DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 9/11/2025 and 3/3/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12361527 B2 (hereinafter “Pat’527”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Instance Application
Pat’527
1. An apparatus comprising:
at least one processor; and
a memory coupled to the at least one processor storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to function as:
a processing unit configured to perform signal processing for a signal from a sensor using a correction value that is different for each pixel of the signal; and
a calculating unit configured to perform a correlation calculation for the signal output from the processing unit, and
wherein the processing unit performs a weighted sum for adjacent pixels using the correction value.
1. An apparatus comprising:
at least one processor; and
a memory coupled to the at least one processor storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to function as:
a processing unit configured to perform signal processing for a signal from a sensor using a correction value that is different for each pixel of the signal; and
a calculating unit configured to perform a correlation calculation for the signal output from the processing unit,
wherein the processing unit performs a weighted sum for adjacent pixels using a value obtained by subtracting an offset amount from the correction value, and wherein the calculating unit adds the offset amount to a phase difference amount obtained by the correlation calculation.
2. The apparatus according to claim 1, comprising another memory configured to store the correction value.
3. The apparatus according to claim 1, comprising another memory configured to store the correction value.
3. The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the correction value is an actually measured value for some pixels in the sensor, and is an interpolated value calculated based on actually measured values for other pixels in the sensor.
4. The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the correction value is an actually measured value for some pixels in the sensor, and is an interpolated value calculated based on actually measured values for other pixels in the sensor.
4. The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the correction value is used to correct an image shift amount in each pixel of the sensor.
5. The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the correction value is used to correct an image shift amount in each pixel of the sensor.
5. The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the correction value is determined based on a phase difference amount obtained by the correlation calculation.
6. The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the correction value is determined based on a phase difference amount obtained by the correlation calculation.
6. The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the sensor has a two-dimensional pixel array,
wherein the processing unit performs the signal processing using the correction value for each pixel row, and wherein the calculating unit acquires a correlation amount for the signal of each pixel row output from the processing unit, and sums up the acquired correlation amount of each pixel row.
7. The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the sensor has a two-dimensional pixel array, wherein the processing unit performs the signal processing using the correction value for each pixel row, and wherein the calculating unit acquires a correlation amount for the signal of each pixel row output from the processing unit, and sums up the acquired correlation amount of each pixel row.
7. A lens apparatus comprising:
an optical system;
a sensor; and
the apparatus according to claim 1.
8. A pickup apparatus comprising:
a sensor configured to capture an image formed by an optical system; and
the apparatus according to claim 1.
8. A lens apparatus comprising:
an optical system;
a sensor; and
the apparatus according to claim 1.
9. A pickup apparatus comprising:
a sensor configured to capture an image formed by an optical system; and
the apparatus according to claim 1.
9. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute a method, the method comprising:
performing signal processing for a signal from a sensor using a correction value that is different for each pixel of the signal; and
performing a correlation calculation for the signal output from the performing signal processing, and
wherein the performing signal processing performs a weighted sum for adjacent pixels using the correction value.
10. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute a method, the method comprising:
performing signal processing for a signal from a sensor using a correction value that is different for each pixel of the signal; and
performing a correlation calculation for the signal output from the performing signal processing,
wherein the performing signal processing performs a weighted sum for adjacent pixels using a value obtained by subtracting an offset amount from the correction value, and wherein the performing the correlation calculation adds the offset amount to a phase difference amount.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suda et al (US 5367153 A).
Regarding claim 1, Suda teaches An apparatus (Figs. 6, 27) comprising:
at least one processor; and
a memory coupled to the at least one processor storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to function as:
a processing unit configured to perform signal processing for a signal from a sensor using a correction value (correction filter F(i)) that is different for each pixel of the signal (Fig. 50; cols. 35, 36); and
a calculating unit configured to perform a correlation calculation for the signal output from the processing unit (Fig. 50; cols. 35, 36), and
wherein the processing unit performs a weighted sum for adjacent pixels using the correction value (col. 36; see equations A(i)).
Regarding claim 2, Suda teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, comprising another memory configured to store the correction value (correction filter F(i) stored in a memory).
Regarding claim 3, Suda teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the correction value is an actually measured value for some pixels in the sensor, and is an interpolated value calculated based on actually measured values for other pixels in the sensor (cols. 35, 36; correction filter F(i)).
Regarding claim 4, Suda teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the correction value is used to correct an image shift amount in each pixel of the sensor (cols. 35, 36).
Regarding claim 5, Suda teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the correction value is determined based on a phase difference amount obtained by the correlation calculation (cols. 35, 36).
Regarding claim 6, Suda teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the sensor has a two-dimensional pixel array, wherein the processing unit performs the signal processing using the correction value for each pixel row, and wherein the calculating unit acquires a correlation amount for the signal of each pixel row output from the processing unit, and sums up the acquired correlation amount of each pixel row (Figs. 6, 27, 50; cols. 36, 37).
Regarding claim 7, Suda teaches A lens apparatus (Figs. 6, 27) comprising:
an optical system (81); a sensor (108); and the apparatus according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Suda teaches A pickup apparatus Figs. 6, 27) comprising:
a sensor (108) configured to capture an image formed by an optical system (81); and the apparatus according to claim 1 (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Sam teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Figs. 6, 27; col. 21) storing a program for causing a computer to execute a method, the method comprising: (as presented in claim 1).
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sambonsugi et al (US 20180176494 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sambonsungi teaches An apparatus (Figs. 1, 10) comprising:
at least one processor; and
a memory coupled to the at least one processor storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to function as:
a processing unit configured to perform signal processing for a signal from a sensor using a correction value that is different for each pixel of the signal (Figs. 10, 12; para. 0072; “the simple defect correction method for correcting defective pixels. To make it possible to correct the A-image data and the B-image data for ranging by the defect correction section 120 inexpensively configured”; “the defective pixel may be corrected using an average value of the pixel values R2 and R4 of the two same color positioned on the opposite sides of the pixel having the pixel value Rt (PixCorrect=(R2+R4)/2)”); and
a calculating unit configured to perform a correlation calculation for the signal output from the processing unit (paras. 0045, 0046; AF calculation section 109 performs correlation calculation between the A-image data and the B-image data corrected by the simple correction, and calculates a focus deviation amount (defocus amount) based on the result of calculation), and
wherein the processing unit performs a weighted sum for adjacent pixels using the correction value (para. 0072; “PixCorrect=(R2+R4)/2” using R2 or R4).
Regarding claim 2, Sambonsungi teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, comprising another memory configured to store the correction value (Fig. 1; para. 0072; “PixCorrect=(R2+R4)/2” using R2 or R4 stored in a memory).
Regarding claim 6, Sambonsungi teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the sensor has a two-dimensional pixel array, wherein the processing unit performs the signal processing using the correction value for each pixel row, and wherein the calculating unit acquires a correlation amount for the signal of each pixel row output from the processing unit, and sums up the acquired correlation amount of each pixel row (Figs. 10, 12; para. 0072, 0045, 0046).
Regarding claim 7, Sambonsungi teaches A lens apparatus (Figs. 1-2) comprising:
an optical system (116-119); a sensor (100); and the apparatus according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Sambonsungi teaches A pickup apparatus comprising:
a sensor (100) configured to capture an image formed by an optical system (116-119); and the apparatus according to claim 1 (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Sambonsungi teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Fig. 1; para. 0083) storing a program for causing a computer to execute a method, the method comprising: (as presented in claim 1).
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ogawa et al (US 20150365639 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ogawa teaches An apparatus comprising:
at least one processor; and
a memory coupled to the at least one processor storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to function as:
a processing unit configured to perform signal processing (expressions 1-4) for a signal (of focus detection pixels) from a sensor using a correction value (CR) that is different for each pixel of the signal (Figs. 19, 21; paras. 0111-0115, 0120, 0122-0125); and
a calculating unit configured to perform a correlation calculation for the signal output from the processing unit (para. 0049), and
wherein the processing unit performs a weighted sum for adjacent pixels using the correction value (para. 0125; expression 4).
Regarding claim 2, Ogawa teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, comprising another memory configured to store the correction value (para. 0122; calculating and storing CR in a memory for calculation).
Regarding claim 3, Ogawa teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the correction value is an actually measured value for some pixels in the sensor, and is an interpolated value calculated based on actually measured values for other pixels in the sensor (paras. 0119-0123; CR is an actually measured value using expression 3 and is an interpolated value calculated based on actually measured values for other pixels in the sensor through G_BPF).
Regarding claim 6, Ogawa teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the sensor has a two-dimensional pixel array, wherein the processing unit performs the signal processing using the correction value for each pixel row (Figs. 20A, B; paras. 0111-0115, 0120, 0122-0125), and wherein the calculating unit acquires a correlation amount for the signal of each pixel row output from the processing unit, and sums up the acquired correlation amount of each pixel row (Figs. 10-22; paras. 0004, 0067).
Regarding claim 7, Ogawa teaches A lens apparatus comprising:
an optical system (101); a sensor (102); and the apparatus according to claim 1 (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Ogawa teaches A pickup apparatus comprising:
a sensor (102) configured to capture an image formed by an optical system (101); and the apparatus according to claim 1 (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Ogawa teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Fig. 1; para. 0130) storing a program for causing a computer to execute a method, the method comprising: (as presented in claim 1).
Conclusion
/Quan Pham/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637