imaging system, (Fig. 1 and [0019] “ultrasound system 100”), for processing ultrasound images captured by the ultrasound imaging system, (Claim 9 “an ultrasound system configured to acquire an ultrasound image”), the method comprising:
a) receiving, from the ultrasound imaging system, a first ultrasound image of an anatomical structure of a musculoskeletal system captured by the ultrasound imaging system ([0019] “an exemplary ultrasound system 100 that is operable to facilitate interaction by an ultrasound operator with an artificial intelligence segmentation module 140 configured to identify and track biological […] structures in ultrasound images 200” and [0030] “The biological structures may include, for example, nerves, vessels, organ, tissue, or any suitable biological structures.”);
b) identifying, using a machine learning model, a plurality of objects in the first ultrasound image, ([0019] “an exemplary ultrasound system 100 that is operable to facilitate interaction by an ultrasound operator with an artificial intelligence segmentation module 140 configured to identify and track biological and/or artificial structures in ultrasound images 200”), wherein the plurality of objects include one or more of: anatomical features of the anatomical structure, (Fig. 2 and [0034] “the ultrasound image 200 may comprise labels 212, 214, 222, 224 identifying structures 210, 220 identified and segmented by the artificial intelligence segmentation module 140.”), atypical features present in the anatomical structure that are indicative of musculoskeletal conditions, or instruments inserted into the anatomical structure as part of a musculoskeletal procedure ([0030] “The artificial structures may include, for example, a needle, an implantable device, or any suitable artificial structures.”);
c) generating and providing, to the ultrasound imaging system, a user interface including the first ultrasound image and a visual indication of the plurality of objects displayed in association with a first location of each of the plurality of objects on the first ultrasound image, wherein the ultrasound imaging system displays the user interface (Figs. 1 and 2, [0038] “the artificial intelligence segmentation processor 140 may be configured to interact with a user via the user input device 130 to receive instructions for selecting or disregarding labeled structures 210, 220 to be tracked in subsequently acquired ultrasound images. The selection of a labeled structure 210, 220 identifies a target to track in subsequent ultrasound images,” [0041] “The display system 134 can be operable to present ultrasound images and/or any suitable information. For example, the ultrasound images presented at the display system 134 may include labels, tracking identifiers, and or any suitable information.”);
d) receiving, from the ultrasound imaging system, an indication of a selection, via the displayed user interface, to place a visual lock on an object of interest, from the plurality of objects, to enable real-time tracking and visualization of the object of interest as the ultrasound imaging system is capturing one or more subsequent ultrasound images (Figs. 1 and 2, [0027] “Acquired ultrasound scan data may be processed in real-time during a scanning session as the echo signals are received,” and [0038] “the artificial intelligence segmentation processor 140 may be configured to interact with a user via the user input device 130 to receive instructions for selecting or disregarding labeled structures 210, 220 to be tracked in subsequently acquired ultrasound images. The selection of a labeled structure 210, 220 identifies a target to track in subsequent ultrasound images”); and
e) in response to receiving, from the ultrasound imaging system, a second ultrasound image captured by the ultrasound imaging system subsequent to the first ultrasound image, and based on the received indication of the selection to place the visual lock on the object of interest ([0038] “the artificial intelligence segmentation processor 140 may be configured to interact with a user via the user input device 130 to receive instructions for selecting or disregarding labeled structures 210, 220 to be tracked in subsequently acquired ultrasound images. The selection of a labeled structure 210, 220 identifies a target to track in subsequent ultrasound images”);
f) determining a second location of the object of interest in the second ultrasound image (Figs. 3-4, [0040] “the artificial intelligence segmentation processor 140 may provide feedback 300 if a tracked target 230 is approaching an image boundary,” and [0051] “At step 412, the signal processor 132 of the ultrasound system 100 tracks the selected at least one target 210, 220, 230 by identifying the at least one selected target 210, 220, 230 in subsequent ultrasound images 200 acquired continuously.”); and
g) generating and providing, to the ultrasound imaging system, an updated user interface including the second ultrasound image and an updated visual indication of at least the object of interest displayed in association with the second location of the object of interest on the second ultrasound image, wherein the ultrasound imaging system displays the updated user interface (Fig. 3 and [0027] “Acquired ultrasound scan data may be processed in real-time during a scanning session as the echo signals are received.”).
Furthermore, the cited actions are computer implemented, which necessitate associated computer-readable media, as in [0063] (“Various embodiments may also be embedded in a computer program product, which comprises all the features enabling the implementation of the methods described herein, and which when loaded in a computer system is able to carry out these methods.”).
However, Shiran does not explicitly teach musculoskeletal ultrasound images.
In an analogous image analysis field of endeavor, Peng teaches a method, (Abstract “A computer-implemented image analysis method and system.”), performed by a system communicatively coupled to an ultrasound imaging system, for processing musculoskeletal ultrasound images captured by the ultrasound imaging system, (Fig. 1 and [0001] “The present invention relates to an image analysis method and system, of particular but by no means exclusive application in medical imaging, such as to diagnose and monitor diseases or conditions in (e.g. musculoskeletal) imaging. The region of interest may be a 2D region or 3D volume in such medical images. Possible medical imaging applications include […] Ultrasound […] imaging.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to modify the teachings of Shiran with the musculoskeletal images of Peng because early detection of musculoskeletal disease facilitates intervention that may reduce disease progression or minimize negative consequences (such as bone fractures), as taught by Peng in [0002]. Additionally, the modification enhances comfortability of the patient, as it allows a clinician to monitor or diagnose musculoskeletal diseases or condition without a biopsy, as taught by Peng in [0003].
Furthermore, the cited actions are computer implemented, which necessitate associated computer-readable media, as in Abstract (“A computer-implemented image analysis method and system.”).
Regarding Claim 15, the modified method of Shiran teaches all limitations of Claim 13, as discussed above. Furthermore, Shiran teaches wherein the machine learning model is a first machine learning model, ([0030] “The artificial intelligence segmentation processor 140 may include artificial intelligence image analysis algorithms, one or more deep neural networks (e.g., a convolutional neural network) and/or may utilize any suitable form of artificial intelligence image analysis techniques or machine learning processing functionality configured to analyze acquired ultrasound images to identify, segment, label, and track biological and/or artificial structures.”), the object of interest is a non-static object, ([0043] “the structures may include a brachial plexus nerve bundle, the axillary artery, […] and/or any suitable organ, nerve, vessel, tissue, […] or the like. The structural information may include information regarding the edges, shapes, and positions of organs, nerves, vessels, tissue, […] and/or the like.”), and determining the second location of the object of interest in the second ultrasound image comprises:
a) receiving a sequence of ultrasound images, including the first ultrasound image and the second ultrasound image, captured by the ultrasound imaging system (Figs. 3-4); and
b) determining, using a second machine learning model, the second location of the object of interest based on the sequence of ultrasound images (Fig. 3 and [0040] “a first ultrasound image 200 at a first time (t) and a second ultrasound image 200 at a second time (t+1) may comprise labels 212, 218, 226, 232, 236 identifying structures 210, 220, 230 identified and segmented by the artificial intelligence segmentation module 140.”).
Regarding Claim 16, the modified method of Shiran teaches all limitations of Claim 13, as discussed above. Furthermore, Shiran teaches wherein generating the user interface comprises: labeling the one or more of the plurality of objects identified by the machine learning model ([0040] “the labels may include a solid line 212, 232 outlining the outer edges of the identified and segmented structures 210, 230. As another example, the labels 212, 218, 226, 232, 236 may be colored, such as to further distinguish multiple identified and segmented structures 210, 220, 230 in the ultrasound image 200. The labels may include colorization of the pixels 218 of the structure 210, dashed lines 226, 236 outlining the identified and segmented structures 220, 230, or the like. In various embodiments, different label types may correspond to different confidence levels associated with the identified and segmented structures 210, 220, 230.”).
Regarding Claim 17, the modified method of Shiran teaches all limitations of Claim 13, as discussed above. Furthermore, Peng teaches the operations further comprising: determining measurements associated with one or more of the plurality of objects, ([0080] “the attributes of different structures or combination of structures are quantified by feature quantifier 25 into the following features: vBMD (the volumetric bone mineral density of the entire radius bone) 102, cortical porosity (the percentages of pores in the bone volume) 104, transitional region vBMD (the volumetric bone mineral density of the transitional region) 106, trabecular region vBMD (the volumetric bone mineral density of the trabecular region) 108, matrix mineralization level (the average percentage of the mineralized material) 110, marrow adiposity (the density of marrow adiposity in the trabecular region) 112, cortical thickness (the average thickness of compact cortex) 114, and trabecular tissue separation (the average separation of trabecular tissues) 116. These features are chosen because they have been shown to be indicative of bone fragility and risk of bone fracture. In other application, features pertinent to the condition of interest would likewise be selected.”), wherein the user interface further includes the measurements visually indicated displayed in association with the first location of each of the one or more of the plurality of objects on the first ultrasound image (Fig. 9 and [0101] “a Bone Volume Fraction Map register 204, a Scores register 206”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to modify the teachings of Shiran with the determined measurements of Peng because the display allows for a clear indication to an operator what the specific measurements are, which may be advantageous in pre-treatment planning and treatment.
Claims 2 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiran et al. (US 20210045716) in view of Peng (US 20200402226), as applied to Claims 1 and 13, further in view of Miller et al. (US 20140187946).
Regarding Claim 2, the modified system of Shiran teaches all limitations of Claim 1, as discussed above. However, the modified system of Shiran does not explicitly teach wherein the object of interest is a static object, and determining the second location of the object of interest in the second ultrasound image comprises: identifying, for use as a reference, a first position of the object of interest relative to a first probe location of a probe of the ultrasound imaging system associated with the capture of the first ultrasound image by the ultrasound imaging system; identifying, based on a motion associated with the probe, a second probe location of the probe associated with the capture of the second ultrasound image by the ultrasound imaging system; and determining the second location of the object of interest in the second ultrasound image based on the reference and the second probe location.
In an analogous active ultrasound imaging field of endeavor, Miller teaches a system communicatively coupled to an ultrasound imaging system, ([0027] “a system 100 for analyzing an ultrasound image”), for processing musculoskeletal ultrasound images captured by the ultrasound imaging system, ([0028] “The object of interest may include, for example, an anatomical structure in a patient (e.g., an organ, tissue, bone, etc.), a surgical instrument inserted into the patient, a device (e.g., a valve, a pacemaker lead, a cathode ray tube (CRT) lead, a plug, etc.), or a marker placed into the patient. In some embodiments, a portion of a tool, such as the tip, can be the object of interest.”), wherein the object of interest is a static object, ([0028] “The object of interest may include, for example, an anatomical structure in a patient (e.g., an organ, tissue, bone, etc.), a surgical instrument inserted into the patient, a device (e.g., a valve, a pacemaker lead, a cathode ray tube (CRT) lead, a plug, etc.), or a marker placed into the patient.” Where it is understood by one of ordinary skill in the art that the objects of interest taught by Miller is a static object.), and determining the second location of the object of interest in the second ultrasound image comprises:
a) identifying, for use as a reference, a first position of the object of interest relative to a first probe location of a probe of the ultrasound imaging system associated with the capture of the first ultrasound image by the ultrasound imaging system ([0028] “At step 204, an object of interest in at least one in the series of ultrasound images is identified” and [0030] “At step 206, changes in a position of the ultrasound probe and/or an orientation of the ultrasound probe over the period of time with respect to the object of interest are detected.” Where changes of the probe with respect to the object of interest require a first probe location of the probe to be identified by the system of Miller.);
b) identifying, based on a motion associated with the probe, a second probe location of the probe associated with the capture of the second ultrasound image by the ultrasound imaging system ([0030] “At step 206, changes in a position of the ultrasound probe and/or an orientation of the ultrasound probe over the period of time with respect to the object of interest are detected.” Where changes of the probe with respect to the object of interest require a second probe location of the probe to be identified by the system of Miller.); and
c) determining the second location of the object of interest in the second ultrasound image based on the reference and the second probe location ([0031] “adjusting the field of view includes steering or shifting the field of view such that the object of interest remains substantially encompassed within the field of view […] as the ultrasound probe moves with respect to the object of interest” and [0036] “at step 308, the object of interest can be tracked automatically.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to further modify with the teachings of Miller because the modification simplifies the process of tracking an object of interest within a patient for the operator, as taught by [0003], by providing more autonomous features.
Regarding Claim 14, the modified method of Shiran teaches all limitations of Claim 13, as discussed above. However, the modified method of Shiran does not explicitly teach wherein the object of interest is a static object, and determining the second location of the object of interest in the second ultrasound image comprises: identifying, for use as a reference, a first position of the object of interest relative to a first probe location of a probe of the ultrasound imaging system associated with the capture of the first ultrasound image by the ultrasound imaging system; identifying, based on a motion associated with the probe, a second probe location of the probe associated with the capture of the second ultrasound image by the ultrasound imaging system; and determining the second location of the object of interest in the second ultrasound image based on the reference and the second probe location.
In an analogous active ultrasound imaging field of endeavor, Miller teaches a method, ([0001] “This disclosure relates generally to medical imaging, and more particularly, to systems and methods of active ultrasound imaging for interventional procedures.”), performed by a system communicatively coupled to an ultrasound imaging system, ([0027] “a system 100 for analyzing an ultrasound image”), for processing musculoskeletal ultrasound images captured by the ultrasound imaging system, ([0028] “The object of interest may include, for example, an anatomical structure in a patient (e.g., an organ, tissue, bone, etc.), a surgical instrument inserted into the patient, a device (e.g., a valve, a pacemaker lead, a cathode ray tube (CRT) lead, a plug, etc.), or a marker placed into the patient. In some embodiments, a portion of a tool, such as the tip, can be the object of interest.”), wherein the object of interest is a static object, ([0028] “The object of interest may include, for example, an anatomical structure in a patient (e.g., an organ, tissue, bone, etc.), a surgical instrument inserted into the patient, a device (e.g., a valve, a pacemaker lead, a cathode ray tube (CRT) lead, a plug, etc.), or a marker placed into the patient.” Where it is understood by one of ordinary skill in the art that the objects of interest taught by Miller is a static object.), and determining the second location of the object of interest in the second ultrasound image comprises:
a) identifying, for use as a reference, a first position of the object of interest relative to a first probe location of a probe of the ultrasound imaging system associated with the capture of the first ultrasound image by the ultrasound imaging system ([0028] “At step 204, an object of interest in at least one in the series of ultrasound images is identified” and [0030] “At step 206, changes in a position of the ultrasound probe and/or an orientation of the ultrasound probe over the period of time with respect to the object of interest are detected.” Where changes of the probe with respect to the object of interest require a first probe location of the probe to be identified by the system of Miller.);
b) identifying, based on a motion associated with the probe, a second probe location of the probe associated with the capture of the second ultrasound image by the ultrasound imaging system ([0030] “At step 206, changes in a position of the ultrasound probe and/or an orientation of the ultrasound probe over the period of time with respect to the object of interest are detected.” Where changes of the probe with respect to the object of interest require a second probe location of the probe to be identified by the system of Miller.); and
c) determining the second location of the object of interest in the second ultrasound image based on the reference and the second probe location ([0031] “adjusting the field of view includes steering or shifting the field of view such that the object of interest remains substantially encompassed within the field of view […] as the ultrasound probe moves with respect to the object of interest” and [0036] “at step 308, the object of interest can be tracked automatically.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to further modify with the teachings of Miller because it simplifies the process of tracking an object of interest within a patient for the operator, as taught by [0003], by providing more autonomous features.
Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiran et al. (US 20210045716) in view of Peng (US 20200402226), as applied to Claim 1, further in view of Srinivasa Naidu et al. (US 20200297318), hereinafter referred to as Srinivasa.
Regarding Claim 7, the modified system of Shiran teaches all limitations of Claim 6, as discussed above. However, the modified system of Shiran does not explicitly teach wherein the second machine learning model determines the first ultrasound image is a non-optimal image of at least one of the plurality of objects, and the operations further comprising: predicting a current orientation of a probe of the ultrasound imaging system associated with the capture of the first ultrasound image by the ultrasound imaging system; generating a prompt for an operator to adjust an orientation of the probe from the current orientation to a new orientation learned by the second machine learning model to capture an optimal image of the at least one of the plurality of objects; and providing the prompt to the ultrasound imaging system for display.
In an analogous intelligent ultrasound imaging field of endeavor, Srinivasa teaches a system communicatively coupled to an ultrasound imaging system, ([0023] “ultrasound system 100”), for processing musculoskeletal ultrasound images captured by the ultrasound imaging system, ([0056] “Accordingly, the present system may be used to obtain and/or record image information related to, but not limited to […] musculoskeletal, […] systems”), wherein the second machine learning model determines the first ultrasound image is a non-optimal image of at least one of the plurality of objects, ([0025] “The instructions 137 may include directions for adjusting the data acquisition unit 110 in a manner that removes the artefact(s) from the image frames 124, thereby improving the quality of the image frames.”), and the operations further comprising:
a) predicting a current orientation of a probe of the ultrasound imaging system associated with the capture of the first ultrasound image by the ultrasound imaging system ([0034] “Such guidance may be generated by the neural network 128 in the form of one or more instructions 137 and may be responsive to the indicator 136 also generated by the neural network 128.”);
b) generating a prompt for an operator to adjust an orientation of the probe from the current orientation to a new orientation learned by the second machine learning model to capture the optimal image of the at least one of the plurality of objects ([0053] “At block 612, the method involves “generating an instruction for adjusting the transducer based on the determined presence and type of the artefact, the instruction comprising an operational guidance for removing the artefact from the image frame.” As described herein, the instruction may be communicated to a user, who may then implement the instruction to remove the artefacts” and Fig. 5B “instructions 506”); and
c) providing the prompt to the ultrasound imaging system for display ([0034] “the user interface 132 may be further configured to guide or assist a user through an ultrasound scan” and [0053] “At block 612, the method involves “generating an instruction for adjusting the transducer based on the determined presence and type of the artefact, the instruction comprising an operational guidance for removing the artefact from the image frame.” As described herein, the instruction may be communicated to a user, who may then implement the instruction to remove the artefacts”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to further modify with the operations of Srinivasa because the modification enhances an operator’s ability to accurately interpret features within the ultrasound images and minimize interference with ultrasound-guided interventional procedures, as taught by Srinivasa in [0003].
Regarding Claim 18, the modified method of Shiran teaches all limitations of Claim 13, as discussed above. However, the modified method of Shiran does not explicitly teach wherein the second machine learning model determines the first ultrasound image is a non-optimal image of at least one of the plurality of objects, and the method further comprising: predicting a current orientation of a probe of the ultrasound imaging system associated with the capture of the first ultrasound image by the ultrasound imaging system; generating a prompt for an operator to adjust an orientation of the probe from the current orientation to a new orientation learned by the second machine learning model to capture an optimal image of the at least one of the plurality of objects; and providing the prompt to the ultrasound imaging system for display.
In an analogous intelligent ultrasound imaging field of endeavor, Srinivasa teaches a method, ([0002] “The present disclosure pertains to ultrasound systems and methods for identifying artefacts in ultrasound images using a neural network.”), performed by a system communicatively coupled to an ultrasound imaging system, ([0023] “ultrasound system 100”), for processing musculoskeletal ultrasound images captured by the ultrasound imaging system, ([0056] “Accordingly, the present system may be used to obtain and/or record image information related to, but not limited to […] musculoskeletal, […] systems”), wherein the machine learning model is a first learning model, and the method further comprising:
a) determining, using a second machine learning model, the first ultrasound image is a non-optimal image of at least one of the plurality of objects identified by the first machine learning model, ([0025] “The instructions 137 may include directions for adjusting the data acquisition unit 110 in a manner that removes the artefact(s) from the image frames 124, thereby improving the quality of the image frames.”);
b) predicting a current orientation of a probe of the ultrasound imaging system associated with the capture of the first ultrasound image by the ultrasound imaging system ([0034] “Such guidance may be generated by the neural network 128 in the form of one or more instructions 137 and may be responsive to the indicator 136 also generated by the neural network 128.”);
c) generating a prompt for an operator to adjust an orientation of the probe from the current orientation to a new orientation learned by the second machine learning model to capture an optimal image of the at least one of the plurality of objects ([0053] “At block 612, the method involves “generating an instruction for adjusting the transducer based on the determined presence and type of the artefact, the instruction comprising an operational guidance for removing the artefact from the image frame.” As described herein, the instruction may be communicated to a user, who may then implement the instruction to remove the artefacts” and Fig. 5B “instructions 506”); and
c) providing the prompt to the ultrasound imaging system for display ([0034] “the user interface 132 may be further configured to guide or assist a user through an ultrasound scan” and [0053] “At block 612, the method involves “generating an instruction for adjusting the transducer based on the determined presence and type of the artefact, the instruction comprising an operational guidance for removing the artefact from the image frame.” As described herein, the instruction may be communicated to a user, who may then implement the instruction to remove the artefacts”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to further modify with the operations of Srinivasa because the modification enhances an operator’s ability to accurately interpret features within the ultrasound images and minimize interference with ultrasound-guided interventional procedures, as taught by Srinivasa in [0003].
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiran et al. (US 20210045716) in view of Peng (US 20200402226), as applied to Claim 1, further in view of Mauldin et al. (US 20160374644).
Regarding Claim 9, the modified system of Rishan teaches all limitations of Claim 8, as discussed above. However, the modified system of Rishan does not explicitly teach the operations further comprising: receiving an insertion location of the instrument, wherein the insertion location is extracted from the sequence of ultrasound images or is received as operator input; determining an insertion angle of the instrument based on the insertion location and the location of the instrument; determining, using a third machine learning model, a predicted trajectory of the instrument to reach the target based on the sequence of ultrasound images, the location of the instrument, and the insertion angle of the instrument; and generating a three-dimensional representation of the anatomical structure based on the sequence of ultrasound images, wherein the updated user interface further includes the three-dimensional representation and the predicted trajectory visually indicated on the second ultrasound image.
In an analogous ultrasound guidance of a field of endeavor, Mauldin teaches a system communicatively coupled to an ultrasound imaging system for processing musculoskeletal ultrasound images captured by the ultrasound imaging system, (Abstract “Systems […] for probe insertion using feedback from ultrasound guidance using anatomical features. The present disclosure is directed to ultrasound imaging for the generation of ultrasound images of anatomical features such as bone and/or visualizing ultrasound images of anatomical features in a subject being imaged.”), the operations further comprising:
a) receiving an insertion location of the instrument, wherein the insertion location is extracted from the sequence of ultrasound images, ([0092] “a location of needle 570 or catheter tip can be tracked […]. Other techniques for tracking the probe assembly 510 position, or needle 570 position, can include using optical, magnetic techniques, or strain gauge.”), or is received as operator input;
b) determining an insertion angle of the instrument based on the insertion location and the location of the instrument ([0090]-[0091] “a piezoelectric element such as located nearby an opening (e.g., nearby an exit port of the probe guide 560), can be used to automatically measure the angle of the probe guide 560, or to provide feedback for automatic probe guide angular control. An initial distance between the center of a piezoelectric element and the opening of the probe guide can be measured before repositioning to provide a frame of reference or baseline, and thus the position of the opening can be tracked via a deviation from the frame of reference or baseline. The angle of insertion of a probe (e.g., a needle) may be determined manually or via a processing circuit (e.g., a computer), such as based on information provided via the piezoelectric element.”);
c) determining, using a third machine learning model, a predicted trajectory of the instrument to reach the target based on the sequence of ultrasound images, the location of the instrument, and the insertion angle of the instrument ([0111] “An ideal needle path is calculated” and [0112] “the ideal needle is calculated to find a path through the image plane that most closely intersects with the location of the target anatomy. The calculated ideal needle path can be restricted to needle paths that exhibit one or more virtual or physical pivot points by which the angle of the needle can rotate. This method restricts the possible needle paths through the image plane by which the ultrasound system can select during the calculation. Alternatively the suggested needle paths can be restricted to more than one virtual pivot point, but these virtual pivot points are restricted within a particular area or volume. For example, the virtual pivot points would be restricted to a region superficial to the skin surface and adjacent to the ultrasound transducer. This restriction may be used because an actual pivot point cannot exist below the skin or inside of the ultrasound system.”); and
d) generating a three-dimensional representation of the anatomical structure based on the sequence of ultrasound images, ([0073] “imaged target area 250, which may be a 3-dimensional (3D) model”), wherein the updated user interface further includes the three-dimensional representation and the predicted trajectory visually indicated on the second ultrasound image (Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to further modify with the operations of Mauldin because the modification of the automated processor operations minimizes human error with placement of the interventional tools in order to carry out the procedure as accurately as possible, as taught by Mauldin in [0009].
Regarding Claim 19, the modified method of Rishan teaches all limitations of Claim 13, as discussed above. Furthermore, Rishan teaches wherein the machine learning model is a first machine learning model, ([0030] “The artificial intelligence segmentation processor 140 may include artificial intelligence image analysis algorithms, one or more deep neural networks (e.g., a convolutional neural network) and/or may utilize any suitable form of artificial intelligence image analysis techniques or machine learning processing functionality configured to analyze acquired ultrasound images to identify, segment, label, and track biological and/or artificial structures.”), one of the plurality of objects includes an instrument, from the instruments inserted into the anatomical structure as part of the musculoskeletal procedure, to reach a target, ([0030] “The artificial structures may include, for example, a needle, an implantable device, or any suitable artificial structures.”), and the operations further comprising:
a) receiving a sequence of ultrasound images, including the first ultrasound image and the second ultrasound image, captured by the ultrasound imaging system (Figs. 3-4); and
b) determining, using a second machine learning model, a location of the instrument based on the sequence of ultrasound images (Fig. 3, [0030] “The artificial structures may include, for example, a needle, an implantable device, or any suitable artificial structures,” and [0040] “a first ultrasound image 200 at a first time (t) and a second ultrasound image 200 at a second time (t+1) may comprise labels 212, 218, 226, 232, 236 identifying structures 210, 220, 230 identified and segmented by the artificial intelligence segmentation module 140.”).
However, the modified system of Rishan does not explicitly teach the operations further comprising: receiving an insertion location of the instrument, wherein the insertion location is extracted from the sequence of ultrasound images or is received as operator input; determining an insertion angle of the instrument based on the insertion location and the location of the instrument; determining, using a third machine learning model, a predicted trajectory of the instrument to reach the target based on the sequence of ultrasound images, the location of the instrument, and the insertion angle of the instrument; and generating a three-dimensional representation of the anatomical structure based on the sequence of ultrasound images, wherein the updated user interface further includes the three-dimensional representation and the predicted trajectory visually indicated on the second ultrasound image.
In an analogous ultrasound guidance of a field of endeavor, Mauldin teaches a method, ([0003] “The present disclosure is directed to ultrasound imaging and systems and methods for ultrasonic image acquisition and generation.”), performed by a system communicatively coupled to an ultrasound imaging system for processing musculoskeletal ultrasound images captured by the ultrasound imaging system, (Abstract “Systems […] for probe insertion using feedback from ultrasound guidance using anatomical features. The present disclosure is directed to ultrasound imaging for the generation of ultrasound images of anatomical features such as bone and/or visualizing ultrasound images of anatomical features in a subject being imaged.”), the operations further comprising:
a) receiving an insertion location of the instrument, wherein the insertion location is extracted from the sequence of ultrasound images, ([0092] “a location of needle 570 or catheter tip can be tracked […]. Other techniques for tracking the probe assembly 510 position, or needle 570 position, can include using optical, magnetic techniques, or strain gauge.”), or is received as operator input;
b) determining an insertion angle of the instrument based on the insertion location and the location of the instrument ([0090]-[0091] “a piezoelectric element such as located nearby an opening (e.g., nearby an exit port of the probe guide 560), can be used to automatically measure the angle of the probe guide 560, or to provide feedback for automatic probe guide angular control. An initial distance between the center of a piezoelectric element and the opening of the probe guide can be measured before repositioning to provide a frame of reference or baseline, and thus the position of the opening can be tracked via a deviation from the frame of reference or baseline. The angle of insertion of a probe (e.g., a needle) may be determined manually or via a processing circuit (e.g., a computer), such as based on information provided via the piezoelectric element.”);
c) determining, using a third machine learning model, a predicted trajectory of the instrument to reach the target based on the sequence of ultrasound images, the location of the instrument, and the insertion angle of the instrument ([0111] “An ideal needle path is calculated” and [0112] “the ideal needle is calculated to find a path through the image plane that most closely intersects with the location of the target anatomy. The calculated ideal needle path can be restricted to needle paths that exhibit one or more virtual or physical pivot points by which the angle of the needle can rotate. This method restricts the possible needle paths through the image plane by which the ultrasound system can select during the calculation. Alternatively the suggested needle paths can be restricted to more than one virtual pivot point, but these virtual pivot points are restricted within a particular area or volume. For example, the virtual pivot points would be restricted to a region superficial to the skin surface and adjacent to the ultrasound transducer. This restriction may be used because an actual pivot point cannot exist below the skin or inside of the ultrasound system.”); and
d) generating a three-dimensional representation of the anatomical structure based on the sequence of ultrasound images, ([0073] “imaged target area 250, which may be a 3-dimensional (3D) model”), wherein the updated user interface further includes the three-dimensional representation and the predicted trajectory visually indicated on the second ultrasound image (Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to further modify with the operations of Mauldin because the modification of the automated processor operations minimizes human error with placement of the interventional tools in order to carry out the procedure as accurately as possible, as taught by Mauldin in [0009].
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiran et al. (US 20210045716) in view of Peng (US 20200402226), as applied to Claim 1, further in view of Xiao et al. (US 20210042564).
Regarding Claim 11, the modified system of Shiran teaches all limitations of Claim 1, as discussed above. However, the modified system of Shiran does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of objects include at least the atypical features present in the anatomical structure that are indicative of musculoskeletal conditions, and the atypical features include ganglions, effusions, calcium deposits, masses, lesions, tears, restrictions, impingements, compressions, hemorrhages, edema, hematomas, fluid collections, inflammation, defects, scars, fractures, avulsions, callus formations, infarctions, or foreign bodies.
In an analogous medical image recognition field of endeavor, Xiao teaches system communicatively coupled to an ultrasound imaging system for processing musculoskeletal ultrasound images captured by the ultrasound imaging system, (Abstract “In a medical image recognition method, applied to a computer device, a to-be-recognized medical image set is obtained, where the to-be-recognized medical image set includes at least one to-be-recognized medical image,” [0076] “The to-be-trained medical image sample may be […] a US image sample.”), wherein the plurality of objects include at least the atypical features present in the anatomical structure that are indicative of musculoskeletal conditions, and the atypical features include ganglions, effusions, ([0038] “Various lung images may be classified into symptoms such as […] pleural effusion”), calcium deposits, ([0038] “Various lung images may be classified into symptoms such as […] calcification”), masses, ([0038] “Various lung images may be classified into symptoms such as […] lump”), lesions, ([0034] “The US has a high capability of distinguishing the soft tissues of human body, which facilitates the identification of small lesions of biological tissues.”), tears, restrictions, impingements, compressions, hemorrhages, edema, hematomas, fluid collections, ([0038] “Various lung images may be classified into symptoms such as […] consolidation”), inflammation, defects, scars, fractures, avulsions, callus formations, infarctions, or foreign bodies.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to further modify with the atypical features of Xiao because the modification allows a clinician to accurately and reliably recognize issues internally within the patient, resulting in an accurate diagnosis or treatment plan.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIA CHRISTINA TALTY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/MICHAEL J CAREY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795