DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to communication filed on 06/18/2025.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 - 19 of US Application No. 19/241,816 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,902,241. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 - 18 of the U.S. Patent mentioned above, contain every element of claims 1 - 19 of the instant application and thus anticipate the claim of the instant application. Claims 1 - 19 of the instant application are therefore not patently distinct from claims 1 - 18 of the U.S. Patent No. 11,902,241 and as such are unpatentable over obvious-type double patenting.
"A later patent claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier patent claim if the later claim is obvious over, or anticipated by, the earlier claim. In re Longi, 759 F.2d at 896, 225 USPQ at 651 (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting because the claims at issue were obvious over claims in four prior art patents); In re Berg, 140 F.3d at 1437, 46 USPQ2d at 1233 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting where a patent application claim to a genus is anticipated by a patent claim to a species within that genus). " ELI LILLY AND COMPANY v BARR LABORATORIES, INC., United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, ON PETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC (DECIDED: May 30, 2001).
Please see the table below:
US Patent No. 19/241,816
US Patent Number 11,902,241
1. A system comprising: at least one processor; and memory, operatively connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to perform a set of operations, the set of operations comprising:
receiving, at a content distribution network (CDN), a pre-localization request from a service that is distinct from the CDN and uses the CDN to deliver content provided by the service, wherein the pre-localization request comprises pre-localization information and the pre-localization information comprises an indication of particular content stored by the CDN;
generating, based on the pre-localization information, a pre-localized hostname associated with an edge server of the CDN that is responsible for the particular content;
providing, in response to the pre-localization request, the pre-localized hostname for the edge server of the CDN;
receiving, from a client computing device, a request for the content at the edge server of the CDN, wherein the edge server is selected based at least in part on a geographic location associated with the requesting client computing device and/or according to round-robin techniques for selecting an edge server within a data center; and providing the content to the client computing device.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein: the pre-localization information further comprises an indication of a geographic location for the client computing device; and
generating the pre-localized hostname comprises identifying a data center associated with the edge server based on the geographic location.
3. The system of claim 1, wherein generating the pre-localized hostname comprises: evaluating a set of edge servers associated with the CDN to identify an edge server that is responsible for the particular content; and generating the pre-localized hostname indicating the identified edge server.
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the pre-localized hostname is associated with at least the edge server of a first data center and a second edge server of a second data center.
5. The system of claim 1, wherein the particular content comprises video content, and wherein the service comprises a website that lists the video content for playback.
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the pre-localization information further comprises at least one of:
an IP address of the client computing device; a geographic location of the client computing device; one or more software of the client computing device; one or more hardware capabilities of the client computing device; a client computing device type; or information relating to an initiation request.
7. A method for directing a client computing device to a content distribution network (CDN) using a pre-localized hostname, the method comprising: receiving, at a service and from the client computing device, an initiation request relating to computing functionality provided by the CDN for the service, wherein the service is distinct from the CDN;
generating pre-localization information based at least in part on the initiation request and information about the client computing device;
determining, based on the pre-localization information, a pre-localized hostname associated with a particular edge server of the CDN, wherein the CDN includes a plurality of edge servers, and the particular edge server is responsible for the computing functionality, wherein the edge server is selected based at least in part on the pre-localization information and/or according to round-robin techniques for selecting an edge server within a data center; and sending to the client computing device, by the service, a response to the initiation request comprising the pre-localized hostname, thereby directing the client computing device to the particular edge server of the CDN.
8. The method of claim 7, wherein determining the pre-localized hostname comprises: generating a pre-localization request comprising the pre-localization information; providing the pre-localization request to a pre-localization engine of the CDN; and receiving, in response to the pre-localization request, a response comprising the pre- localized hostname.
9. The method of claim 7, wherein determining the pre-localized hostname comprises evaluating a set of edge servers associated with the CDN to identify the particular edge server that is responsible for the computing functionality.
10. The method of claim 7, wherein the pre-localized hostname is associated with at least the particular edge server of a first data center and a second edge server of a second data center.
11. The method of claim 7, wherein the pre-localization information comprises at least one of: an indication of the computing functionality; an IP address of the client computing device; a geographic location of the client computing device; one or more software of the client computing device; one or more hardware capabilities of the client computing device; a client computing device type; or information relating to the initiation request.
12. The method of claim 7, wherein the initiation request comprises the information about the client computing device.
13. A method for generating a pre-localized hostname, the method comprising: receiving a pre-localization request comprising pre-localization information, wherein the pre-localization information comprises an indication of computing functionality associated with a content distribution network (CDN);
generating, based on the pre-localization information, a pre-localized hostname associated with an edge server of the CDN that is responsible for the computing functionality; and
providing, in response to the pre-localization request, the pre-localized hostname to direct a client computing device to the edge server of the CDN, wherein the edge server is selected based at least in part on a geographic location associated with the client computing device and/or according to round-robin techniques for selecting an edge server within a data center.
14. The method of claim 13, wherein:
the pre-localization information further comprises an indication of a geographic location for the client computing device; and
generating the pre-localized hostname comprises identifying a data center associated with the edge server based on the geographic location.
15. The method of claim 13, wherein generating the pre-localized hostname comprises: evaluating a set of edge servers associated with the CDN to identify an edge server that is responsible for the computing functionality; and generating the pre-localized hostname indicating the identified edge server.
16. The method of claim 13, wherein the pre-localized hostname is associated with at least the edge server of a first data center and a second edge server of a second data center.
17. The method of claim 13, wherein the pre-localization request is received from a service associated with the CDN, and wherein the pre-localization information further comprises information relating to an initiation request of the client computing device.
18. The method of claim 13, wherein the pre-localization information further comprises at least one of:
an IP address of the client computing device; a geographic location of the client computing device; one or more software of the client computing device; one or more hardware capabilities of the client computing device; a client computing device type; or information relating to an initiation request.
19. A system comprising: a client computing device; a service comprising a client request processor; a data center; an intermediate domain name system server; an authoritative domain name system server; a pre-localization engine; and
a network, wherein the network is in communication with the client computing device, the service data center, the intermediate domain name system server, the authoritative domain name system server, and the pre-localization engine, and wherein the system performs a set of operations comprising: processing a pre-localization request from the client computing device by the client request processor;
directing the client computing device to a hostname associated with the data center; assigning an edge server by the data center; and providing a response comprising a pre-localized hostname.
A system comprising: at least one processor; and memory, operatively connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to perform a set of operations, the set of operations comprising: receiving, at a content distribution network (CDN), a pre-localization request from a service that is distinct from the CDN and uses the CDN to deliver content provided by the service, wherein the pre-localization request comprises pre-localization information and the pre-localization information comprises an indication of particular content stored by the CDN; generating, based on the pre-localization information, a pre-localized hostname associated with an edge server of the CDN that is responsible for the particular content, wherein generating the pre-localized hostname comprises: generating a hash based on the particular content; and identifying the edge server according to a hashing algorithm; providing, in response to the pre-localization request, the pre-localized hostname for the edge server of the CDN; receiving, from a client computing device, a request for the content at the edge server of the CDN; and providing the content to the client computing device.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein: the pre-localization information further comprises an indication of a geographic location for the client computing device; and generating the pre-localized hostname comprises identifying a data center associated with the edge server based on the geographic location.
3. The system of claim 1, wherein generating the pre-localized hostname comprises: evaluating a set of edge servers associated with the CDN to identify an edge server that is responsible for the particular content; and generating the pre-localized hostname indicating the identified edge server.
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the pre-localized hostname is associated with at least the edge server of a first data center and a second edge server of a second data center.
5. The system of claim 1, wherein the particular content comprises video content, and wherein the service comprises a website that lists the video content for playback.
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the pre-localization information further comprises at least one of: an IP address of the client computing device; a geographic location of the client computing device; one or more software of the client computing device; one or more hardware capabilities of the client computing device; a client computing device type; or information relating to an initiation request.
7. A method for directing a client computing device to a content distribution network (CDN) using a pre-localized hostname, the method comprising: receiving, at a service and from the client computing device, an initiation request relating to computing functionality provided by the CDN for the service, wherein the service is distinct from the CDN; generating pre-localization information based at least in part on the initiation request and information about the client computing device; determining, based on the pre-localization information, a pre-localized hostname associated with a particular edge server of the CDN, wherein the CDN includes a plurality of edge servers, and the particular edge server is responsible for the computing functionality, wherein determining the pre-localized hostname comprises: generating a hash based on the particular content; and identifying the particular edge server according to a hashing algorithm; and sending to the client computing device, by the service, a response to the initiation request comprising the pre-localized hostname, thereby directing the client computing device to the particular edge server of the CDN.
8. The method of claim 7, wherein determining the pre-localized hostname comprises: generating a pre-localization request comprising the pre-localization information; providing the pre-localization request to a pre-localization engine of the CDN; and receiving, in response to the pre-localization request, a response comprising the pre-localized hostname.
9. The method of claim 7, wherein determining the pre-localized hostname comprises evaluating a set of edge servers associated with the CDN to identify the particular edge server that is responsible for the computing functionality.
10. The method of claim 7, wherein the pre-localized hostname is associated with at least the particular edge server of a first data center and a second edge server of a second data center.
11. The method of claim 7, wherein the pre-localization information comprises at least one of: an indication of the computing functionality; an IP address of the client computing device; a geographic location of the client computing device; one or more software of the client computing device; one or more hardware capabilities of the client computing device; a client computing device type; or information relating to the initiation request.
12. The method of claim 7, wherein the initiation request comprises the information about the client computing device.
13. A method for generating a pre-localized hostname, the method comprising: receiving a pre-localization request comprising pre-localization information, wherein the pre-localization information comprises an indication of computing functionality associated with a content distribution network (CDN); generating, based on the pre-localization information, a pre-localized hostname associated with an edge server of the CDN that is responsible for the computing functionality, wherein generating the pre-localized hostname comprises: generating a hash based on the particular content; and identifying the edge server according to a hashing algorithm; and providing, in response to the pre-localization request, the pre-localized hostname to direct a client computing device to the edge server of the CDN.
14. The method of claim 13, wherein: the pre-localization information further comprises an indication of a geographic location for the client computing device; and generating the pre-localized hostname comprises identifying a data center associated with the edge server based on the geographic location.
15. The method of claim 13, wherein generating the pre-localized hostname comprises: evaluating a set of edge servers associated with the CDN to identify an edge server that is responsible for the computing functionality; and generating the pre-localized hostname indicating the identified edge server.
16. The method of claim 13, wherein the pre-localized hostname is associated with at least the edge server of a first data center and a second edge server of a second data center.
17. The method of claim 13, wherein the pre-localization request is received from a service associated with the CDN, and wherein the pre-localization information further comprises information relating to an initiation request of the client computing device.
18. The method of claim 13, wherein the pre-localization information further comprises at least one of: an IP address of the client computing device; a geographic location of the client computing device; one or more software of the client computing device; one or more hardware capabilities of the client computing device; a client computing device type; or information relating to an initiation request.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 - 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mohammad Aldie Shafiullah (US 10,735,528; hereinafter Shafiullah).
Regarding claim 1, Shafiullah discloses a system comprising:
at least one processor (fig. 8; col. 10, lines 38 – 59); and
memory, operatively connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (fig. 8; col. 10, lines 38 – 59), cause the system to perform a set of operations, the set of operations comprising:
receiving, at a content distribution network (CDN), a pre-localization request from a service that is distinct from the CDN and uses the CDN to deliver content provided by the service, wherein the pre-localization request comprises pre-localization information and the pre-localization information comprises an indication of particular content stored by the CDN (col. 1, line 62 through col. 2, line 27; col. 3, lines 2 – 35; Shafiullah discloses that CND service providers often consider factors such as latency of delivery of requested content, as well as caching-related attributes (e.g., cache-control max-age HTTP response header) of requested content in order to meet service level agreements);
generating, based on the pre-localization information, a pre-localized hostname associated with an edge server of the CDN that is responsible for the particular content (col. 2, lines 6 – 7; col. 8, lines 4 – 8; Shafiullah discloses that the CDN takes advantage of DNS to route the request to a specific edge location);
providing, in response to the pre-localization request, the pre-localized hostname for the edge server of the CDN (col. 2, lines 19 – 21; col. 8, lines 8 – 22; Shafiullah discloses that the servers analyze the source of the request and respond back with a set of IP addresses belonging to one edge location/POP);
receiving, from a client computing device, a request for the content at the edge server of the CDN (col. 2, lines 21 – 25; col. 8, lines 15 – 22; Shafiullah discloses that once the client/browser receives the DNS response, it communicates with one of the IPs to request the object. Finally, once the POP web server (that has the specified IP assigned) receives the request, it issues a new request to the "Origin" webserver), wherein the edge server is selected based at least in part on a geographic location associated with the requesting client computing device and/or according to round-robin techniques for selecting an edge server within a data center (col. 8, lines 40 – 47; Shafiullah discloses that the DNS server determines a class associated with the requesting client computing device. For example, the class can correspond to a specific geographic region to which the client computing device belongs or an internet service provider for the client computing device); and
providing the content to the client computing device (col. 2, lines 25 – 28; col. 8, lines 40 – 64; Shafiullah discloses that if the content is not already located in the edge location/POP cache, and caches the content at the edge location/POP and serves the content back to the Client/browser).
Regarding claim 2, Shafiullah discloses system of claim 1, wherein: the pre-localization information further comprises an indication of a geographic location for the client computing device (col. 8, lines 40 – 47; Shafiullah discloses that the DNS server determines a class associated with the requesting client computing device. For example, the class can correspond to a specific geographic region to which the client computing device belongs or an internet service provider for the client computing device); and
generating the pre-localized hostname comprises identifying a data center associated with the edge server based on the geographic location (col. 8, lines 53 – 58; Shafiullah discloses that the DNS server selects an appropriate resource cache component for providing content associated with the resource request based on the routing information for the determined class of the client computing device. The IP address selected by the DNS server may correspond to a specific caching server in the resource cache).
Regarding claim 3, Shafiullah discloses the system of claim 1, wherein generating the pre-localized hostname comprises:
evaluating a set of edge servers associated with the CDN to identify an edge server that is responsible for the particular content (col. 1, lines 47 - 61); and
generating the pre-localized hostname indicating the identified edge server (col. 2, lines 6 - 30).
Regarding claim 4, Shafiullah discloses system of claim 1, wherein the pre-localized hostname is associated with at least the edge server of a first data center and a second edge server of a second data center (216, 222; fig. 2; col. 6, lines 55 – 63; Shafiullah discloses that a client computing device request corresponding to a resource identifier would eventually be directed toward a POP 216, 222, 228 associated with the CDN service provider 206).
Regarding claim 5, Shafiullah discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the particular content comprises video content (col. 1, lines 29 - 46), and wherein the service comprises a website that lists the video content for playback (col. 1, lines 29 – 46; Shafiullah discloses a requested Web page, or original content, may be associated with a number of additional resources, such as images or videos, which are to be displayed with the Web page).
Regarding claim 6, Shafiullah discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the pre-localization information further comprises at least one of:
an IP address of the client computing device (col. 3, lines 17 – 20; col. 4, lines 58 - 60);
a geographic location of the client computing device (col. 8, lines 44 - 52);
one or more software of the client computing device (fig. 1; col. 3, lines 36 - 63);
one or more hardware capabilities of the client computing device (fig. 1; col. 3, lines 36 - 63);
a client computing device type; or information relating to an initiation request (col. 3, lines 36 - 63).
Regarding claim 7, Shafiullah discloses a method for directing a client computing device to a content distribution network (CDN) using a pre-localized hostname (figs. 1 - 2), the method comprising:
receiving, at a service and from the client computing device, an initiation request relating to computing functionality provided by the CDN for the service, wherein the service is distinct from the CDN (col. 1, line 62 through col. 2, line 27; col. 5, lines 9 - 17);
generating pre-localization information based at least in part on the initiation request and information about the client computing device (col. 8, lines 40 – 47; Shafiullah discloses that the DNS server determines a class associated with the requesting client computing device. For example, the class can correspond to a specific geographic region to which the client computing device belongs or an internet service provider for the client computing device);
determining, based on the pre-localization information, a pre-localized hostname associated with a particular edge server of the CDN, wherein the CDN includes a plurality of edge servers, and the particular edge server is responsible for the computing functionality (col. 2, lines 6 – 7; col. 8, lines 4 – 8; Shafiullah discloses that the CDN takes advantage of DNS to route the request to a specific edge location), wherein the edge server is selected based at least in part on the pre-localization information and/or according to round-robin techniques for selecting an edge server within a data center (col. 8, lines 40 – 47; Shafiullah discloses that the DNS server determines a class associated with the requesting client computing device. For example, the class can correspond to a specific geographic region to which the client computing device belongs or an internet service provider for the client computing device); and
sending to the client computing device, by the service, a response to the initiation request comprising the pre-localized hostname, thereby directing the client computing device to the particular edge server of the CDN (col. 2, lines 25 – 28; col. 8, lines 40 – 64; Shafiullah discloses that if the content is not already located in the edge location/POP cache, and caches the content at the edge location/POP and serves the content back to the Client/browser).
Regarding claim 8, Shafiullah discloses the method of claim 7, wherein determining the pre-localized hostname comprises:
generating a pre-localization request comprising the pre-localization information (col. 1, line 62 through col. 2, line 27; col. 3, lines 2 – 35);
providing the pre-localization request to a pre-localization engine of the CDN (col. 2, lines 25 – 28; col. 8, lines 40 – 64); and
receiving, in response to the pre-localization request, a response comprising the pre- localized hostname (col. 2, lines 25 – 28; col. 8, lines 40 – 64).
Regarding claim 9, Shafiullah discloses the method of claim 7, wherein determining the pre-localized hostname comprises evaluating a set of edge servers associated with the CDN to identify the particular edge server that is responsible for the computing functionality (col. 1, lines 47 - 61).
Regarding claim 10, Shafiullah discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the pre-localized hostname is associated with at least the particular edge server of a first data center and a second edge server of a second data center (216, 222; fig. 2; col. 6, lines 55 – 63; Shafiullah discloses that a client computing device request corresponding to a resource identifier would eventually be directed toward a POP 216, 222, 228 associated with the CDN service provider 206).
Regarding claim 11, Shafiullah discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the pre-localization information comprises at least one of:
an indication of the computing functionality ();
an IP address of the client computing device (col. 3, lines 17 – 20; col. 4, lines 58 - 60);
a geographic location of the client computing device (col. 8, lines 44 - 52);
one or more software of the client computing device (fig. 1; col. 3, lines 36 - 63);
one or more hardware capabilities of the client computing device (fig. 1; col. 3, lines 36 - 63);
a client computing device type; or information relating to the initiation request (fig. 1; col. 3, lines 36 - 63).
Regarding claim 12, Shafiullah discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the initiation request comprises the information about the client computing device (col. 8, lines 40 – 47; Shafiullah discloses that the DNS server determines a class associated with the requesting client computing device. For example, the class can correspond to a specific geographic region to which the client computing device belongs or an internet service provider for the client computing device).
Regarding claim 13, Shafiullah discloses a method for generating a pre-localized hostname, the method comprising:
receiving a pre-localization request comprising pre-localization information, wherein the pre-localization information comprises an indication of computing functionality associated with a content distribution network (CDN)( col. 1, line 62 through col. 2, line 27; col. 3, lines 2 – 35; Shafiullah discloses that CDN service providers often consider factors such as latency of delivery of requested content, as well as caching-related attributes (e.g., cache-control max-age HTTP response header) of requested content in order to meet service level agreements);
generating, based on the pre-localization information, a pre-localized hostname associated with an edge server of the CDN that is responsible for the computing functionality (col. 2, lines 6 – 7; col. 8, lines 4 – 8; Shafiullah discloses that the CDN takes advantage of DNS to route the request to a specific edge location); and
providing, in response to the pre-localization request, the pre-localized hostname to direct a client computing device to the edge server of the CDN (col. 2, lines 25 – 28; col. 8, lines 40 – 64; Shafiullah discloses that if the content is not already located in the edge location/POP cache, and caches the content at the edge location/POP and serves the content back to the Client/browser), wherein the edge server is selected based at least in part on a geographic location associated with the client computing device and/or according to round-robin techniques for selecting an edge server within a data center (col. 8, lines 40 – 47; Shafiullah discloses that the DNS server determines a class associated with the requesting client computing device. For example, the class can correspond to a specific geographic region to which the client computing device belongs or an internet service provider for the client computing device).
Regarding claim 14, Shafiullah discloses the method of claim 13, wherein:
the pre-localization information further comprises an indication of a geographic location for the client computing device (col. 8, lines 40 – 47; Shafiullah discloses that the DNS server determines a class associated with the requesting client computing device. For example, the class can correspond to a specific geographic region to which the client computing device belongs or an internet service provider for the client computing device); and
generating the pre-localized hostname comprises identifying a data center associated with the edge server based on the geographic location (col. 8, lines 53 – 58; Shafiullah discloses that the DNS server selects an appropriate resource cache component for providing content associated with the resource request based on the routing information for the determined class of the client computing device. The IP address selected by the DNS server may correspond to a specific caching server in the resource cache).
Regarding claim 15, Shafiullah discloses the method of claim 13, wherein generating the pre-localized hostname comprises:
evaluating a set of edge servers associated with the CDN to identify an edge server that is responsible for the computing functionality (col. 1, lines 47 - 61); and
generating the pre-localized hostname indicating the identified edge server (col. 2, lines 6 - 30).
Regarding claim 16, Shafiullah discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the pre-localized hostname is associated with at least the edge server of a first data center and a second edge server of a second data center (216, 222; fig. 2; col. 6, lines 55 – 63; Shafiullah discloses that a client computing device request corresponding to a resource identifier would eventually be directed toward a POP 216, 222, 228 associated with the CDN service provider 206).
Regarding claim 17, Shafiullah discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the pre-localization request is received from a service associated with the CDN (col. 1, line 62 through col. 2, line 27; col. 5, lines 9 – 17), and wherein the pre-localization information further comprises information relating to an initiation request of the client computing device (col. 8, lines 40 – 47; Shafiullah discloses that the DNS server determines a class associated with the requesting client computing device. For example, the class can correspond to a specific geographic region to which the client computing device belongs or an internet service provider for the client computing device).
Regarding claim 18, Shafiullah discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the pre-localization information further comprises at least one of:
an IP address of the client computing device (col. 8, lines 44 - 52);
a geographic location of the client computing device (col. 8, lines 44 - 52);
one or more software of the client computing device (fig. 1; col. 3, lines 36 - 63);
one or more hardware capabilities of the client computing device (fig. 1; col. 3, lines 36 - 63);
a client computing device type; or information relating to an initiation request (fig. 1; col. 3, lines 36 - 63).
Claims 1, 7, and 13 incorporate substantively all the limitations of claim 19. The reasons for rejecting claims 1, 7, and 13 apply in claim 19. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chamarajanagar et al (US 11,005,929) discloses a dynamic data center load balancing using border gateway protocol.
Contact Information
/YVES DALENCOURT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457