Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yu(CN 209852003 U).
Regarding claim 2, Yu discloses a lower arm assembly(fig 1) for a vehicle, the lower arm assembly comprising: a plate(top layer of control arm; para 00024) that extends along a first axis; a first leg(see annotated fig below) connected to a bottom surface(see annotated fig below) of the plate; and a second leg(see annotated fig below) connected to the bottom surface of the plate and disposed symmetrically to the first leg in relation to the first axis(see annotated fig below), wherein the plate comprises: a first plate(see annotated fig below) disposed in parallel to the first axis; a second plate(see annotated fig below) extended from one end of the first plate and slantly disposed upward with respect to the first axis; and a third plate(see annotated fig below) extended from the other end of the second plate and slantly disposed upward with respect to the first axis(fig 1 the leg can be seen comprising an upward slant towards both ends).
Regarding claim 3, Yu discloses wherein the first leg comprises: a first central part connected to the first plate; a first outer connection part connected to the second plate; and a first inner connection part connected to the third plate, and wherein the second leg comprises: a second central part connected to the first plate and disposed in parallel to the first central part; a second outer connection part connected to the second plate and disposed in parallel to the first outer connection part; and a second inner connection part connected to the third plate and disposed in parallel to the first inner connection part(see figure below).
Regarding claim 4, Yu discloses wherein each of an interval between the first outer connection part and the second outer connection part and an interval between the first inner connection part and the second inner connection part is smaller than an interval between the first central part and the second central part(see figure above, fig 3).
Regarding claim 5, Yu discloses wherein an interval between the first outer connection part and the second outer connection part is smaller than an interval between the first inner connection part and the second inner connection part(see fig above, fig 3).
Regarding claim 6, Yu discloses the lower arm assembly of the lower arm assembly of wherein the first leg comprises: a first outer extension part disposed between the first central part and the first outer connection part; and a first inner extension part disposed between the first central part and the first inner connection part, and wherein the second leg comprises: a second outer extension part disposed between the second central part and the second outer connection part; and a second inner extension part disposed between the second central part and the second inner connection part(see figure above).
Regarding claim 7, Yu discloses an outer recess configured to penetrate the second plate and disposed between the first leg and the second leg; and an inner recess configured to penetrate the third plate and disposed between the first leg and the second leg(see annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 8, Yu discloses a spring pad connected to a top surface of the first plate(para 0023).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu(CN 209852003 U) in view of Onda(US 8414004 B2).
Regarding claim 9, Yu discloses wherein the plate further comprises an insertion hole(2) that penetrates the first plate. However, Yu does not specify a first and second pad body. Onda discloses wherein the spring pad comprises: a first pad body(outer surface around 16) seated on the top surface of the first plate; and a second pad body(inner surface around 22) extended from the first pad body and inserted into the insertion hole. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yu such that the spring pad comprises a first and second pad body to provide mounting surfaces for the plate and spring pad.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu(CN 209852003 U) and Onda(US 8414004 B2) in view of Burkhardt-Hackenjos Ulf (DE 102022101568 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Yu discloses wherein the plate further comprises a fixing hole(3; para 0013) configured to penetrate the first plate and spaced apart from the insertion hole. Yu does not specify wherein the spring pad further comprises a fixing member extended from the first pad body and inserted into the fixing hole. However, Burkhardt-Hackenjos Ulf discloses the use of fixing members(12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventio to modify Yu such that the apparatus comprises fixing members to couple individual components.
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu(CN 209852003 U), Burkhardt-Hackenjos Ulf (DE 102022101568 A1) and Onda(US 8414004 B2) in view of Meyer(US2024/0140157A1).
Regarding claim 11, Yu discloses wherein a central axis of the insertion hole and the first axis perpendicularly intersect at a crossing(fig 3). Yu does not disclose multiple fixing holes. However, Meyer discloses wherein the fixing hole comprises: a first fixing hole disposed on the first axis; and a plurality of second fixing holes spaced apart from the first fixing hole in a cylindrical direction centering around the crossing. it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yu such that the component comprises multiple fixing holes to provide additional mounting points for a more secure connection.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Yu and Burkhardt-Hackenjos Ulf discloses the use of fixing members(12) to couple individual components across the apparatus.
Regarding claim 13, Yu does not disclose fastening members comprising hooks. However, and Burkhardt-Hackenjos Ulf discloses fastening members comprising a hook disposed at an end. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use fastening members comprising hooks in the invention of Yu to provide an alternative secure coupling method.
Claim(s) 14,15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu(CN 209852003 U) in view of Burkhardt-Hackenjos Ulf (DE 102022101568 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Yu does not disclose an undercover however Burkhardt-Hackenjos Ulf discloses an undercover(1) disposed under the plate and configured to cover the first leg and the second leg(fig 4); and a fastening member(12) configured to connect the plate and the undercover(fig 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yu such that the apparatus comprises an undercover to provide an additional layer or protection from external forces.
Regarding claim 15 the combination of Yu in view of Burkhardt-Hackenjos Ulf discloses wherein the undercover comprises: a cover body(2; Burkhardt-Hackenjos Ulf) disposed to face the bottom surface of the plate and spaced apart from the plate; and a first seating part(7) configured to protrude from the cover body to the plate, and wherein the fastening member comprises: one or more fixing flanges(area around 12) configured to extend from the plate and to come into contact with the first seating part; and a flange fixing member(12) configured to fix the fixing flange to the first seating part.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 16, the closes prior art on record is Yu(CN 209852003 U). However, Yu does not show disclose or render obvious the combination of claim 15 further comprising a second seating part configured to protrude from the cover body to the plate and spaced apart from the first seating part; and a slot disposed on the second seating part, and wherein the fastening member further comprises one or more insert flanges each configured to extend from the plate and inserted into the slot.
Conclusion
SHAMS . DHANANI
Examiner
Art Unit 3614
/JASON D SHANSKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614