DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14 – 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kudekar (US 10469104 B2) in view of Guo (US 2023/0118018 A1).
In regards to claim 14, Kudekar teaches:
A data transmission method, comprising: determining a target lifting size based on a length of an information bit corresponding to to-be-transmitted data and an information column quantity of a low-density parity-check code LDPC base graph, (67, The base graph defines the (macro) structure of the code and consists of a number (K) of information bit columns and a number (N) of code bit columns. Lifting the base graph a number of liftings Z results in a final block length of KZ.) wherein the target lifting size is in at least one of m lifting size sets, one lifting size set comprises a lifting size corresponding to at least one of n bases, the m lifting size sets comprise lifting sizes corresponding to the n bases, a lifting size corresponding to an
i
t
h
base
a
i
, in the n bases is determined (Abstract, The method generally includes selecting a first lifting size value Z and a first set of lifting values for generating a first lifted LDPC code; generating the first lifted LDPC code by applying the first set of lifting values to interconnect edges in Z copies of a base parity check matrix (PCM) having a first number of base variable nodes and a second number of base check nodes to obtain a first lifted PCM corresponding to the first lifted LDPC code;) determining a first shifting value set corresponding to the target lifting size, wherein the first shifting value set is in in shifting value sets; and sending the to-be-transmitted data based on the target lifting size and the first shifting value set. (96, Lifted LDPC codes can be described by assigning to each edge of the PCM a number (e.g., an integer) which may be less than the size of the lifting Z. That entry can be replaced with a circulant matrix obtained by cyclically shifting (e.g., to the right), the identity matrix of size Z×Z, by that number. Thus, PCMs can be given by a matrix of the size of the base PCM with integer entries corresponding to the cyclic liftings.)
Kudekar fails to teach:
based on a product of
a
i
and an integer power of 2, n is greater than m, and
a
i
is a positive integer;
However, Guo teaches:
based on a product of
a
i
and an integer power of 2, n is greater than m, and
a
i
is a positive integer;
(0270, In some embodiments, a product of the length of each encoded code block and the scaling factor can be an integer.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method for wireless communications by a transmitting device of Kudekar with the teaching of Guo, which teaches methods, systems and apparatus for wireless communication in order to improve reliability. (Guo: 0003 to provide support for an increased number of users and devices)
In regards to claim 2, Kudekar in view of Guo teaches the method of claim 1.
Kudekar teaches:
wherein the m shifting value sets are in one-to-one correspondence with the m lifting size sets. (96, Lifted LDPC codes can be described by assigning to each edge of the PCM a number (e.g., an integer) which may be less than the size of the lifting Z. That entry can be replaced with a circulant matrix obtained by cyclically shifting (e.g., to the right), the identity matrix of size Z×Z, by that number. Thus, PCMs can be given by a matrix of the size of the base PCM with integer entries corresponding to the cyclic liftings.)
In regards to claim 3, Kudekar in view of Guo teaches the method of claim 1.
Kudekar teaches:
wherein a jth shifting value set in the m shifting value sets belongs to {t, 1+tj, 2+tj,..., H(j)+t,-1}, H(j) is less than a maximum value of lifting sizes in a jth lifting size set corresponding to the jth shifting value set, t_j; is an integer, and H(j) is a positive integer. (70, A cyclically lifted LDPC code can also be interpreted as a code over the ring of binary polynomials modulo x.sup.z+1. In this interpretation, a binary polynomial, (x)=b.sub.0+b.sub.1x+b.sub.2x.sup.2+ . . . +b.sub.z−1x.sup.z−1 may be associated to each variable node in the base graph.)
In regards to claim 4, Kudekar in view of Guo teaches the method of claim 3.
Kudekar teaches:
wherein a difference between different H(j) corresponding to the m shifting value sets is less than or equal to a first preset threshold. (103, Values associated to all edges in the base PCM may be less than the maximum lifting size (1024 in this example).)
In regards to claim 5, Kudekar in view of Guo teaches the method of claim 1.
Kudekar teaches:
wherein the method further comprises: sending indication information, wherein the indication information indicates the target lifting size and/or the first shifting value set. (14, The method generally includes selecting a first lifting size value Z and a first set of lifting values for generating a first lifted LDPC code;)
With regards to claim 6, Kudekar in view of Guo teaches the data transmission method and corresponds to claim 1 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 7, Kudekar in view of Guo teaches the method of claim 6 and corresponds to claim 2 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 8, Kudekar in view of Guo teaches the method of claim 6 and corresponds to claim 3 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 9, Kudekar in view of Guo teaches the method of claim 8 and corresponds to claim 4 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 10, Kudekar in view of Guo teaches the method of claim 6 and corresponds to claim 5 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 11, Kudekar in view of Guo teaches the communication apparatus and corresponds to claim 1 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 12, Kudekar in view of Guo teaches the apparatus of claim 11 and corresponds to claim 2 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 13, Kudekar in view of Guo teaches the apparatus of claim 11 and corresponds to claim 3 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 14, Kudekar in view of Guo teaches the apparatus of claim 13 and corresponds to claim 4 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 15, Kudekar in view of Guo teaches the apparatus of claim 11 and corresponds to claim 5 as analyzed accordingly.
Prior Art Made of Record
The prior art mode of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
MYUNG (US-2020/0366317-A1): Disclosed are a communication scheme and a system thereof for converging IoT technology and a 5G communication system for supporting a high data transmission rate beyond that of a 4G system. The disclosure can be applied to intelligent services (for example, services related to a smart home, smart building, smart city, smart car, connected car, health care, digital education, retail business, security, and safety) based on the 5G communication technology and the IoT-related technology. A decoding method includes: performing decoding through an inner code; detecting an error through an outer code; determining a re-encoding method; and performing re-encoding. A method for processing a signal includes decoding a first layer signal to determine first LDPC information bits, encoding the first LDPC information bits and a first parity bits to determine second parity bits; identifying a part of the first LDPC information bits, and decoding a second layer signal.
QIN (US-2024/0250698-A1): This application discloses an encoding method, a decoding method, and an apparatus. The encoding method includes: obtaining a first bit sequence and a target code length M; then performing first channel encoding on the first bit sequence, to obtain a second bit sequence; performing second channel encoding based on the second bit sequence, to obtain a third bit sequence; and outputting the third bit sequence. The first bit sequence includes K information bits, the second bit sequence includes N bits, and the third bit sequence includes the N bits and E check bits, where M>N, and E=M−N. M, K, N, and E are all integers greater than or equal to 1.
Conclusion
should be directed to VICTOR PERRY whose telephone number is (571)272-6319. The examiner can
normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00 - 5:00.
Mark Featherstone can be reached on (571) 270-3750. The fax phone number for the organization
where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like
assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/V.P./Examiner, Art Unit 2111
/GUERRIER MERANT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2111
9/8/2026