DETAILED ACTION
This is the third Office action on the merits of the claims.
The Patent Office has transferred this application to a different examiner. Please direct any reply to the examiner now identified on the cover page.
All citations to the Manual of Patent Examining Procedure (MPEP) refer to Revision 01.2024, which was released in November 2024.
Continued Examination
Status of the Claims
Applicant amended claim 2. Claim 1 was cancelled previously by Applicant. Claims 2-29 are pending.
Status of the Rejections and Objections
All rejections set forth in the previous Office action (27 October 2025) are withdrawn.
All rejections and objections set forth in this Office action are new.
Objection to the Specification
The title of the invention (“Pharmaceutical Compositions”) is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. MPEP § 606.01. The following title is suggested: “Method of Treating IgA Nephropathy.”
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
Claims 2-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter that the inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, if the multiparticulates (cores) are individually coated with the “enteric coating” recited later in the claim, does that enteric coating count toward the earlier-recited “total coated core weight”? This ambiguity renders claim 2 and all claims depending thereon indefinite. MPEP § 2173.04 (“a genus claim that could be interpreted in such a way that it is not clear which species are covered would be indefinite (e.g., because there is more than one reasonable interpretation of what species are included in the claim)”). Applicant is additionally referred to claims 8 and 9, both of which recite similarly ambiguous claim limitations.
In further regard to claim 2, how does the language recited at the end of the claim (i.e., “wherein the subject is administered a daily dose of about 16 mg of budesonide”) relate to the capsule introduced earlier in the claim? For example, does the capsule comprise the daily dose of about 16 mg budesonide? This ambiguity renders claim 2 and all claims depending thereon indefinite.
Regarding claim 27, it is unclear whether (and, if so, how) the phrase recited therein further limits the claim. How does the number of times the claimed pharmaceutical composition is tested influence its structure?
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 2-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fellstrom (“Targeted-release budesonide versus placebo in patients with IgA nephropathy (NEFIGAN): a double-blind, randomised, placebo-controlled phase 2b trial.” The Lancet 389.10084 (2017): 2117-2127) in view of Calliditas Therapeutics (“Pharmalink’s core patents for Nefecon® treatment for renal disease granted in United States, Europe, China and Hong Kong.” 2014 July 10. [Press Release]), Watts (US 8,491,932 B2) and, optionally, Ulmius (US 5,643,602).
Fellstrom is directed to: “Targeted-release budesonide versus placebo in patients with IgA nephropathy (NEFIGAN): a double-blind, randomised, placebo-controlled phase 2b trial.” Title.
Fellstrom discloses that “[p]rimary IgA nephropathy is the most prevalent chronic glomerular disease worldwide, with patients often diagnosed as young adults.” Page 2117, left column.
Fellstrom discloses: “A novel, oral, targeted-release formulation of the glucocorticosteroid budesonide (TRF-budesonide; Nefecon [Pharmalink AB, Stockholm, Sweden]) was developed to release the drug in the distal ileum, which has a high density of Peyer’s patches.” Page 2118, left column.
Fellstrom discloses: “Trial medication was an oral capsule formulation of TRF-budesonide (Nefecon) or placebo, designed to provide sustained release of active compound that was delayed until the capsule reached the distal ileum, targeting the site with a high density of Peyer’s patches.” (Emphasis added) Page 2119, right column. “The safety profile of TRF-budesonide was anticipated to be superior to high dose systemic corticosteroids because of its extensive first-pass metabolism—less than 10% of budesonide enters systemic circulation.” (Emphasis added) Page 2118 at sentence bridging left/right columns.
Fellstrom discloses: “Patients were stratified according to their baseline UPCR (≤0·9 g/g and >0·9 g/g) at month 0 (baseline). We randomly allocated patients to treatment groups using a computer algorithm method of permuted blocks. Within each block, patients were allocated in a 1:1:1 ratio to 16 mg/day TRF-budesonide, 8 mg/day TRF-budesonide, or placebo.” (Emphasis added) Page 2119, left column.
Fellstrom discloses: “To ensure masking, placebo capsules provided by the sponsor had the same appearance and route of administration as the active capsules. Patients self-administered masked capsules, once daily, 1 h before breakfast during the treatment phase. During follow-up (months 9–12), patients who received 16 mg/day TRF-budesonide during months 0–9 were tapered to 8 mg/day for 2 weeks while all other patients (ie, those who received TRF-budesonide 8 mg/day or placebo during months 0–9) received placebo to maintain masking. No further trial medication was administered after tapering.” (Emphasis added) Page 2119 at paragraph bridging left/right columns.
Fellstrom discloses: “This trial showed that 9 months’ treatment with TRF-budesonide resulted in reduced proteinuria and stabilised eGFR in patients with IgA nephropathy at risk of progression to end-stage renal disease. The observed effect was additive to optimised RAS blockade and supports the use of TRF-budesonide as adjunct therapy in patients with IgA nephropathy with persistent proteinuria. TRF-budesonide has the potential to become the first disease-specific treatment for IgA nephropathy, with a risk-benefit profile supportive of its use early in the course of disease.” Page 2126, right column. “At 9 months, mean UPCR [urine protein creatinine ratio] had decreased by 27.3% in 48 patients who received 16 mg/day (0.71; 0.53–0.94; p=0.0092) and 21.5% in the 51 patients who received 8 mg/day (0.76; 0.58–1.01; p=0.0290); 50 patients who received placebo had an increase in mean UPCR of 2.7%.” (Emphasis added) Abstract.
Although Fellstrom discloses that TRF-budesonide (Nefecon®) provides sustained release of active compound that is delayed until the capsule reaches the distal ileum (page 2118), Fellstrom is silent as to whether Nefecon includes an “extended-release component” and an “enteric coating.” Consequently, Fellstrom does not satisfy claim 2 of the present application. As explained below, the following two references — in combination — compensate for those deficiencies: Calliditas Therapeutics and Watts.
Calliditas Therapeutics is a press release directed to the core patents for Nefecon®.
Calliditas Therapeutics teaches: “Nefecon is a potential disease-modifying treatment for patients with primary lgA nephropathy at risk of developing end-stage renal disease.” Page 1.
Calliditas Therapeutics teaches: “The patents issued in the US (US 8,491,932), Europe (EP 2278958) China (200980127272.5) and Hong Kong (1158510) provide protection around the formulation of Nefecon and its use as a treatment of glomerulonephritis, including IgA nephropathy, the most common form of primary glomerulonephritis and a cause of end-stage renal disease.” (Emphasis added) Page 1.
Watts, which is US 8,491,932, is directed to compositions for the oral delivery of corticosteroids.
Section (iv) of Example 1 of Watts (columns 10-11) teaches budesonide cores that are coated with a controlled-release (extended-release) layer comprising a blend of a water-insoluble polymer (ethylcellulose) and water-soluble polymers (HPMC/PEG). More specifically, Watts teaches:
900 g of Surelease® dispersion (ethylcellulose aqueous dispersion, 25% by weight solids) was transferred to a beaker. 45 g of Opadry® coating material (hydroxypropyl methylcellulose/polyethylene glycol blend) was dissolved in 555 g of water and the resulting solution gently mixed into the Surelease® dispersion.
4 kg of the coated beads (obtained in step (iii)) were transferred into the coating chamber of the MP-1 coater which was set up with the following parameters:
Fluidisation air volume=80 m3/h
Inlet temp=70° C.
Atomisation pressure=29 psi (2 bar)
778 g of coating dispersion was applied to the beads at an approximate rate of 9 g/min. The coated beads were dried while being fluidised for 15 minutes at 60° C. followed by 15 minutes at 30° C.
Column 11, lines 22-38.
The examiner notes that drying in a fluidized bed for 15 minutes at 60°C (equivalent to 140°F) qualifies as cured to form a single polymeric phase coating. The examiner’s position is supported by page 44 of Applicant’s specification, as originally filed, which states in relevant part: “Spraying at a temperature towards the upper end of this region, such as about 50 to about 65°C may avoid the requirement of a separate curing/coalescing step as outlined below.” Para. [0226]. Applicant is reminded that “[d]uring patent examination, the pending claims must be ‘given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification.’” MPEP § 2111, quoting Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1316 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (en banc).
In Example 2 (column 11), Watts teaches an enterically-coated capsule containing the sustained-release budesonide beads of Example 1. More specifically, section (b) of Example 2 teaches that the capsule is coated with a solution comprising Eudragit® L100 copolymer and Eudragit® S100 copolymer (Degussa, Darmstadt, Germany). Column 11, lines 52-56. Those are enteric copolymers. Column 9, lines 20-25; column 8, 62-68; and column 1, lines 41-44. The enterically-coated capsules of Example 2 “are suitable for use in the treatment of glomerulonephritis.” Column 12, lines 1-2. Budesonide is the only active pharmaceutical ingredient in those capsules. The examiner notes that Immunoglobulin A (IgA) nephropathy, commonly referred to as Berger disease, has been widely recognized as the most common form of primary glomerulonephritis worldwide since at least as early as the effective filing date of the present application.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the teachings of Calliditas Therapeutics would have motivated a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Fellstrom by orally administering the enteric budesonide capsules of Example 2 of Watts to a patient suffering from IgA nephropathy. The foregoing modification would have been made with a reasonable expectation of success in treating IgA nephropathy because Example 2 is essentially identified as Nefecon® (TRF-budesonide) in Calliditas Therapeutics, especially considering no other exemplary budesonide formulation in final form (i.e., ready or otherwise intended for administration to the patient) is disclosed in Watts.
As established above, Watts discloses that 4 kg of budesonide cores are coated with 778 g of the extended-release polymeric blend (ethylcellulose/HPMC/PEG). The calculation of 778 g / (778 g + 4,000 g) yields a weight percentage of 16.3%, which seemingly lies inside — or is close to — the concentration ranges recited respectively in claims 2 and 8-9. MPEP § 2144.05(I) (overlapping, approaching, and similar ranges, amounts, and proportions). In the alternative, Ulmius (the optional reference) teaches a corresponding range of between 0.5% and 30% by weight, preferably between 1% and 15% (column 5, lines 59-61 and 28-33), thereby compensating for any deficiency in Watts. MPEP § 2144.05(I) (“In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”). Applicant is additionally referred to Ulmius at claim 21 (“The formulation according to claim 1, 2 or 3, wherein the layer comprises between 1% and 15% (w/w) of the total weight of the coated pellet.”) and at Section (ii)(b) of claim 1, which is located at column 14, lines 15-24.
Therefore, claims 2, 8-14, and 20-22 are prima facie obvious.
Regarding claims 3-4 and 23-29, Applicant is referred to Watts at column 3, lines 60-66, where the desired release profile for treatment of glomerulonephritis is set forth. Watts additionally teaches: “To provide delayed release of the sustained release component either the sustained release component or the capsule in which it is contained is treated, for example coated, with a material that substantially prevents release of the sustained release component until the composition reaches the intestine, for example the lower small intestine.” Column 8, lines 52-57. Applicant is alerted that “[w]here the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” MPEP § 2112.01(I), citing In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claims 5-7, the polymer blend of the controlled-release layer of Section (iv) of Example 1 of Watts comprises about 83 wt% ethylcellulose (225/270 grams) and about 17 wt% water-soluble polymers HPMC/PEG (45/270 grams). MPEP § 2144.05(I) (overlapping, approaching, and similar ranges, amounts, and proportions).
Regarding claims 15-17, Watts teaches: “Expressed as mg of coating per cm2 of surface area, the amount of delayed release coating on a capsule or the sustained release component is preferably from about 1 to about 30 mg/cm2, more preferably from about 2 to about 25 mg/cm2 and most preferably from about 3 to about 20 mg/cm2. Thus, a capsule with a surface area of about 5 cm2 most preferably contains from about 15 to about 100 mg of coating.” (Emphasis added) Column 9, lines 39-45; see also column 9, lines 49-51 (“a coating layer of from about 6 to 10 mg/cm2 may be suitable for a dosage form intended for use in the treatment of glomerulonephritis”) and MPEP § 2144.05(I) (“In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”).
Regarding claim 18, Example 2 of Watts uses size 0 capsules (column 11, lines 46-48), which are close enough to size 1 capsules to support a finding of prima facie obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05(I) (“a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close”).
Regarding claim 19, Watts teaches that each capsule of Example 2 comprises 4 mg of budesonide. Column 11, lines 48-50.
Claim Rejections - Double Patenting (Non-Statutory)
Claims 2-29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-26 of co-pending Application No. 19/195,082 (as amended on December 19, 2025).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following: Conflicting claim 2 of the ’082 Application is directed to a method of treating IgA nephropathy by administering, at a dosage of “about 16 mg,” a budesonide formulation that is substantially similar to the formulation recited in claim 2 of the present application. The remaining conflicting claims (i.e., claims 3-26) collectively recite limitations that satisfy or overlap the corresponding limitations recited in present claims 2-31. Therefore, the present claims are not patentably distinguishable over conflicting claims 2-26 of the ’082 Application. This is a provisional rejection because the conflicting claims have not been patented.
Claims 2-29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-31 of co-pending Application No. 19/194,972 (as amended on December 29, 2025).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following: Conflicting claim 2 of the ’972 Application is directed to a method of treating IgA nephropathy by administering, at “a daily dosage of about 16 mg,” a budesonide formulation that is substantially similar to the formulation recited in claim 2 of the present application. The remaining conflicting claims (i.e., claims 3-31) collectively recite limitations that satisfy or overlap the corresponding limitations recited in present claims 2-29. Therefore, the present claims are not patentably distinguishable over conflicting claims 2-31 of the ’972 Application. This is a provisional rejection because the conflicting claims have not been patented.
Claims 2-29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-31 of co-pending Application No. 19/242,380 (as amended on December 24, 2025).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following: Conflicting claims 2 and 15 of the ’380 Application are directed to a method of treating IgA nephropathy by administering, at a dosage of “about 16 mg,” a budesonide formulation that is substantially similar to the formulation recited in claim 2 of the present application. The remaining conflicting claims (i.e., claims 3-31) collectively recite limitations that satisfy or overlap the corresponding limitations recited in present claims 2-29. Therefore, the present claims are not patentably distinguishable over conflicting claims 2-31 of the ’380 Application. This is a provisional rejection because the conflicting claims have not been patented.
Claims 2-29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-31 of co-pending Application No. 19/303,799 (as amended on September 25, 2025).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following: Conflicting claim 2 of the ’799 Application is directed to a method of treating IgA nephropathy by administering, at a dosage of “about 16 mg,” a budesonide formulation that is substantially similar to the formulation recited in claim 2 of the present application. The remaining conflicting claims (i.e., claims 3-31) collectively recite limitations that satisfy or overlap the corresponding limitations recited in present claims 2-29. Therefore, the present claims are not patentably distinguishable over conflicting claims 2-31 of the ’799 Application. This is a provisional rejection because the conflicting claims have not been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 2-29 are rejected.
The title is objected to.
No claim is allowed.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PETER ANTHOPOLOS whose telephone number is 571-270-5989. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday – Friday (9:00 am – 5:00 pm). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Bethany P. Barham, can be reached on Monday – Friday (9:00 am – 5:00 pm) at 571-272-6175. The fax number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/P.A./
01 April 2026
/BETHANY P BARHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1611