Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung (U.S. Patent No. 12,599,245) in view of Geiger (U.S. Publication No. 2012/0137430) and further in view of Larson (U.S. Publication No. 2009/0293197).
Regarding claim 1, Chung (U.S. Patent No. 12,599,245) discloses a folding bed 3 with stretchable supporting legs 2 (Figure 1), comprising a folding bed plate 31 and 32 and bed leg assemblies 21 and 328, wherein two opposite sides of the folding bed plate 31 and 32 are attached with expansion bed plates 41, 42, 43, 44, 45 (Figure 1 and Col. 4, line 37-Col. 5, line 8); the bed leg assemblies 21 and 328 are arranged at two ends of a bottom of the folding bed plate 31 and 32 (Figure 3); each bed leg assembly comprises a square rod 328; adjustment rods 21 (defined by the upper bar of legs 21 attached to reinforcement rods 328, Figure 3) attached to two ends of the square tube 328; and wherein a supporting leg 21 is fixedly mounted at one end of each adjustment rod away from the square rod through a bolt (Col. 4, lines 1-27 and Figures 3 and 11).
Chung does not disclose, wherein the two opposite sides of the folding bed plate are hinged with expansion bed plates, and each bed leg assembly comprises a square tube; adjustment rods are slidably plugged into two ends of the square tube; a U-shaped elastic sheet is arranged inside each adjustment rod; fixed ends of the U-shaped elastic sheets are fixedly connected to inner walls of the adjustment rods; clamping heads are formed at movable ends of the U-shaped elastic sheets; a plurality of adjustment holes are provided in one side of each square tube; and the clamping heads are able to be clamped into the adjustment holes.
Geiger teaches each bed leg assembly comprises a square tube 250; adjustment rods 260 and 210 are slidably plugged into two ends of the square tube 250 (Figure 10 and paragraphs 0035-0036); a supporting leg 60 is fixedly mounted at one end of each adjustment rod 260 away from the square rod through a bolt 70 (Figures 6A-B and paragraph 0032, also see Figure 10 which shows legs attached to adjustment rods 260 and 210); a U-shaped elastic sheet 130 is arranged inside each adjustment rod 260 and 210 (paragraph 0036 and Figure 10, also see Figures 3-4, 5A, and 5B and paragraphs 0030-0031 which show and describe U-shaped elastic sheet 130 in detail); fixed ends 120 of the U-shaped elastic sheets 130 are fixedly connected to inner walls of the adjustment rods 210 and 260 (paragraph 0038, where a spring clip may be used such that protrusions do not protrude in pairs, such that one end would be held against the inside of the adjustment walls by at least the spring force, and the other end would protrude in the same manner as protrusion 120 as shown in Figure 3-5B); clamping heads 295 are formed at movable ends of the U-shaped elastic sheets 130; a plurality of adjustment holes 280 are provided in one side of each square tube (Figure 10 and paragraph 0036); and the clamping heads 295 are able to be clamped into the adjustment holes 280 (Figure 10 and paragraph 0036).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Chung (directed to a width adjustable articulating bed) with Geiger (directed to a width adjustable bed frame) and arrived at each bed leg assembly comprising adjustment rods are slidably plugged into two ends of a square tube, a U-shaped elastic sheet, with fixed ends being fixedly connected to inner walls of the adjustment rods and clamping heads are formed at movable ends of the U-shaped elastic sheets, and a plurality of adjustment holes are provided in one side of each square tube such that the clamping heads are able to be clamped into the adjustment holes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the base of Geiger allows for the bed support to be adjusted according to the width of the mattress and does not require the use of tools in doing so (paragraphs 0004-0007).
Additionally, Larson teaches wherein the two opposite sides of the folding bed plate 20 are hinged (via hinge 52) with expansion bed plates 34a (Figure 4 and paragraph 0030, where the other extension segments may include a hinge connection as well).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Chung, as modified, with Larson (both being directed to a width adjustable articulating bed) such that the two opposite sides of the folding bed plate are hinged with the expansion bed plates. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the hinged connection of Larson allows for the extension pieces to be folded up more compactly for transportation or storage (paragraph 0030).
Regarding claim 2, Chung, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Chung, as modified, further discloses wherein the folding bed plate 31 and 32 comprises a first hip bed plate 312, a second hip bed plate 321, a leg bed plate 323, a bed-end bed plate 322, and a head bed plate 311 (see Chung, Figure 1 Col. 2, line 58-Col. 3, line 19, and Col. 3, lines 44-67); one side of the first hip bed plate 312 is hinged to the head bed plate 311 (see Chung, Figure 9 and Col. 2, line 58-Col. 3, line 19), and another side of the first hip bed plate 312 is hinged to the second hip bed plate 321 (see Chung, Figures 1-3 and Col. 3, lines 47-54); one side of the second hip bed plate 321 away from the first hip bed plate 312 is hinged to the leg bed plate 322 (see Chung, Figure 9 and Col. 3, lines 55-61); and one side of the leg bed plate 322 away from the second hip bed plate 321 is hinged to the bed-end bed plate 323 (see Chung, Figure 9 and Col. 3, lines 62-67).
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung in view of Geiger and Larson and further in view of Hillie (U.S. Publication No. 2024/0206634).
Regarding claim 3, Chung, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Chung, as modified, further discloses wherein the folding bed plate 31 and 32 further comprises a first electric push rod 51 and a second electric push rod 52 (see Chung, Figures 3 and 9 and Col. 5, line 36-Col. 6, line 3 and Col. 6, lines 33-65); one end of the first electric push rod 51 is hinged to the head bed plate 311 (at 514, see Chung, Figures 7 and 9); an end portion of a piston rod 512 of the first electric push rod 51 is hinged to the first hip bed plate 312 (at 315, see Chung, Figures 7 and 9); and a piston rod 522 of the second electric push rod 52 is hinged to the second hip bed plate 321 (at 326, see Chung, Figure 7)
Chung does not disclose one end of the second electric push rod is hinged to the leg bed plate.
Hillie (U.S. Publication No. 2024/0206634) teaches wherein the folding bed plate 5 further comprises a first electric push rod 6 and a second electric push rod 6 (Figure 2); one end of the first electric push rod 6 is hinged to the head bed plate 5 an end portion of a piston rod of the first electric push rod is hinged to the hip bed plate (see annotated Figure 2, below); one end of the second electric push rod 6 is hinged to the leg bed plate 5 (see annotated Figure 2, below); and a piston rod of the second electric push rod 6 is hinged to the hip bed plate (see annotated Figure 2, below and paragraph 0030).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Chung, as modified, with Hillie (both being directed to an articulating bed) such that one end of the second electric push rod is hinged to the leg bed plate. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the linear drives of Hillie allow for a user to adjust the bed to pre-programmed positions (paragraphs 0004-0006 and 0037-0039).
Regarding claim 4, Chung, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 1 and 3. Chung, as modified, further discloses wherein each bed leg assembly 21 further comprises a connecting rod 316 and 327; one end of the connecting rod 316 and 327 is fixedly connected to the square tube 328 and 317; one end, away from the square tube 317, of the connecting rod 316 in one bed leg assembly 21 is fixedly connected to the first hip bed plate 311 (see Chung, Figure 3 and Col. 3, lines 20-40); and one end, away from the square tube 328, of the connecting rod 327 in the other bed leg assembly 21 is fixedly connected to the second hip bed plate 321 (see Chung, Figure 3 and Col. 4, lines 1-27).
Regarding claim 5, Chung, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 1 and 3-4. Chung, as modified, further discloses wherein a connecting plate (see Hillie, annotated Figure 2, above) is hinged to the connecting rod 2 fixedly connected to the second hip bed plate 5 (see Hillie, annotated Figure 2, above), and another end of the connecting plate 4 is hinged to the bed-end bed plate (see Hillie, annotated Figure 2, above).
Regarding claim 6, Chung, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 1 and 3-5. Chung, as modified, further discloses wherein two connecting rods 316 and 327 are arranged in each bed leg assembly 31 and 32 (see Chung, Figure 3), and the two connecting rods 316 and 327 are fixedly connected to two ends of the square tube (see Chung, Figure 3, Col. 3, lines 20-40, and Col. 4, lines 1-27).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Oh (U.S. Publication No. 2018/0042389) which discloses a width-adjustable bed frame.
DiForio (U.S. Publication No. 2008/0168602) which discloses a width adjustable bed frame.
Tekluve (U.S. Patent No. 9,009,888) which discloses a width adjustable articulating bed frame.
Eskridge (U.S. Publication No. 2026/0123764) which discloses a width adjustable articulating bed frame.
Eskridge (U.S. Publication No. 2026/0000212) which discloses an articulating bed frame with foldable extensions.
/ALISON N LABARGE/Examiner, Art Unit 3679
/Matthew Troutman/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3679